Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Keyboards or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech G13 Advanced Gameboard

Logitech G13 Advanced Gameboard

Improved position. Increased control. Advanced science. Unrivaled game.
Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 28 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
25 out of 28(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Review 1 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Herb
from Deltona, FL, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Excellent Product

Date:March 17, 2014
Love this controller i've used it for about 2years. The biggest downfall i've had recently was updating my system to "Windows 8.1" . When doing so the software is not compatible with the firmware meaning i recommend keeping an extra hdd with windows 7 on it.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UnfairBanana
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

<3

Date:February 12, 2014
When I first got this thing, I didn't have a gaming computer, but was in the process of getting one. Picked this up and messed around quite a bit to get used to it. Now I use it for everything. Whether it be games, schoolwork, or just browsing the internet, this thing is fantastic.
My default profile has every command I could use in a browser. Scrolling, tab switching, selecting windows, copy/paste, close window, EVERYTHING. And that's all on one profile. There are enough buttons to do everything I need. Still, I'd have liked more. Then I could map even more commands, and with just four more could have made it into a one-handed keyboard. That'd have been neat.
As for gaming, it's wonderful. Logitech Gaming Software comes with premade profiles for popular games, and that's good for a starting point. I, however, don't like having to remember everything it sets up. That's where the macro recording comes in. By far, one of my favorite features of the G13. It's simple; hit the record button, select the G key to assign commands to, type in your keystrokes you want recorded, hit record again. Of course, it also tells you all of that on the display screen.
I thought this would be difficult to adapt to, and people who see it all have the same response; whoa.
Really though, getting used to it felt so natural. Now I can't do anything without it. I got a G105 keyboard because of it, and while I'd like one of the models with MORE G-keys, it'll hold me over for now. Between these two, there's nothing I can't do quickly. As a computer programming major in college, this thing is great for recording strings that I have to type over and over. Now, I just do it once and record it on a G-key.
It's fantastic for games. Lately I've been playing Skyrim a lot, and it's perfect for that. I've got a key for everything with, I believe, 7 item hotkeys. With the joystick, I can actually play the whole game one-handed because of this thing. How great is that?
The ONLY thing I can complain about, and it's really not such an issue, is the LCD screen. What's the point? I feel like it could do SOOO much more. It's there to select game profiles, sure. Definitely makes that easier. But once I'm in game? It just sits there on that same screen. It's got a couple applets that I can cycle through (memory usage, a timer/stopwatch, clock, etc.) but nothing actually relevant to games, and I'm not sure where I can get anything like that. Still, such a minor issue. Not even an issue, really.
There was also a little problem with the software; if two keys had the same command, and you tried to change one of them, it will change them both. You have to unassign one, then you can do them seperately. But that's not an issue with the G13, just the software. I only mention in case anyone else has a problem like I did. That way they can quickly fix it (took me hours to figure out) and not think it's a problem with the keypad.
This thing is my favorite part of my computer. I almost want another just because I love it so much. If there was ever an upgraded version, I'd get one in a heartbeat.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RagortosLegacy
from AL
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Amazing gameboard!!

Date:February 8, 2014
I've had the G13 for a while now, and it has not let me down yet! It's very responsive, and it fits smoothly in your hand. I can't game on a normal keyboard now because I'm so used to how it feels.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andy
from Launceston TAS, Australia
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Highly Recommended

Date:January 28, 2014
This is perhaps one of my most used and versatile purchases. No matter what game I'm playing, this device performs like a trooper. I use complex, timed macros to get the most functionality during gameplay and really there's nothing I've wanted to do so far that the G13 isn't capable of performing.
It's incredibly comfortable to use as every button is within reaching distance of your fingers and thumb and seems to reduce strain on your wrist after several hours of intensive gaming.
I've recommended this product to anyone who will listen and if you're sitting on the fence as to whether to buy this or not, I'd say take a chance - you won't regret it.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gattlin
from Central Mn
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

The Best Gaming Pad Period.

Date:January 21, 2014
I have went though so many games with this game pad and it still works. Amazing! Wow, BFBC2, BF3, BF4, Cod way to many to list. The macros are easy to set up and the thumb stick is a breeze for what ever your thumb desires. And I have years and tons of hours on the G-13 and still use the first one I bought, I won't game with out it. I've tried the others that's just a waste of time in my opinion. This is one tough sucker. Buy and don't look Back!
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crash
from The Netherlands
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Perfect for tv's

Date:January 9, 2014
This little programmable keyboard is perfect for gaming with a television as display.
I don't like the responsiveness of a controller and a console doesn't put graphics out to the max most of the time.
This sure is the best way to go, i love it!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bakado
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Years of Use

Date:December 28, 2013
I bought this item when it was first released and I'm glad to say it still functions as it did when I got it. It's got to have been at least 3 years, and it still has the same design for a good reason, it's works. Other companies have 2, 3, and even 4 different kinds, to suit different people and this is a one size fits all.
Love it, love Logitech. I've never bought a bad product from these guys(and gals).
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lann
from Ohio
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Best gaming hardware.

Date:December 22, 2013
I've been using the G13 for at least 6 years now. I'll never PC game without it. I'm not going to say it's for everyone, but I would suggest any PC gamer give it a chance if possible. I know several old school gamers that swear by the standard keyboard. To each their own.
It's comfortable and sturdy, has plenty of programmable keys, easy to hook up and the software is simple to navigate.
I was a bit skeptical the first few minutes of using it. I thought it might be too big or too complicated in game. I MOSTLY use it for MMO gaming, which requires a lot of hotkeys and the need to be quick with the rotations. About an hour in and I was able to see a huge difference in my damage output. With all the keys being so close to my fingertips, I was able to increase the speed I can fire off skills. Normally being a "clicker", I was constantly watching my skill bar to be sure I was hitting the right key. Now I just spam the skills I need without missing the visuals of the fight. Your hand rests in a natural position so the only thing you need to do is remember what keys you mapped and where. There are a lot of keys, 25 total I think (if you count pushing the joystick down, 29 if you count the 4 directions you can move the joystick), but I mostly use the 9 nearest my first 3 fingers for action skills. All the rest are to open different game windows, auto-run, jump...etc... Honestly though, it's not as confusing or complicated as one would think. Just takes a couple sessions to get used to the new feel.
Making a profile is pretty easy. If the G13 has a default layout for a game, I typically change it. You can have a different profile for each game if you want, but I mostly use just one and then change the game setting to match the G13.
Another great feature is the complex macros you can make with it. I don't really use macros that much, but I have made a few and I was quite impressed with the flexibility. You can make cascading, sequenced, delayed, multi-key, repeating, toggled and all sorts of other types of macros. It seems your biggest restriction in macros is going to be the game. If you really wanted, you can macro an entire skill rotation to one key and just go to town on mobs with that. You can get really fancy, use the in-game macros to make situational macros then use the G13 to make a macro that will blow off all of them all while screaming in chat how awesome you are then busting out in dance at the end of it!
I've only had one issue with this. About 2 months ago, my 'G15' key started activating itself randomly. It was my SHIFT key, so typing looked really silly with random caps throughout. I just disabled the key by removing the mapping. Luckily, it's Christmas time and I just got home today (not Christmas day) with a new G13. This is my second one. They were on sale =)
I'll end my rant here by saying this is a very sound product. Logitec is good, but they really hit gold with this as far as I'm concerned. It's money well spent and I'll never be caught in game without one.
OH! You can also change the colors and it has an on-screen display that i rarely look at.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MalariaWest
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Comfortable, easy gaming!

Date:November 12, 2013
I love this product. I have not tried many different gamepads, but from using only my keyboard before, it provides a much more comfortable position for my hand. It is easy to program. You can setup macros in a flash, you can switch profiles in a flash, you can transfer to its on-board memory and take your setup with you to another computer in a flash. I find that incredibly helpful for a game that I have different types of characters I play that need very different combos used. Also when I am going to visit my mother or grab a laptop and head out, I can bring it with me and it stores everything instead of being stored in the original computer it is setup on. It has been used for about 8 months now and is in great condition. It feels like knew and is sturdy construction. My friend's gamepad is about a year old and theirs feels gummy to press the keys down and one of the buttons, by the joystick, does not audibly click anymore. I'm assuming this is from their much harder key smashing than I tend to employ.
I do have negative feedback as well. When I first purchased this product, the program for it was very buggy. It took Logitech several updates before they arrived at workable, user-friendly programming. I also had to call customer service to learn to change my indexing on my computer so that it would stop erasing my profiles. After setting up macros with timed key presses, it was disheartening to have to redo them. The newest update, 8.50.281, is working well and I love the graphic interface.
Lately, I have had some issues. My gamepad has decided to stop responding in my game sometimes. It will start out fine, then maybe a few minutes into using it, the key presses show on the gamepad's screen, but it does nothing in-game. I have tried to figure out if it is the computer's end, but it is hard to tell and frustrating to know if it is not the gamepad after the glitches I dealt with in previous Logitech updates to the program.
All in all, it is a great product for gaming and I recommend it, fully!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BMCAdmin
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Non-Gamer user

Date:November 11, 2013
I bought this due to I support CAD and CAM designers that use a ton of programmable keys in AutoCAD, SolidWorks, CATIA, NX, Creo, and MasterCAM. So far it fills their need. The only complaint is the joystick on the right side. They would have been happier if I could have gotten this pad without it. Unfortunately no one makes a product like this for the professional environment. We can't all play games all day, unfortunately.
0points
16out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 11 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soul

Advanced

Date:October 27, 2013
I have been using this for 3-4 years. The build is above great. No problems and I have punished this thing. If I were to change one thing I wish Logitech would have a model that replaced the thumb stick with a button layout. I'd give an extra star if I could.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jvarelab77
from Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

THE G13 NO IS ONLY FOR GAMERS

Date:September 9, 2013
I am 3D madolator & animator and the softwares than i use, have a lot of shorcuts on the keyboard. This product can simplify my job life because i can program the shortcuts that i want and need. i am sure that i made the best buy and i take the best choice when i buy this product. the G13 is not only for gamers, if not, that is for professionals of the design world too. sorry for my english (no is the best) but i wanted tell my experience with the G13. this product is totally recomended by me.
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 13 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Orangeinferno
from Virginia, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Perfect for gaming

Date:August 28, 2013
Macros and key bindings:
The key bindings are very easy to set up, and convenient to switch between 3 setups on the fly. The changing backlight color for each macro page is pretty cool and produces an appropriate amount of gear envy from my friends. The included macro-making software could be a little more fleshed out so that long or complicated macros are easier to make, but is ideal for short things, like typing a short message on a single press.
Physical design:
The device is incredibly sturdy and won't slide around and is very comfortable. It's incredibly ergonomic and allows you to effortlessly press any key by feel. Keys 4, 10, 11, and 12 have a different cap shape (kind of an indent in the center of each), I assume to imitate the familiar "WASD" keys as a default position. I don't play many shooters but after getting used to where these are it's quite easy for my fingers to find their way to the right keys without looking, which is necessary when occasionally moving my hands to my main keyboard to type some trash talk in all-chat, then needing to move back while keeping an eye on the game. On a traditional keyboard, I find hitting shift and control with my left pinky can be awkward, and unintentionally hitting that dreaded windows key ruins a gaming experience. My personal favorite thing about the G13 is that the curvature lets me assign Shift, Control, and Alt to the bottom keys and my thumb can easily reach them all, allowing for quick actions in game. This is just personal preference, but the point to take home is that the layout works well enough that however you want to move your hand, the keys will be accessible for you to play that way.
The Display:
The display can cycle between various information about your system, or even news headlines, and the included software lets you customize which ones you prefer so you don't have to scroll through the dozen-or-so options for the few you like. I'm especially a fan of the performance monitor - I take a peek even when not gaming if I have a resource-intensive application in full screen, to keep an eye on my RAM and CPU.
Negatives:
Only major negative I can think of is the little analog stick - it's useless for a lefty, but I'm a righty and I can't use the thing for anything useful because it has no sensitivity - moving it in one of the four programmable directions is identical to pressing a key - there is only on and off. I would prefer it were simply a 4-way directional pad, that way it's unambiguous which direction you are pointing in, and also easier to repeatedly press the same direction. The two buttons by the stick are programmable the same as all the other buttons, and have a tactile "click" feedback upon pressing. These buttons are okay, but the analog stick is pretty much worthless as is.
Overall this product is excellent, and I would recommend it to any gamer friend. It does exactly what it needs to, and more.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dethmonger

WoW players

Date:August 23, 2013
I've owned my G13 for almost 3 years now and highly recommend it to any serious gamers. pound for pound probably the most value for your gaming buck out there. just the volume of key binds it can handle makes it worth it. it's durable (dropped it more than a few times) and easy to program. having the 3 different programmable sets of keys allows switching toons or games 1 button away. i play WoW, Skyrim, and ME, all of which this controller handles easily. and the 8 ft. cord is handy. depending on the game, the G13 combined with a quality gaming mouse can't be beat. works with both my laptop and desktop. i know that the minute this one gives up the ghost i will replace it with a twin. now if only i could afford the gazillion dollar gaming computer to use it with.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
buzzbeebara
from San Marcos, TX, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Increased my productivity at work!

Date:July 17, 2013
I have been using this for 2 years now and it has been a godsend. I do alot of formatting and building powerpoint presentations and training materials at my job. After convincing my boss to get me one of these we both noticed that my speed and accuracy had significantly increased. When you spend 4-6 hours a day copy/paste/select all/reset/save/save as/new/delete in powerpoint, its nice to macro those to the G13 and leave my keyboard for actual typing. I eventually branched out into using this in Outlook and created macros to auto fill standard text in my email communications.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eenuck
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Have had for a couple of years and I still love it

Date:July 13, 2013
I used to have a keyboard with a separated number pad and got hooked on using my left hand in a comfortable position while gaming. I tried the Nostromo gamepad and felt it had more problems than it fixed. The only thing missing from the G13 is wireless. Love it and can't imagine gaming without it now. It takes me a while to figure out how I want my gaming buttons programmed, but the experience once I have it figured out makes my games so much better.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kixion
from England, UK
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Gamer review - After 1000+ hours

Date:June 19, 2013
I was purchased this a good two to three years ago when a relative splashed out on me for my 21st. At first I was unsure about it, there's a lot of buttons plus it does demand you to basically change your finger's instincts and it took me a good few weeks to even get used to it, double that to get familiar with it. It wasn't long into using it that I came to appreciate exactly how useful those extra buttons are.
Things that I struggled to cope with, that required a large variety of abilities to be used, became not only easier but actually simple to an extent. This improved my more serious game by a notable margin. I want to make it clear that I am an OK gamer, when I got used to the G13 I became a Good gamer. As such I think that anyone can master this. I have recommended it to the point of pestering/nagging my friends and after they succumbed they wouldn't go back to a keyboard for most games now. Not even a chance.
I am a pretty constant gamer, I probably average about 10+ hours a week on games that I use my G13 with and given how long I have had mine I make that out to be well over a thousand hours. Which I feel makes a bold statement when I say that I've never had a problem with it that wasn't solved in minutes by downloading an update from Logitech. I take good care of it sure, but if I am totally honest I must not take Great care of my things because I seem to burn through headsets in 18 months or less. Therefore I'd definitely give it a study award.
Bottom line this is by a clear mile the best piece of computer hardware I have ever owned. If you are an MMORPG player, or even just an RPG player I would advise you to take a good look at this. If you need the extra keys or would just prefer that to shift/ctrl + other keys then this is worth considering. If you are in the market for a gamepad then I can offer you no advise on how this compares to the others. But I can remind you that is because I've never needed another, I've never even been partially tempted to try another. To be this product is perfect. Ergonomic, has grips so it doesn't slide, display updates with whatever game you are playing and has changeable colours/information. What more could you want? I give it 5 stars and recommend it as much as anyone can.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 18 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Stacksamus
from UK
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Really good but could be great.

Date:June 13, 2013
I got one of these and really liked it, but sold it as I wanted to get a fancy keyboard. Once sold and new fancy keyboard sat on my desk, I missed it soooo much I purchased another one. It gives me an advantage in most games as I can have so many controls at my hand without moving, specially when used with an mmo mouse. I use the Razer naga. I would have given this 5 stars and the ONLY reason I did not, was due to it lacking mechanical keys. I really have no idea why Logitech has not made that version yet and with the Razer Orb-weaver not only having mechanical keys but also a stealth version, I am tempted to switch, but still do not feel the layout will match the G13, but PLEASE Logitech, listen to your fans (on your own forums) and make a mechanical version.
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cigarjohn
from Pennsylvania
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

G13

Date:June 13, 2013
I've had my G13 for 1.7 years now and it's still performing good. Though I had to turn off the 'Enable Enhanced Graphics' in the setup menu for my G9x, G510 and G13 or all my games will keep crashing, that's what Logitech told me to do. I hope Logitech fixes this. It's nice to change colors for different games and customizing this unit isn't too bad. A little confusing in the beginning but once you get it all configured for all your games, your set to go. I recommend keeping the rubbing pads on the bottom of the unit clean. When dirty, the G13 will not stay in one position and move around on a smooth surface. Everything works great. I gave this a 4 star over a 5 star cause sometimes your profiles come up missing if you don't play the same game over and over again. So sometimes you have to reprogram a certain game all over again. Also there is a slight learning curve in programming this unit. Other than that, the G13 is a good buy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
freelance
from Boston
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Doesn't work with Windows 8

Date:June 9, 2013
I've had mine for several years, was great, reliable, but doesn't work with Windows 8, and there does not seem to be any fix.
-12points
8out of 28found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>