Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Mice + Keyboards or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard

Lightning fast, whisper quiet with responsive, tactile keys.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 12 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Review 1 for G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Searchy
from Lawrence, KS, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

After All These Years, Logitech Doesn't Disappoint

Date:April 14, 2013
The anticipation behind this keyboard has been through the roof. After MANY decades of waiting, hard-core Logitech fans have finally been rewarded by a mechanical keyboard from the company they love. As a Logitech fan of 3 years, I have to say I was as excited as anyone.
This review is made after using the G710+ half for typing and half for gaming over a period of two months. I will try to offer unique insights not mentioned in other reviews.
Pros:
+ Back-lighting- I have never used a back-lit keyboard before the G710+ and never understood the hype around it. I always laughed at forum posters that can't buy an otherwise perfect labtop because it lacks back-lit keys. How can back-lighting be a make or break issue for purchasing a labtop?
Now that I have used the G710+, I understand what those people are thinking. Their concerns don't seem so ridiculous anymore. Only one word can describe the feeling I felt while using the G710+ for the first time at night- exhilarating. Working in the dark has never felt so relaxing with all those LEDs shining at me.
Other reviewers that say the back-lights are not bright enough must be blind. When the LEDs are on their highest setting, I feel like they burn my eyes.
+ Volume Wheel- Logitech almost made the volume wheel mechanically perfect. The most minute adjustment it can make is 2 volume notches. For comparison, the volume wheel on my G35 headset makes adjustments of 4 volume notches. It is an improvement that can be improved further.
+ On-the-fly Macro Recording- Works without drivers, enough said!
+ Printing Detail- Wow, just wow. The resolution used to print the keys is extremely high. For your knowledge, all letters and symbols on keys are outlined, not printed. The black matte finish blocks out the LED lights, allowing light to only shine through unpainted areas. On this keyboard are the thinnest lines I have ever seen (the mini diagram of keys on the lighting adjustment keys; the lines between window panes of the Windows key). It baffles me why they don't rub off at the slightest touch.
+ Typography- Strange to be talking about typography on a keyboard but I feel it is worth mentioning. The shape of letters and icons used give off a very 'mechanical' feel, very appropriate for a mechanical keyboard! Those geniuses at Logitech found a way to merge block letters with fluidity, making very pleasant letters to look at. I love that 'M' and 'W' are exactly the same letters, just rotated.
+ 26-Key Roll-over- Being able to mash my head into the keyboard and have all key presses register is cool.
+ Metallic Logo- In the competitive world of keyboards, it is all about the small details. The brushed metal finish on the logo is so authentic.
There are many more Pros that are covered in other reviews such as the tactile feel of Cherry MX Browns and G-key functionality. Such discussion is unnecessary here. Now let us move onto the Cons. The Cons are not deal breakers but suggestions for improvement in the future.
Cons:
= - Volume Wheel- When including this feature as a Pro, I mentioned that it could be improved. Adjustments could be made more precise. I don't know if it is just my keyboard or a problem with all these keyboards but the wheel sticks and doesn't feel smooth when it turns to a certain point. It is like a bicycle wheel that has been knocked out of alignment, every time it revolves, it would rub against the side.
= - Glossy Finish- Glossy black finishes look elegant and high tech. However, they attract dust like crazy. Not only is dust more visible on black surfaces but everything else is as well. Cleaning off the dust leaves horrible scratches that are very visible. Even using the softest cloth I have, cleaning the surface scratches the gloss. Even though I have learned to live with such aesthetic imperfection after using the Logitech Solar Keyboard for 2 years doesn't mean I have to like it!
= - Color Scheme- The G710+ is part of the G700 family of products. That means the color of the the plastics should match. The palm rest matches the accents of my G700 mouse but the base color of the keyboard does not. The keyboard base is some weird bluish tinged black.
= - Palm rest- Attaching and removing the palm rest requires patience. I have to lift the entire keyboard up, holding it in one hand, while I use my other hand to attach the palm rest. The plastic palm rest gets hot and sweaty real fast. I wish they made it from the same anti-sweat material coming out on their G series or the faux leather they used on the K350. The quality of the plastic palm rest doesn't seem on par with the quality of the rest of the keyboard.
= - Placement of Keys- The Insert and Delete buttons are awkwardly placed. I always hit the Insert Button when I want to hit Delete. Also, the Enter key and the ' key are too close together. I always hit the Enter key when trying to press '. It is very frustrating when filling out forms as accidentally pressing Enter messes everything up.
= - Headset Pass Through- The cord of my Logitech G35 headset fits into the slots underneath the keyboard but it is tight. I have trouble getting the braided cord to fit into its slot and staying there. Part of the problem is the stiffness of the G35's cord, which brings me to the biggest Con of the G710+.
= - Stiff Cords- Logitech never gets its cords right. Whenever possible, it is always advisable to go wireless with Logitech. Frankly, Logitech should outsource its cords to another manufacture. The braided cord on my G35 headset has not straightened out even after a year of use. It is still stuck in the position it was in right out of the box. The cord provided with my G700 gaming mouse has force feedback. It is so stiff that it messes up my aim in FPSs. Finally, the cord on this keyboard is so thick and inflexible that I have difficulty routing it behind my computer screen, down towards my desktop. I wish they made this cord braided AND flexible. Logitech should study braided headphone cords. Those are so soft and flexible that they feel like shoelaces. Hey, shoelaces are quite durable!
Summary:
The Logitech G710+ is a worthwhile treat and reward for those that have been waiting for a mechanical keyboard from Logitech. It will not disappoint. Buy this keyboard, it will last you many years.
P.S. This keyboard is better for typing and productivity than gaming. For gaming, I still prefer my K350 with rubber dome keys. Sliding from one key to another is difficult on the G710+ because each row of keys is raised. My good ol' K350's keys feel linear which is comfortable for gaming because I always bottom out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dagh
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Best Logitech Keyboard Yet!!!

Date:April 4, 2013
I have had 4 Logitech keyboards over the years and they all came with some minor glitch or flaw that while not serious enough to make me send it back they more annoying than anything else. But even with the little annoyances they lasted longer than any of the other brands and once I got past the learning curve they preformed beautifully.
not the G710+, this keyboard out of the box has been stellar with brightly lit keys and all functions working perfectly. The weight is heavy enough to keep it from moving during intense gaming sessions and there hasn't been a single glitch annoyance or conflict. It work flawlessly with my system and the software for programming the buttons is working perfectly as well. The feel of the keys is perfect for shooters I play and the G keys are spaced just the right distance from the the main keys to avoid confusion during the game.
All in all I give the G710+ a 10 out of 10, Logitech you guys nailed it perfectly on this keyboard keep up the great work!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Molybdo
from Paris, France
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

great keyboard but poor backlight

Date:April 1, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pro :
I love the typing feeling I get with this keyboard, as well as the built quality.
Con :
This is what I would change to make the keyboard perfect :
- First, would be great if the led from the numlock, verr maj,... is adjusted to the same intensity as the letters backlight. Would also be great if the symbols are backlit.
- Second main drawback comes from the back-light. I use the keyboard with the lowest back-light intensity. I still need to glance at the keys and I'm often unable to see punctuation like the dot ! Worse if my keyboard is in a badly lit corner of my desk (see picture), I am unable to see any of the secondary functions (accessed using SHIFT or ALTGR combination). I didn't have this problem with the Logitech illuminated keyboard.
This is only a layout problem coming from the fact that all secondary functions sign are placed at the bottom of the keys, where there are no leds. Would be great if Logitech could modify the layout of those 29 keys (numpad, punctuation and number row) and sell those letters alone.
Or if you conceive a second keyboard, keep the same layout as the illuminated keyboard, and manufacture keys having a built-in lightguide or a second led at the bottom.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luke D.
from Winter Springs, FL, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Logitech never ceases to amaze...

Date:March 24, 2013
Let me start off by saying that I have purchased Logitech products since I was 6 years old and that to this day, I have had only one piece of their technology fail on me utterly. SO one might understad that about 6 months ago when I heard about these new-fangled 'mechanical keyboards' that I immediately looked for a Logitech product.
Back then, I was dissapointed to find out that there was no such product. So I looked elsewhere, and until a week ago, had settled on a keyboard by another of my favorite companies, who's name rymes with Pooler Faster. However, as I was about to checkout on the retail site I frequent, I saw something in the 'Recommended for you' section. (I kid you not). Logitech G710+.
Behold. A week later and a convenient 2 days of shipping after that, I am typing this review on said G710+.
Let me start by saying, although the Blues were tempting (as I like the clickity clack of keys), I decided the G710+ because it's Logitech. Luckily I made the right choice. The backlight is wonderful, the Browns are clicky without TOO much click, the G keys are in the perfect spot. Some people made mention that the Orange boarder is obtrusive, but I love it. It makes them noticable and makes sure you don't hit them on accident while gaming (personal experience with other macro-key boards).
As far as typing vs gaming, for gaming this board is amazing. The browns are responsive, taqctile, the anti-ghost is great, roll-over its fantastic (I play lots of fast paced games that require fast key pressing) and the backlight makes night-play easy on my eyes. For typing, the heavy rubber feet keep me from knocking it around with my vigorous spam-type as I call it. Also, I have a tendency to not press hard enough wit hmy pinky finger while typing, which can be bothersome. Well, the Browns have a light enough actuation that it no longer seems to be an issue. Another thing I love is the little Tactile bump for typing. Sometimes I might accidentally hit an extra key, as my fingers are quite large (I am a Big and Tall man), so feeling an extra bump lets me know before I even register it on the screen (mentally).
If I had to list any Cons, it would have to be the cable. While solidly made and convincingly sturdy, it is a tad inflexible. Not a problem for me, but people with limited desk-space, or no dedicated keyboard tray might find it a tad difficult to angle the cable. Other than that, I love the durability this keyboard presents at first site. Only time will tell, and if the Past is any indication, the future looks good.
Logitech, keep up the great work. You've made a life-long customer out of me.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Artist
from Ojai, CA 93023, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Logitech Nailed it!

Date:March 20, 2013
I never write reviews, but for this keyboard I must. I'm going to make it short and sweet. This keyboard has the right amount of G keys, orange border around G keys nice touch, perfect choice of mechanical red instead of black keys, smooth glossy black surface around keys great feel, brightness selectable (wasd & arrow) keys highlighting bonus, multiple levels of brightness for all keys from pleasantly soft to vibrantly bright, nice and heavy with sticky rubber foot pads will not move no matter how aggressive a gamer, nicely designed/placed volume roller, very nice robust/stout USB cabling, and one of my favorites being the amazing look and tight foot print. The two small things I would change/add, would be brightness adjust for key lock annunciator lights and color changeable lighting. I probably with have this keyboard for a very long time.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thougryphon
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Surprisingly good

Date:March 1, 2013
Was very surprised with this one - I didn't expect Logitech's first mechanical keyboard to be this good! Frankly, their other gaming keybords were quite disappointing lately... But with this one they basically tick all the boxes - typing and gaming friendly cherry brown switches, silencer O-rings, backlighting, analog-style volume controller, macros, extra keys, plam rest, 3 year warranty... Just bought it and I love it - the feel of the keys, quiet muffled sound of presses, solid build (this thing is heavy! even though on the outside it is 100% plastic), usual logitech's excellent software.
There are minor niggles - leds on num/caps/scroll locks are too bright and not adjustable, glossy black and orange panels around key block look a bit out of place in a otherwise "serious" aluminum-like look, and there are no spare black colored WASD keys (I use ESDF instead of WASD for gaming). Leds on main keys are also a bit too bright at night even on lowest setting (they are brighter than my G11's brightest setting), though since it has an option to turn off lighting completely this is not a big problem. Palm rest is typical logitech's construction, which is a bit low for me. Also this one is shorter than usual, which can be not too comfortable for people with larger-than-average hands. Overall, these negatives are irrelevant, but still worth mentioning.
In the future I will probably put 3 small stickers to dim those lock leds, and also replace rubber legs on the palm rest with higher ones - it can be raised by about 7 extra mm while staying connected to the keyboard. For now I just put two pencils under it :)
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RMiller
from Columbus, Ohio
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Great Keyboard

Date:January 18, 2013
Most Logitech Gaming keyboards have small letters on the keys and the back lighting is very dim. I am old [ 72 ] and most of the time I have a hard time seeing the keys. Not the G710, this has the brightest lighting of any keyboard I have ever owned. You could use it to light a room. Well done Logitech.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 8 for G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gambiteer
from New York
Expertise: Proficient User

First Mechanical Keyboard

Date:December 13, 2012
I am glad that I made the plunge for my first mechanical keyboard. My typing speed improved from 60-70wpm to 80-90wpm. But if you're just interested in gaming, don't get this keyboard because mechanical won't help you out. If you're interested in only macro keys there are much cheaper options like the Microsoft Sidewinder X4.
I love this keyboard but here are some cons:
-Area around arrow keys and volume slider is glossy and is a finger-print magnet.
-The wristwrest isn't big enough for my left hand. My right hand is fine because it rests on the center of the wristwrest because that is where it is largest
I highly recommend this keyboard.
-20points
13out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 9 for G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kamikamaaza
from Amsterdam
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Advancing my gaming experience, not my typing

Date:November 15, 2012
I very much love the look and feel of this keyboard, the keys feel very solid and the adjustable backlighting is very much to my liking.
I personally keep the lighting to the lowest setting for all keys (still turned on) with the WASD and arrow keys two steps brighter. This creates enough light to see my keys in any lighting and allows me to instantly find my wasd keys in a do or die situation (talking about gaming ofcourse)
One of the major issues i seem to have with this keyboard is its Caps lock key... I keep turning it on by accident making this keyboard relatively unfit for typing. (atleast for me)
This being my first gaming keyboard i abslutely LOVE being able to turn my windows key off. This alone should raise my kdr by a few percent.
I haven't used the G-keys yet, though with the multitude of buttons on the G600 mouse i use alongside the G710 i doubt i will anytime soon.
Overall an awesome product!
+30points
33out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 10 for G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Skyraze
Expertise: Tech Savvy

quality keyboard, but lesser design

Date:October 22, 2012
while this keyboard has great quality and performance, it still has its set of downfalls.
This keyboard is great if you aren't a proficient G-Key user, as well, this keyboard is great for those without headphones as clacking of the keyboard is very low. But it only has 6X4 G-Keys. I currently use a G110 and it has 12X3 G-Keys.
the backlighting is also rather weak, but in some cases is good. the G110 has extremely bright backlighting, sometimes bothering gameplay.
Pros: backlighting created for comfort
Low noise keys
Quality design
Performance and speed
Cons:
Too few G-Keys
Backlighting may be too weak for some
+8points
29out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 11 for G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
John
from houston,TX
Expertise: Proficient User

g710+ use the wrong switch

Date:October 14, 2012
black switches should be the first choose for gaming, then it is the red switches
-180points
8out of 196found this review helpful.
Review 12 for G710+ Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mmogmr
from California
Expertise: Proficient User

Nice, but restricted.

Date:October 11, 2012
It is a nice keyboard, but falls short in some area.
Pros:
Extra keys which make macros and key-bindings more convenient. Real time saver.
Little pressure is required for key pressing.
I can plan my actions in games without the risk of having to retype the same command. It is awesome.
Cons:
The lighting is not bright as I expected.
No key cover available to protect against dust and junk getting in between the key.
It has a wire. Maybe I missed it is a wired keyboard in the picture, I expected wireless for the price. I still bought it.
It is an ok keyboard for gamers if you can get passed it is wired.
-140points
7out of 154found this review helpful.