Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop For iPad Air or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Ultrathin Keyboard Folio

Logitech Ultrathin Keyboard Folio

Average Customer Rating:
2.224 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 49 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
6
2 stars
12
1 star
21
13 out of 49(27%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Review 1 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PK
from New York, NY, USA
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

An excellent keyboard which could be better

Date:April 3, 2014
I am using my new keyboard for about 2 days now, and I love it! It does everything (almost) that it is supposed to do. I am aware of negative feedbacks, but it is too early for me to experience it. My "clips" are still holding on and I am careful not to exert them too much.
I have however encountered two problems, one is a feature (wish list) and one is serious.
Wish list: I would love to have lighted LED keyboard (like the ones for MS Surface keyboard). Logitech does not support it; hopefully in future versions.
Defect: When i use the keyboard, auto capitalization and correction does not work (line the "i" in this sentence). When I use the soft keyboard only, it works. I have not yet figured out how to fix it. The tech expert at Staples did not figure it out as well. Can anybody help?
Other than above, this is a fine and superb keyboard and I highly recommend it. I am going to buy one for my iPad mini as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MsBlast
from VA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

cracked bracket/scratches to iPad

Date:April 2, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Wow... I wish I'd seen these reviews before I got this. I loved this keyboard. Really. It works great and I've hardly used my "real" computer since getting my iPad Air and this Logitech keyboard/case. But the design quality is a bit of a mess.
Like many others have noted, the left bracket that holds the sleep/wake button cover cracks easily and with a normal level of use. I returned my iPad to the folio and... pop!... it cracked and popped off. Its April 2nd. I got this at the end of February and have taken it in and out of the case once a week probably since I got it. But here is actually a bigger problem...
Recently I noticed a couple of scratches on my iPad screen. One of them was pretty deep but I use a screen protector so I wasn't too worried about the iPad itself (I haven't removed the screen protector to check for damage to the glass). On further inspection, I noticed identical scratches on the battery cover... it's like some grit or dirt or something got on there and when I closed the case it just ground it into my iPad screen. As an earlier reviewer noted, there are rubber bumpers at the front of the keyboard--presumably to prevent the iPad screen from rubbing against the keyboard--but, when closed, the glass rests flush against the battery cover at the back of the keyboard. I must be the one who got it dirty so I suppose technically the resulting damage is my own fault but... jeez... you'd have to work in a sterile office and wipe down and inspect every surface after every use in order to prevent this from happening. If that kind of handling is a requirement for everyday use and maintenance, doesn't it negate the convenience of having a mobile device?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JohnnyForensic
from Washington, DC, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Great Design, Mediocre Execution

Date:March 26, 2014
I've had my case for about six weeks, and I've found the same things others have complained about here. First, there is now a crack in the upper left bracket where the sleep/wake pass-through switch is. I've taken the iPad out of the case and put it back in maybe eight times, and I've followed the "pull back top right corner clip" directions for removal each time. The clip still feels secure, but I can see that the crack has gone right through the plastic.
Second, the space bar is "wonky" for lack of a better term. Pressing it on the right edge, as I tend to hit the space with my right thumb, often finds the space bar hanging-up on the edge of the case and not depressing correctly, so I have to hit it again harder, or I have to use my left thumb. (The left side of the space bar works just fine.)
Lastly, in my one final design note, when you close the iPad case, there are no rubber feet on the back edge, only the front, so your iPad lays flat with the glass down on the battery edge of the case in about a two inch wide strip along the length of the iPad. I guess it isn't terrible, but if you have dirt or grit on the top edge for some reason, your iPad's glass is going to sit (and worse, slide) right on it instead of being lifted just a bit by a set of rear rubber feet.
OTHERWISE, the design of the case is first rate, it looks fantastic, and the keyboard is responsive and snappy unlike some other Bluetooth keyboards (even Logitech models) that I've used. Battery life is tops, and the viewing angle is comfortable. I just wish they could fix the brittleness of the plastic retaining clips.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Acat
from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

cracked left bracket.

Date:March 26, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
i love the keyboard and the cover design. however after less than a month of light usage, the bracket that's supposed to hold the ipad in has already cracked. i have returned it to the shop and was told that this may not be covered by the warranty. but they're sending it to logitech anyways. clearly there is a serious design flaw here since there are so many complaints about it. i hope they do something about this.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CanuckUser
from Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Corner Clips Left and Right

Date:March 25, 2014
First one cracked after 2 weeks. Was replaced at the Apple Store. Now my second one is developing a cracke at the same left corner at the power switch which is the weakest point. The right clip is also showing signs of stress. Looks the the clips are stressed when the case is being folded back to use in tablet mode. Love the keypad, but they need to reinforce those clips.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jorge
from Paraguay
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Upper left bracket broken

Date:March 23, 2014
The upper left brackets have cracked too. This leaves the iPad in danger of falling out of the Folio. This is a clear design flaw that Logitech will have to address.
I am really dissapointed.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CorrieLochanMusic
from Alpine County, CA, USA
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Otherwise fine product fatally flawed

Date:March 20, 2014
I purchased this unit based on a friend's love of an earlier design, the one where the iPad fits into a slot behind the keyboard. But as many others have experienced, the corner clips on this keyboard fractured early on in ordinary use, allowing my iPad to fall from the case, fortunately without damage. The left-hand clip is so obviously weak, its design should never have seen the light of day, but the other one is broken, too.
I'm afraid that's not my only complaint. The charging cord is ridiculously short. Saving a couple of pennies is the only reason I can think of, and there's no excuse on a product retailing for a hundred bucks. And why couldn't it have been Thunderbolt so the iPad Air's cord could be used in a pinch? Being forced to carry both cords is an unnecessary inconvenience. Apple wouldn't have made these mistakes if it were their product.
95% of this product is brilliant. The 5% that isn't relegates it to the trashbin. I can't trust it as an iPad protector and must get a different case, invalidating its usefulness as a keyboard. Good thing I don't mind the iPad's keyboard as much as I thought I would.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Arno
from Netherlands
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Nice design but extremely weak at the left corner

Date:March 20, 2014
Today I returned my second keyboard after 5 days use. Again, like the first one, the left corner was broken near the switch off button. This tiny plastic connection corner is extremely weak and although I was very careful all the time it broke almost by looking at it !
No new version for me until this is issue is solved and the fixation is improved (more robust).
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Concerned
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Fail

Date:March 16, 2014
The mounting bracket broke near the sleep switch after only 4 days of light use. Came on this site and found a chorus complaining about the same flaw. Hope the product gets recalled or pulled from the market before more people waste their time.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Daniel
from California, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Good Design, BUT

Date:March 13, 2014
very easy breaking the up-corner plastic tub, UNHAPPY!
did you change the manufacturer? why quality dropped after December 2013?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
None
from New York, NY
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Plastic tab breaks in few days

Date:March 6, 2014
Adding to the chorus of users who have noted this deadly design flaw. I am now on my 3rd unit and it too has failed: the tiny plastic tab that secures the ipad broke near the power button, rendering it useless.
I carry my iPad in a padded laptop briefcase, so it is well protected. On units # 2 and 3 I was especially careful to avoid placing any stress or pressure on the ipad. Both cases both broke regardless. The case cannot withstand anything close to the stress of normal use.
I returned the last 2 units to the Apple store where purchased. I am now outside Apple's (pathetic) 14-day return window by a few days, so I guess I will have to deal with Logitech for this one. They should either fix this flaw or pull it from the market.
It's a shame because it's otherwise a nice keyboard case.
(They should also get rid of the useless fabric tag that hangs off the front).
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beverc
from Edison, OH
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Design Flaw

Date:March 2, 2014
Plastic tab that holds the ipad in place breaks. I am on my second one in only 10 days. Just like all the other reviews state, the plastic tab by the power button is not strong enough and will break under normal use. Poor product!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MJP
from Sydney NSW, Australia
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Breaks in a few days

Date:February 27, 2014
Very excited to start using this keyboard and it's initial promise is great however the brackets are weak and fail in a short time. Dont buy until the design is fixed.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sophie722

Case cracks

Date:February 15, 2014
I have had 2 of these cases in less than 2 months and both times the case has cracked in the same spot by the power button with normal use.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
tndb
from Clarksville, TN, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

An amazing product but......

Date:February 14, 2014
As seen in the other reviews, the bracket closest to the lock button is not reenforced and breaks easily. This is a design flaw that hopefully will be fixed! Twice I have had to return mine to Best Buy and this time I went to Logitech with the issue. I think they are going to send me another one. If it breaks this time, I will have to switch brands. Please fix this Logitech!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Paula
from South Bend, IN, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Keyboard Functions

Date:February 13, 2014
I purchased the keyboard at the Apple store and was so excited! I purchased it at the same time I bought my Ipad air. I had it for 4 days before the clip that holds it in on the left side broke..... I took it back and exchanged it for another. Well I have had it for 5 days now and it hasn't broken yet Yay!!!!
My other problem is- When I hit the return enter key it doesn't send while I am typing a message. I had spent the last 45 minutes trying to see if this is a setting I need to set or if this is a problem. I would appreciate any answers....
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mccasean
from Portland, OR, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Mounting clip near power button breaks

Date:February 12, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
About 2 weeks after I bought the keyboard folio I noticed a crack in the mounting clip next to the power button and had it replaced. My second one will be returned today because the same clip had cracked and broken off... 2 weeks after I got the first one replaced. This is with good care, never dropped, bumped, or treated roughly. Just from taking my ipad in and out of the clips over a 2 week period. I actually liked the look and feel of it but it would be nice to have lasted more than 2 weeks.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Brad
from Silicon Valley, CA, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

case breaks near power button

Date:February 11, 2014
The case broken around the power button after one month of use. From the other reviews there is clearly a design flaw in the plastic housing.
The case otherwise works well. The magnetic positioning is nice and the cover protects the iPad and keyboard well. The keyboard takes a little getting use to as the keys are slightly shifted from a standard keyboard resulting in mistyping and returning to the home screen more often than I'd like. But having a key board is a significant improvement over the onscreen ipad keyboard for taking notes and replying to emails.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Aaron
from San Diego, CA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Poor quality iPad Mounting

Date:February 6, 2014
Like others, within a few weeks of going back and forth from work to home, this broke. It was not dropped, it was not dinged. I put it in a cushioned pouch in my computer bag and on occasion would take the iPad out to show people something. Within a few weeks I noticed that the plastic where the iPad's power button was cracked. No big deal at first as it didn't affect the functionality, then a few weeks later the plastic cracked all the way though. Now the iPad won't stay in the case and won't stand up for typing, rendering it effectively useless. I manage a team of iOS developers and so far 3 of the 4 we've purchased broke in that same spot. Definitely a design flaw and I won't be buying this product again.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultrathin Keyboard Folio
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
GGIRL

The clip that holds the power bottom breaks

Date:February 4, 2014
I only had it for a month and a half and the clip that holds the Ipad in place broke off. I see that other people are having the same problem. Logitech is sending me a new one, but I feel that the clip will break again.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>