Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Harmony Remotes or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Harmony Ultimate

Logitech Harmony Ultimate

Average Customer Rating:
3.926 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 27 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
7
20 out of 27(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harmony Ultimate
Review 1 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Older models were better.

Date:February 14, 2014
The touch screen is extremely sensitive. This, coupled with the fact that the screen is located in the middle of the remote, results in a lot of accidental commands (such as channel change, turning off the TV, etc.). I would not have nearly as much of a problem with the remote if the touch screen was located at the top, with the push buttons towards the middle and bottom. The screen happens to be where most people naturally rest their fingers when holding a remote, which is irritating and ergonomically counterintuitive. I have also found that the remote does not respond quickly when I press the play, fast forward, and reverse buttons. In fact, every time I use the remote, I inevitably have to press these buttons multiple times before the command registers. All in all, I have used better remotes and am not very impressed by this model.
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iMikeM
from Burlington, ON, Canada
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Still best of class

Date:February 9, 2014
:Samsung TV, Onkyo Receiver, Bell Fibe PVR, PS3, PS4, Apple TV, Wii U
Recently upgraded from a Harmony 1000 to the Harmony Ultimate. Everything has been improved. The speed at which things react now (button presses) is comparable to the original remotes for devices. Very intuitive remote. It is missing a 30 sec rewind for PVR button, but other then that I do recommend this remote.
Programming this remote is much simpler than before as well. Folks at Logitech obviously have spent some time into determining device order for power up/down, delays for devices, etc.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Steve6
from Seattle
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Nice effort, but we're going back to Harmony One's

Date:February 3, 2014
:Kramer HDMI switcher and DA, Tivo cable DVR, Apple TV, several BluRay players, several Samsung TV's
We've been using Harmony One's for years and have 5-6 of them around the house. We've also now had the Harmony Ultimate for a few months, and we have all used it regularly in the living room. I've spent hours tweaking the programming to get it just right. Bottom line: nobody likes the Ultimate. Everybody wants to go back the Harmony One's. The ergonomics of the Ultimate are just not right. None of the buttons are where you need them to be. The only spot that is convenient for quick one-hand access is the touch screen. The touch screen swipe movements work fairly well and seem to be well thought-out, but they are simply not as reliable as is using a hard button that always does what you expect it to do. The ultimate has some nice features, including the RF signals, and programing software that is an improvement over that for the Harmony One. However, Harmony One still wins out by a mile because of ergonomics: its use almost always requires just one hand and can often be done without looking at the remote. Harmony Ultimate often requires two hands and usually requires visual guidance to hit the right spot.
I must not be alone in my opinion -- the price of new, but now discontinued, Harmony One's has more than doubled on Amazon. Logitech should reactivate the Harmony One and update it's programming software to allow online cloning of profiles to facilitate use with a centralized AV system with remotes for different viewing areas requiring only minor variations from the main profile.
Better yet, redesign the Ultimate to be very similar in shape to the One, but with the addition of the RF feature, the improved programing software, and the more versatile and useful touch screen.
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike
from Christiansburg, VA, USA
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Upgrade from Harmony One

Date:January 22, 2014
I upgraded to Harmony Ultimate because my Harmony One died after a number of faithful years. After a couple of weeks using the remote, it works very well with my equipment. I have nine pieces of equipment I use for both Audio and Video. The remote does a wonderful job of keeping everything in working order if you set all equipment and menus correctly in the beginning setup. The only issue I have is that the layout (screen and buttons) on the remote are not very well placed for use with one hand. Other than that, I recommend it for a lot of equipment.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigCountry
from Ellijay, GA 30540, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Best Harmony Remote and Setup Ever!

Date:January 20, 2014
:Pioneer receiver, DIRECTV, Sony DVD, and SHARP HD TV
This is my second Harmony Universal Remote that I have purchased. The first one that I have been using for 4 years was hard to set up and make changes. This one was done in less than 30 minutes for everything to work, even the Smart phone program. The Hub and 2 blasters control the components even better and faster than the first set. I am highly impressed by the remote itself and its favorite channel screen. It changes the channel faster than punching in the numbers myself. I have not one issue to complain about in the 3 weeks I have been using it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ernstmach
from The Great Mitten
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Great remote!

Date:January 16, 2014
:Pioneer Elite reciever, Oppo Blu-ray, Panasonic plasma tv, PS3, Yaqin tube amp.
Did a lot of research when my previous remote started to act up. Lots of reviews on this product. Most were positive. I decided to purchase this because it had the features I wanted. I figured I could work out any problems that might arise.
Remote worked exactly as it was supposed to right from the start. Very easy setup, lot's of options and paired with my PS3 with no issues.
Although the remote I had for several years previously required two hands to operate this does also, at least for me. The shape is the only negative I could find with this remote.
If there was one thing I wish this remote could do is to control music playback from my PC.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MikeD
from Menlo Park, CA, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Love my Harmony Ultimate (Huge Upgrade)

Date:December 26, 2013
:Samsung TV and DVD/BlueRay player, Xfinity cable, and Sony receiver and CD Player
Just purchased the Ultimate and absolutely love it. Had the 900 previously, and the additional features of the Ultimate make it worth the upgrade. Like the "hub" functionality that allows me to use my iPhone5 as a remote, love the "favorites" feature, much more powerful with the RF devices (and hub) in terms of working in all areas of my family room and no matter which direction I point the remote. Form factor fits nicely in all of my family members' hands, and best of all, my wife is no longer afraid of it and has actually embraced it. Well done, Logitech!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jeff
from Ohio, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Previous harmony remote user

Date:December 6, 2013
:Apple TV, cable box, surround sound
Would not recommend this remote if you are use to previous harmony touchscreen remotes. It is actually a step back in quality. Not made as well and harder to use and follow. Family hates new remote and it's menu does not flow easily. I returned it!
+9points
15out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TechGuru
from United States
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Not the 900

Date:November 17, 2013
At the time the 900 had URC trumped in some regards.
The ultimate is not as sturdy feeling. Non replaceable battery. No Ir on board. Screen is touchy. Too many sub menus replace hard buttons. Location of the buttons it does have are poor. The entire screen layout is just lacking. In some ways this is an upgrade from the 900. Mostly not. also very hard to use with one hand.
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WeatherWatcher
from Lake Villa, IL
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Simply the BEST

Date:November 11, 2013
:Sony KDL-46S2000 LCD HDTV, Yamaha YSP-1000, Dish Network ViP722 DVR, Sony BDP-BX37 Blu-ray
Beware of any reviews that are below 4 stars. I think these people may be challenged a bit with technology, or don't follow directions correctly. That said, this isn't nearly as complicated as you think...
I've tried several One-for-All remotes, the Sony RM-AV3000, and most recently I've been using a Universal RF-20. The Universal remote wasn't bad but like most universal remotes you do have to either learn the remote or find it using the code list. Then you have to create names for the keys and functions. Finally record the macros. All of this takes a lot of TIME and PLANNING.
I really hesitated spending this kind of money but I gotta tell you my wife loves me for it! This thing is sweet. One-touch watch TV. One touch watch a movie. Up and running in 30-45 minutes. You can also have other functions too but I couldn't wait to try it.
The Harmony touch screen works just like an iPhone. You can reorder favorite channels like you can folders containing apps, and remove them from the display by closing them (with an 'x'). Swipe left and right for additional pages and up and down to scroll.
Harmony was simple to set up. Actually, it was amazing how smart the website is. All the work is done by the website. All you need to have is the Mfg/Model of you AV equipment and understand what inputs are being used. I found all of my equipment, some of which is 7 years old. After selecting my equipment, Harmony actually understands and recommends which components need to be activated to watch TV (e.g. HDTV, Surround, DVR, [but not the Blu-ray]).
My setup was 5 steps and it worked first time. Setting up the app on my iPhone was even more simple. Download the app, select the hub from your network. Done. The features import right over. Gestures on the iPhone also allow you to skip forward on the DVR and control volume.
I am so happy I went with the Harmony Ultimate. I already feel I got my money worth.
+19points
23out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LWRX
from Chatsworth, GA 30705, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Better than expected!

Date:November 5, 2013
:VIZIO TV, DVD, ONKYO SOUND SYSTEM, APPLE TV, AND CHARTER CABLE BOX.
Had a much older Logitech remote and upgraded to this remote. Set-up was very easy and quick! Highly recommend!
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ALough
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Hands Down Best Remote Ever!

Date:October 28, 2013
:Xbox, DVD, Cable Box
Love the sleek design and functionality. We no longer have multiple remotes, this is the only one we need.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cuse10182
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Best Remote Ever!!

Date:October 25, 2013
This remote is extremely easy to setup. Love using it. Wish they have an iPad app as well.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adam

Tons of Features

Date:October 5, 2013
Lot s of features, easy to setup, replaced all of my remotes and I couldn't be happier. I'm a tech junky and this remote just works
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mschiff
from Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Way better than my Harmony 900

Date:September 5, 2013
I've owned two Harmony 900s for several years now and after one of them died a few weeks ago, I upgraded to the Harmony Ultimate. I love it so much that I am thinking about replacing my other (still working# 900 just because this new remote is so much better than the 900. Several of the reviewers said that they are upset that the Ultimate does not have IR built into the remote itself and that you must have the hub or blasters in front of all your components including your TV, however THEY ARE WRONG. It is true that Harmony encourages you to set up your remote with the blasters so that you can use your smartphone to control all of your devices, and it's also true that Harmony fails to mention in the quick setup guide how to configure the remote to use its built-in IR capabilities #or even mention that it is possible to do#, however this link will explain how to do it http://logitech-en-emea.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/42112/~/how-to-assign-devices-to-your-harmony-hub,-ir-mini-blasters,-or-remote-only#remote
What I love about the remote is that it's range is SOOO much better than the 900. It works every time. On my Harmony 900 there were times when it would power on 4 out of the 5 components when I started an activity, and then I would have to hit "help" to get the 5th one to turn on or change to the correct input. This new remote gets it right 100% of the time.
A few other helpful things I want to mention #again because Harmony does not mention these features that I only found after playing around with the remote, so unless you go exploring you don't even know it can do these things#. You can customize the Gesture swipe commands and you can customize the startup screen of each activity #so when you start an activity is goes strait to the number screen, Gesture Swipe screen, Commands screen, etc.#.
The last two features I am loving that my 900 did not do are [1] Syncing the remote after you make changes to your account without any cables #you simply click "sync remote" on the remote#, and [2] the ability to program almost every button with two functions #1 function assigned to quick tap and a 2nd function when you press and hold the button# is so cool and useful. My wife and kids started using the remote right away before I even had a chance to explain to them how to use it. Definitely recommend.
+49points
51out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ComputerEngineer
from Silicon Valley, Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

No IR emitter on this remote a show stopper

Date:August 23, 2013
I got this remote to replace a Harmony 900. Unfortunately my TV is mounted on the wall 15 feet from my equipment cabinet. There is no way for me to run a cable and place an emitter in front of the TV while keeping the blaster in the cabinet. My old 900 worked fine because it was programmed to send the TV signals directly to the TV via IR, and the other signals via RF to the blaster.
This "new and improved version" CANNOT DO THAT, so I guess I am screwed. Saving money (pennies) by eliminated an IR emitter on the remote was an incredibly poor design decision.
+9points
54out of 99found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dave
from Florida, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Good Product but expensive

Date:July 15, 2013
:Samsung TV, Samsung Blu-Ray, Onkyo and Yamah amplifiers, DVR and Media Center PC
I have had an 880 for 6-7 years. Recently the activity buttons were not working well. I decided to buy another Harmony remote and was pleased to see the Ultimate had just been introduced. I was not please with the price, but decided to try it since I had good luck with the 880.
Set up worked fairly well with all the settings transferring automatically. The customizations did not all transfer and had to be re-input. Not that big a deal.
Like many, my TV IR sensor is exposed, but all the other components including the Ultimate Hub were in an enclosed cabinet. I had to figure a way to mount one of the Ultimate's IR flashers so it could control the TV. A little black duct tape on the flasher cord did the trick, but I would have preferred a more elegant solution. A bracket that would hold the flasher on a horizontal surface would be appreciated. At least it's hidden. By using the Ultimate flasher to control the TV, the entire system can be controlled from my iPhone or iPad. (Note: the Ultimate Remote control can be set to control the TV by IR and the rest of the components by RF.)
The biggest issue was the Ultimate did not recognized the need for directional controls, left, right, up, down and select for the Media Center PC. The transport controls, play, stop, pause, etc. were also not functional for the Media Center PC. It would turn on and off just fine, but no other controls worked. I could not understand since the controls all worked and still worked with the 880 remote. Phone support worked with me for 2 hours and finally got it working. What a relief.
Once that was resolved, it seems to be working well. The iPhone app works very well. I can switch between the Harmony Remote and the iPhone app without a problem. Now I can turn on and control the whole house music system from any where in the house or even outdoors on the patio.
I really like most of the features. The new remote is much more responsive than the old ones. The touch screen is great. Not as responsive as an iPhone, but very good and a far improvement over the 880.
The concept of the Hub is a good one, and I like that it will control lighting as well.
The iPhone App is good, but could use some improvement. There is no iPad app. I suspect both will be fixed soon.
Good product once it is set up. I wish the price was lower.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
David
from Bartlesville, OK, USA
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

I like this remote...

Date:June 21, 2013
I've had the Harmony 880 for several years. It's been OK. Recently, it has seemed to have much less IR signal strength. I would have to step up to within 10 feet of our devices to get reliable signaling. So, I decided to upgrade to the Ultimate.
It works perfectly. The remote works from two rooms away!
I was able to copy the 880 configuration; so, the install was a snap.
And, I do like being able to use my iPhone to control things.
On the negative side, I really miss the button that advances 30 seconds (I think). I used it to skip through commercials on recorded programs. The Ultimate doesn't seem to have that button; so, I have to fast-forward and click play when it's gone far enough. And then backup up, again.
Oh, did I mention that it's expensive.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truquiny

Exelent

Date:June 2, 2013
Perfect affordable remote kit it gets better with each update my devices Receiver, HDMI switch, blueray,sat box, apple tv, lutron light switch, haier A/c unit, samsung tv working perfect
+7points
15out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Harmony Ultimate
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jdbphd
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

The best universal remote

Date:May 30, 2013
:Onkyo 1008 home theater receiver, Apple TV, disc dvr, blu ray player, sonos system (inside and outside speakers)
I had an 880 and this remote is far superior. Easy to program (even setting up Zone 2 on my Onkyo NS 1008 receiver wasn't difficult). It is much more responsive than my old remote and makes far fewer errors (which are usually resolved with the help button in the menu)
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>