Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Smart Radio or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Logitech UE Smart Radio

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Logitech UE Smart Radio

The UE Smart Radio combines the simplicity of radio with the power of the Internet. Access services like SiriusXM, Rhapsody and Spotify. Learn more about UE.
Average Customer Rating:
4.045 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 22 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
17 out of 22(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Review 1 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Steve
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Very reliable clock and PC multimedia speaker.

Date:November 28, 2013
This has great potential, but it's impossible to use this to its full potential because the interface, even though it looks quite nice, is actually clunky to use. My version doesn't have the rechargeable battery so I don't move it around, instead keep it permanently on a shelf next to my desk, with the screen saver set to the date and time, serving as the speaker for my PC's multimedia apps and which it does quite well! I rarely use it to play internet radio, it's mainly just a clock! - but it's always right because it's online! Although the speaker is mono the fidelity is very good and plays well very loud or whisper quiet. But there are many other speakers that can do this for less. I would only recommend this to a fan of internet radio, it's a niche device, although an attractive one. I've had this for about 5 years and would like to have the rechargeable battery operated version.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jack
from Maryland, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Bring Back The Squeezebox

Date:November 28, 2013
:Vortex Box
The UE Smart Radio is nothing more than a "Dumbed Down", scaled back Squeezebox. There are so many things wrong with it that it would take too long to list them all.
I think that most users, who really like this radio, have not owned a Squeezebox.
Granted, the Squeezebox could be a bit of a challenge to get up and REALLY going, but once you spent the time it turned out to be the best Internet Radio/Music Server out there.
There are MANY SB users who wish that Logitech would have offered this simple radio for users who want nothing more than what this newer box does, but kept going with the core SB product line.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
V
from Washington, DC, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Alarm Radio...Not!

Date:November 21, 2013
If you're thinking this will work as an radio alarm, SURPRISE! not happening. There are so many bugs. You'd think in the 21st century they could handle this. Very sporadic behavior, once a week it might work.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Michael
from Carmel, IN, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

No Improvements over Squeezebox

Date:November 20, 2013
I've owned this Squeezebox Radio for sometime now. The radio itself has been great once you have everything setup. The iPad app really helped simplify using it but it was always a little buggy. I just upgraded to the UE firmware hoping for improvements but we seem to have taken a giant step back!
No apparent way to build and save a playlist.
No apparent way to add Podcasts.
No iPad app.
Still requires a PC running an application to play local music.
I suspect I'll be switching back to Squeezebox firmware soon.
Logitech, this was not ready for general release.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jack
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Great Radio

Date:October 19, 2013
The SmartRadio is great. I love it. Don't let the lack of a manual stop you. Keep exploring on your own. Make sure you investigate all the choice under the setting menu.
I would rate this 5 stars, but the lack of a complete user guide caused me to rate it a 4.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aardvark3208
from Hammond, LA, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Another quality Logitech product!

Date:September 2, 2013
There is a whole world of internet radio waiting to be discovered and this is the perfect tool! Very easy set-up, fantastic sound quality as a stand-alone or use a 1/8" to RCA cable and hook it up to your home audio system. Smart phone and i-Pad apps work flawlessly with song metadata and album cover art when available. Nearly every conventional broadcast radio station streams now so I find myself using it even for local radio... without that pain in the neck antenna! It will even play your mp3 library stored on your computer! Get it.... Now!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
illumin8r
from PA, USA
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

No More Sirius/XM In This House!

Date:August 27, 2013
I bought this as a factory reconditioned, used Squeeze Box product, but soon upgraded to the UE Smart Radio software. Great sound and connectivity allow me to connect to THOUSANDS of internet and over-the-air radio channels. Only complaint so far is I'd like access to ALL the last.fm channels & Jazz.fm, too.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DiDjean
from Brussels, Belgium
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Bring us Back Squeezebox!

Date:August 24, 2013
The great thing of this Smart Radio is that you can now update the horrible UE firmware to the great Squeezebox firmware. As soon as you have done that, the Smart Radio becomes a Squeezebox radio and becomes the best of all.
Bring us back Squeezebox !
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dave
from United States
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

The best of the best

Date:August 15, 2013
I went through many other wifi radios before I found the UE, I owned a Grace, a Crane and tried a few others. The Logitech UE has them all beat in five areas:
1) Longevity: my Grace quit after a few months, my two Logitech radios have been serving me well for years now with not one problem ever.
2) User Interface: all of the other radios I have used had complicated buttons that made no sense and were hard to operate and displays that were hard to read and did not show information in a pleasing way. The Logitech radios are perfect on both counts, even have apps to display clocks and other screensavers.
3) Sound Quality: the Logitech is by far and away the most pleasing to listen to, it fills rooms or spaces outside and the sound is very balanced, with enough bass to hear and understand all the parts of the music.
4) Applications and Services: Logitech has really won me over here. I keep finding new stations that I could have never gotten on my other radios, every imaginable service is represented and in a way that makes it easy to consume all of them.
5) Integration: I can control all my radios from my computer, play the music I have on my NAS device at home and link my radios to have music playing throughout the house when I want to.
I love these radios and they have changed how we listen to radio and music in our home.
BTW, I am not in any way associated with Logitech or any of their retailers, I am an IT geek by trade.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spqr
from FLL
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

fka Squeezbox Radio

Date:August 13, 2013
:NAS
This is one fantastic little device. I've had it for a few years, setting the alarm is a breeze and it has always gone off just as set (ok, I made a mistake
once or twice but can't blame the radio for that). The UI is very intuitive, the sound quality is fantastic and with the added battery it also works unplugged. I would buy it again, and I probably will buy another one for my guest room when I move.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wil

Access Anywhere Anytime

Date:July 28, 2013
I agree with majority of the comments here, wonderful product. The fact that it has FM Tune-In alone is worth the money. I bought this for my retired folks...not the most tech savvy but a radio to them is a radio, minus the fancy internet stuff...just had to set it up for them regarding WiFi and made requests to FM Tune-In to add stations (global Filipino and Hawaiian) and there you go.
They should add bluetooth (BTLE) to allow streaming to a standalone speaker(s) like a Jam Box, etc.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ronald

THE BEST!

Date:July 18, 2013
The Squeezebox system has always been the BEST! This newer model named a smart UE Radio is awesome ,not doubt. Yes, I WISH that LOGITECH would manufacture a device that can connect to a stereo system and provide all the services that this radio can do.
Previously Logitech had the Squeezebox TOUCH which satisfied this option but it was discontinued, unfortunately. PLEASE LOGITECH re-manufacture this device under the UE Smart identity. It would sell SO WELL!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love Music
from Hayward, CA, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Best Music Device Out

Date:February 14, 2013
This radio is amazing, I love it! Every time I have someone over and I have my radio playing, they want one and ask how much they are and where I can get one. It sounds amazing for how small it is, it is wireless and comes with a rechargeable battery. Once everyone realizes what this thing can do it will be a global instant hit. My favorite thing is listening to the Squeezebox server radio stations. You can listen to unlimited music from all around the world for free for as long as you want without having to worry about purchasing more time like most apps require. Once you have the Squeezebox that is all you need. I can’t wait to see what the next generation of Squeezebox radio players Logitech will come out with next?
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deb
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Great radio - sound and experience

Date:February 6, 2013
I love my two smart radios. My children both recived one for christmas and they are wonderful. I like that they are exposed now to different kinds of music through Pandora and also that they can listen in on radio stations around the world. Thanks for making a great product at a fair price.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DJ VeteranChild
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Made my Christmas day!

Date:January 30, 2013
Of course this was the #1 on my Christmas list, and when I received it, I was overjoyed. As soon as I turned it on it was easy setup from the beginning. I was able to add services straight from my computer in no time. Now I have my Spotify, Last.fm, Tunein, and Sirius XM account linked with my Smart Radio, and it's easy to access. It keeps up with my account, making sure that everything is up to date. And I like how it has a little security feature, that when someone else is using your account at the same time as you, it pauses it and notifies you of that. The only downside is that the iPhone app sometimes glitches and it forces the Smart Radio to restart. Other than that, I have no complaints.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blueresin
from Santa Monica, CA, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Best gift I have ever given

Date:January 22, 2013
I bought the first one for a friend that was transitioning to a new apartment (it was actually a squeeze box which we upgraded the firmware so it is now a Smart Radio). He loves it. I got the battery for it, and now he has his music everywhere he goes in his apartment. He has thanked me multiple times and told me how much he loves the fact that if we wakes up in the middle of the night, he just has to get his phone out and has music. (He was having a hard time with his divorce) So the second one I gave as a gift was to a co-worker who also was rebuilding his life after a divorce, and he loves it. I then got one for my brother who got sick with the flu and said it was perfect since he didn't have the energy to get up and still could change the music with his phone. The sound is good for such a little box and with the wireless and battery capabilities it is a great housewarming/apartment/dorm use item. Gotta love a gift that people use and really appreciate.
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wryel
from Boston, MA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Almost great, but not quite there

Date:January 15, 2013
I will start by saying what this product does really well. The sound is great from such a small and relatively cheap box, it integrates perfectly with all of my mobile devices and there is a great range of applications to choose from.
The problem starts when I am playing my own music. If I have my collection stored locally, I have to install an app on my PC to access it which of course means turning it on, even if I'm using a NAS (network attached storage) which I bought to make it easier to access my files. I've considered storing my music in the cloud, but I don't see any support for that.
The other problem is that I already have audio equipment that I would like to use with this device. It would be amazing to be able to plug in a device that acted like the Smart Radio without the speaker or battery to my home cinema speakers or my existing stereo. Music everywhere controlled by my phone is the aim, please deliver Logitech!
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jefke720
from Belgium
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

best radio worst alarm system

Date:January 12, 2013
as a radio it works perfect but the alarm dos not whont to funkten
on the second alarm settings even after 8 moonds of suport my problem is stil not solve
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Docintherock
from Denver, CO, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Best Radio I Have Ever Owned!

Date:January 7, 2013
If you are an Internet Radio junky like myself you owe it to yourself to buy this radio. With the new UE Update this radio is simply AMAZING!!!
I bought this at Best Buy in Colorado with a gift card I received for Christmas and it was my favorite gift this Christmas. I used to listen to Internet Radio on my tablet, my iPhone, my iPad, or my computer during work. This makes life so much easier.
Here are the things I do with this amazing radio...
- Listen to my favorite Sirius XM stations with the Sirius App I downloaded (Sirius XM Online subscription required but I already had one)
- Listen to my favorite Sports Stations across the country with this radio. I'm a huge Minnesota Vikings fan and I can listen to the Vikings flagship station for the pre-game and after game sports talk shows. It's awesome.
- Listen to Spotify, Tune In Radio, iHeart Radio, CBS Radio, Last FM, Live 365, MOG, Orange Live Radio, Pandora, Shoutcast, and more.
- I listen to my favorite late-night radio program on a Coast to Coast AM with George Noory at night from a radio station out of Canada!
- The streaming is perfect and I've never had a buffering problem once.
Sound quality is as good as my Bose Sound Dock 2.
I highly recommend this product.
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Logitech UE Smart Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
devereax9
from WestFork, AR
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Best of the best

Date:December 31, 2012
I have had this Logitech wi fi internet radio for about a year along with another one from another manufacturer. This is heads and tails above all of them. The speaker has a rich sound and the color display is awesome. It keeps the signal and resets itself when necessary so I can count on it to be there. You can tell the unit is well made because of it's weight, performance, and overall quality. I did a tremendous amount of research on these units and am very glad I bought this unit. Do yourself a favor and don't go cheap on these types of units. You DO get what you pay for. D in Arkansas
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>