Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop For iPad Air or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Ultrathin Keyboard Cover

Logitech Ultrathin Keyboard Cover

Average Customer Rating:
3.081 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 37 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
10
19 out of 37(51%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Review 1 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JRB
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Poor magnets

Date:April 2, 2014
I ordered this logitech keyboard and have used it for the last six months with my IPad. I would not recommend this to a friend to purchase. I would have ordered the one with the complete case and not this cover style model. I find it to be cumbersome and the magnets do not hold it firmly. If you plan to only use it at your desk, it's OK but if you travel like me, buy a different model.
Keep looking....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Russ
from USA
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Logiteh iPad Air Keyboard

Date:March 30, 2014
We just bought our first iPad, an iPad air. We want to use it for photo storage while we are on trips. We didn't like trying to type on the iPad itself so clerk at Apple store recommended the logitech. We really like the way it protects the iPad, and the size of the keyboard. Everything was going well until we went into PHOTO and tried to add information to our photos. The Logitech won't do it! We have tried everything we can think of to get it to work in PHOTO, even took it back to the Apple store and they can't get the Logitech to work in PHOTO, we have to disconnect the Logitech, shut it off and then use the keyboard on the iPad. This defeats our major purpose for having the Logitech (to work on photos). Otherwise, we are very pleased. Oh yes, it would be nice if there was even a very basic manual with the Logitech. Oh, one other thing. If you get one, write the serial number down right away as it wears off within a few days where it is placed on the hinge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnGeLZzZ
from Tel Aviv, Israel
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

What design flaw?

Date:March 2, 2014
Just purchased this keyboard for my iPad Air. It's perfect. iPad shuts down just fine, when I close it. Also turns on when I open it. Looks great, really feels like other part for the tablet. Also great typing feeling and useful buttons designed for iOS.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jcrow
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male

Bad design

Date:February 25, 2014
Similar complaint to other reviews. I love the logitech kb cover for my iPad 2, so ordered some for the iPad Airs at work.
The magnets clicked on fine and the bluetooth connected easily enough. However the cover does not close properly and does not activate the on/off feature on the iPad. It seems to be the rubber strip above the keys that prevents it from closing.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
R2d2
from Boston, MA, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Keyboard cover for iPad mini

Date:February 24, 2014
My keyboard stopped working.
I tried charging it overnight and it did not charge.
I purchased the keyboard cover in September 2013 att the Apple store..
I am going to try and return or exchange it.
So far I am not very satisfied with this
Roduct I will give it one more chance IF I can exchange it.
Logitech should include some directions with keyboard short cut...etc
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TechieMom
from Manhasset, NY, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

I love the other half of ipad air

Date:February 23, 2014
Just went to the Apple Store and purchased the Logitech Ultra Thin Keyboard Cover. I am so happy with it that I decide to write a review which I rarely do. Just beautifully made-- truely the other half of the ipad. Typing feels good, easily detached, and can view the ipad in portrait is great. A work of arts.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dena
from Atchison, KS, USA
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Design flaw!

Date:February 18, 2014
This used to be the best keyboard out there for iPad. What happened? The design is flawed for the iPad air. Lock, unlock feature doesn't work anymore. When you close the cover the iPad stays on! The only way the cover locks is if you pinch the corner of the keyboard against the iPad after it is closed. Logitech, please read these reviews and fix this keyboard!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Justme3104
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Corner retainer cracks

Date:January 30, 2014
I loved this case and it performed and looked AWESOME. BUT... the corner retainer has cracked on two covers, each one lasted approximately two weeks. Seems to happen when you hold the iPad with the retaining corners in the upper position, the retainer on the power/sleep button cracks at the thinnest point making it vulnerable to falling out. After the second one failed in less a than a month, I returned it and went back to the Apple smart case.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sue
from Tumwater, WA USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Not as good as the older version

Date:January 29, 2014
I loved my Logitech hardback keyboard cover with my iPad 2 and when I upgraded to the iPad Air, I was only going to have a Logitech hardback keyboard cover. At first I wasn't sure I liked the magnetic style but I do, except, my iPad isn't totally closed in, as was the case with my old keyboard cover. I like the keys on the keyboard, they are easy to use. I will stick with this keyboard cover for now, but it is not as good as its predecessor.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
iGladiSadiBadiMad
from The First Sate
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

I gave up on theUltra Thin Keyboard Cover

Date:January 28, 2014
I really wanted this cover for my new iPad Air because I like the design: the cover easily detaches so the iPad can be used in pure tablet mode, the thin yet very functional keyboard works well, the nice color and materials match between the cover and my iPad look good, etc. Unfortunately, after purchasing and then returning this cover three times, I gave up and ended up going with the Logitech Folio instead, which was my second choice.
The first time I purchased this cover, the fit was way off; there was at least an 1/8th inch gap between the cover and my IPad (as other reviewers have experienced). Moreover, the hinge had a hairline crack right out of the box. Needless to say, I returned it right way.
The second time around, the fit was okay, but the magnets (on the opposite edge of the hinge) that are supposed to hold the cover closed were so weak that the cover did not stay closed, and my iPad did not go to sleep when closed. Again, back it went.
I figured the third time would be the charm. No luck. The third version had the same problems as the first: the fit was horrible.
I tried this cover after reading lots of reviews on many different sites, and it seemed from reading that people either had no problems or lots of problems, as I did. I figured that perhaps there was just a bad manufacturer's batch early on, and surely these problems had been ironed out over time. This still might be the case, but I didn't have the time to continue trying to find the one that has no problems.
As I mentioned, I did go with the Folio Keyboard and Cover instead. So far, I don't have any problems, and it is a good second choice. However, it is bulkier, and it is designed to be much more of a dedicated keyboard, as it is not as easy to remove the iPad from the folio cover.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Scarlet
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Not as good as the previous one

Date:January 26, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I just upgraded my ipad 3 (the New ipad) to an ipad air and bought a new keyboard to go with it. This is not as good as the one I have used for a year and a half. It doesn't turn off my ipad like the old one did and it isn't as secure in the slot as the old one was. I liked the click of the magnets in the old one when it was seated correctly and the right way around. I have it the right way round, I know how to use it, it just isn't as good.
Also I don't like the gap next to the space bar that will allow more crud to get in and the edge of the molding where it comes to a point on the far left and right has sharp feel where the palms of my hands rest on it. See pic for the bit I mean.
It is still a good keyboard for the ipad but is a downgrade from the older version IMO. Recommending but with some reservations.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
inthenetherlands
from The Netherlands
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Love it…perfect for the iPad Air

Date:January 18, 2014
Bought this in Australia and love it. I actually stood for ages in the store looking for covers for my iPad Air and was thrilled to find this one - I didn't even know it existed and really is the other half of the iPad Air. Unlike other reviews here, I've had no issues with the sleep function, as soon as I shut it, it sleeps fine. I'm wondering if others reviewing and mentioning alignment issues may not have the latest iPad Air? I love the way it works with the Air and have had several compliments on it from friends & clients. Compared to an earlier "rubbery" keypad cover I bought for my iPad2, I love that this types like a "real" keyboard.
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I've had some frustrations when using it to Skype - by not being able to adjust the screen angle, I've had to literally move myself & my kids around a lot to get the right camera angle - or have ended up wedging stuff behind the screen to adjust.
However in general, very happy with it. I love that with my iPad Air and this keyboard i can have an almost-fully-functioning "laptop" in my handbag!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HenryS

Great KB for the iPad Air!

Date:January 11, 2014
I upgraded keyboard (selling my old one with the iPad2) when buying a new iPad Air. It performs as advertised. Being "Ultrathin" it is a bit flimsier than the previous model, but that translates to being lighter too. The hinge is quite strong and adheres tremendously well to the iPad, snapping into place.
Unfortunately, the alignment to the iPad to engage the (magnetic) shutoff at the top right corner of the iPad isn't nearly so positive and often the misalignment prevents the pad from shutting off. Jiggling the pad to keyboard hinge slightly is enough to fix this if you're aware of it (no click noise from the pad when closing it). I'm taking off a star for this issue. If there was a ½ star, I would award it instead for a total of 4 ½ stars, which I feel is an accurate rating.
The battery charge is pretty much as long a run as the previous versions (a month of my use) and with the supplied cable (micro USB-USB A), charges overnight. The blue LED warns of low charge by blinking but only for a short period of time before running out of charge.
The keys are large and fully functioning. You would not be able to type the characters on your pad from the iPad's own keyboard very easily. This device also protects the iPad Air when closed to a great degree. I carry the entire set up in my travel bag as is (already have the backside and screen of the Pad armored to prevent scratching). The closed keyboard is an extra protection for the screen.
Overall, I am very happy with the Logitech Model 920-006317 (I think this is the color p/n). It comes in black, white, silver and purple colors. I have the silver case with black trimmed keyboard. Also you may be aware of the fact that there is a two year warranty on this device and the company is very good in supporting it. They replaced one of the older keyboards I had in the past very quickly, indeed. This one has been flawless!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CanadianStevw
from Toronto, ON, Canada
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Another solid product from Logitech

Date:January 8, 2014
I initially bought the FabricSkin Keyboard Folio. Unfortunately, I was left feeling disappointed with the product. It looked and felt great, but I wasn't able to type at a decent speed. The keyboard layout I believe was at the root of the problem, or perhaps it was the touch/feel of the keyboard.
Having seen someone from a local medical office using the UltraThin Keyboard Cover and raving about it, I thought I would give it a try. It took no time at all to get comfortable with typing on it, and am I happy to say that my typing speed is as good as I hoped it would be. Thanks Logitech
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
puppy
from New York, NY, USA
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

working perfectly

Date:January 8, 2014
I received this keyboard as a gift for my iPad so I could do my work on it. It has been working perfectly and I definitely recommend this product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ahmedwa
from Dubai - United Arab Emirates
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Works Perfectly

Date:January 7, 2014
I just got my keyboard cover for iPad Air and it works absolutely perfectly. The magnetic hinge is actually stronger that the pervious generation iPad cover. I would highly recommend this to everyone. It's actually without a doubt the best, most sleek, and light keyboard cover for iPad Air.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professionalsteve
from England, UK
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Mine working perfectly

Date:January 4, 2014
I got mine as a gift and so didn't read many reviews as I wasn't necessarily looking to buy a keyboard for my Air. But this one is working a treat. It is putting my ipad to sleep and has strong magnetic clasps. I would definitely recommend it to others. And it is super lightweight and acts as a good looking cover. Best to follow the directions of other and make sure the home button is to the ritght when setting it up for typing. Now to get use to typing on a smaller, more portable keyboard. Good bye laptop!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Chris
from Green Bay, WI, USA
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

So Disappointed

Date:January 1, 2014
After having the prior version for my other iPad, I was looking forward to getting the same for the Air. Unfortunately, the magnets don't align properly and leave a slight portion of my Air's screen exposed. Also due to the misalignment, it doesn't sit close enough to the screen to engage the sleep feature when closed. After the enjoyment of my previous edition, I don't understand how Logitech missed the mark with the new one. The first keyboard I received was quickly replaced by Logitech because of the magnet issue I experienced, but, unfortunately, it didn't change with the replacement. I'll chalk this up to a design issue by Logitech.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Scott
from Denver, CO, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

terrible fit. warped.

Date:December 30, 2013
I had one for my iPad 2 and I LOVED IT! Had lots of friends get one when they saw it. This new one for the iPad Air is terrible though. It didn't stay closed. I could hear my iPad opening and closing without even touching it. Open a closer look, it appears that the cover is slight warped towards the edge. Went to Best Buy to try others thinking it was a defect. They were ALL like that. Went to other stores. Same result. Other brands are terrible. Returned it. I'll just wait until Logitech gets it right or until somebody else comes up with one as (potentially) nice.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultrathin Keyboard Cover
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bunny

Very dissappointed

Date:December 9, 2013
Do not like the keyboard now having to use the command key to be able to use the function keys. Did not have to do this on the other cover keyboards for apple but do now for the apple air ipad. Will probably buy another one from a company that is due to release a keyboard cover for apple air Was very satisfied with the Logitech keyboard cover for apple ipad 4th generation
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>