Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Mice or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech G500s Laser Gaming Mouse

Logitech G500s Laser Gaming Mouse

Laser versatility at hand, with customization in mind.
Average Customer Rating:
2.744 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 39 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
14
18 out of 39(46%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Review 1 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HaasArrest
from Indiana
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Solid mouse with perhaps a few issues.

Date:March 25, 2014
I got this mouse to replace my old Sidewinder x3 which had a malfunctioning scroll wheel. Keep in mind some of these issues or complaints are based on one g500s, and my hand shape/size.
Pros:
-Enough well placed and usable buttons for dota 2. (I use all 10 buttons)
-I use the dual mode scroll wheel a decent amount when browsing reddit (even if its not totally necessary).
-Laser is accurate and I can't sense any lag or acceleration.
-Glides smooth and the cable is positioned high enough to not immediately drag.
-Braided cord seems durable enough.
-Outside materials are seemingly high quality.
-Switches and feet seem durable.
-3 year warrenty.
-Software works like it should.
-I find it to be an attractive looking mouse.
Cons:
-The mouses overall shape and ergonomics took a while to get used to, and even now my x3 feels more comfortable and is easier to pick up.
-The mouse rattles quite a bit when shaking it. This seems to be a mixture of the scroll wheel and the sensor. When I tape a piece of paper over the sensor and shake it the cursor moves. If I shake the mouse in the air (so no surface to track) the cursor does not move. Weird stuff.
-Scroll wheel is quite loose in ratcheting mode (although it's not too much of a problem when playing csgo, but I would not buy this mouse if csgo was my main game). Loose ratcheting scroll wheel does make it easier when browsing the web though.
-Mouse does make a high pitch sound, but my computer drowns it out so it's a non issue for me.
Overall:
I'm happy with this mouse, it's got enough features, buttons, and quality components. I'm warming up to the ergos, so the only things that bug me are the loose scroll wheel, rattling, and potentially loose sensor (I did drop the mouse once about 3 feet but am pretty sure it was like that before, I also tested my buddies old g500 and it also had cursor movement when the sensor was taped over and shaken). I think it's deserving of a 4 out of 5 and I'd consider buying it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jatpe
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

The "holding" issue ruins a perfectly fine mouse.

Date:February 27, 2014
After 4 months I started to get the issue where holding down left click would cause the "flimmer" effect which caused major issues with drawing, dragging icons or gaming (imagine drawing a bow, for example).
I got it exchanged for a new one only to get the same issue even earlier on. At this point I just reprogrammed the thumb button to serve as left click and lived with it just because it would've felt silly to throw such an expensive mouse away.
Otherwise it has been excellent. The adjustable weight, precision, shape, easy-to-reach buttons that are easily programmable, everything.
It just seems silly that Logitech would make a mouse so expensive and well designed only to fall on using inferior components that just simply don't last. Especially in gaming.
Considering how common this issue is, I wouldn't recommend this to anyone until it is clearly stated that this issue has been fixed. (as of now, I haven't found any official comments on the waves of broken products.)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bnlite
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Great mouse! For a while....

Date:February 6, 2014
I got this mouse for my birthday last year and am approaching one year of use. At first I was thrilled because I had borrowed an MX518 for a while from someone, but had to give it back.
PROS:
-Larger size (A bit smaller than MX518, which is about right for me)
-Wired (didn't want to mess with batteries in the middle of things)
-Programmable side buttons that are easy to reach
-Large click area for both mouse buttons and adjustable weights
CONS:
-Cord tends to snag on every edge it runs across, which is the hole it goes through to go to my tower and the edge of the desk, which sometimes requires me yanking on it. Cord also gets very dirty.
-Started having an issue where if I held down the mouse button it would release like I had let go of it. Thought it was me(or the mouse was dirty, I live with a large dog) but after searching turns out this is a known issue.
-Small particles under the mouse severely disrupt tracking at times.... has to be VERY clean or else doesn't work. Even with a mousepad.
Overall I really enjoy this mouse. However, I'm a designer and the bug with the buttons and the sensitive tracking is a huge issue, which until recently I thought was just user error. I've been dealing with it because this was an expensive mouse and didn't want to buy another one. If I had realized earlier maybe I could have had it exchanged.
I've been buying Logitech for keyboards and mice for 10 years and this is the first time I've had issues with a product. Staying loyal to Logitech because one bad apple doesn't ruin it for me, but wish there was a fix for this other than a new mouse.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Timo
from Hampton Roads, Virginia, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Not equal to the MX500

Date:January 29, 2014
I got the G500s to replace my old MX500 when the scroll stopped working. I had no desire to get a wireless mouse and deal with batteries and signal issues.
Admittedly, I didn't buy it for gaming, but I was surprised just how sloppy the much-touted new scroll wheel design for Logitech mice is. The precision was nothing like the MX, in any mode. Worse still was the shark skin texture, which was actually slippery to me. Compared to the comfortable and secure rubber grip of the older design, this grip led quickly to hand fatigue. Furthermore, the hyped braided cable actually snags on any edges it encounters, and is far inferior to smooth cables. I returned the mouse to the store after only 4 days trial.
As a Logitech mouse user for over twenty years, I was disappointed, and would not consider any of the current designs. I am happy to report I was able to disassemble and repair my old mouse and will keep using it until it dies for good.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
David
from Groningen, The Netherlands
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

A classic form factor ruined by bad execution.

Date:January 25, 2014
I bought this mouse because of its similarity to Logitech's G5, which, like the G500s, uses the old amazing MX518 form factor. My old G5 was an amazing piece of hardware with outstanding build quality.
The G500s is the opposite. Light from the LEDs emits through cracks where it shouldn't be seen. Buttons feel loose and cheap. There's a new sort of anti-sweat layer on the sides that feels absolutely horrible. The software both crashes itself and my video card driver because of improper OpenGL use (I have a GTX770 with the latest drivers). But worst of all, the mouse emits a high frequency tone that is absolutely maddening. I had the same thing with my old G9x and it appears to be a problem with Logitech switching to cheap internal parts. Something they can't justify considering the price of this mouse.
I returned my G500s and hooked up my trusty MX Revolution. I'll be using that until I can find a proper replacement by a company other than Logitech.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JTChance
from Prattville, AL, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Almost there......

Date:January 17, 2014
I have owned several Logitech gaming mice. The G5, the MX500, the G9, and now the G500s. The only other mouse I have had is a Saitek MAD CATZ RAT 7. I loved the size and feel of the Rat 7, however the optical sensor had issues, every now and then the mouse would stop tracking. The only real complaint I have about the G500s is the size. To me, it is too narrow for my hand to rest on it comfortably. It would be nice if the mouse was wider, or made to where you can adjust the width. Also, heavier weights would be nice. Other than that I really like this mouse.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mayne171

Good mouse plagued by bad hardware

Date:January 17, 2014
This review is to get right to the point. I really like this mouse and it replaced my G9x that stopped working however I can't deal with the fact that the mouse emits a very high pitched noise that gives me a headache after about an hour of use. I sought a replacement and results are the same. I can't recommend this mouse until this issue is fixed.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BlastQuasar
from US
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Good mouse, bad cord

Date:January 10, 2014
I have used this product for a little while now, and the cord has begun to break, exposing wires near where the cord meets the mouse. The mouse will cut in and out from time to time, making use difficult. I really expected more durability out of a braided cord like this...
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hexagon
from Belgium
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

weak Compatibility mac

Date:December 27, 2013
It's a really good product, but the thing that's bothering me is that the software for mac doesn't function as it should. For exemple you can't press two buttons at the same time (like scoping en shoting won't work when the software is on). So I also can't drag files while switching programs...
This is the only thing that's really bad, the rest of this product is pure quallity.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ron
from Indiana, USA
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Good Mouse - bad cord

Date:December 25, 2013
I have had three of these and had the cord to go bad on two of them. I really like the mouse for gaming accuracy and easy to use.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vantucken
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

So many bad reviews, here's a good one.

Date:December 17, 2013
Like most, I've owned several gaming mice, but have always been on the lookout for a mouse the feels like my old optical G series from years ago.. It had the best feel!
I've owned and tossed several razer mice, even a few Logitech mice that "just don't feel right", and finally discovered the G500S which is awesome! I haven't experienced the issues described by other folks, not so say that their issues aren't legitimate. This mouse is responsive, can be dialed in to perfection, and works 100% as advertised.
I'm tempted to buy a 2nd one just in case this model become unavailable at some point.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Magist
from China
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Optical lens not fixed ! Extremely bad for games

Date:November 28, 2013
G500s clearly inherited this problem from G500, the optical lens is unfixed and easily moved when mouse moves, so does the cursor on the screen!
I have a German version G500 since 2 years ago, it works well (before that is a China mainland version G500, with an unfixed lens).
Now the new G500s has the same problem!
-1point
10out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TheDude
from Arizona, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

loved at first, but software is bad

Date:November 23, 2013
This mouse was wonderful, great and easy to use....however, after about 1 month of use, during gameplay I might add, all the macros just stopped working. It was so easy to set up these macros at the start, and now nothing I do will work right. Deleted the macros, set up new macros, and still multi-key macros will not work. I'm going back to Razer products, because their software just doesn't stop working. Hardware still works though.....
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
EZRider
from Colorado, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Buttons don't work right in game.

Date:November 17, 2013
I love the feel and portential but I thought this mouse would improve may DOD gaming experience. I wore out my old MX mouse. I've worn out many logitech mice over the years. When shooting the left button doesn't register half the time or it registers a right button push. Not what I want in the heat of a battle. I'm getting whipped all the time now. I'm thinking of returning this G500s and trying a different brand for the first time.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DeadSlash
from West Chester, PA, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Tried 3, each had a different issue.

Date:November 1, 2013
I was pretty excited about this mouse (big Logitehc guy) and I was looking to upgrade from my G500 because it randomly decides to stop working during gaming sessions requiring a reboot of my computer.
Was at the store the day these hit the shelf and couldn't wait to use it!
The first one worked the best, but when you used the middle side button, you had to press it REALLY hard for it to register (So hard, I reported that it didn't work at all on the forums thinking it was a software bug, I later found pressing it extremely hard would register a keystroke so I returned it.
*note: Everything else worked perfectly.
The second one mostly worked too, but when you pressed the scroll wheel to the right, it pushed down the right mouse button.
The 3rd and final one I bought did not register clicks to the left or the right on the mouse wheel. I was able to program them in setpoint, they simply didn't work.
It's been the only truly bad experience with ANY Logitech product that I have ever had and would still recommend them as a company, just not THIS mouse.
I'm sticking with my regular G500 and 1-2 times a week I need to reboot (I game about 4-6 hours a week) It's frustrating when it happens, but all the buttons work, and it's otherwise a great mouse.
My recommendation is stick with, or upgrade to the G500, NOT the G500s
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Guardian
from Canada
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Terrible internal build quality.

Date:October 25, 2013
This mouse uses virtually the same shape as the G500, G7, and G5 of previous generations.
It feels good in your hand, the grip is nice and everything. Unfortunately they used poor quality materials inside and the mouse emits a high frequency whine that is even worse when in use.
I could hear this from about five feet away.
If you are going to try this mouse, buy it from a place that accepts returns in case you have this issue as well. If not for this, it could have been a great mouse.
-8points
6out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 17 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SpoonHandle
from Tucson, AZ
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Favorite mouse yet

Date:October 15, 2013
I have been playing PC games since I was a child on a 286 so between myself and gaming friends I have used a wide range of mice over the years. The G500s is by FAR my favorite mouse that I have ever used.
I had read other reviewers writing about the high pitch sound and thought that they must have received bad ones. Then I thought about it and realized that they must be younger folks and can hear it better, so I put my ear down close and sure enough, it makes a very high pitch tone. I can see a younger person going insane from that, so I would highly recommend trying one of these if possible before you buy it.
The button layout is perfect for my hand. I especially like the size of the forward and back buttons. Many mice have the buttons much too large so they are too easily pressed by accident.
At first I was a bit weirded out by the grip coating on the sides, but after I used the mouse for a few days I really grew to like it. The coating does exactly what it is meant to so your fingers won't slide on slick plastic as other mice.
The custom weight distribution on the 500s makes for a great solid feel with which you can focus weight evenly or favor the front or back.
The laser precision is excellent. I particularly enjoy using it with the pen tool in Adobe Illustrator. The quick DPI change makes it great for very precise cursor control in design and gaming.
Of all the features my favorite has to be the dual scroll wheel. It is spectacular for browsing long websites & articles. Click the button, spin and watch the page fly.
I honestly can't think of one thing I dislike about this mouse.
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Radical

Poor quality overall

Date:September 17, 2013
I have to fix for the first time after 6 months (!) of use my mouse since i have the infamous double click bug. I have another mouse, Microsoft branded, which works wonders even after 8 years. I didn't expect a mouse costing so much and offering so few, this is probably the last time i buy a Logitech mouse.
-4points
21out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 19 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gip
from ny
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

the worst mouse ever

Date:September 15, 2013
i have change g9x with this g500s.... omg the worst mouse ever is this ...
-29points
7out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 20 for G500s Laser Gaming Mouse
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
USFORCES
from United States
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

G500 switches are junk hopefully G500s is better

Date:August 26, 2013
I've had four or five replacements of the (G500) and they all double click after a few months, the last one lasted 6months.
I just hope the G500s is better or I'll never buy another.
I have a 5yr old Microsoft mouse that works great... I have tons of other Logitech products that I've never had an issue with, just the mouse's always go out.
I take that back the Logitech 3D pro switches are junk too...
+4points
24out of 44found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>