Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Mice + Keyboards or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech G5 Laser Mouse

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech G5 Laser Mouse

Tune for game domination.
Average Customer Rating:
4.359 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 39 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
29 out of 39(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for G5 Laser Mouse
Review 1 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hephaistius

Date:September 8, 2009
Love it, the first mouse that doesn't disappoint me!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Danny

Confused

Date:September 3, 2009
I'm very confused about this product. It's a 'gaming grade' mouse, so I assumed I'd be upgrading. I used to have a laptop and had the logitech revolution VX mouse. It had been working brilliantly when I had the receiver a few feet away, but now that I've got a desktop, it seems that it occasionally misses a click. So I got the g5 for that purpose. Oddly, the g5 tracks very poorly on the same surface I've been using my VX on for years (black wooden desk). The VX had no problems whatsoever on this surface, but the g5 struggles and skips during normal use on this surface. It works fine on a mouse pad, but I dislike using mouse pads. That's a personal preference of course, but my assumption was that laser mice can track on any surface.
Additionally, the right mouse button seems very light and I accidentally click it constantly. The built quality is typical logitech (great) so there's nothing wrong there.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AL

Cord gone wrong!

Date:August 29, 2009
One of the best mice I've ever used and had the chance too game with .
The cord is the death of this mouse. I've owned 2. the first lasted me just over 1yr, the second 4 months. I had lost my receipt for the first one and learned to hang on so I can return the second. The flaw to this mouse is the cord. Both mice would disconnect only to reconnect any time the cord was tweeked near the mouse it self. Any quick movements or taps where the cord connects to the mouse would cause this issue.
Other than the quality of the cord connection This mouse is tops. Performance is the reason I took a chance on buying another only to have the same issue with the cord. I haven't lost faith in logitech only this mouse. I will not be buying another but I will still keep buying logitech products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jason
from Syd
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Amazing mouse with only 1 major flaw

Date:August 14, 2009
I absolutely love this mouse! the feel of it is incredible in the hand and the buttons are all well placed and responsive. I particularly like the 2 side buttons which are amazing useful in games. The textures is excellent and the feet glide across the surface perfectly.
But the one major flaw with this mouse is the cable. The cable at first looks excellent as its covered in this cloth to reduce friction but overtime it eventually formed a knot and the cable started to disintegrate around the knot. Then after that occured the mouse started to turn on and off constantly till it was nearly unusable. This occured only 1 year and 3 months after purchase.
Logitech really need to address this cable issue in their future mouse as it ruins the high quality of the mouse overall. But I have to say I am very impressed with how Logitech has dealed with this problem and have sent me another G5 with no hassels.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chip

Battery Killer

Date:August 10, 2009
This is an awesome mouse, but beware...it eats batteries. Serious gamers will want 4 batteries available to quick change. Resolution is great and all other functions are excellent.
-40points
0out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 6 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nilrog

Awesome mouse

Date:July 29, 2009
Great mouse, although I have 2 problems with it: firstly It accumulates dead skin fairly quickly on its sides, and secondly the braided cord on mine caused a rupture in the wire on my mouse (the wire got through and bent), so now my mouse will disconnect occasionally .
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dane73

Best Gaming Mouse I have Ever Used

Date:July 28, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is an insanely good gaming mouse for it's price. It has lasted me 2 faithful years, but it is starting to have a few issues where my game or the mouse cursor or my game would "twitch" around and it doesn't correct itself for a few seconds which is quite annoying, but it has only started doing that recently. When the mouse was working perfectly I had absolutely no complaints about it, although I am slightly disappointed because it only has 1 side button, (I am using the old Battlefield 2142 Special Edition) but the new G5's have 2 side ones, which is very good. You can also adjust the laser's sensitivity on this mouse, which is AWESOME! 2000 DPI for run-and-gun, 800 DPI for medium-range gunfights or RPG/RTS gaming, and 400 DPI for accuracy for things like sniping and long-range shooting. 2000 DPI is all you will really need for gaming unless you have a slow arm/wrist because 2000 DPI and up is mostly meant for small, quick movements. I usually keep it at the 800 DPI setting and it's quite balanced there, the 2000 DPI is what I use for quick knife fights and such, and the 400 DPI setting is what I use for long-range shooting and sniping and this mouse works perfectly for that. The response time for this mouse, which is the time it takes from moving the mouse to moving the cursor/game, is perfectly instant. I have never had any lag issues ever. The accuracy of the laser is hands down the best I have ever seen in a mouse. Everything tracks smoothly and accurately.
The ergonomics on this mouse are near perfect. Even if you use a claw grip on your mouse, it still fits great. Personally, I use a claw grip and this mouse doesn't disappoint in this department, the grip is universal. You can even adjust the weights, which is an EXCELLENT because many people enjoy a lighter mouse, but others (like me) prefer a heavier one. The adjustable weight set comes with eight 4.5 gram weights and eight 1.7 gram weights. Right now, I have my weight-tray loaded with all eight 4 gram weights and the mouse feels incredible. Changing the weight loadout is no problem at all, all you have to do it press the little button on the bottom of the mouse and the tray comes out, then just push out the weights that you wish to change, then just put new ones in. Then just push the tray back into the mouse. Done!
Overall, I have never used a better mouse, but I am upgrading to a Logitech G9 soon because my G5 sometimes "twitches" the cursor or my game around sometimes. So when I get my G9, my favorite gaming mouse may change, but if for some crazy reason I don't like the G9, I will GLADLY buy another G5 to replace my current one!
Hands down, best gaming mouse I have ever used!!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maddox
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best Gaming Mouse for PC

Date:July 17, 2009
This mouse outbeats ALL Razers in my opinion. It fights perfectly into my hand, and, you can even customize the weight. The 2000 DPI makes it the perfect solution for playing with an M4A1 in CS:S. Then, i can rapidly change to 400 DPI and snipe with precision.
I used to have a G5, but gave it to a friend as a birthday gift since he liked it so much. I glad i'm back with this mouse.
G5 > Razer Copperhead (my old mouse)
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Corbin

Very nice mouse

Date:July 17, 2009
I got the mouse for Christmas and it's the best mouse I've ever used. It slides around very easily and it fits my hand perfectly. The G5 has the perfect height and the weight/sensitivity controls are amazing. Beyond great. If only every mouse were like this. The only reason I rated the Quality 4 stars is because the mouse's Right Click just stopped working. I had to tear off the feet and part of the labeling on the bottom to get to the screw holes. After doing everything I could, it still didn't work. I ended up having to rebuy it. Oh well :)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vndead
from Blainville, QC
Expertise: Proficient User

Best gaming mice!

Date:June 26, 2009
I would recommend this to every gamer! This mice is comfortable. You can change the page with your thumb easily. It's the best mice ever!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Freddy

I can't believe I bought this mouse

Date:June 26, 2009
Don't get me wrong the mose is great. As soon as I installed the drivers I experienced massive lag. I tried everything I could to remove this lag. System restores cleaner, spyware etc. My final option is reformating. If that fails I'm sueing (Joke)
-28points
0out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nays

Had to return it.

Date:June 26, 2009
Before I bought this mouse I had the corded M500. Maybe i didn't give me enough time to get used to the G5 but for the 2 days I had it (about 8 hrs of gaming all together ) it felt weird and way larger than any mouse should be , side buttons were hard to find and click, the famous g5 skin felt like dirt I was constantly trying to rub off. The biggest complaint I guess is that the part of the mouse where my hand is suposed to lie is too rounded and elevated.
Sensitivity had to be changed constantly , mouse behaved differently in a game and out of it.
Anyway - I tried the G9 which was the other oposite - mouse was so short I couldn't keep it straight and it would spin to the left . However that mouse had unmatched precision - if they only made longer grips I'd be all over it.
I had to go back to the M500 - not as precise as the G9 and without the DPI settings but so well fitting in my hand.
But of course every single person has to find his or her mouse . I just wish the store where I bought them had the gaming mice displayed outside of the boxes so I could touch and feel and not just look at them.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Teron
from Connecticut
Expertise: Proficient User

Best on the market

Date:June 25, 2009
This is by far the best mouse you could ever buy.
It has a strange feel in the beginning which is overcome within a few hours of play.
Once you get in the groove with the G5, all other mice feel cheap, fragile and shaky.
Ive had my G5 for over two years now, and would buy another without a second thought if this one ever broke down (doubtful if ever will).
Don't let the price tag scare you away from this one, this is the Roles Royce of mice.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Icepop4who
from New York, NY
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Premium mouse for the enthusiast

Date:June 25, 2009
Logitech G5 was the flagship product before the introduction of the G9. True to it's nature, this is a gaming mouse designed for gamers. Not only this mouse fits the contours of my hand, the DryGrip surface feels like nothing on any mouse. The buttons are all done right with excellent depth and resistance.
[Quality]---- As a premium product in Logitech's lineup, the G5's quality is impeccable. The cord is wrapped in low-friction fabric that won't get tangled or break down like plastics. The surface has a textured, matte feel that keeps airflow between your hands and the mouse. The mouse feet are a lot bigger and smoother than other mice, which glides gracefully on a table or hard-top mouse pad. The construction of this mouse is absolutely solid, which is why i'm giving this category 5 stars.
[Features]---- The features that you will see on this mouse are not only useful, but also exclusive to logitech. The G5 comes with eight 4.5g and eight 1.7g weights that can fit on a 8-slot weight cartridge. There is a convenient on the fly DPI plus/minus buttons, that raise/lower dpi from default 3 steps to 5 steps. As mentioned earlier, the DryGrip surface is a must-have feature for gaming sessions as well. The G5 loses a star for a lack of profile switch and microgear as on the G9.
[Performance]---- The hands on experience for the G5 is just as good as any other mouse. However, when comparing performance of the G5 in dynamic situations such using different surfaces, reliability in gaming, and durability, the G5 is way ahead of the competition. I'm using this mouse a very smooth white table, which would be pure chaos for a optical or cheaper laser mouse. The 2000dpi engine really shines its way to 5 stars.
[Ease of Use]---- Just like any mouse on the market today, the Logitech G5 has true plug-n-play with your PC. The bonus here is that the G5 will support on-the-fly dpi switch without the installation of any software. While you cannot change the step of the dpi changer, the default 3-step settings are good enough for all gaming purposes. It is unfortunate that in order to change settings of the dpi changer, you will have to install SetPoint software, which may slow your computer's startup since it leaves a background process all the time.
[Ergonomics]---- This is one of the most comfortable mice for gaming. The mouse is large enough to fit most hands and the buttons are placed right for anyone. I have seen this mouse work nicely with men and women, adults and children's hands. Unfortunately, I deducted one star due to it's lack of left hand support.
The bottom line is, if you want an gaming oriented all purpose mouse and make the best use of your money, this is the mouse to get.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DuGeMon
from Lynnwood, WA.
Expertise: Proficient User

Great mouse most of the time.

Date:June 21, 2009
OK, so I have had this mouse for about 2 years or something close to that.
Out of the package, setting it up with my computer was pretty easy. I had heard from a friend it would take me forever to setup and customize. Its not to bad at all. But then again i still mess with the lil weights and dpi settings, from time to time trying to see if I notice much of a difference after prolonged gaming.
I have noticed a few problems with the side keys not working all the time in a few games. "Mirrors Edge", is one example. Also the sensitivity sometimes changes itself to the slowest setting while playing, "Left 4 Dead." Those keys wont work unless you get out of game and back to Desktop. After that you can adjust the keys that now magically work again. Well at least until it happens again that is.
Besides that though, I love this mouse. Moving to a laser from an old optical made a huge difference in my gaming.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MAYDAY

Great Mouse

Date:June 11, 2009
This mouse is one of the best mice to date. I have been through many mice this one is finally it. I have used microsoft's ie 1.0 and 3.0 mice which have gotten great reviews and many people still use. I also been through 3 logitech mx 500s 2 510s, 1 518, and a g9. Never really got into razor although the physical feal on most of them are nice the mx 500s design started it all. The reason I have been through so many mice is because I am a avid gamer. I have been playing competion lvl cs, quake, warcraft, wow and many other games. In cs I would slam the right mouse button for a "no scope" shot and the button would ware out on old versions of this mouse. Finally they made it right with the g5 blue edition. It has to be over 3 yrs now and I have the same g5 blue mouse. The feel is classic. The cord being teatherd omg thank you. The grip is unmatched. The durablity is unparallel. The scroll wheel and buttons still feel brand new. The grip is still as well.
At first i was worried about the transition from optical to lazer. It took me no time at all to adjust and the response time is amazing. If you are a person that is worried about the wieght and have taken out the wieght before dont try to open this mouse. There is no wieght in the mouse and you will wreck the feet on the mouse. The mouse also has wieghts that you can adjust and dpi setings. Forget all those gimick mice with flashing lights or super lazer.If you are a gamer I strongly recomend geting this mouse. Thank you logitech for making this product.
P.S. Please bring back the old g15 keyboard.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Warman
from Horsens, Denmark
Expertise: Proficient User

Love the design

Date:May 21, 2009
What I really like about the design is the blue colours.
I don't know if Logitech still make their stuff blue coloured, they should though.
I simply love the design.
The DPI is great and the sensitivity buttons are useful.
I'm a FPS player and I do graphics. When sniping, these buttons are your best friend if your target is far away.
Sometimes I can't draw stuff slowly pixel by pixel, I keep messing up. This is where these buttons kick in again, they're great!
Back and forth buttons are also useful when browsing in the internet, and in games like Half-Life 2, you can bind the buttons to do specific things.
Sometimes my dad comes in, and when he uses my mouse he's like - Oh wow, your mouse has a really great grip! And he's not wrong, the mouse is extremely comfy, It's not like your hand glides off the mouse at all, because it has this special 'rough' material. Not sure what it is, but it's really great.
I'm glad those weight things are there, but I never ever had any use for them. I think I got a cartridge in the mouse right now, but I don't really care if it weighs 20g less or more.
Last but not least, this mouse fits perfectly with a Logitech keyboard. I was a bit unlucky since I bought the G11 keyboard right before the G15 came out - but oh well.
I've had this mouse for a year, and I don't think I'm going to change it unless it breaks - for the next decade!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BFG
from United Kingdom
Expertise: Proficient User

Great mouse....while it still works

Date:May 18, 2009
I've had this mouse for comming up to 9 months now, and its fantastic. Extreemly comfortable (as I spend most of my day behind a computer) and top notch for gaming. I love the on-the-fly sensitivity changes and weight cartridge is a added bonus. The software which comes with it is great too, and completely customisable dpi settings are a deffinate plus.
However, over time the functionality has deteriorated, the after about 3 months the sensitivity change buttons almost stopped working (ocassionally they work for me, most of the time not). The cable frayed at one point after about 7 months, and recently the scroll wheel has completely stopped working. Which is quite dissapointing.
Overall a fantastic mouse, and is the most comfortable I have ever used, is brilliant if you want it for less than a year. Otherwise I suggest you look elsewhere.
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anton

Awesome

Date:May 15, 2009
I happen to love the cord, almost like having a cordless - been using my mouse for a year and except for some wear on the bottom it's like new. Very accurate, fast and comfortable for those that like a full sized mouse. Not a big fan of the anti-slip surface (blue) - feels a bit "dry".
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for G5 Laser Mouse
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chris

Bad cable quality

Date:April 17, 2009
Already in the first week of using the G5 the cable started working its way through the mesh and has slowly continued to do so the last few month. And now after 9 month the mouse stopped working.
I sincerly hope the cable is covered by the 3year warranty, as the mouse just is too expensive to throw away just because the cable is of lesser quality. Otherwise the mouse is great, I just love it.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>