Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Speakers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System

Rock your entertainment with a THX®-certified, 505-watt, 5.1 digital surround sound speaker system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.885 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(156 Reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 156 reviews
5 stars
144
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
152 out of 156(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Review 1 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nick007

Z5500

Date:December 18, 2008
The logitech z5500 is by far the best speaker system. I also have the z5300 but its surpassed by the quality and power of the z5500. I have the z5500 speakers for over a year and it still impresses me. NO PROBLEMS..For best performance use Digital coaxial or other digital inputs.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bitshiftr
from Surrey
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Another quality product

Date:December 26, 2008
A wonderful example of how computer speakers have evolved. These could easily double as a home theatre system. Only complaint is that it makes MP3 V2 rip's sound absolutely terrible, so be prepared to rerip your music collection to FLAC if you want to experience what these speakers can really do. If you can spare the bandwidth, try out NIN's "The Slip" in 24/96 waveform and be blown away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big Steeler
from Easton,Md
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Still going strong

Date:December 26, 2008
After 3 years of service my Z 5500's are still getting raves from friends. Still the best set of computer speakers on the market. Logitech top notch company with great products. They have my business and when they better the Z 5500's I will buy those next.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dhoge88
Expertise: Proficient User

Outstanding

Date:December 26, 2008
I've had this product for a year and 6months. This has never failed to disappoint me. You can add in your own wire to make sure each speaker fits where it needs to go, they mount to the wall, the LCD display is not obnoxious in the dark. the sub woofer is amazing. this is the best system to get if your not worried about having a dvd player. i have my xbox 360 hooked up to it and you can hear ever detail. i switched from my tv to these speakers and i could hear things i didnt even know existed in games and dvd's. you will not be disappointed what so ever.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LogitechRocks
from PA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best Computer Speaker System

Date:December 30, 2008
This is statistically the best system on the market today. I own two of them and can backup what everyone else has to say about these... unbelievably great.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deadstill

Excellent Speakers!!

Date:December 30, 2008
I see that everyone else has already reviewed these speakers but I will add my two cents. I have owned these since 2004 and they've been moved to different homes and LAN parties and handled and used ruthlessly for the past 4 years and they're still just as good as the day I bought them. They're durable, both the speakers themselves and the housings. I've been cranking this system up as loud as I can stand it for a long time now and have yet to blow a speaker or the sub. Even with constantly moving them they endure the packing,moving and unpacking process with no problem. I'm surprised to see they're still selling this same exact model, but then, with what great usage I've gotten from them, they must know they've got something good going. Worth Every Penny.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chris
from Brisbane
Expertise: Proficient User

Ehhh....

Date:January 4, 2009
I will admit that it is a very good system for the price, but spend a few hundred dollars more and you can have stylish and quality speakers that would last for years. It does greatly out preform compared to the last set I had, an x530, but one week after I bought this my room mate moved in with his surround sound system, and blew the z550 out of the water. I would recommend this to people looking for a cheap set of speakers, but would not recommend to people looking for pure sound quality.
-25points
15out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LennyP
from Banks, OR
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Computer Setup

Date:January 6, 2009
I am quite impressed with this system. It sound great and uses up little space. The bass is excellent -- I can get the floor rocking. I'm using this now in place of my stereo system for music as well as movies and games.
Cons: Came with a broken stand on one of the speakers. I never did anything about it so... I also could use some more inputs. Currently I have my computer hooked up to it, my wii hooked up to it and would like to hook up another computer; only the coax is free and I need another direct input.
Overall I would definitely recommend this system especially if you can get it on sale like I did.
Thanks Logitech, I've been real happy with all the products I've bought from you.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PaMu1337

Excellent

Date:January 7, 2009
One of the best buys I've ever made. The sound quality is just excellent and the bass is so powerful. There is just one little problem with my set (not sure if this happens to everyone). The control center crashed a few times, and none of the buttons worked any more, but this was after it had been on for several hours without any input. Turning off and on again fixes this and this only happened to me twice in three months. Apart from that I would surely recommend this set to anyone. It maybe costs twice as much, but is at least 10 times better value.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Semajecap

Awesome Speakers

Date:January 9, 2009
I have owned a set of these speakers for 5+ years now and they're still going strong. I can connect them to my TV, XBox 360 or PC and the sound quality is Awesome. Be careful or you might shake pictures off the wall or dishes out of the cabinets =)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
intangible
from Las Vegas, NV
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Good for the Money

Date:January 10, 2009
Great set of speakers for the money. I love the size and look of these speakers.
The built-in wall-mounting capability really allows you to have a great sound-upgrade for your plasma or LCD at a good price.
One warning though: Logitech doesn't sell any replacement parts for these whatsover... if you break a speaker mount (like I did on the center speaker), you will not be able to find a replacement. Replacement parts are almost impossible to find even on ebay (since everyone's looking for them, be prepared to pay a huge amount for a replacement part).
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JQ

Just wow.

Date:January 11, 2009
Iv had this system for about a year now, and i couldn't be more pleased with it, the bass makes my whole family mad because it shakes the whole house, half way up. If your looking for a good sounding system plus amazing bass, you have found your winner. If your wondering if its worth the money, Its more then worth it. i highly recommend this to anyone looking for a system, i could not be more pleased with its easy set up and easy system. i monkey could use it :D
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joaqy
Expertise: Proficient User

Best of class!

Date:January 12, 2009
i have had these for just about 2 weeks and could never get over the fact on how great the system is. i have gone around looking for the perfect set of speakers primarily for home theater use (DTS and DOLBY decoding was a must!) for 1 MONTH, and for the price, you can't possibly get anything better than this set. i was skeptical at first (it being presented as "PC" speakers), but i've checked practically all HTIB's (home theater in a box) around the same price range and nothing compares to the specs these provide; and not all HTIB's can even boast the THX certification. the sound is amazing and brings you right in the action when watching movies, and with all the inputs, playing music wouldn't even be a problem (which sounds great as well). sure...there will always be better home theater systems out there (i myself have one for my living room), but i assure you for the budget, it IS the best choice. i'm presently using it for a small room (approx 5x6 meters) with parquet floors and the system has more than enough power to fill the whole space; even people that go to my place would prefer watching their movies there instead of my living room. i could never say enough for the system and would urge everyone on a tight budget looking for a HT to get these. trust me, it's all worth it. :)
ps. wall mounting has been an issue for a lot of users; i had my share but was resolved quite well. i'll post some pics in the forums when i find some time. :)
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lufkinp6
from Peru, MA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

By Far The Best

Date:January 18, 2009
This system is not only easy to use, but it is also very well built and durable. And it sounds and looks very nice. I have owned this for 5 years now and would buy another if this ever died. But since the day i bought it it has sounded the same and never lost any quality. Even after i crank it way up and leave it there for an hour or two. I think that if you blow a speaker in this you did something wrong. And the other reviews don't lie. This is one of the best sounding systems ever.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brent

Amazing System for the price!

Date:January 25, 2009
I have had this system for about 7 months now and I must say that this is one of the best HTiB I have ever come across. Everything about it is great but some people may need extra digital inputs. This system has some of the best satellite speakers, it has great range from low to high, and I love the look of everything too.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Macman
from Oklahoma
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Sound system for a Mac Pro

Date:January 27, 2009
I bought this to use with my new Mac Pro because it has digital optical input. Turns out you can hook this up to just about anything with a digital optical output like a DVD player or video game system etc. I love it. However, you CANNOT control the volume through the computer you have to use the rheostat on the control unit or use the included remote control. Which is no different than a home theater system (you have to turn the reciever on and control the volume through it instead of the DVD player or video game system). It produces great sound and it looks great with the aluminum mac monitor and computer. I am very pleased with the entire system. One surprise was the size of the subwoofer. It doesn't fit well underneath a computer desk. It takes up all of the space. However - it does produce some serious bass!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomZMyZ
from Medan, Indonesia
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best Digital System Ever

Date:January 27, 2009
This Z5500 is Amazing...
I have use it for 2 years now..
Never had any problem with it..
I have been using Onboard Soundcard until
lately i had just bought an Creative Fatality Champion...
It Sounds Even Better..
I had been using it with My PC, PS3, Xbox360, Nintendo Wii and PS2..
No Digital System Have Powerful stuff like this..
superb Subwoofer
Nice Satellites.
Nice Remote..
It's Recommended to all People Who Seeks Sound System For Gaming, Music, and Videos..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haluk
from Izmir,Turkey
Expertise: Proficient User

Great system

Date:January 28, 2009
Hi,
I am using z5500 with my ps3. I use the digital input. It really has a great sound quality with dvd/blueray movies and games. Only one thing is missing tho. It doesn't have an equalizer. Maybe if you are using z5500 with a computer you dont need it, since the softwares on your computer will do it... But if you are planning to use it with your ps3 which doesnt have an equalizer built/installed in (yet) you dont really get a good taste of music.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vargavision
from New York
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Z-5500-MAC FRIENDLY

Date:January 29, 2009
Bottom line-you don't need a sophisticated sound card to get the best results in sound for your APPLE G5 MAC. The one thing this bad boy has is an OPTICAL INTERFACE. Meaning-you can hook this system up to just about ANY system that has an optical port (PowerPC or MAC Pro) as well as your top of the line digital audio system for entertainment.
I was really hard pressed to find a sound card for my G5, only to discover that they have been discontinued. And for the PC folks who don't have optical I/O you can also use the Z-5500 for your sound cards with DIGITAL COAX or the 6 CHANNEL INPUT CABLES provided for your sound card(s).
Logitech has created a speaker system that's flexible for any computer and any current and future entertainment system on the market. Which also makes the Z-5500 a wise investment.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dijitle

Great but needs an update

Date:January 30, 2009
I've bought this system around the time they upgraded it, back in 2005-ish, i forget, but i've had them till now and they have never given me a single problem and as far as features and performance goes, it's A+... for 2006, but now with bluray and new audio formats, it could use an upgrade with an hdmi port. i know this might be a lot to ask for a computer sound system, but hopefully in the future. still, i have to say this is the best sound system i've ever owned. i recommend it to anyone!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next>>