Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Keyboards or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Illuminated Keyboard K740

Logitech Illuminated Keyboard K740

Type comfortably&em;day or night.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 8 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Illuminated Keyboard K740
Review 1 for Illuminated Keyboard K740
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Applejacks
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Awesome, but sometimes unresponsive

Date:March 1, 2014
After 2 weeks of using part time, mine becomes unresponsive. I have to disconnect the USB and plug it back in. I've uninstalled and reinstalled software and did the whole updates thing with no change in performance
I give MY K740 a 4 rating for that reason. Otherwise it would be a most definite 5.
Keyboard is really nice and operates smooth. I like having 3 levels for back light. Even the brightest is subtle.
The shortcut keys are a benefit to have, and I use the music controls a LOT!
I have a replacement keyboard on the way and am looking forward to receiving it.
Overall, I do recommend the K740. It truly is a nice keyboard and great value
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Illuminated Keyboard K740
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jayzonious

Shift + W + Space does not register.

Date:December 16, 2013
Shift + W + Space does not register. This is important for FPS games. Can't run and jump. Perfect keyboard otherwise. Would not recommend to gamer.
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Illuminated Keyboard K740
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Repairman
from USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Still the best!

Date:December 2, 2013
I don't type for a living, but I've had and used many PC's, so it was more about finding a quality board that just feels right. This one is by far the best I've ever used. The only thing I hate to see is the price going up so much now. It's almost twice the price that I gave for mine a couple of years ago. I thought electronics and technology hardware almost always goes down in price over time. Odd, but still the best keyboard, IMO.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Illuminated Keyboard K740
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MacB

Sweeet keyboard

Date:November 4, 2013
I never write a review, but I read them. This keyboard is soooo nice. The keys just feel nice and comfy on my fingertips. The keys are right where my fingers expect to find them. Touch typing is such a breeze, the wrist rest is perfect, the whole keyboard/function/comfort balance has been beautifully solved. And at night the keys are lit.
This keyboard is so great that I had to write a review and praise it. I have not even started to look into the programmable shortcut keys, but they will make everything even better.
To summarize, spend the money and get a good keyboard. It makes such a difference. I never realized that my computer experience was being hindered by having an ordinary, comes with the computer keyboard. I wish I had bought this keyboard years ago.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Illuminated Keyboard K740
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MOS
from Boulder, CO
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Best keyboard I've ever used!

Date:September 15, 2013
I love this keyboard! So much so that I bought one for home and one for work.
It starts by looking modern, svelte and attractive.
Backlit keys are handy at night and in low light and also add an attractive flair.
Touch of the keys is awesome! They are firm, responsive, and have just the right "click" to them.
I'm also a fan of the shortcut keys.
I can only think of one downside; and this is true of many full size keyboards with keypads.
The keypad is on the left and the numeric keypad is on the right. I also happen to use my mouse with my right hand. Thus if I center up on the keyboard #i.e. on the space bar# so it's most comfortable to type it's a long reach to my mouse.
I'd love to have the numeric keypad on the left so I don't have to reach so far to use my mouse.
I also don't use the numeric keypad that often so perhaps a version of this keyboard without the keypad?
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Illuminated Keyboard K740
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carolyn
from Rio de Janeiro
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Favorite keyboard so far

Date:August 30, 2013
I may be overly enthusiastic since I just bought it, but it is a beautiful keyboard. The keys are just right - just enough noise, not mushy or sticky or clanky, not hard on the wrists, just the right spacing between each, and no weird keys out of place. I type like a maniac and go through about 5 keyboards a year, and this one I feel is very promising. I'm excited.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Illuminated Keyboard K740
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nadane
from NYC
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Top of the line Keyboard

Date:July 30, 2013
Using this keyboard for over a 1 1/2 year, it is by far top of the line esthetically and mechanically that I have ever utilized. It is a less expensive progeny of LOGI’s designer series of products released 10 years ago.
I purchased this to replace my wireless MX 5500, since I was doing work in low light conditions late at night & to use on DOS. The keys respond to a light touch and the keyboard features shortcut functions to operate multi-media on my computer. It's minimalistic design is sleek and modern, but operates like a hi-end sports car.
When I think of Logitech superior design & function, I think of this product.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Illuminated Keyboard K740
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
UrQuan3
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Excelent feeling keyboard, firmware needs refining

Date:July 20, 2013
I bought this keyboard because I like the feel of the keys more than anything on the market right now. The Cherry keys are just ok to me and I *really* don't like the rubber/squishy keys that nearly all other keyboards use. The keys are just slightly curved inward to help with centering fingers. I tend to hit two keys at once when using chicklet keys.
On the down side, the keyboard shadows several common key combinations like "n't", so if you are a typer that often has multiple keys pressed while typing, you may have a problem. I don't.
The illumination is merely ok, not great. However, that has nothing to do with why I picked this keyboard, so it does not matter to me.
If Logitech puts out a revision of this with the same keys, I will look into it.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.