Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Keyboards or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400

Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400

Wireless control of your laptop. This stylish keyboard with comfortable, low-profile keys provides long range, reliable wireless —perfect for the living room.
Average Customer Rating:
3.689 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 45 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
5
32 out of 45(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Review 1 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
80wattHamster
from North Dakota, USA
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Ideal for many scenarios

Date:March 23, 2014
Unless you're doing lots of typing or gaming, there isn't a lot to dislike about this unit. We picked it up for use with a HTPC, and I haven't used anything that works better for that purpose. The range and battery life are both excellent, and I haven't had compatibility issues in WinXP, 7 or 8. The mouse gestures seem to work just fine even with default Windows drivers. It also saved me a bunch of time when I was tuning up about a dozen old PCs for an event; just plug the receiver into the unit you're working on at the time and go.
Minor cons: the compact layout can make fast typing dodgy, and twitch gaming is poor with the trackpad. But if you're doing either of these things, why are you using this keyboard? Getting used to the Fn command switches takes a little bit of time. There aren't any built-in legs to raise the angle if you're using it on a desktop, so be aware of that if you're using this product in that situation. However, I don't believe any of these drawbacks take away from the overall excellence of this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
James
from Maine, USA

small layout of keys causes big problems

Date:March 18, 2014
I have had this K 400 for a year and I like it in so much as I am sold on never using a separate mouse again if I can help it. I do a lot of extensive writing and editing for work. So I appreciate the mouse buttons next to the track pad for selecting sections of text, etc.
A HUGE problem, however, results form the tightly packed laptoppy keyboard layout. The right hand shift key is so small you wind up pressing the up-arrow at the same time, selecting the next line of text up and accidentally replacing it with your next keystroke.
Awful, confidence draining issue, makes you nervous and mistakes sneak through. I literally removed the up-arrow key to address this and I've been living with the resultant workarounds for a year now, trackpadding up and down-arrowing down to move around.
SO, obviously, I have $100 to spend on the TK 820 with its larger keyboard but it doesn't have the mouse buttons built in next to the track pad so I'm pretty sure it's useless to me, if it only replaces one of the two functions of a stand-alone mouse? Any advice anyone?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rr
from ct
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

works as described

Date:March 13, 2014
never had an issue with this keyboard (unless I forgot to turn it on!).
seriously, works so well I bought a 2nd one.
one for work, one for home.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GMech91
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Good, but has some hiccups

Date:March 11, 2014
The keyboard as a whole works well with only a few missed keys about once every 300 key strokes, which is worlds better than the keyboard on the computer anyways (An Acer Aspire 7741z). I immediately went to download the drivers and for a week I thought everything was working fine, however, I noticed that there were a lot of problems using the shortcut buttons and multi-touch features. After a while, I just deleted the software, but I now had problems with the shortcuts either not working, or working slowly. I finally got fed up with it now 3 months in, so I have started using the drivers and software from my previous keyboard with it and what do you know? The multimedia shortcuts on keys F7 to F12 work, and the "show desktop" shortcut on F1 also works. I really didn't care for the shortcuts on F2-F6 so I was indifferent when those stopped working with the older software. The touchpad's multi-touch gestures work all the same as does the 5 feature buttons above the keyboard section also works flawlessly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ssh
from US

Not working right

Date:March 9, 2014
Pluged in, a few keys do not work, taking back. The last Logitech keyboard I have, failed within less than a year. This one, right out of the box. Time to find another suppiler.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
silver
from Toronto, ON, Canada
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

the best for HTPC and TV use

Date:February 27, 2014
the K400 keyboard is something i always recommend and supply to clients when building or installing home theaters and HTPC systems.
the ease of use and LONG battery life is great for the couch.
i have never heard a single complaint yet and personally use one to control a new smart tv
one of the best keyboards for couch use EVER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LinuxGeek
from Mamaroneck NY
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Great little wireless keyboard

Date:February 12, 2014
I know it isn't listed in the compatibility but this keyboard works like a charm with Ubuntu 13.10. Just plugged it in and it worked. The PC power button doesn't work but I believe everything else does. 13.10 even allows for multi-touch gestures.
The keyboard is well designed and to those who slam it for not being good for touchtyping, what do you expect from a compact keyboard? I have it connected to a laptop that displays on my Plasma TV and it is perfect for that use.
I have two year old twins that are very rough on this keyboard and it just keeps working. I plan on buying a couple more because for the price point they are awesome.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PizzaBreath
from Calgary, AB, Canada
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Not what I expected.

Date:January 8, 2014
From the picture on the box and relative cost I thought I was getting a quality keyboard. The keyboard is of very light weight construction and feels flimsy. Key action is jerky because of too much side movement of the keys. The body of the keyboard as well as the keys are textured which, in itself is not a problem. The identifying characters on most of the keys are white and have a thin shiny black edge around them giving the impression they are stuck on to the textured keys rather than being molded into the keys as are the "Home" key and other keys. What's in the box does not look nearly as good as the picture would indicate.
The keyboard communicates with the PC via a very small usb dongle.
The package also includes a "range extender" (an RF antenna I believe) which looks somewhat like a usb memory stick. Without the extender the keyboard will only work reliably when within a foot or so of the PC. With the range extender plugged in AND, the dongle in direct line of sight to the keyboard it worked reliably out to about 10 or 12 feet as shown on the package. If the PC is placed behind the TV or if it is placed out of sight in a cabinet, communication is lost even at very short distances. I thought the k400r keyboard would have had some form of visual conformation it was communicating properly with the PC (a 2 way RF communication system).
I tried the keyboard with my 10 inch tablet. Working up-close to both the tablet and the to keyboard works fine and is deserving of a much better product rating. The k400 totally failed to perform in the environment I intended it to be used in.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yiannis
from Greece
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Truly a good choice for the living room

Date:January 2, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I bought the K400r (Greek version) for my living room HTPC about 6 months ago. Overall satisfied with my choice.
Pros: Light-weight, good quality plastics, stylish, nice feel from keyboard when typing, batteries last for a long time (I keep forgetting to switch it off and didn't change batteries yet), it has a "left-click" mouse button on the upper-left corner which I found very useful.
Cons: 1.The "Switch off PC" button never worked with my Windows 7 PC and I could find no way to fix this on my own.
2. The reception USB dongle works well only when plugged in a front USB port and there is "eye-contact" between the keyboard and the receptor. Using a back-sided USB port resulted in a delayed and erratic response.
3. Logitech decided to put TWO "forward slash" buttons (that I NEVER use) in this small keyboard resulting with a "Enter" button that is narrower than the "Backspace" button above. I find this the most irritating feature of this otherwise good keyboard. I decided to submit this mini-review as a suggestion to Logitech to omit the redundant "right forward-slash" button on small-sized keyboards and put a reasonably sized 'Enter" button instead. (Take a look at the picture)
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dutch
from Newport NC USA
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

K 400 Keyboard

Date:January 1, 2014
I own two of these keyboards. One I use on Chromebook Acer C7 that I have hooked to my 24 in TV as a monitor and a white one I use on my 18.6 in Telikin computer. I hate a mouse and the built in track pad is a god send for the Chromebook since I use a lap deck a lot while using it. The white one matches my white Telikin computer and looks like a factory installation. As for the complaints about the right shift key location, it is a small keyboard and compromises had to be made. I like the dongle that is a straight plug in installation and not a blue tooth matching exercise. Just what I was looking for
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Derek
from Euless, TX, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Good for surfing the web from across the room

Date:December 29, 2013
I hooked an old computer to my living room TV mainly for surfing the net. I bought this because it had a touchpad built in. Works great out of the box and I use it from 10 to 15 feet away from the computer without any connection problems. I love the extra left-click button on the left side (for the left hand). That brilliant little addition makes using the touchpad for dragging and dropping a breeze. I also like that there is an on/off switch so I can save the batteries when not in use. My complaints would be that the touchpad is too sensitive. I had to turn off the gestures feature because it was registering a touch/click too easily when I was just trying to move the pointer. Fortunately the feature is very easy to turn on and off (FN + left click). I also would prefer a full keyboard because I keep hitting the up arrow when trying to use the right shift and the delete key when trying for the backspace. The only other thing this needs is a scroll wheel with internet forward and back buttons...then it would be perfect.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CentauriA4
from San Bernardino, CA, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Poorly-positioned Right Shift Key

Date:December 22, 2013
This would be a great keyboard if not for the right-side Shift key being smaller than the left and a farther reach.
If you are a "touch typist" not looking at the keyboard, you constantly hit the up arrow key and destroy the line above when your cursor jumps up instead of shifting the next keystroke.
I am a very fast touch typist but cannot maintain speed because of having to look at the keyboard for every right-shift keystroke.
This keyboard is okay for hunt and peck, one finger typists.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Darryl
from Lynchburg, VA, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

great

Date:December 14, 2013
I brought the k400 for my LG 50Ln5600. Smart Tv ,And it work great work with the web browser,all the smart Apps, Netflix ,YouTube even controls the volume of the TV.. Love this wireless keyboard and touch pad.....
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
George
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Definitely worth the money

Date:December 4, 2013
Like any smaller form factor keyboard, you may have to plan to adapt to where one or more keys are, but once you accept that, it is difficult to find anything NOT to like about this product. Lightweight, easy to setup, works flawlessly, touch pad (and I usually do not like touch pads) is very convenient when you can't use a separate mouse, etc.. Makes my microscopic netbook feel more like a REAL computer when I take it with me on the road :-D
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaSamNudge
from Lakewood, CO, USA
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Best keyboard until...

Date:November 30, 2013
I bought this keyboard a while ago to replace an old Dell keyboard, and loved it. Until I got a Mac, it was my main keyboard. I still use it sometimes when I hook my Mac up to our TV because I bought the wired Apple keyboard. Anyone who has a PC, get this awesome keyboard. The only 2 things I disliked about it were that the right shift button was a little small, and the arrow keys were too close to the main keys.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MLD

Right Shift Location Is Weird

Date:October 24, 2013
If you want this for controlling a smart tv, it's great. I love its size and integrated touch pad, but the arrow up key is where the right shift key should be. It's almost impossible to type efficiently on it as a result. I'm shocked that they didn't notice this. My iPad logitch keyboard is laid out wonderfully. Love logitech genrally, but this one is a problem.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
violian
from Roseville, MN, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Nice keyboard for your HTPC set-up

Date:October 19, 2013
I needed a keyboard/touchpad combo for my PC in the living room. Previously, I was using a wireless keyboard and mouse but I found it really cumbersome to be using a wireless mouse on the couch as most times, the mouse had trouble determining movement on fabric. It was also a balancing act of using both devices. So I searched and found the K400R. It is really hard to find something like this so I bought it right away at our local electronic store when I stumbled upon it. I'm pleasantly pleased because it worked right away the 1st time when my PC booted up. When my HTPC boots up, I always have to go through the black/white BIOS setting because I have 3 operating systems installed and I was pleasantly surprised it worked because other wireless products I've had, it doesn't work in the BIOS screen so I always had to use a wired keyboard to get past the BIOS screen before Windows was able to start-up (at which point, I'd switch over to my wireless keyboard). This keyboard is also extremely light (~1/2 weight of my Logitech K750) and now I'm having a much more enjoyable time using my HTPC on the couch. The only little gripe I have is that I wish the build quality was a little better. My K750 has a really nice finish while this has materials that looks like it came equipped for free with a desktop. My K750 costed ~$15 more and I would've gladly paid more if they used better material. Unfortunately, the K400 was the only option.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HTPCuser
from Miami, FL, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Your best option for Home Theater PC

Date:October 5, 2013
I have purchased this device (twice and about to buy another) for use where a traditional mouse and keyboard would prove cumbersome. The K400r is at home in the living room where you have little use for function keys, a 10-keypad, or a wireless mouse (which is a challenge on a couch cushion). The Windows 8 shortcut keys are a big help to bring up the settings and access media buttons.
If you need a desktop keyboard there are many options. If you need a keyboard for the couch your choices are limited or compromised. The K400r is for you.
All they need is a model with a backlight (would likely cost more) and that would also be a perfect five star product. I feel this product is really aimed at the HTPC crowd and the omission of a backlight is unfortunate. In this case, at this price point, this product cannot be expected to contain a backlight. I don't like when people take points off of a product when it fails to meet a desire it was not intended for. So I did not dock it a star.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
spicetrader
from Petaluma, CA, USA
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Some problems

Date:August 26, 2013
The only model now available seems to be the K400R. Unfortunately, the older K400 (with no letter suffix), which seems no longer available, was a better device, because the F-keys across the top would work as the F-keys on PC keyboards have worked since 1982. With the K400R, you have to hold down the blue FN key to get the traditional behavior. As best I can tell, there's no permanent way to switch the behavior. So, if after decades of use, you have learned to strike the F1 key for help and the F2 key for edit, then you will now learn to stumble.
When I order the K400 from Amazon, they send the K400R in the box that says K400 on the outside. It appears Logitech no longer makes the distinction, and K400R is all that survives. It says K400R on the bottom.
I wish the K400 was still available. All the Logitech keyboards seem to have gone with the K400R style, and it rather annoys me.
The up-arrow where the right shift key should be took about 18 months to get used to, and it still trips me up from time to time.
I liked my old K400 so much I took it to work. I do spreadsheets, programming, word processing, power point, linux and windows etc. It's small enough to balance on my knees. There's no numeric pad cantilevered out there in space grabbing gravity and tipping the keyboard to the right. Maybe somebody at Logitech thought I was supposed to watch TV with this keyboard, not work. But it's a great keyboard to work with (except for the tricky shift key).
Maybe I've talked myself into getting used to the submerged F-keys.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bob
from Connecticut, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Excellent Product

Date:August 2, 2013
The smaller size took a while to get used to but now it's as if I am using a full size keyboard. The only drawback I found was that it's not lighted but for the price you can't expect everything.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>