Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Webcams or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®

Image-perfect detail and clarity for your Mac® computer&em;even in extreme close-ups.
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 36 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
4
23 out of 36(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Review 1 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TheGuyThatWroteThisReviewThatYourReading

Defective

Date:May 20, 2011
I liked the camera and it's features, (I bought this for stopmotion) but it broke after around a week. I plugged it into my macbook pro, used it for iStopmotion2, worked, had troubles with autofocusing, worked again, then I couldn't get it to turn on all of a sudden. Now it's collecting dust in my room because I can't find the receipt.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a person

Wow~!

Date:February 26, 2011
it work very well but the perosn on the other side can't here me that well is that just its on the wrong tpye of computer or what?
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Chas

Not bad, not perfect

Date:February 24, 2011
Just writing this really to inform of difficulties with Snow Leopard. The camera does work with I-Photo but not with I-Capture. Those having trouble might be trying to use it with I-Capture. My version of I-Capture doesn't recognize the camera at all, which is a problem for which both Logitech and Apple are to blame, although Apple is the more serious culprit. Sadly, Apple has difficulty playing with others, hardly only with Logitech. I've had lots of problems with other devices and programs since switching from PC to Mac.
But the camera does work and image quality is so superior to my old Quickcam, I'm impressed. Maybe those here who are disappointed used to have higher-quality cameras or--very possibly--their computers aren't up to the job.
Mine works fine in low light and I've not noticed a whole lot of pixelation. (Number of megapixels isn't that important anyway to how well a camera performs. Manufacturers know people think in terms of megapixels and so play that up when marketing digital cameras. Other factors are far more important to how well a camera works; e.g. the light sensor.)
The best part of this camera is the Zeiss lens. For those not in the know, Zeiss is the best name in optics. No one nowhere makes better lenses, which has been true of Zeiss for many decades.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jonwh
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Failed on delivery

Date:February 23, 2011
The unit is dead on delivery... basic quality problems?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laurens

Plug and play!

Date:January 13, 2011
Contrary to earlier reviews I read, the camera works right out of the box under Snow Leopard 10.6.6
Main use will be with Skype and/or iChat. From people I had a chat with I received very positive feedback on video and audio quality (relative to the purpose of this device: being a webcam)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AdamV

No idea why they call it HD

Date:December 11, 2010
First off you need a TON of light to get a decent image. And I have used this camera in 4 different screen recording software packages and none of them can get HD resolution from this camera.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Marie
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Review for QuickCam Vision Pro for Mac

Date:November 22, 2010
First of all I'm just disappointed that logitech only offers one webcam for mac computers. Secondly the picture is blurry and you can see all the pixels. The camera itself has only 2 megapixels and it costs a little over 100 dollars ! I'm not happy with my purchase but it's the only webcam that is compatible with my mac.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jamesr1018
from Canada
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Very satisfied - works perfectly!

Date:August 30, 2010
I bought this camera primarily for chatting with family on Skype and doing some videoblogging using Quicktime Pro. Works perfectly with every application I've tried: Skype, Quicktime Pro, Photobooth, iChat. Plug in and go.
I'm using this cam on a PowerBook G4 that dates back to October 2005 (last of the PowerBook G4's), and I'm running Leopard 10.5.8. This cam runs very well, even on my outdated Mac. The highest resolution stutters a bit, but that's because, like I said, my Mac is five years old.
In a pinch I've used the Quickcam on my PC (running XP) with Skype and it worked just fine there, too.
Absolutely love the autofocus and overall clarity of the image! The RightLight feature is very helpful when recording in dim light, too.
The only thing I don't like about the camera is the "universal clip". It's quite versatile, but not as steady as I'd like when fixed to the top of my laptop's screen. I think I'd prefer a more "traditional" clip.
I'm extremely satisfied with this camera and I think I got more than my money's worth.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
djspencechicago
from Chicago

Doesn't work with Snow Leopard

Date:July 30, 2010
This camera worked great with my Mac OS 10.4.11 but I recently upgraded to Snow Leopard....now the camera is worthless. Snow Leopard detects it but won't give me an image from the camera.
+22points
27out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 10 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jcs88
from United Kingdom
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Not really mac compatible

Date:July 30, 2010
I just got the Quickcam vision pro.
- It is not picked up in imovie. Seriously? The video app that everyone uses on a mac is not supported?
- I can pick it up in photobooth, but the video quality is greatly diminshed.
- I can get a picture in Quicktime X, but the RightLight/auto focus does not work in this, so I get a dark, blurry picture. When I go to File->New movie recording, I get a picture, and can record a video. Once this has been recorded, the resulting video has lost masses of quality from the preview. Seems things are being recorded at 240 and being upsampled?!
- RightLight does not work in Skype, either
- Framerate in many cam is around 2/3 fps
- Using SL, I don't have quicktime pro anymore. As such, I cannot adjust, anywhere, to record in widescreen.
As such, if you're only going to use skype or ichat, then I'm sure this is a great camera with a great picture quality. Just don't ever want to record any video onto your computer.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JayC
from San Francisco, CA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

The Best Choice in Mac Webcams

Date:July 3, 2010
Although I don't give it a full 5-star rating, this is a great camera. It's many times as sharp as my old iSight, and has a far greater dynamic range (handles bright and dark at the same time). Works VERY well in low light. The autofocus is great and picture is very sharp, though I don't think it's fully HD. Yes, I would buy it again!
Only bad experience is it frequently crashes if used with iGlasses utility, but this is not Logitech's fault.
Needs improvement: the stand/clamp is clumsy...give me a screw-mount option. Also, how about some Mac software to equal what you offer for PC's and replace iGlasses?
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Panowilly
from Germany
Expertise: Proficient User

Plug and Play on Snow Leopard

Date:May 12, 2010
my old iSight died and I bought this logitech Vision Pro as a replacement. It exceeded all my expectations. I dont know why some here had problems on Snow Leopard. Here it worked right away after plugging in. Tested on Skype and ichat without any problem.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jay
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Too bad...

Date:April 21, 2010
Does not work with 10.6 Snow Leopard. I had to resort to a 4rd party Macam and/or IOXperts driver to 'kinda' get it to work. The price is ridiculous, with a proper mac driver (actual controls) and better hardware i could understand but not for this.... DO NOT buy if you use Snow Leopard!
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bbwi

Freezes in Snow Leopard

Date:March 6, 2010
Camera worked fine in Leopard but freezes and is unusable in Snow Leopard
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 15 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Paul
from the Silicon Valley, CA
Expertise: Proficient User

Great camera for the average Skype or iChat user.

Date:February 23, 2010
This is a very good 2-mehgapixel camera with 720P HD video for the average Skype or iChat user who doe's not need auto zoom-pan-tilt capabilities. I use it with a MacBook Pro -Tiger version 10.4.11 by itself, or with a 10'- 3.0m USB extension cable, bluetooth keyboard and mouse, 46" flat screen HDTV as my monitor and a surround sound system when at home. The optics are a great enhancement when compared with the built-in Apple iSight camera and its reasonably rugged. It offers true USB plug and play capabilities! You will need to make a few adjustments in your computer such as selecting the camera and microphone you wish to use. The auto focus works great from 6"-15cm close up and farther in various reasonable lighting conditions. The built-in microphone works well indoors even with my surround sound system but make sure you adjust the input properly in your computer's preferences under sound. Mounting capability is okay for positioning it on top of a laptop, flat screen monitor, most HDTVs or a 3"-8 cm flat surface in a still wind environment.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rodney
from Jamaica, NY
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Webcam

Date:December 23, 2009
I have Snow Leopard and this works fine on my MacBook Pro Unibody. I did a comparison using Photobooth and the Logitech edges out the built-in iSight cam
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tjl

Best Image Quality on Skype and QuickTime Pro 7

Date:November 28, 2009
Since the arrival of our granddaughter we Skype with them every week. I was not happy with the image quality of my Macbook Pro's iSight camera.
I tried a number of so called High End web cams, but none came anywhere near the quality of the Logitech® QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®.
There is more to image quality than just mega pixels. For example its low light performance is outstanding as is the autofocus.
With all the free or inexpensive video software out there the lack of a bundled package is not a limitation.
And it is truly Plug and Play. Every software product I have tried finds the camera without a problem. Its extra long cord makes camera placement a snap.
A super product.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jones

Does Not Work with Snow Leopard

Date:November 21, 2009
If you have Snow Leopard, don't purchase this product until Logitech makes it compatible with Snow Leopard.
+31points
36out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 19 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
folio73

Do not to buy this version for your Mac

Date:September 11, 2009
This is a very good clear picture camera BUT, it has no controls no software it has No zoom, No color balance, nothing¡ You can buy the Windows version Model 9000 for about $25 dollars less and it works fine on a Mac. So do not buy this version buy the cheaper windows version.
+53points
58out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 20 for QuickCam® Vision Pro for Mac®
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarkS
from Greece
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best mac camera by far

Date:September 9, 2009
Sharp, detailed images, fast accurate autofocus, live , slightly over-saturated colours, generally on par with good point and shoot cameras. Gets white balance right in majority of cases.
The most intelligent, elegant, and hefty mounting system i have ever seen.
And cheaper, where I live, than the Webcam Pro 9000? I have never written a review, nor been exited about a product before... excellent job guys!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>