Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Speakers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System

Rock your entertainment with a THX®-certified, 505-watt, 5.1 digital surround sound speaker system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.885 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(156 Reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 156 reviews
5 stars
144
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
152 out of 156(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Review 1 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perry
from Sweden
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Incredible value!

Date:January 16, 2011
I couldn't recommend these speakers more! They may be labeled as "PC speakers", but they work just as well for watching movies on the TV, even in a rather large room.
With that said, just looking at pure performance, they are nowhere the greatest speakers out there, where especially the bass may sound a bit "boomy" compared to more expensive speakers. However, the keyword here is "more expensive".
In this price class there are few other speakers that can match them. They are easily competing with products twice their price.
If I would complain about anything, it would be that I would have liked some additional optical ports.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
eXtremis
from Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Perfect for the discerning audio aficionado!

Date:January 6, 2011
From an audiophile point of view these speakers are absolutely incredible – if you have the Z-5500’s connected to the proper source.
By now we’ve all read hundreds of reviews from critics, users, and audiophiles alike. If you’re like me and own a high end home theater, chances are you appreciate the absolute best sound your equipment has to offer, and more often than not, we’re the most discerning of consumers when it comes to quality audio equipment.
The Logitech Z-5500 speaker system tries to be a system for everybody from PC users, to entry-level home theater and console gaming consumers. It does fairly well overall, but you have to be careful what you connect it to since every device decodes audio a little differently.
My first concern researching though the seemingly endless supply of reviews was the system’s limiting ability to produce a clean mid range. I had no problem replicating this issue many audiophile and sound aficionados were claiming (see below), but many of the reviews I came across failed to mention the test bed they were using for comparison. Let me be up front and say right now your AUDIO SOURCE is probably THE most important piece of hardware in your sound system! It doesn’t matter if you have the most expensive speakers in the world – if your source is inferior, not even a set of Grande Utopia’s will sound acceptable (okay the example is a little extreme, but you get my point).
My test setup I used to sample the various audio types include a Creative X-Fi Platinum sound card, my motherboards on board 7.1 audio chip, a Denon DVD player, and an XBOX 360 (all of which are connected to a UPS with power conditioning).
The material I used included 256kbps MP3’s from Diana Krall, Sade, and Stevie Nicks albums. Video games tested were Battlefield Bad Company 2, Left 4 Dead 2, and Bioshock 2. The movie used was Dreamwork’s Robots (played back in DTS), and the 360 title, Assassins Creed 2.
RESULTS:
Assassins Creed didn’t sound as nice on the 360 (using a shielded toslink cable). I could tell the vocals weren’t as clear as I’d had hoped and that all-encompasing audio presence just wasn’t there; however, the rest of the audio range was clear and well defined (I’m not sure if this has to do with the 360 or the 5500’s audio processor).
Robots sounded freaking amazing (using a shielded toslink cable)! The Denon DVD uses a Wolfson DAC converter to convert the digital source into the analog domain (so I expected the results to be outstanding with the quality chip Denon uses). Every sound, word spoken, and explosion felt was clear and crisp with no distortion throughout the entire audio range.
The PC tests on the other hand had mixed results which were expected (using the 3 direct stereo inputs on the back of the 5500’s console). With the onboard audio chip being used, music did sound muddled in the mid range with what appeared to be noticeable distortion when vocals were present. Gaming proved better with noticeably less audio artifacts. The sound stage in BFBC2 was simply amazing, and Hard Rain in L4D2 immersed me in a bath of audio fully immersing my senses in the last half of the campaign.
Switching my outputs to the X-Fi card of course produced the best results. A note on Creative’s X-Fi cards – they have been designed to allow manual switching of 3 modes to best suit your audio application. You have ‘Entertainment’ for movies and music, ‘Gaming’ for playing games, and “Audio Creation” for authoring. For movies and music the card’s ‘Entertainment’ setting sounded brilliant with no distortion or artifacts in the mid range. Vocals were extremely clear, musical notes were crisp and distinct, and the whole audio range was smooth and well defined; as well, bass was nice and tight and never obnoxious. For testing sake I switched my music play back from Entertainment to Gaming just to see what I’d get. Wow! Distortion came back in the mid range and the whole experience just didn’t feel the same. I though at first the Logitech’s aluminum tweet’s were producing their own sound (compared to paper, propylene, or cloth), but this wasn’t the case. Interesting.
For the three games I used testing ‘Gaming’ mode could not have been better! With the back speakers placed about the same distance behind me as the fronts were beside my monitor produced a nice wide sound stage. Foot steps could easily be heard all around my sitting position, and the soundtrack and ambient effects easily immersed me into each game!
The verdict: a must have accessory for any gamer wanting outstanding audio for a variety of applications. Just make sure to invest in a good sound card to take full advantage of this sound system and stay away from any onboard audio!
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Valorfive
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Sound Quality, Questionable Build Quality

Date:January 2, 2011
I had these speakers for 3 years and absolutely loved them. These speakers are the loudest and clearest speakers I have had. The only issue I had was out of the blue, the control pod stopped working (shutting itself off) making it so the speakers were unusable. I had to contact logitech tech support who were very kind and helpful. Unfortunately there had been an electrical hardware malfunction in the control pod or the subwoffer and was unable to be repaired. These speakers only come with a 2 year warranty.
I took a gamble and purchased these speakers again because I loved them so much but I hope the build quality lasts more then the 2 year span...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ironmansuperhero
from Fairfax, VA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Terrific Home Theater Surround for the $

Date:December 26, 2010
I've had the Z-5500 for since April 2006 connected via optical from my HDTV. This unit is very powerful and will easily shake a room if you want. Everything works perfectly just as the day I bought it. The only con is the remote control battery contacts, but I've since replaced all remotes with the Harmony 900 so no big deal here.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paul

The Best Speaker I have ever purchased

Date:December 23, 2010
I'm glad 2 years ago I bought this amazing speaker from Buy.com instead of buying a Bose speaker. At that time I got it in the lowest price of the market. It was only $199 plus $30 mail in rebate from logitech. Nowadays I'm pretty sure you won't be able to find this speaker in this low price. It totally worth every dollar. I love them and would recommend to anyone that are still looking for a speaker in which its quality is topnotch and reasonable price. Since that day I keep buying logitech products and never felt regret. I'm so happy now.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wayne in AZ
from Phoenix, AZ
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Stands the test of time

Date:December 20, 2010
I've owned the Z-5500 since 2005 and though in that time I've upgraded my tv to a 62" HDTV and gone first HD-DVD and then Blu-Ray, I've had no compelling reason to upgrade from the Z-5500, which really shows it stands the test of time.
I've had several PC audio systems over the years but this is the first that felt "solid" and quality. The sub is awesome and I've never heard it "buzz" out. A prime example is the very low frequency sound effect you hear a few times in the Lord of the Rings - from the initial battle of Sauron to Gandalf's battle with the Belrock the sub pops that low frequency effect with ease.
The fact it accepts optical digital audio makes it compatible with nearly everything. True I'm only using HDMI for the video, but I'm not losing anything by instead using digital audio.
Too, fhe fact this setup is still selling for about $350 is what it was selling for in 2005. What else can you find in our fast moving technical world that is still selling for the same price and is still standing the test of time 5 years later?
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Matt5500
from Cheshire, England
Expertise: Proficient User

Truely amazing

Date:December 14, 2010
I bought the Z-5500 system recently, about 4months back. I had previously owned other 5.1 systems, 2.1 systems and heard friends systems and, I fancied something that packed more of a punch.
I bought the Logitech Z-5500 system online after reviewing much about them. They were easy to install and, after installation, I began to use them through an X-fi soundblaster USB 5.1 soundcard for use on my laptop. It must be said, that the reviews I had read on the system didnt do it any justice, because there is no ammount of words that can describe how amazing this system actually is.
From all speaker systems I have ever heard in my life, nothing I have witnessed has matched my Z-5500's on clarity, bass or their loudness. The system is just so immense. The bass is always there when it's needed, and unlike other systems, it doesnt sound 'fake' bass-like. The bass is 'real', punchy and powerfull, providing movies with a life like atmosphere, making you feel as though your there, and music with such clarity.
The surrounding speakers bring you into the action, and surround you thoroughly, providing you with that true 5.1 surround sound feeling that you expect (If not better than..).
The system is of excellent build quality and when you use the head unit you get a sense of quality, and ease of use.
I would definately recommend this system to anyone, regardless of what they want from a speaker system, because this provides pretty much everything that your preferences could entail.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sunny
from Pune, India
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Feel the Raw BASS

Date:December 11, 2010
Yes Finally I bought Logitech's Best Speakers.
It is just an amazing product. You can feel the raw Punch in the Bass.
In my room when I play the songs, it rocks almost everything present in my room.
The Vibration is strong enough to experience earth shaking experience. It ain't really out of love with Logitech I'm saying this, but it really mean it.
Listen it once to believe it.
The Sound is also crystal clear,
The remote is really responsive and features great controls.
So this the best product I can say in this category and price offered.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yumyum
from Texas
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Still great after all these years

Date:December 10, 2010
I just finished watching a live DVD concert recorded in DTS using my z-5500 speakers. After 5+ years these speakers still amaze me. The bass made all the pictures on my wall crooked (who cares when it sounds this good) and at the same time the crisp highs were loud without distortion. I felt I was at the concert.
Before I purchased these speakers I tried many other speaker sets and was always disappointed. These baby's never let me down.
Thank you Logitech for making something right the first time and sticking with it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MULTI
from Torrance CA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Hit By Lightning!

Date:December 7, 2010
After An Act Of God (A MAJOR BOLT OF LIGHTNING) Partially Destroyed My First Z-5500 System There Was Only One Choice For Replacement, Z-5500s! Other Brands Co$t More And Don't Perform As Well.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
peter

not just music but love to my ears

Date:November 28, 2010
great system, upgraded from a previous good logitech system however this one is well worth spoiling your self if you are a music enthusiast. system delivers crystal clear music at loud levels. if i could i would give this system 6 stars along with the company, ive dealt with their customer service in the past and was very helpful!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sledder

Unbeatable for the price!

Date:November 27, 2010
I have owned these speakers for 5yrs now and still can not find anything close in price that can compare to the sound quality of the Z-5500. I use them for all of my audio needs, they are my pc speakers,surround sound for my tv,dvd and video games. It works great for any application and will make your house sound like a dance hall at half volume. Loud clear sound and BASS that will vibrate yours and your neighbors house. Whats not to love!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chris from PA
from Pennsylvania
Expertise: Tech Savvy

The still make this after all these years.

Date:November 9, 2010
OK I bought these in 2005 after I graduated High School as a gift to myself. All I have to say is that they were fantastic then, and still are. How many products in this day and age get discontinued after 12 months as "obsolete?" Not these babies. Sound was perfect then and still is. No distortion, great bass, great treble.
One thing I will say is that I'm upset that I didn't take the best care of them. Well not me, but some of my college room mates. My back-right speaker now crackles rather badly with high treble... because it was knocked off my desk by a room mate. Oh well... maybe once I'm no longer unemployed I'll just buy another set :-D
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
raresstef
from Cluj-Napoca,Romania
Expertise: Proficient User

Best sound experience

Date:November 3, 2010
The best sound sistem I have ever heard in my life.Clear sound,powerfull bass and a very ergonomic design.I advise anyone if they need something powerfull in their lives to get one.Congrats to Logitech for this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gerisonti
from Albania
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Recommended

Date:October 27, 2010
NO words to say only recomanded for all very happy with all logitech product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jack
from netherlands
Expertise: Tech Savvy

best speakers ive ever heard

Date:October 12, 2010
never have i heard that covers all aspects of all music so amazingly!! whether its the clarity of classical, the thundering drum beats of rock music, the singing guitars of blues, the heavy bass of dance music or the inbetweens this set does everything!!
well and truely worth every single penny!!!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
astrophysicsboy
from Atlanta, GA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

AWESOME!!

Date:October 6, 2010
Purchased this system when they first were offered to me, about 5 years, they are fantastic. Have upgrade my machine many times since then but never the sound system, as they always work with all my upgrades and the different configurations that I put on. Right now 64-bit Windows 7 Pro with all different sound apps from Rhap to Videosource . All sound great without much input from me . I will highly recommend these systems to all, I feel that they are the best.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GTOMEX1
from Houston
Expertise: Tech Savvy

BASS

Date:October 3, 2010
It will shake picture frames of the wall its got so much bass, and just when you think it was all the volume its got more power to punch you to your seat. I bought this in 2005 and still works fine great quality the subwoofer oh my god unbelivable. I never heard the expenssive Boss system but with this system there is nothing to envy.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dominic
from London, UK
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Sheer Performance

Date:October 3, 2010
I purchased the set around 3 years ago and have used it almost on a daily basis. Only postive things can be written about it.
Whether it be playing music, games or watching films, the flagship Z-5500 never lets down.
The performance and sound quality is at a constant high, the power of the subwoofer is more than enough to send seismic vibrations through your entire house.
I have been using the speakers for my Xbox 360 via an Optical cable (the highest quality input for the speakers) and the sound experience can only be described as immense. The quality of the surround sound is superb as you are surrounded by sound waves from every direction.
The same can be said about the music from iTunes and films from my Blu-ray player. There is no crackly, grainy noise from the speakers at high volumes, just clarity. It is a must to set them up with Dolby Digital or DTS 5.1 Surround to get the best out of them. The design of the speaker system is simple and stylish and the remote control comes in very handy.
Even after 3 years, I have no intention of buying a new speaker system for a long while, and neiter will you. My overall rating for this product is outstanding. I bet even my neighbours would agree.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Romo

<3

Date:September 8, 2010
Just <3 it
Easy to install easy to hadel i think its made for enjoy the essenz of sound.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next>>