Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Mice + Keyboard Combos or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution

The speed you need. The control you crave.
Average Customer Rating:
3.922 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 102 reviews
5 stars
48
4 stars
23
3 stars
10
2 stars
17
1 star
4
71 out of 102(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Review 21 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
not my real name
from antarctica
Expertise: Tech Savvy

inappropriate setpoint behaviour, rad kbrd & mice

Date:June 13, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
the odds are fifty- fifty that there are at least 50 ways to maneuver your keyboard and mouse in Vancouver.
gotta say- Setpoint (is this a spelling error?) works fine, except for connectivity issues in Windows XP. I have to reboot setpoint for the media to be displayed on the keyboard LCD. I am doing this constantly. I've heard this problem goes away after doing it about 1000 times, but I'm a little impatient and feel the software should recognize it's disconnecting (think) out of the box. Why should I have to train it? Oh yes, i guess logitech (sp?) is not a software company. besides that, the MX 5500 appears to be the best human interface device ever so far. Save, maybe the neural actuator. i couldn't wait for the next generation with back lit LCD ect... and feel that it should be out already. This review was wriiten by more than 50 characters
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gabbo
from Tampa.FL
Expertise: Proficient User

Grate Product!

Date:August 30, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I got my new MX 5500 and i'm loving it.
My co-worker has the old MX 5000 and the 5500 looks more refine.
Pro: Easy to set up and grate deal of options for custome control. Mouse is super comftable to use, way better than my microsoft 6000 v2. Like the battery life.
Cons: Not to grate of an LCD display. Would like to see an option with liight and a better resoution.
No way to customize the LCD option like the MX 5000, adding your name etc. Would like to see more buttoms to cuztomise with out the use of the FN key. How about on screen information update.
I use the product to work on AutoCAD and Overall I satisfy with the product. Took me a bit to get the pan key to work on the mouse, just had to set up as middle buttom and it works.
Keep upgrading the MX and im sure it will continue as grate product. Add solar power to it!!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
njbeardoc
from New Jersey
Expertise: Proficient User

I'd get it again

Date:January 19, 2011
I've had the mouse and keyboard nearly two years (currently running Window 7) with a second, identical MX 5500 on a Dell running Vista.
Hard to understand some of the comments. Connectivity with Windows 7 is a snap. The features - which can be changed and made application specific - are abundant, if you want that level of specificity.
The mouse does lose connectivity on occasion, about once a night if I'm using it with applications that require intensive use. But wait a minute or so and it reconnects on its own - all in all, a pretty good level of service. I have large hands and find the mouse comfortable. The keyboard almost never loses connectivity and is full featured with flip, volume controls, video controls, and even sleep/hibernate right from the keyboard. Solid purchase and I'd buy one again without hesitation.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grahamprofound

Meets my needs

Date:May 23, 2012
This is my third one! I have used this combination for over three years but have been able to refreash mine for a new one while passing mine to a conference room. The keyboard maintained a nice touch and feel but I am not one to eat and drink over my keyboard. The mouse is one of the best designs of all time. I have had track balls, trackman, joystick, three button, touchpad, stylus etc. This version is a smooth operator. I agree with other reviewers, there are issues after a period of time with the connectivity between the mouse and computer. I found that it was because I was not recharging as instructed. I do keep another usb mouse/keyboard handy in case it goes down during a critical time. The mouse is a quick charge and the keyboard takes only a moment to replace the AA batteries.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
trc
Expertise: Proficient User

Love the mouse

Date:August 8, 2011
Super easy to setup, everything works great (and feels great) for what I use it for (bindings in games, hotkeys in browser) The keyboard has a lot of handy things, but to be honest I had this combo just to get the mouse :D
I saw some people had gripes with the mouse, but I absolutely love this thing, I wish it were sold separately so I could have a couple more! I used the old revolution before this and I'm glad it's still around, albeit in a keyboard+mouse combo. It just feels super smooth, solid, and the buttons are in great places for me. I love having the thumb wheel setup for media. If you multitask and like using hotkeys across several programs at the same time this mouse can really help you out, in my opinion! With the right setup and tweaking you can do just about anything.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NolaSicilian
from Baton Rouge, La
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Look, horrible connection

Date:January 20, 2009
Ever since I have bought this product, this expensive bundle at that, I have had problems with the connections. The keyboard and mouse VERY often loose connection to my computer, and I find my self having to repair them at least twice a day. It's odd because they will load for me to enter my Windows password to log on, then they will work for about a minute, and I will have to repair them both because the connection is lost. The mouse is wonderful to use, comfort wise. I do have a little bit of a hard time adjusting to this keyboard. For some reason its not as easy for me to type on, and I WISH the screen on it was backlit. It is also hard for me to use the volume buttons with the way they are positioned on the side in one line going up, instead of somewhat spaced apart at the top.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Richard
Expertise: Proficient User

Would not purchase this combo again.

Date:February 19, 2011
I bought this combo to replace my aging MX700 KB/Mouse combo and I am very disappointed.
I have no issues with the keyboard at all, in fact it is comfortable and has good features.
The mouse is another story. Not 3 hrs after getting it home, the mouse lost it's tactile click on the scroll wheel with or without Setpoint installed.
The mouse is so laggy that it is almost impossible to use. It gets me so extremely frustrated to the point where I have to walk away from the computer and come back to it later. Playing games with this mouse is completely out of the question. I have resorted to using my corded laptop mouse in place of the VERY expensive wireless mouse.
For the price this combination sells for I would expect a MUCH better product than it is.
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Renigade
from Gary, IN
Expertise: Tech Savvy

This keyboard combo is great

Date:November 13, 2009
I love this product with the following exception...
There is a button on the keyboard right above the number pad that says "PC"... this button can be programed to turn the PC off, hibernate or go into stand-by...
the last wireless keyboard I had, had this same button BUT it could also LOCK the PC... good in a business environment.
The bluetooth range is great, I have my computer under my desk and about 10' from the keyboard and mouse...
MUCH better than running a USB or PS/2 cables all over.
As far as the last reviews "No CAPS LOCK LIGHT"... on the LCD screen there is an indicator that lights when the caps lock is active along with the brief message on the screen.
I am recomending this combo pack to everyone... it is a good buy.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Goose
from New Jersey
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great combo.. But

Date:March 30, 2012
First of all, I've had used this keyboard and mouse combo for about 8 months, SO I've really gotten a chance to use it. I will rate them separately,
The mouse: The mouse is the best part. Not going to ramble, I had this mouse before from a separate puchase, big fan, no complaints here.
The keyboard: I like everything about this keyboard, EXCEPT, I may be the only one, but it surely slows my typing down. The buttons are a little bigger than a standard keyboard so it takes a little while to get used to. Once I got used to it, I noticed I was typing slower so I switched back to a standard keyboard and the difference in speed is unreal. My speed on a normal size keyboard is out of this world.
For me, it's all about performance.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phenom64
from Whitinsville, MA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Almost perfect combo

Date:April 6, 2011
This is an incredible keyboard/mouse combo. I also own the MX5000 and, if it wasn't for age and wear, I would still be using it. The MX5500 has nice smooth keys and a visually appealing setup. The LCD display is not as bright or easy to see as the MX5000. The display has more options but, not the same or as useful, as the MX 5000.
I just happen to think they had a real winner with the MX5000 and change for the sake of change alone, does not a better keyboard/mouse combo make.
As far as what else is out there right now, this is still by far the best choice.
Come on Logitech- you had a real winner with the MX5000 and the used/new prices for one on E-bay cost MORE than the 5500. That should say more than any reveiw.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
seebach

not to standard

Date:April 29, 2011
Don't get me wrong, I love the product, however, I purchased the Mouse alone back when thats all that was available. After 2 years of faithful service, my MX Revolution with the Scroll Click Thumb Button died on me, and I went to go find a replacement, because for me, that was THE mouse. Now the only way I could get it was to buy the combo with the keyboard. It was terrible. I won't reccommend this product to anyone, and the best advice I could give is that if you ever fall in love with a mouse like I did to make sure to get an extra or to maintain your current one to last longer than 2 years.
Thanks Logitech for making a great mouse, bring it back as a regular product and not a combo pack.
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eagle
from Palm Coast FL
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution

Date:February 4, 2009
This mouse and keyboard combo are the best I have ever used. The keyboard is quiet and the mouse is very accurate. I used a diNovo™ Media Desktop® Laser, until I spilled coffee in it and I have to say this unit runs circles around that unit. No comparision. I am using Windows 7 Beta and the Setpoint software for Vista installed flawlessly. No issues what so ever.
Would have liked the display back-lit, but I knew it wasn't going in, so really not an issue.
It may be by some peoples standards a little higher in cost, but again you get what you pay for. By the way the spacebar is as quiet as the rest of the keys and they are silent. All around a great combo.
No lag and bluetooth works great.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WowGamer
from Minneapolis
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Keyboard Yes, Mouse- not so much

Date:May 8, 2011
After a year of daily use, I have finally decided how I feel about this Kit. I love the fact it's Bluetooth, and the keyboard is good, and full of features.The mouse is comfortable, and it has a GREAT battery, but I am constantly getting frustrated by the laser tracking. The mouse is jerky, and skips across the horizontal axis. I have used on Mac, Windows Vista, and Now Windows 7, It doesn't matter the system, the tracking has issues. The software is limited, with no CPI/DPI adjustment. I even exchanged the mouse under warranty thinking it was a defect, but I believe it is just a characteristic of the mouse. Overall its an OK package-, but would not recommend for graphics or gaming.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big John

great product, lacking quality

Date:November 14, 2011
This is a very good product when new. The mouse is comfortable and the key board is quiet. There are many buttons on the mouse and key board that allow for customization and allow me to work faster with the softare I use. The mouse is very ergonomic and does not cause my hand to cramp up after extended use like other mice to. The only down side is the quality is not very good. The keyboard began to get louder with use and the keys began to stick. The left click button on the mouse got stuck and made it useless after about 1 year. I ended up buying another combo set because the MX Revolution mouse is no longer available separately, and I've not found a more comfortable mouse to use.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mlah
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Only Two Problems

Date:September 24, 2009
I love this key board it works great there is just two things about it that bug me. First the antenna needs to be pointed almost directly at the keyboard which can make it lose connection sometimes. Usually it is not a problem. The real problem for me is the lack of Caps Lock light. Its not something you would think would be a problem but it turns out to be a pain. The only indication you get to whether it is on or not is a message that pops up once when you hit the key and then it disappears. It is really easy to accidentally set the Caps Lock and then when you try to type a password just keep receiving error messages about wrong passwords before remembering to test for Caps Lock.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AngryMarine
from Washington State
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Solid Combination for Many Uses

Date:December 15, 2010
I have used this keyboard mouse combo for a while now and I absolutely love it. The LCD could be more distinguishable and it is a little bit cramped for someone used to using an ergonomic keyboards but those are very minor things that have not caused me any grief. The battery life is solid and constructed well. I've dropped it more than a couple times without any issues. It has some great features that are well organized. I highly recommend this combination for someone who uses their computer for more than a few hours a day. Plus the range of the bluetooth wireless accomodates me even in other rooms so kudos to Logitech, this whole heartedly beats my old microsoft setup.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AirforcProductions
from West Palm, FL
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best Keyboard Ever

Date:July 29, 2009
I have a Logitech G19 for my gaming rig and I bought the Mx 5500 for my normal use computer and this thing is the best the only thing I see wrong is the lcd screen is not backlit but i guess without it being backlit it saves battery power also if you have some things in the way of the reciever the mouse will lag a bit but it can easily be fixed with a usb hub lcd screens works great mouse feels comfortable in your hand no pushinn connect buttons it connects when you plug it in scroll wheel on the mouse feels like butter when you get it going easy 5/5 for logitech keep it going.
P.S.
this keyboard blows the microsoft entertainment desktop off the board LOGITECH FTW!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Upset In Texas

Poor Keyboard, Good Mouse

Date:March 3, 2009
I have owned this keyboard and mouse for ~ 1 year and use it for work 5 days a week. I do a lot with spreadsheets and formulas therefore I need a keyboard that is ergonomic and for that purpose it is good. The bad part is the keys are sticking horribly. The Ctrl and Shift keys stick causing formulas to go haywire in a matter of seconds. Don't care about the LCD but it is a nice feature that works well. The F buttons across the top are really small as well and invite wrong button pushing.
The mouse was excellent until scroll wheel went out 4 months ago. The actual mouse movement is very crisp and precise.
Don't expect a whole lot from this package!
+19points
24out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
anolehippy
from Gulf Coast Mississippi
Expertise: Tech Savvy

A great combo

Date:June 20, 2010
The MX Revolution is the most comfortable and capable mouse I have used in the past 20 years. This is my second MX Revolution. I especially like the recharging stand, that, unfortunately, Logitech seems to want to get away from. I have used the mouse for several years now and love everything about it. I purchased the combo when my MX Revolution mouse started getting flaky (ie; uncontrollable double clicks). The keyboard is comfortable and has a good feel to it. The display is a little dim for my viewing. I wish it had the "locking" feature available on some other models. I would definitely recommend it to anyone, you can't go wrong.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kris W

Solid Keyboard Mouse Combo

Date:October 14, 2011
I have owned a fair share of logitech products. I recently decided to upgrade my keyboard / mouse combo to the mx5500 revolution series. The LCD display has a built in calculator function which is very nice and can be toggled using the calculator button on the keyboard. This function replacing the other models allowing you to open "windows" calculator with the calculator button on the keyboard. IF you are having trouble getting the LCD to discplay after you have setpoint installed, make sure you take out and put back in the batteries in the keyboard. This made it work instantly.
This product is definitely worth the purchase price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next>>