Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Harmony Remotes or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Harmony Smart Control

Logitech Harmony Smart Control

Average Customer Rating:
3.471 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 51 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
14
32 out of 51(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harmony Smart Control
Review 1 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bwamitan
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

I'm not sure why the negative reviews, I LOVE mine

Date:February 10, 2014
:Harmony Smart Control
granted it's only been one day of use. I own an 880, 890 and 1000 harmony. My 890's screen died (i'm sure it's due to it falling to the ground so much and it finally lost the battle, lol#... Setup was very easy #granted I've gone through 3 setups before). I fired it up, plugged it up to my laptop, it transferred and took all my settings from the 890 which was even better since I didn't have to reprogram everything and I was on my way using it and working it like a pro! I just need to remember the locations of the buttons which will happen with time and I'm good to go! At first I was a bit reluctant on going with that model since I was spoiled with having a screen and this one doesn't have on the remote, but the iphone/ipad interface is awesome! and substitutes for it perfectly.
only thing is I wish they included a 2nd IR blaster in the box since the hub has two ports. To my amazement, the remote doesn't come with rechargeable batteries; I wonder what type of batteries, how much replacements will cost, and how long till it loses it's charge.
Good job on that one guys!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Frank
from CT
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Harmony Smart Control does NOT replace 890

Date:January 29, 2014
Just setup the Smart Control to replace my 890. Setup crashed via the harmony app, so I reset the Smart Control to factory settings and setup via USB which worked fine. Transferred programming from 890 without issues. BUT: the remote that comes with the Smart Control does not have IR - it cannot control my TV with direct line of sight! All my equipment is in another room and is controlled without issue, but the TV will not work with the "smart" remote. This of course was no issue with the 890. Unsure why the Logitech engineers removed the IR blaster from the remote itself. The product goes back to the store tomorrow. (this product is only useful if your TV is in close proximity to the IR hub)
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
News2u
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Harmonizing Again

Date:January 20, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
:5
Once again, Logitech hits it out of the park, raising the bar, as expected, in home-remote control wizardry. The response is unreal. Once you get the positioning of the extender right...it operates flawlessly. My only issue, as minor as it may be: no readily accessible info on how to acquire a 2nd extender.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waynux
from MA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Fails after a few weeks

Date:January 18, 2014
Purchased for Xmas gift. Has worked for 4 weeks, then fails. All attempts to get it to work again fail, including bluetooth config, USB config, it Fails as soon as you give it wifi access. I tried factory default multiple times, tried myharmony connect, nothing works. The device is defective. Initial setup went OK and all equipment worked great, but after 4 weeks it is toast.
I don't recommend getting this device. If it worked reliably, it would be great, but it is not reliable.
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JASMOC
from Denver, CO, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Very Easy

Date:January 18, 2014
I had the 890 previously and did a lot of research on what product I needed to replace that one. The most important thing i read about the touch was that it is great if you want to look down at your remote as you navigate. Definitely not something I want to do. I remote by feel only. So, I skeptically went with the simple remote. The reviews on this site made me a little worried about what I would find. 30 minutes after opening the box, all activities very easily copied over from previous remote. Everything works exactly as advertised and expected. Very simple step by step setup that a child could do. It's still early in my experience, but so far it's great.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kailash
from Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Wonderful product. Must buy!!!

Date:January 18, 2014
Fantastic combination of The Hub, phone and simple remote. Initial setup is tedious. Once setup, it is fantastic. There are few things that should be considered before setting it up. Firstly, the type of signal, RF or IR. If your original remote works on RF signal, then set the "Hub Assignments" under Settings option in myharmony.com to "Hub Only" option. If your remote is not listed among the 225,000 listed gadgets, you use the learn option and assign it your simple remote and phone app.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jeffs
from Northern Nevada
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Spent 5.5 hours trying to get it working...

Date:January 8, 2014
The concept is great but I spent 4 hours trying and then called Logitech and they worked with me for 1.5 hours before giving up. Everything works perfectly individually, but as soon as you try an Activity...forget it. Getting E3608 errors, wrong inputs, not powering on, etc...
Sending back to Amazon.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terence
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Best remote I've ever used

Date:January 7, 2014
:Sony LED TV, PS3, AppleTV, Motorola Cable Box
I've been using Logitech's Harmony remotes for the past 6 years and have setup countless more for friends/family. The Harmony Smart Control is by far the best one to date. Setup is much easier than previous models and it can all be done with your phone/tablet. Interface is fairly easy to use and the included remote is perfect for most operations. I find it to be much more responsive than the remote that comes with my devices. It works well with both my PS3 and AppleTV which was surprising to say the least. Make sure you know your wireless settings and you won't have much trouble with setup. Overall a great product that I highly recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Souldad
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Not user friendly.

Date:December 26, 2013
Seemed easy on the first pass, but when I needed to make changes and add components I found that there is no going back. It does not control my whole system, and I am convinced that it never will.
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bphipps
from DC
Age: 35 to 44
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

*CONSTANT* tweaks

Date:December 19, 2013
I feel I should be on Logitech's payroll for the amount of time I spend repairing my own setup—fixing activities (on a weekly basis), ensuring the stars are aligned with the IR Mini Blaster, opening my console door, closing my console door, turning on iPhone app because remote can't handle it, and having to dig out device's remote.
In all fairness, when it works, it's like magic!!! I wasn't even intimidated by the setup. BUT TO KEEP IT WORKING AS IT SHOULD? That's the kicker.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Candee
from North Carolina, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Worked once, now hub can't connect to network

Date:December 17, 2013
:Onkyo TX-NR717 Receiver, Samsung F6500 Smart 3D TV, Sony BDP-S5100 3D Blu-Ray Player, DirecTV DVR H21-200, Polk Surround Sound speakers and PSW 125 sub-woofer
The setup process was very easy and everything worked very well right after the setup. However, once I turned everything off (with the remote of course), the next time I tried to turn on the TV (or any other device) I received a "can't find the hub" error message. The hub could not be found because the hub could not connect to the router. Funny, it worked flawlessly before I turned everything off. Also, every other wi-fi device in the house has no issue connecting to the router. I checked for firmware updates - there were none. Tried re-installing and starting the process all over again, no luck. The hub can see the router, but cannot connect to the network. This basically renders this remote and smart phone app useless! I can't send it back because I bought it a while ago online, so now I am stuck with a useless paperweight. Since my old Logitech remote doesn't support all my new equipment, I have no other choice but to resort to controlling all my devices with their individual remotes - its a real pain! I am hoping that Logitech will come out with a firmware update to resolve these issues, but so far I haven't seen any updates.
Not a very good customer experience, in my opinion.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tkdream
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

tkdream - Scottsdale, AZ

Date:December 16, 2013
After doing extensive research on all available remotes to replace a remote that had become obsolete I purchased the Harmony Smart Control. I have been using this remote for two weeks now and could not be happier with the system. I use the remote to control all the components in my Home Theater System. This includes a Denon AVR-2807, Toshiba LCD TV, Samsung BD-F5900 Blu Ray, Denon CD Player & Cox Contour Cable DVR. The hub RF signal was strong enough to control all the components on multi shelves and in other compartments from each other with out the use of any of the supplied extra RF blasters. All of the components worked perfectly during the setup. The only thing I could highly recommend is you first download the complete setup and operating manual from the support section of the Logitech.com website. The instructions that come with the remote are not very informative and leave a lot of basic steps out of the setup process that could cause some people a great deal of headaches. If you download the manuals and follow them exactly the setup should go flawlessly as it did with me. The other thing I have discovered after using the system for a while is the physical remote that comes with the system does almost everything I need to do with all the components without having to use my I-Phone as the remote even though this app works like a charm as well. I have just found it easier to use the physical remote than run the battery down on my I-Phone. All in all this system does all I expected and more at a price I found to be very reasonable for such a powerful system.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Spud
from Columbus, OH
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Cannot Find Hub

Date:December 11, 2013
:TV, Blu-Ray Player, Apple TV, A/V Receiver, Cable Box, Philips Hue Lighting
I bought this remote to replace a Harmony Touch (which I also hated). The app on the phone loses connection to the hub daily, requiring a power cycle of the hub to correct. The iPhone app is poorly designed and difficult to use. The iPad app is even worse because of the wasted screen space within the app.
The remote works well, when my phone is able to connect to the hub. I have been a loyal Harmony customer for years, but the Touch and Smart Control are going to change that. Can I buy another Harmony One instead of this garbage?
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RK

Awesome!!

Date:November 14, 2013
:multiple ios devices to control TV,Receiver,blu ray, Wii, and an apple TV
This remote setup really is worth the money and it makes controlling all my devices fun. I had everything configured and working seamlessly in about an hour, but it is was time well spent and easy to do. The new ipad app (full screen) really is the icing on the cake.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ashcrash1
from Reno, NV, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Worst remote ever!!!!

Date:November 4, 2013
:Panasonic tv, energy sound bar, cisco dvr, sony bluray
I bought this remote when my older
Logitech Harmony 900 Universal broke and I am SO disappointed. I spend more time trying to change the channels then I do watching the television its self. For the price of this remote I was expecting something that would work, although it does connect to all of my different products and was very easy to set up I do not believe that this product is worth the money. I should not have to move the device that is able to detect the remote or the phone app over five times for it to be able detect that I am trying to change the channel. I would recommend NOT purchasing this product, although I have been loyal Harmony remote user for years I would NEVER purchase this again, or recommend it to anyone.
-4points
12out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Corum
from France
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Very good but...

Date:October 29, 2013
:Av receiver, tv set, cd player, htpc
Does what it is made for. No problem installing and configurint, even with my zotac htpc with xbmc on it (just have to choose microsoft mce remote to get it working).
But : about the apps (android or apple), the buttons are disposed in a horrible way, and I just cant find how to change it. You just have a list of buttons following each other, without any consideration of how easy to use it is. It is boring to have to look for a button in 2,3 or even 4 pages of buttons disposed randomly.
Please allow the user to change disposition of the devices buttons !
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rick7C2

Controls everything BUT WHAT I BOUGHT IT FOR!

Date:October 26, 2013
:Everything but what I needed it to connect to.
I built a HTPC running Win 8 so I could control XBMC with a cool remote. However It will not control the PC at all. I tried connecting it to a Xbox 360 Wireless adapter on my pc. After I mapped all the buttons for the remote I found out it will not work.
It controls the Xbox 360 Console, WII PS3 TV Bluray and everything else under the sun but will not control the PC it's connected to.
I guess I have to buy another remote for a pc just so I can use my Harmony.
I usually love Logitech Devices but this one is just not any good.
-22points
4out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Retired
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Retired

Date:October 25, 2013
:TV, DVD, Cable Box, and AVI with surround sound
I had a Logitech 1000 that finally gave it up (actually I dropped it and the screen broke)......Purchased the Smart Control and within 10 minutes it was configured and working. I was surprised that the software went and copied my configuration file (4 devices and numerous activities) from the web site for the old Logitech remote and just installed it in the Smart Control. It doesn't get much easier than this and then I downloaded the app for my smart phone and it installed in less than 2 minutes. Now I have a simple remote and my cell phone is also a remote, thus 2 remotes......AMAZING and just works.....
I am very pleased with this technology....
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nurseman
from Ohio, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Amazing!

Date:October 19, 2013
I purchased this morning, setup took 20 minutes (use computer) and I am up and running. This is FANTASTIC! I could not be happier. I HIGHLY recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Harmony Smart Control
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
funasianguy4u

Amazing - Works Brilliantly - A Must Have

Date:October 13, 2013
:Samsung LED TV, Xbox 360, Pioneer DV-45A and Motorola Set up Box
The Fios Remote that came with the Motorola Set Up Box was never really great, so I finally took a jump and reviewed my entire remote control set up. The idea of being able to control all my entertainment gadgets through a simplified set up was very intriguing.
-It worked immediately after the set up which was a piece of cake!
-Flawless set up, despite minimal instructions online or via pamphlet
-Plug the hub to the computer first, so the firmware can get upgraded
-Wish the limit was higher on your "favorite" programs, as we subscribe to all TV
channels
-Very odd that the more expensive Harmony remotes do not come with the mobile
option, hey, no complaints as I stayed below the max. device number
-Definitely a great gift for the guy or girl who has everything!
Logitech, you rock again!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>