Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Speakers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech X-540 5.1 Speaker System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech X-540 5.1 Speaker System

Gaming intensified&em;a 5.1 speaker system that immerses you in the sounds you love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.566 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 99 reviews
5 stars
70
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
2
92 out of 99(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Review 1 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MartinJW
from Wisconsin
Expertise: Tech Savvy

3 years and going as strong as day one!

Date:August 18, 2010
I've had this system for over for three years now and they still kick as hard and impress as much as day one. I had gotten these originally when the were on say at best buy (85 bucks) Read all what it did and even then was skeptical but didn't want to burn a hole threw my wallet.
I purchased them that same day and seem to fall in love with them all over again as each day passes. The sound from both speakers and the sub are crystal, and seem to sound even better turned up which is saying alot cause even at 50% i can hear it from the other end of the house.
Only reason for a markdown on its score is because some of the wires are a bit short for proper setup in large room, and the fact the sub is downward firing with no protective grill on it, nearly stuck a finger through it pulling it out of the box!
Needless to say I've come to trust Logitech products for the bang for your buck and the quality of their products. This is one 5.1 surround system that will rock your world!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ac1
from milwaukee,wi
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Forever

Date:July 26, 2010
ive been using logitech since 2006, and theyve never failed me. from the laser wireless mouse to this system. amazing sound amazing lasting time. logitech is an undeniable product to pick up.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura
from Michigan
Expertise: Proficient User

Easy to install

Date:July 6, 2010
If a person well over 80 years old and not a technical expert can successfully install this within a reasonably short time and without help, anyone can. Subwoofer and speakers are a convenient size. Volume and bass are easy to adjust. Excellent clear, rich sound. Competitive price.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
n3m37h
from Ontario
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Speakers

Date:July 3, 2010
I would suggest these to anyone. Phenomenal sound, no distortion, even at max volume. Had these speakers for over 4 years and they still pound. Refurbished too and still going strong. I've heard more expensive systems that don't sound as good. Clear, Crisp sound. Good length cables (short if your using them for anything other than desktop purposes)
The "matrix" feature is absolutely awesome feature. I actually use this for my Xbox, and it enables 5.1 even though its only 1 3.5mm jack in.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BB

X-540, incredible!!

Date:May 30, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
so far ive had this sound system for about a week, the sound is so detailed, but also so much sound and bass can come out of the same syatem, its incredible, they only took 10 minutes to set up, and there just amazing :)
im thinking of buying another one along with a Y (3.5mm) spliter to have the unbelievable sound quality doubled, and i cant think of a better thing to spend my cash on :)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Billy The Kid.
from Baltimore, MD
Expertise: Proficient User

Spectacular Sound for the Price.

Date:May 13, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I've had these since christmas or the christmas before. But they sound awesome. I would definately recommend these to anybody who is on a budget. And it has great bass. Sounds great when you're listening to music and the music has bass drops. Get them. Great Price. Great Product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MW2Monster

Beast.

Date:May 2, 2010
I got this about a week ago and all I can say is that it is beast!
It comes with good features like "Matrix" and it also includes a video game adapter in the box which was really helpful to me. I play Modern Warfare 2 and Bad Company 2 and they both sound spectacular! I also got one for my dad and he loved it too!
Thanks to Logitech, we have a beast product in our hands.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
McCake
from Portland Oregon
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Gaming Sound Quality !

Date:April 27, 2010
This speaker system has the best sound quality for the buck.I have had this system for over two years and it still sounds like they are new.I have recommended this system to all my friends and they all love it.Great Buy!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ROFLOLHAXERIFYERIST

Amazing for the money

Date:April 14, 2010
I've been looking for a set of good speakers that won't break the bank and these definitely deliver. Granted, for $90 you won't get Bose or Dennon quality, but it's nothing to laugh at. I've had these for around a month and I'm impressed. The sound quality is phenomenal (for the money) and it was very easy to set up, however, when they arrived the bass +/- knob wouldn't turn... after a little tweaking it works fine now (although I don't hear much difference from when it's at minimum to when it's at max... idk) Overall these are great speakers and I would DEFINITELY buy these again and recommend them to other people. I HIGHLY doubt that you can find better speakers for $90 anywhere. Good job Logitech.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michael
from New York, NY
Expertise: Proficient User

Awesome Speaker System

Date:April 14, 2010
My wife and I were debating about what type of Speaker System to purchase. She wanted the surround system effect for music and movies. I wanted a speaker subwoofer system. I insisted on the Logitech Z-540 5.1 Speaker System. She is shocked at the awesome sound it offers. As someone knowledgeable in electronics, I knew this system could deliver. I was surprised it over delivers in performance. The features are great. You do not need to turn it up to maximum volume to enjoy the awesome sound this system delivers. Excellent price for this great product. The sound is awesome. We received both - surround sound and a subwoofer music effect. We are both happy with the Logitech X-540 5.1 Speaker System.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TrUtH

SCREAM!!

Date:April 12, 2010
Dude these things SCREAM while I play Bad Company 2. I have them hooked up to my 360 and they sound great. Games, music and movies sound really nice. I have only had them for a few days, but if they hold up they will be sic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
brandencarroll
from Texas
Expertise: Newbie

Unimpressive

Date:April 11, 2010
I currently use these speakers in a shared office with a family member who uses bose speakers. I must say the bose make my speakers look like a waste of money. I went to best buy to compare these speakers to a thx certified set of speakers and decided to buy them for $150. After comparing the logitech to any other set of speakers in the same price range I can honestly say save your money and get something better.
-10points
0out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
r4nd0mbr4nd0n
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Date:April 7, 2010
I got this brand new from my grandpa over a year ago, and its the best speakers ever, its a little hard to set up the speakers with all the wires and stuff but its all color coated but its easy to get them tangled, but its worth the trouble in the beggining, the only thing, is if the rear speakers stop working, unplug the orange plug. and these speakers have alot of bass and so good quality, best quality ever!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
peate
from Valleyfield, Quebec
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Good value for the money

Date:March 24, 2010
I bought these refurbished for under $60. Canadian to replace my Cambridge DTT2200's I had for many years. Although not as powerful, the sound quality is excellent. Wish they were not hardwired though but that's being picky.
Also the exposed speaker in the sub makes me a little nervous, it should have a grille to protect it. No noticeable noise or buzzing so far and the satellites look awesome on my wall. Overall, I'm quite happy with my purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
???

Logitech 5.1

Date:March 19, 2010
A Alright set of 5.1's, but i must say as louder i put it, the bass doesn't sound right, sounds like its got something moving inside, so i would not recommend this to any 1.
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Magalia55
from Northern Calif. Foothills
Expertise: Proficient User

Good Quality

Date:March 13, 2010
I bought these to replace a set of Z-4's that I loved. I gave the Z-4 to my Mother for her use. She loves them. I personally like the features of the X-540 especially the center speaker being able to sit atop the monitor. However I think the over-all sound quality is not as good or anywhere as loud as the prior set of Z-4's I owned. On sale are a good deal for the price. But personally I expected a little better sound quality and loudness with this X-540 5.1 speaker. After my own experience I honestly liked the Z-4 much better for the same price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Toyguns

Best I Ever Got!!!!!! THE BEST

Date:March 7, 2010
Well i going to the z-2300 but i wanted to save a little bit of money so i went to best buy and got me the x-540 just by looking at the box i could tell its great.
So i get home open it up im amazed like really i love and i haven't even pluged it in yet.
And i love the adapter for like your xbox and thats what i mainly use and for and it works great and i have only had it since x-mas and it still works like would brand new and love the matrix
NOTICE: I only thing is is the cords for the back and front spreaks are kind of short so i make those longer ty
so overall i love it just love and its great and best with bass!!
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dee Ruk
from a-town, PA

official sounds for $80

Date:March 2, 2010
Great sounding speakers. I purchased them at best buy for 80 bucks. they work good on the laptop and ipod for a space of about 300 sq ft.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ArcoJedi
from Florissant, MO
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Caveat - Buyer's Remorse, Buyer Beware

Date:February 27, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I should have researched this better. :-[ Whereas this may in fact be a good speaker set with good sound and I have no doubt that it is, it was not what I was looking for. I went to the store to purchase a 5.1 system for my TELEVISION, not my computer. This product was stocked in the same section as all the others (Bose, etc.) specifically for home theater. I asked the seemingly knowledgeable sales representative at the electronics store for his confident answer. "Does this system have the right RCA inputs?" And he assured me that it did. But alas, it does not. So, I'll be returning it tomorrow.
The input cable for this system is a three wire green/black/yellow stereo cable designed for a computer's sound card. The system does come with a stereo jack to RCA Y-shaped adapter that the instructions suggest you can use "for game consoles". But this is only 2-channel, not true 5.1. These speakers do come with a Matrix mode that will "create 5.1 surround sound from 2-channel stereo sources" which would be cool on a computer or other system that only had 2-channel, but I'm looking for true 5.1 from my DVD player and eventually a blu-ray player. This would be stereo sound piped into 5 speakers, but not actual surround.
Oh, sure, you can blame me for not asking to see a display model or opening the box before I left the store with it. But you will have to admit, had I bothered to do my proper research before-hand and browsed this site (and perhaps purchased it online), the specifications listed here don't explain it any better and neither does the packaging. I note with a smile that the other 5.1 system for $400 does list "Source Inputs:" on the specification page.
Please understand I cannot and do not blame Logitech for any of this, except that the site and the product packaging could have made it a bit more clear. Every product I've ever bought from Logitech (other speakers, mice, keyboards and lots more) has been top-notch and I'd recommend them over anyone. But I wanted to add some more details here to help Logitech improve their specs and help other customers in the same situation.
+6points
20out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X-540 5.1 Speaker System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sharp
from United States
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Base

Date:February 24, 2010
Got this set at best buy on sale for 80$ and have been blown away ever since. The bass is intense and isn't distorted even at the highest volume and setting. These speakers seem to sound better the louder they go. The control pod is very handy and easy to use. The matrix mode works very well. The system is very easy to set up.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next>>