Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Joysticks or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Extreme™ 3D Pro

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Extreme™ 3D Pro

From acrobatic dogfights to long-range strikes, this precise joystick gives you the edge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.17 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 53 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
12
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
3
40 out of 53(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Review 1 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
crabby
from spring tx
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

not for windows 8

Date:February 13, 2013
worked very well with win 7, have new computer with win 8 now the stick will not work properly. they have no drivers for win 8
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bogey
from Piqua Ohio
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Very nice joystick

Date:January 29, 2013
Our school has 11 of these joysticks. We have had them for 4 years now. They have gone though 4 summers of extreme use by grade school students. For the past 2 years they have been used daily by high school students. I've seen them dropped and abused; all 11 of them still work great. I am about to buy 15 more.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BluntChrome
from Shanghai, China
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Awesome Joystick

Date:January 3, 2013
I found that the joystick is just a great pleasure to use.
You will find alot of bad comments about it but that is just because the people that writye them are using the stick for shooter games.
However if you are looking for something for flight simulators this is just perfect for you. I have only had the stick for a short time and I can tell you that it is really precise. The 12 buttons really help with make the gaming experiense the best it can be.
I know that alot of people are worried about buying it for mac or they just cant find one that says "Mac" on the box, but that is not a problem because it works just fine with both Mac and PC if it says PC on the box.
When youi plug it in it might not show or work, so dot just go of and buy drivers and softwares but simply check if the game is compatible with the joystick and just keep on unplugging it and plugging it.
If you are looking for a joystick for intense war games like "Battlefield 3" then I sudggest you look into getting the "Attack 3" from logitech.
However if you are looking for a cheap joystick for x-plane this is the one to buy.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skymaster67
from Belleville,MI
Expertise: Proficient User

Excellent Joystick

Date:October 26, 2012
I've had mine since 1999. Excellent joystick. It has lasted me this long (2012 Oct). I play mostly Falcon 4.0, UBiSoft Lock On, Microsoft Flight Sim X, and 2004 nowadays. Used it for everything from Microsoft FS 98 and up, Crimson Skies, CFS1, and 2. Why am I thinking of replacing it you may ask? Now it is acting up. It's not centering well, the throttle button is broken yet still operational. I figure after 13 years it is time for a new one, that's all. Logitech thank you for making products such as these, yes I will be replacing with same model, if still available.
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mendota
from southern Illinoios
Expertise: Proficient User

PERFECT FLIGHT SIM JOYSTICK

Date:October 20, 2012
I would consider myself a hardcore flight simmer. I've flown everything in the flightsim world, from small private planes and helicopters to complex add-on airliners. Over the past few years, there have been few airliner releases I haven't bought or received as a reviewer's copy.
First of all, this joystick has lasted for years of hard use. (I am replacing it with the same model only because it wouldn't be recognized after a lightning strike.) It has an remained stiff (I probably would prefer slightly less stiffness), centers reliably and provides smooth, accurate control on all axes. It just has the feel of a well-constructed piece of equipment, and is an exceptional value for the price. Any criticisms below come from the fact that they have included so many functions into an all-in-one unit, so naturally, some things might not be quite as sensitive or "realistic" as a collection of stand-alone controls. The fact remains, I have some of those stand-alone controls, and still prefer the convenience, simplicity and smaller footprint of the Extreme 3D Pro, which gets the job done.
You want rudder control for those cross-wind landings and coordinated turns, and the twist solution is adequate. The only criticism I could think of is that there's not much play in the twist, so it is hard to finesse rudder control, but I realize there's only so much you can do with the twist solution. Anyway, I have rudder pedals, and I still prefer to use my Extreme 3d Pro for convenience and comfort. ( It is possible I could have done a better job setting up the sensitivity and null settings in the game,too.)
There is a single small throttle control, but it has never been an issue on multi-engine aircraft, which is all I fly. Range of response is sufficient, and was only ever an issue when extremely slight adjustments were needed on complex add-ons of older jetliners, where you had to maintain a precise speed or match a recommended EPR manually. So unless you buy one of the few add-on classic jetliners like the 707, the early DC-9, or 727 you're never likely to find yourself making those tiny nudges and you will never give the throttle a second thought. It works fine for helicopters, too, by the way.
It has a hat swtich for view changes, a trigger (I use it for brakes), and a ridiculous amount of thoughtfully-placed buttons. I especially like the number of buttons accessible to the thumb, which allows you to keep your eyes on the screen. There is another bank of buttons on the base, but, honestly, I never felt a need to assign most of them.
In sumary,the Extreme 3D Pro is well-designed, solidly constructed flightsim joystick that does it all for an excellent price. It is suitable for the beginner (are there any beginning flight simmers anymore?) or the veteran virtual pilot. If you are considering a joystick for flight simming, this is the one.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
daman132

CFS3

Date:August 26, 2012
I use this joystick for the game Combat Flight Simulator 3. In the game this joystick gets a rigorous testing. It is simple to calibrate it so you don't have to use the keyboard at all. I can do so many things on the joystick itself like shoot, retract landing gear.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GJ JOKER
from seattle
Expertise: Proficient User

use and forget doss not last long at all

Date:August 6, 2012
it is lucky if it last a month i got 6 hoping one would last not happing last 3 1/2 weeks topes. bad quality. very bad quality.
this one is my last one i get. in less logitech fix it's quality.
but $29.95 is way to much for junk.
-27points
3out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Morrowdays
from Fredericksburg, VA
Expertise: Proficient User

WOW!

Date:May 21, 2012
Found this at a junk store for 8$ and didn't realize it was top of the line untill I looked it up WHAT LUCK!, I started using it immediately and it's definitely one of my best purchases, this thing works like an extension of my body and fits perfectly to every movement I make, even non joystick users can fit right in to using this comfortably. I definitely recommend this to any gamer looking for new equipment. (check your local junk store and you might get lucky)
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OB
from Aurora Colorado
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Good and can be better

Date:April 21, 2012
Owned this logitech product for about 2 years. I would like to see the wireless version come out soon. Logitech is leading innovator so I expect it be wireless soon. Very easy to use and setup. Enough buttons to get you where you want to go. I would recommend this product.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A cat on a pedal boat
from Galilee, Israel.
Expertise: Tech Savvy

A good buy for 6DoF

Date:April 4, 2012
I have that stick for more than half a year now, and it still works really well, after massive gaming.
-Installation of the product was really easy, and calibration went just fine. The stick works just fine. but that profiler is pretty unnecessary.
-The overall quality is good, though there is one place in the stick which can scratch you a little bit (maybe only in that specific copy). The numbering prints near the buttons are still exist, without wearing out even a bit, which is quite impressive.
-The first hours of aggressive gaming with it can leave your hand some pain (and even more if it's your first stick). From then, the stick is comfortable, and I felt no hand ache caused by the stick since then.
For my uses, the 7-12 buttons on the base and the throttle are quite useless, but I like them to be where they are :).
-For 6DoF games which I play (mostly descent series), the stick's features are excellent, and are much more fun than keyboard only. The twist handle is very good for 6DoF, but takes some training for using well. At the beginning, you may won't be able to control the twist handle, so you better turn it off until you can control the stick flawlessly without it. Than turn it on.
All at all, this stick is awesome for 6DoF, and I guess that it's good for more game genres.
I would recommend it.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
matt177
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best Joystick

Date:March 22, 2012
I use this for Microsoft Flight Simulator and it works great does what it needs to do and had many good flights if you need a joystick buy this one
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BushFlier
from Seattle, WA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Good value for the money

Date:March 12, 2012
I've been using this for about two weeks and find no faults with it that matter. It seems to be well made and it works great with FSX. If there is any fault with it at all, I'd say that it would be very useful if the tension of the stick could be adjusted. It sometimes "sticks" when trying to make fine adjustments in attitude. Still, very good value for the money in my opinion.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joey
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Awsome

Date:February 27, 2012
I purchased this Joystick for FSX, But I soon found myself using it for any flying game. It is very responsive and with the 12 or so buttons for anything it works great. I would recommend this to you.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SirJeffrow
Expertise: Proficient User

Mek Tek

Date:January 22, 2012
I bought it for Mek Warrior battle
i love this joystick The logitec Extrm 3d pro is a great joy stick for the price like in other reveiws its all in how you treat your equipment i bought it back in 2005 worked untill i had to move broke in transit shifted in box and now the twist wont work and it turns right it is my own fault for miss packing it like i did going to buy a new one soon buttons easy to program and set up
the only thing is 7 & 8 are a reach for the fingures other than that great buy for 30 Dollars going to get another next week thanks Logitec!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DiamondMX
Expertise: Tech Savvy

This joystick does not work

Date:January 6, 2012
On two different desktop PCs, I've had the problem with this joystick - when plugged in, it is not recognised, and other USB devices on the same controller become unrecognised.
I believe this to be some kind of strange power draw issue, and would return it if I had not assumed to begin with, that it was my own USB controller at fault. It is now way too late to return it, but I have only been able to use it a few times, when plugged into an external powered USB hub alone.
-6points
3out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max
from Chicago
Expertise: Proficient User

This is the BEST

Date:December 13, 2011
I've been using this with X-Plane flight simulator for over two years and I fly a couple hours a day. It has been flawless and I couldn't ask for more.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KingPin

3D Pro

Date:November 15, 2011
I bought the 3D Pro to replace my old Microsoft Sidewinder because my new system needed a USB joystick. I feel the 3 DPro is way too stiff for flight sims. The stick centers itself too hard so it takes too much effort to maintain stable control. I find myself constantly making opposite corrections because of the strong centering of the stick. My old Sidewinder is much smoother(but no USB). It would be nice if the tension was adjustable. Other than that, installation was a breeze and the stick has many features.
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shtang

Good Buy!!!

Date:August 23, 2011
Great joystick! Had it for 6 years now and still functional like it was brand new. Quality is good. Dont know why other reviews had low quality ratings. Take care of it and it'll last a long time.
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
blackbird10a
Expertise: Tech Savvy

not durable at all

Date:August 10, 2011
I bought this joystick about a year ago and I noticed after the first 5 months of standard use it started to pull right when I had it straight. I tried recalibrating it and it still pulled right. It wasn't so bad though so I lived with until about a month ago when it got so insane I couldn't fly anymore. So I purchased a saitek x52 flight system which is by far way better than the logitech. So in my opinion don't buy this buy a saitek. Ps. I am using a macbook pro with snow leopard with all updates.
-3points
6out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IronWizard
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Stick

Date:July 23, 2011
I've used several Sticks over the years, but this is one of the best. Its got plenty of buttons so you can have all the important controls at your fingertips, no need to use the keyboard for anything that requires rapid response.
It also has a great feel. True, its useless to a lefty, but it feels great in the hand and completely natural, no awkward hand positions, and most the buttons are very easy to reach and use. (buttons 11 and 12 are a little bit of a stretch, but not too bad.
The only downside is its a bit fragile. "Handle with Care" is the best advice I have, toss it around too much and it dies.
Absolutely recommended
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>