Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop For iPad Air or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Folio Protective Case

Logitech Folio Protective Case

Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 8 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Folio Protective Case
Review 1 for Folio Protective Case
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
incajose
from Naperville, IL, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

achilles heel

Date:February 18, 2014
worked great for about 1 month, then the small piece of rubber that prevents the ipad from sliding came unglued. this small piece must cost less than 1 cent and when it fails the case is useless.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Folio Protective Case
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bert
from CT
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Nice Case - Useful and strong

Date:December 1, 2013
This is a nice case. The iPad fits well, and it looks like the cover will hold up well to repeated use. It also offers a good amount of heights for the iPad standing up. I am happy with this purchase.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Folio Protective Case
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Brian
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Viewing angles too limited

Date:November 30, 2013
I love Logitech products, but not this one. As others have indicated, the material, weight, simplicity, steadiness and style of this cover is great. Unfortunately, it does provide a viewing angle that enables typing (as noted by an earlier reviewer). If you look at all the photos provided on this website you will notice there is not a photo of a proper typing angle. Sadly, I had to order a competing product today.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Folio Protective Case
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarge
from Millsboro, DE, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female

Awesome case

Date:November 26, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I love this case. Its not too bulky and was very easy to install. I have the purple one. The material is very easy to clean and it doesn't slide on smooth surfaces. I was looking for something to protect the iPad air from scratches and dings and this suites it perfectly. The camera, speaker and volume controls are not blocked and easy to access. It stands up fine and won't tip over when you are using it.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Folio Protective Case
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mobilevito
from Michigan, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Perfect case

Date:November 24, 2013
I read the earlier review which said the matte purple case was a different material than the same case in carbon black, vapor gray and mars red. It sounded unbelievable, but I looked at all of the colors at and it is true. The purple case has a soft plastic or rubber finish while the other 3 all have a shiny woven fabric finish. I only like the purple finish. I find the others too slippery. A top feature I was looking for was a non-slip surface so I don't drop it. This cover is non-slip. It is not as good as the fuzzy fabric surface of the case I had for my iPad 2 but it is close. Being a guy, I was disappointed to have to buy a purple case, but since the was the vest case I found I bought in anyway. I'll call it "wine" so I feel better about the color.
Other features I like:
- minimalist design, adds very little weight or bulk
- cover magnets turn iPad off and on when closing and opening the cover
- can stand the cover in a range of positions in landscape orientation
- front cover is one piece and isn't floppy like the Apple cover, easier to use
- it looks like the cover could be somewhat protective if dropped
- the cover looks like it is durable
Other than the color, I love this case. It is exactly what I'd hope to find.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Folio Protective Case
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
gOLdEngOd

Good functionality, better design.

Date:November 11, 2013
The Logitech Folio Protective Case is a beautiful, well built case with a minimalist, modern design matching the iPad Air perfectly.
Build/Protection:
Materials used in this case are of excellent quality and the case feels sturdy. The outside is made of a hard woven textured material. Not exactly sure what it is, but it looks and feels classy. The front and back of the iPad feel well protected. The sides, although not covered by the case (its a folio style case as the name suggests), also feel well protected due to the case sticking out further than the actual iPad (refer to image gallery). It was nice to see the power button covered up since I've had an iDevice in the past where that button gave out and was expensive to fix. The other buttons and ports, although not covered, are accessible. Overall, as far as the build quality and design are concerned, this case is top notch.
(Note: This review is for the black case. All cases have the same material on the outside except for the purple one (soft touch material outside).
Functionality:
Viewing Modes/Angles:
Landscape:
This case is meant for using your iPad primarily in landscape orientation. When in this mode, you can adjust the viewing angle from anywhere between 90 to 45/50 degrees. Thankfully, you are not stuck with grooves on the case which give you a predefined angle to view your iPad in. In fact, I don't think there is a better case out there, for viewing your iPad in landscape orientation, than this Logitech Protective Folio.
Portrait:
The only way to view your iPad in portrait orientation is to fold the case back completely and hold it in your hand since laying it flat would result in the iPad raised a little on the side the case folds. Not exactly ideal! Laying the case flat, as mentioned above, in landscape mode will result in that raised edge being on top, a little better but more on that later. Also, when you hold the case in your hand in portrait mode while laying down or at a similar angle, one end of the iPad will tend to move towards you, so you will have to hold it down. Simply put, the case is NOT comfortable for viewing your iPad in portrait mode.
Typing:
Unfortunately, for those who type a lot, the case offers absolutely NO typing angle whatsoever. Logitech does claim that the case holds the iPad at the right angle for typing (among other things). I have used this case for over a week now and have yet to find that typing angle. When used in portrait or landscape mode the angle is either too extreme or just not raised enough to type comfortably. Bottom line, if you type a lot on your iPad, this case in NOT for you.
Auto Wake/Sleep:
It seems like 4 small magnets in the flap hold the case shut and automatically wake/sleep the iPad. This is one my favorite features and one that sadly a lot of other manufacturers are omitting. Although a clasp in addition to the magnets might have held the case shut more securely, it would take away from the modern, minimalist design.
The only problem with the auto wake/sleep is that, when closed, if the flap containing the magnets is moved a certain way, you will hear the clicking sound the iPad makes when it sleeps. It seems to me that if those magnets move a certain way with the case closed, they end up waking the iPad and then putting it back to sleep once they return to their original position, hence the clicking sound. Not a deal breaker but a little annoying.
In conclusion, this Logitech case leans just a bit more towards design than functionality. But in an industry filled with fake leather and cheap plastics this "Logitech FOLIO PROTECTIVE CASE" is like a breath of fresh Air!
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Folio Protective Case
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TechG33k
from Bellingham, MA, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Complements the iPad Air nicely

Date:November 5, 2013
Overhangs about 1/2 an inch around the edges, but I like it because it offers better edge protection. Good looking case, looking forward to also the soft keyboard cover! also I give them credit for being among the first to have their cases and accessories in stores first.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Folio Protective Case
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
unclebagel
from sj, ca
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Exactly what I was looking for!

Date:November 4, 2013
After picking up an iPad Air on launch day the next big decision is always: what case do I get?!? I'm not a fan of the Apple brand covers and cases so I waited to see what other cases would begin to trickle out to stores. I was hesitant to buy one sight unseen online, so after fiddling with every case available at my local BB I had nearly given up hope until I saw the Logitech case. Here's why I like this case:
1) fully protected front and back (unlike the Apple covers)
2) slim design (many of the other cases seemed overly bulky, this case seems to have just the right amount of sturdiness)
3) ability to use it as a stand (I don't like the way some cases have a crease on the cover to make a stand. This case surprised me with a inner plastic "stand". Seems well made.)
4) clean design (It looks like more like a binder or book and doesn't scream "electronic item up for grabs")
5) works with magnetic sleep (I've had previous cases on other iPads that don't work so well with Apples magnetic sleep function)
6) reasonably priced (it was a tad more than the Apple case, but far cheaper than some of the other cases at BB and it has a quality feel to it)
My only two points of worry are that the case doesn't clip on all four corners, using two corners and an edge clip (would have liked to protect all corners), and the rear microphone hole gets covered (but I really don't know if that will affect anything to be honest). Also I had to buy the black one and came to this site to find out that cool color combos exist.
Overall I'm really pleased with this case though.
+25points
28out of 31found this review helpful.