Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Cases and Covers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Ultrathin Keyboard Cover

Logitech Ultrathin Keyboard Cover

Average Customer Rating:
3.913 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 23 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
2
17 out of 23(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Review 1 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NBJ
from USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Fatal Flaw

Date:March 15, 2014
I love this keyboard cover. But both the Air and Mini versions have a fatal flaw. Both my Air and my Mini keyboard covers have broken at the power button opening of the case, it's thinnest point. The Mini is still securely held in place, at least for now. The Air would not stay securely held so the case is unusable now. The Air broke within a week. The Mini broke within a month. Of course, I will send them back to Logitech, but this product should have been tested more before sending to market.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ganiwo
from Eden Prairie, MN, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Extremely uncomfortable working angle for Retina!

Date:March 15, 2014
This keyboard was designed before the Retina iPad Mini was released to the market and is NOT optimized for it. Angle is almost vertical and the magnetic lock is almost non-existent. Please look elsewhere.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bobcats9498
from Austin, TX, USA

Does not work well with iPad mini with retina

Date:February 20, 2014
I just purchased this keyboard for use with my iPad mini with Retina. I love the keyboard, but unfortunately the viewing angle with the retina is not good. The iPad almost sits vertically in the keyboard and it is very difficult to see. If the iPad was tilted back even by a few degrees, it would be perfect. Sadly, I am returning the product as it does not work well (viewing angle) with the retina iPad mini.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cjanimallover

Amazing product

Date:January 4, 2014
I asked for a laptop for Christmas, and instead got this amazing little case! I absolutely LOVE it, and it is so easy to carry and travel with, and with this thing you basically turn your iPad mini into a mini laptop! I love how you can have your iPad mini then in a few seconds turn it right into a super adorable mini laptop! The touch screen is still available, so it is still very easy to use your iPad. Highly reccomend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rj
from ohio
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

tilt angle

Date:December 12, 2013
Just got my keyboard for my mini everything is great but i wish it tilted back another notch or 2!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
goojam
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Great Keyboard, except double types frequently

Date:November 20, 2013
I love this keyboard. I spent a lot of time researching various keyboards before I purchased and this seemed to be exactly what I was looking for. I got it and absolutely love it overall. My only complaint is that frequently when I'm typing and push a key, the letter appears twice in my typing. It happens at least once in every three minutes of typing. As I haven't seen this commented on in other reviews, it may be a specific defect with my keyboard, but it is worth noting. Also, I have big hands, but I have very little difficulty typing on this keyboard.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Siegfried
from Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Fully compatible with the ipad Mini 2 except...

Date:November 15, 2013
I took my Ultrathin Keyboard Cover for the iPad Mini to my local Apple Store and here's what I have determined from first hand experience:
-- The magnetic hinge attaches to the iPad Mini 2 perfectly despite being slightly thicker than the iPad Mini 1
-- The keyboard cover activates and deactivates the screen accordingly when unattached and attached; It works exactly the same as with the iPad Mini 1
-- The integrated slot accomodates the iPad Mini 2 for viewing and typing; Despite being a few millimeters thicker, it still fits perfectly and securely even when touching the screen
Here's what I don't like:
-- The black version of the iPad Mini with Retina Display uses a different color than the 1st generation (Space Grey instead of Slate). When the keyboard cover is closed with the device, the front and back do NOT match perfectly as before. This could be a deal breaker for the anally retentive ;)
-- When the keyboard is docked in the slot for typing, the color mismatch is also noticeable from behind because the back of the Space Grey iPad is lighter than the glossy black finish of the keyboard cover. Again this is not too big of a deal because everything matches perfectly from the front view.
VERDICT:
Unless you are extremely picky about matching the BACK of the keyboard cover with the back of the Space Grey of the iPad Mini with Retina Display, I see no reason to hold out for Logitech to release an updated version. I actually question whether or not Logtiech will release a version for the iPad Mini 2 because in terms of functionality, everything works the same as before. If Logitech does come out with an updated version it might look a little weird because the actual keyboard would have to be black and the small area above it would have to be Space Grey in order to match the aesthetics from the rear view.
FYI I have the full size Logitech Ultrathin Keyboard Cover for the iPad and after testing it with the iPad Air I found that the integrated slot does NOT hold the iPad Air due to it being thinner than before; I tried it out in store and the iPad Air immediately falls backwards out of the slot. Also the footprint is narrower so the keyboard cover and iPad Air are unable to close together with the smart function triggering the screen on/off.
Hope this helps...
+29points
37out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bud
from Harrisburg, PA, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Works great

Date:September 12, 2013
Have had one about four months work really good , but it stopped working no reason wasn't dropped or spills on it just every other key wont work dont a know why maybe some one out there does other then that great will be ordering another one
-4points
4out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VeryHappy
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Excellent Product

Date:July 22, 2013
As a person who is pretty obsessed with electronics and is an Apple diehard, I did a lot of research before purchasing a bluetooth keyboard for my iPad mini. I came across this one, and it looked like the best keyboard on the market. After receiving it, I can confirm that to be true. This is an awesome product. The keyboard functions perfectly, and the keys feel great under your fingers. Very similar to the keys on my macbook pro and very dissimilar to the keys on most bluetooth keyboards. The function keys are great. A lot of thought has gone into the layout of the keyboard to allow you to have as much utility as possible with the very limited amount of space. Even though it is tiny due to the small size of the iPad mini, it is very easy to use, even for someone with larger hands. As other reviews said, the finish of the keyboard almost matches the finish of the iPad perfectly. It literally looks like you have two iPads stacked together. The thickness is pretty much identical, too. It feels very sturdy and well-made. The functionality of the magnets is great. The magnet latch attaches perfectly once you start to put the two devices close together, and comes off with ease if you just bend the keyboard around the back of the iPad. The iPad fits in the stand slot perfectly, and the magnet there works great, too. You can pick the iPad up while in the slot, and the magnets easily support the weight of the keyboard. But again, simply by tilting the iPad forward, it detaches easily. I would definitely recommend this product.
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
fatyin

Not Compatable with Anycases

Date:May 22, 2013
The keyboard has a great feel typing, compared with other iPad mini keyboard. However, the longer-that-smart cover hinge (168mm vs 182mm) force me not using any cases with the ultra-thin, making the back of the ipad very valunable to skretches.
In the end, I choose to bring the keyboard and the ipad seperately. Then what is the point getting an ultra-thin?
-34points
17out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doug
from Indianapolis, IN

Enhances the iPad mini experience

Date:May 15, 2013
The on-screen keyboard works well on the iPad mini, especially since it's overall easier to hold and reach all the keys. But the Logitech Ultrathin Keyboard Cover makes the iPad mini my complete meeting companion. The full use of the screen for taking notes and running remote-control apps eliminates the need to tote around a bulky laptop.
The magnetic strip holding the iPad mini in landscape mode is just strong enough that you can grab the combo by the iPad bezel if you're careful - most of the time the keyboard will fall off, so I don't recommend doing this.
Also, since there's no magnet keeping the folded duo in a closed position, you need to be careful when carrying it that you don't allow the two to swing open. A velcro or elastic strip around the combo when closed would fix this issue.
Finally, the keyboard layout definitely takes getting used to - the fact that the "Q" and "Tab", as well as a the "A" and "Caps Lock", share keys makes for some awkward typing at times. I also find myself hitting the home button a lot when I meant to hit the numeral 1. Since I've only owned it a short time, I'm sure I'll get used to it...but it makes for some awkward moments when you think you're taking notes and not looking at the screen, only to find you're back at your desktop and not in Notability.
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chris

Fantastic!

Date:April 14, 2013
This is the best thing I have ever owned. I love it so much. The keyboard means I can type just as fast as I could with a computers keyboard. Thanks Logietech for making a fantastic product.
I actually returned my iPad mini as I found it impossible to type on. As soon as I found this, I purchased the keyboard and purchased a new iPad mini. If it was not for this I would not own an iPad mini. I now type more than sixty words per minute. The keys are responsive and a joy to use as well.
+31points
39out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gpagolf
from Arlington, TX, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Ultrathin Keyboard

Date:April 4, 2013
I want to love this keyboard, but I drop it from about three feet and two keys pop off. Unfortunatly the design is such that once they are off they can not go back on and the plastic tabs break. Also, they do not have replacement parts. Spend your money on a different product.
-42points
18out of 78found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Draycal
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Excellent keyboard

Date:April 3, 2013
This keyboard is thin & is laid out very well considering its as small as the ipad mini. The build quality is great too. Protects the screen great and is definitely worth the money,,Wish it had backlit keys, but a great keyborad..
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wine Gal
from California
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Ipad mini keyboard

Date:March 15, 2013
I tried the Zagg initially but strongly prefer this design. As a cover is works just fine and seems plenty durable riding around in my purse all day. Best of all the key placement was well thought out aad you can transfer from the standard QWERTY keyboard to this quite easily. Clearly it is smaller but for me the Zagg was impossible to get used to because the apostrophe was a function key and required looking down to make it work. I make mistakes on my Logitech but I can correct them with a little practice but without having to learn all new strokes.
love it. As others have said, this keyboard has the added advantage of accomodating portrait view, not just landscape.
+34points
37out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dee
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Has a couple of flaws

Date:March 13, 2013
I have thoroughly enjoyed using this. It allows me the flexibility and convenience of using just about anywhere.. I agree with others concerning the length of the charger cord. The other issue is the frame that holds the ipad is fragile. JUST BE CAREFUL! THE OUTER FRAME IS FLEXIBLE RUBBER BUT IT IS FLIMSY PLASTIC ON THE INSIDE.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
baristamom
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Great Keyboard

Date:March 9, 2013
I LOVE this keyboard. my laptop recently died and my husband suggested to get an ipad mini instead. i looked at about 6 different keyboards and decided on this one and it is awesome. we travel a lot so the size is perfect in the car. its super thin but the keys are not squashed together. i have not had any issues with it. the only cons i have are not having the lightning cable for charging and that the cable is really short. overall definitly a five star keyboard i would highly recommend this to everyone.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ortho doc
from minesota,usa
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

ipad mini keyboard

Date:March 8, 2013
i have used it for a week it is excellent adds very little to the size of the mini
perfect for answering emails and websurfing i am a physician and use my ipad mini on rounds to access labs and xrays the little keyboard is very helpful ordering labs
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fiberbeing
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Questionable recharging cord

Date:March 6, 2013
So far I like everything about this keyboard case except the cord that recharges it is a bit problematic. It's quite difficult to plug it into the keyboard. I'm hoping it will loosen up with time.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zach

Love it

Date:March 5, 2013
I got the Ipad mini to help with a slimmer profile to carry around for college. Ive been shopping around at different ipad mini keyboards and this one just came out. Its awesome, i love it and typing isnt difficult at all.. it matches the ipad exactly as far as color and quality.. looks like they came together
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>