Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Headsets or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech USB Headset H540

Logitech USB Headset H540

Plug into high-performance audio for PC calls, music and more.
Average Customer Rating:
2.812 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 16 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
7 out of 16(44%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for USB Headset H540
Review 1 for USB Headset H540
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WiFiGuy
from Alberta, Canada
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Poor Quality

Date:March 21, 2014
I had an H530 which I used daily for about a year, then the mic quit working. (Short/intermittent). I bought the H540 to replace it & now have the same problem after only about 4 months. The quality in the mic is very poor. Wire breaks way too easy. Will be sending this back to Logitech. Unfortunately will be going to KOSS or Plantronics after this.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for USB Headset H540
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crazyivan22
from Shreveport, LA, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Great for video chat and online classes

Date:March 20, 2014
I use these weekly for my online classes. Each class lasts about 4 hours. No Feedback noise. The ear cups and headband padding are comfortable. The mute button and volume control are easy to use. The mute feature even has a indicator light on the cord so you can see if it is on mute.
Durable enough to survive in my book bag.
Great for my uses.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for USB Headset H540
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bill
from Okc, OK
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Not a fan

Date:March 7, 2014
The ear pieces on the H540 are by far the most uncomfortable I've ever had in a headset. I've owned tons of Logitech stuff over the years, I'm typing this on a G-15 keyboard I've had for 5-10 years. I've always liked there products and have been very happy with them but I just pulled a new H540 out the box and it is a cheap piece of junk. Going right back to the store for something else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for USB Headset H540
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soul
from Brooklyn, NY
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

It's Amazing

Date:January 25, 2014
This headset used to be my friends. He gave it to me to replace my old headset and it is the best headset ever. It projects my voice as it actually is and the quality is amazing. One thing that does annoy be a bit is the constant playback while my microphone isn't muted. It plays my tiny bit of static and I keep it on mute when I'm not talking. I'm used to the mic being on the left side instead of the right so it kind of got in my way but the quality is still amazingly great. I would definitely give this 5/5
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for USB Headset H540
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Creativity
from Olympia, WA, USA
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

I'm puzzled

Date:January 16, 2014
I've read several negative reviews about the H540 headset. I'm perplexed by them. My set is only a couple of days old, so I cannot speak about their long term durability, but based on owning several Logitech products for several years, all have been excellent. The exceptions are the 2 headphone sets destroyed when I carelessly snagged my foot on the cord, yanking them from my computer. I hope I have learned my lesson.
I've now worn the headset for many hours. Yes. The ear pads are flat and snuggle your ears, but the pressure of the fit is perfect. After wearing my less expensive set for a an hour or so, the top of my head would get sore where the headset touched it. Not so with the H540, because there's a soft pad which makes them quite comfortable. But, we buy headsets for performance, don't we? And, for the price, this set is awesome. If you thrill at hearing the subtle sounds in a music selection, expect to be thrilled by the sound from the H540. Music sounds are flat, by that I mean they sound like the instruments and vocals are live, not artificially tweaked by the headset.
I use the headset a great percentage of the time to make Skype calls. My callers all say the sound quality they hear is excellent, too. In fact, I received a call on my Android phone, but asked if I could call back using Skype (and the H540 headset). When I made the return call, the person I was talking with commented on how much clearer my voice sounded.
While it has taken me some getting used to the volume/mute control on the right side of the headset, it ends up being a much more convenient location. I like this arrangement a lot. Too, I like the red light mute indicator on the USB cable. It's easy to see if you're in the mute mode.
As for criticism of the glossy finish of the headset showing grease or finger prints, I say "Give me a break". How petty, and who cares? You would have to look very close up to see any such marks.
For the price, I consider this headset a personal 'BEST BUY'. I'm so glad I bought the Logitech H540 headset.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for USB Headset H540
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
James
from Houston
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

H540 is pretty bad, B530 is a better replacement!

Date:January 4, 2014
I started years ago with a Clear Chat, and as the headsets wore out, I went to the Clear Chat Pro and finally to a H530. All were similar light weight construction, and the sound quality was fine for my gaming needs. While my old H530 may not satisfy gamers who want that surround sound effect, it was a cool and comfortable on-the ear headset that worked great for inter-game chat. I could hear where the shots were coming from, and still it allowed me to hear when my wife came in the room with something important to say like, "Are you still on that computer? Come to bed." Hey, if you have been married for 36 years you want to hear those things! The only flaws were the weak plastic construction and the microphone wire in the ear piece would easily break if you swung the microphone arm up and down a lot. This was caused because the wire inside was hot glued down too tight, not allowing enough slack when the mic arm was moved. After a couple of replacements over several years, I just learned to take the headset on and off without moving the mic arm, and it did fine. When my last H530 developed a short, the warranty replacement offered was the H540, a TERRIBLE headset. While having stronger construction, it is SHINY black finish rather than dull and shows grease easily...but that is not the worst of it. I wear a 7 3/4 hat and this thing feels like I am wearing a head clamp with suction cups on my ears. My older H530 had round padded rings on the ear phones, with the center part open, making it cooler. The pads on the H540 ear pieces are harder solid flat pads that are hot to wear. They do block outside noises better, but the tone quality sounds like a old transistor radio. Since my H530 was discontinued, and my H540 was bad, Logitech wanted to warranty replace the H540 with another one, indicating there was no other choice. I offered to pay Logitech an additional $10 to cover the difference of going to a better headset, but they said no. Not wanting to be stuck with a headset I did not like, I searched the Logitech site and found the B530. The only difference between the my older H530 and the B530 is that the tone switch has been replaced with a button for answering a phone, but it has an equalizer built in and it cost the exact same as the H540, so Logitech agreed to send it to replace my H530. If Logitech wants to give you a H540 in place of your old H530, ask for the B530. Problem solved.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for USB Headset H540
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gamer
from NY
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Not that good

Date:January 2, 2014
Its really not worth it honestly. i bought these about maybe four months ago. The red light stopped working last week, and when i first bought them the left ear did not work at all. These headphones are not good at all. Sorry but i wouldnt buy them. They also do not really stay on my head well.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for USB Headset H540
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nicolas
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Don't buy these if you are a gamer

Date:November 9, 2013
My parents bought these headphones as a birthday present.
These headphones are so poorly designed that every time I make the slightest movement with my head the earpiece makes this little, almost unperceivable "crack" sound that ends up being amplified by the microphone and thus triggering my TeamSpeak microphone activation. My friends can't stand it anymore because it is so annoying. Just to clarify, I know that TeamSpeak and Ventrilo allow you to control the sensitivity threshold, but this crack is so loud on the microphone that I have to end up screaming to surpass a threshold that prevents it from poping.
In conclusion, this headphones are useless.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for USB Headset H540
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lungchard
from Dubai - United Arab Emirates
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Not Good

Date:November 2, 2013
I have purchased one of these H540 headsets and i have to say i am dissappointed with it. I was replacing an earlier H530 that stopped working. The H530 is far better.
The H540 is far too sensitive to vibration and produces loud clicking sounds when it is touched or it moves. The AGC reduces the mic sensitivity when the clicking occurs so the speach volume is greatly reduced.
I got a replacement from the shop but that is the same.
Bing back the H530, it is a far better product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for USB Headset H540
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
robopuppycc
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Poor Quality

Date:October 17, 2013
I received a pair of these as a replacement for a defective discontinued model which I liked very much.
Pros:
The sound quality is good.
The microphone is sensitive (maybe too sensitive?).
Cons:
The mute indicator light stopped functioning after a week of use.
The left earpiece started crackling after 6 months of light use.
The headset is rather slick and doesn't have the tension to stay on the head if it moves at all.
Overall, it was OK while it worked, but it stopped working after 6 months.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for USB Headset H540
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Huyser40
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Incredible

Date:September 23, 2013
I have had these for a month and they are incredible. They are extremely comfy too.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for USB Headset H540
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
blob83
from Usa
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

pretty good item

Date:July 9, 2013
I have had my headset for over 2 months now and they are still sturdy but I must say the mic quality on the headset is a not as good as I anticipated but, the sound quality is great!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for USB Headset H540
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hendrickboy88
from New York
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Wont last you long

Date:May 30, 2013
Ive had these for about 5 months and all the sudden yesterday it wouldn't work. It would turn on and off all day and now they've just absolutely died. I would buy another if they would last longer because they were a great headset when they run great.
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for USB Headset H540
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nekrage
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Terrible Mic quality.

Date:April 3, 2013
Just...a muffled MESS.
Discontinued the model I have used for years and replaced it with this piece of junk....wonderful.
Wont be using Logitech anymore.
+4points
14out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 15 for USB Headset H540
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Crowbar Felt
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Decent, but would go find a more sturdy build.

Date:March 20, 2013
I've had the headset for about a month or two, the build is a bit flimsy but the quality of the headphones and mic is nice quality. The mic isn't HD but good enough to use for average Skyping. The build is a bit flimsy and was able to break VERY easily after casual use. A screw or other object rattles in my right ear and the audio warps after every reset or so of my computer. I'd rather get a stronger headset than this, preferably.
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 16 for USB Headset H540
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chrisbailey87
from Ohio, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Great Headset!

Date:March 18, 2013
The sound is really good and works great for listening to music. I get no complaints with the mic. It is very comfortable.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.