Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Mice + Keyboards or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech G13 Advanced Gameboard

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech G13 Advanced Gameboard

You can dig in, take command, and stay informed with game-changing comfort and control. Or an LCD gameboard that gives you game-changing comfort and control&em;wherever you go.
Average Customer Rating:
4.287 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 94 reviews
5 stars
55
4 stars
22
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
3
81 out of 94(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Review 61 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AbortRetryFail

The analog thumb-stick is a big win.

Date:February 14, 2011
I bought my G13 for playing Vendetta Online, and it's the perfect left-hand controller for the job. Controlling 3-axis strafe in a space sim with the keyboard became a hand-cramping nightmare so i bought this.
The G13 fixes that and then some. Instead of just w,a,s,d for movement, I've now got fine analog control that frees up keyboard keys to be bound to other things. It works as plain keys too, but why do that with a game that supports multiple joysticks? There's more than enough keys to assign to all sorts of targetting and commands and scripts can be written to auto-switch M-key sets so you don't have to duplicate anything to stay in control. The adjustable RGB backlight means you're not stuck with some distracting bright blue keyboard in the corner of your eye and, for bonus points, all the nifty G15 applications for the LCD seem to work ok on this as well.
On the bad side, the M1-3/MR keys can be a bit hard to reach from a comfortable position, but that might be intentional. This device could have been ambidextrous if they made the joystick a removable piece that can switch sides, but it's not.
Logitech's Lua implementation is pretty anemic too, which makes writing ad-hoc application support in Lua mostly impossible. You're pretty much limited to making fancy key macros and doing things like clicking mouse buttons with it. That could be fixed in future versions of the software, but i doubt it as most people probably will never care.
All in all, still an excellent product! Even works in Linux with some 3rd party software!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 62 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seewolf of Muradin
from Washington State
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Improved my responce times!

Date:January 25, 2011
I play a hunter class on World of Warcraft, and I used to cast my shots by mouse only, hardly ever used the keyboard for abilities.
Well, let me tell you, after I bought this Gameboard, my reaction times have doubled, my DPS has realy improved. Now I don't have to take the time to move the mouse to my abilities on my hotbar, all I have to do is just press a key on the gameboard, and then instantly I can press a key for another shot.
This gamepad has a verry strong construction, as do all Logitech products, as I look down on my desk here, I see that all of my devices here are logitech, the G15 Keyboard, G13 Gameboard, Logitech Joystick (that I've had for many years), and a logitech mouse. If your looking for a device to enhance your gaming experience you have to pick Logitech, don't waste your money on another companies product, stick with Logitech.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 63 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jack
from Asheville nc
Expertise: Proficient User

Do it , you wont regret it

Date:October 6, 2010
I wanted a keyboard that I could use for gaming I discovered the N52TE and was going to buy it. Until I did lots of research into the ease of use and issues specific to the G13 . It is very easy to setup and program. you can program on the fly in game. Macros are easy to use and setup. Good sturdy construction. I play mainly FPS and rpgs. great for increased control in any game. very happy with it
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 64 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eugene
from Kiev, Ukraine
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Game Keypad? You should be joking!

Date:September 27, 2010
The following refers to me, but you might find it useful too.
I am enthusiastic MMORPG gamer and once I had discovered that metallic base of my laptop`s keyboard is slightly deformed in certain area, actually under "WASD" and surrounding keys. I had discovered that my 17" laptop keyboard will cost me even MORE than G13, also I need something with footprint as small as possible - my desk is very limited. G13 made perfect match - small but still functional and ergonomic.
Both the keypad and the profiler required some exploration that actually takes some time to tune it up for best performance according to your game but basic "builds" are downloaded as soon as item is connected to PC.
Profiler allows to bind functions to keys for any executable file in your PC - very useful or non-gaming apps that does not need much of keyboard (e.g. iTunes, GIMP - it made my day I still have enough space for graphic tablet on my tiny desk).
3 layouts per profile - 89 keys in general, that's even enough for text editing for someone with shifty hands.
You say this is just for games, you should be joking.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 65 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rohan
from Dhaka, Bangladesh
Expertise: Proficient User

When Expectation is More.........

Date:August 30, 2010
Some Play games and some live for it....... Talking about the hardcore gamers, this advance gameboard will give you just everything you need in any games. 25 G keys with a joystick which are absolutely macromable......... this is just more than expectation man.............. Go for it.........
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 66 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MMORPG Gamer
from Denmark
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best for mmorpg's

Date:August 29, 2010
The G13 is the most underrated gaming controller available.
In mmorpg gaming it gives huge advantages over the average keyboard, not even the G11/g15/G19 can give you the control the G13 adds.
Installation and profiling is as easy as any other G series product.
Quality is top, cant say much against it, plus that the weight of this controller makes it stand rock solid on the table.
Many other gaming controllers tend to slip and be all over the desk.
Handling your character with the mini joystick is much smoother and faster than with regular WASD, this is with the mouse used on top in both situations.
A great thing could be to have separate back-lighting for each key.
So for mmorpg's I would give this 9.9 out of 10
For FPS games the average keyboard is better though.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 67 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wcg12

Best game pad out there

Date:July 29, 2010
Been using this for about 8 months now and will not go back to keyboard/mouse for my gaming. I tried another game pad but it was limited in number of keys and flexibility.
This thing ROCKS, easy install, easy set up, easy customization and incredibly flexible. Syncing the game pad's key bindings to your game bindings is a breeze. I use a lot of key bindings and having enough keys so that I can easily access them from a set Shift/Alt/Ctrl key set in a single stroke is essential. This thing gives me everything I need and still has room to grow if I need it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
squible
from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Was skeptical, but its amazing

Date:June 13, 2010
After getting tired of using my terrible keyboard that came with my desktop, I decided to get a gaming keyboard. The main thing I wanted was comfort, and secondly I wanted good response time. I decided to get the g13 because it looked very comfortable.
Well the g13 is really comfortable. The shape and palm rest are great. At first I thought the lack of a number row would be annoying, but I realized that would be very difficult to reach while using the wrist rest. Getting used to the new button layout took a bit of time, but its great once you get used to it. I love the customizable back light, its so cool. The screen is nice too, but I don't find myself using it very often.
This is the best gaming keyboard I have ever used. Get it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 69 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
towel_boi
from Illinois
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Practice makes perfect

Date:June 7, 2010
Take some time to get used to the device and you won't want to go back to using a standard keyboard. After using this for 3-4 weeks the strain in my left wrist from gaming has pretty much disappeared. The ergonomic design is great on the wrist, and using the joystick for character movement instead of wasd keys significantly reduces strain on the index, middle, and ring finger. For gamepad / joystick enabled games it allows you to walk/run fluidly instead of at fixed rates.
Switching gaming profiles is a breeze with the G-Profile selector - I've programmed in about 10 so far with minimal effort. It also automatically detects which games are running and switches to the correct profile by itself (check the profile settings).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
solil
from portland, me
Expertise: Tech Savvy

I will not play without it.

Date:May 25, 2010
For me, this controller is now a necessity for mmorpg's (wow, ddo online, others). It's a powerful advantage for PvP, no doubt (fluidity of movement, ease of access to functions). Take time, it requires effort to maximize, but when you do, you will feel bad for people playing without one. For me, it is a requirement. It's painful/impossible to do what i can do with this and a g9x with a regular keyboard/mouse. I had many doubts and kept putting off buying one, thinking it looked weird, it wont work right, its too confusing blah blah...I can not say enough about the level it takes my game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
xTorturEx

Perfect (almost)

Date:April 21, 2010
Very comfortable,sturdy construction and plenty of buttons. Macros, scripts, and nearly all the buttons are programmable. I use it for all my games and even some apps. My only complaint is the thumb-stick. It's a little small for my liking and it takes allot of pressure to push it down.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 72 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GHOST
from Minnesota
Expertise: Proficient User

Worth it for one reason over all others

Date:February 15, 2010
If for no other reason, it reduces left hand/wrist fatigue while gaming for long periods. I used to get pain from holding my left hand above the wsda keys (first person shooters mostly). I have had no soreness in my wrist/hand since. Plus, you can angle it to further reduce any carpal tunnel issues. Nice!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 73 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Si Unit
from Liverpool
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Comfortable, functional, geek bling!

Date:January 27, 2010
Great keyboard, considered getting the Belkin but bought this when I saw the LCD screen. Screen is awesome, works great with Fraps and Everest. Check out SirReal it consolidates Cpu, memory and network use onto one page!
Joystick works awesome when assigned to WASD. It frees up all the keys to be used for other functions. Although it did take me about a week to stop pressing the G4 key to move forward! Auto profile switching works fine and when combined with a profile switching gaming mouse its the ultimate in custom geek configurations.
Great product, comfortable and functional and increased my ZPH [zombies killed per hour] :D Thanks Logitech!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 74 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Calcanuck
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Perfect - with Practice

Date:January 1, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
The more I use the G13, the better I get at exploiting the keyboard layout. For starters, practice sweeping your thumb to the left to press the G20, G21, and G22 buttons. That works very comfortably. The thumb is also used for the two buttons next to the joystick, which I usually reprogram as SPACE and ESC. In response to the reviewer who felt this gameboard was inflexibly mated to WASD: I have always preferred a DXSF style, with my fingers in a straight line, and the middle finger going back to X for backwards movement. This is easy to reprogram, too. My only criticism is that, unlike the Nostromo, I haven't figured out how to put labels on the keys - when you assign a text to each key, you erase the single key presses. Finally, if you want a printout of each game's key assignments, simply obtain a screen capture utility such as SnagIt, and take a JPG picture of each setup. Overall, a superb product if you take time to learn its features!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 75 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neotropic
from Tucson, AZ
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Device if looking to improve

Date:November 30, 2009
I have to admit, at first I was worried I would not like this or adjust to it. After playing with it, the configurations ect... I went to play. Took a bit. But eventually got the hang of it. it is just like anything new. You have to be willing to learn. As one person mentioned above about play styles. In this case... it is ALL about memory. Now that your keys are not in their normal locations (1 2 3 4 Shift+1 Shift+2 ect..) you have to get used to the new positions. Give it time, you will get it.
I play WoW and only PvP. This thing... has improved me 10 fold. At first I did not like the joystick. Always disliked joysticks for comp games. And instead of WASD I used Arrows. But this... surprised me. The jumping flipping 180's 360's giving more dodges ect.. is great! Just because it is easier to 'hit' the buttons now.
Overall, I highly recommend this device. yes, looks gawdy at first. But man!
I also love the info shown on the LCD when in Battle Grounds!
Kills (Killing Blows)
Deaths
HK's
Time in BG
Number of players for both factions.
I also like how you can set up different profiles. So you can set up profiles for each character. Or for a few.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 76 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kn1
from Palm Coast, FL
Expertise: Tech Savvy

You can print your configuration

Date:August 21, 2009
First off, the G13 is awesome. I'm not a gamer; I'm a database developer and I use it for all of my functions and macros. It has really sped things up and reduced my headaches from constantly having to look below my glasses to make sure I'm hitting Ctrl-C instead of Ctrl-V, or vice-versa.
My only problem is trying to set it up on multiple computers. You can hook it up to a second computer, install the software and choose your configuration and it will display correctly in the Key Profiler and even 'work' correctly when you use 'Test profile', but when you try to use it, it doesn't actually work. It's not until you choose 'Enable Persistent Profile' (Key Profiler/Settings/Profiler.../Profile) that it works (took me quite a bit of time to figure that one out).
Also, in response to DJ Hamel's review. You are able to print your configurations through the Key Profiler/Settings/Print... Menu. It creates an html table of your settings for all three modes of the current configuration that you can print using your web browser. But easier than that is just keeping the key profiler open and clicking on it when you're not sure of your settings. Then you've got the graphic representation and it displays for each mode. I always had mine up when I was trying to learn my settings.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 77 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DJ Hamel

I Love It!!!

Date:August 12, 2009
Look Across my Desktop, and you'll see nothing but Logitech Gaming...
G13, G15, and the G9 Laser Mouse...
I don't really understand what some people are complaining about with the Joystick, but I will agree, the "Clicking" of it is tough... My only beef, is remembering what you programmed where. If Logitech offers an update to the Software, I would LOVE to be able to Print out the Layout that I have Programmed... Keep that in mind if you guys working behind the programming stations ever read this.. If there is a way, I don't know how to do it.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 78 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Warg60
from London UK
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Excellent Gamepad

Date:July 28, 2009
Need lots of buttons? then this is definately your boy.
For MMOs (I play War) then this is definately a must. The only two slight drawbacks is that the mini joystick is on the wrong side if you use this righthandly. Also it took me a few hours before I realised that you need to run this programme "as administrator" under vista to get it work with games.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 79 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW lover

Awesome!

Date:July 28, 2009
I'm a world of Warcraft Player and this is my humble review.
It's a great pad, it's easy on the wrist, you can program your buttons if you don't like the original configuration.
There's one thing I didn't like...the joystick's click button, kinda hard to use.
I would like to see a customizable option to change Stats and Defense items for the character information on the LCD, other than, it can't be made any better.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 80 for G13 Advanced Gameboard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Iacobus
from Massachusetts
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Extremely Nice

Date:July 26, 2009
Pros: Nice array of features for programming macros. Ergonomically feels great. Software is absolutely excellent. Love using the LCD for Ventrilo.
Cons: Southpaws (or those with smaller hands) might have trouble using the mini stick for movement. "Finger memory" will take a beating if you're used to a keyboard. Kind of wish there was a nub on one of the indented keys to give more tactile feedback. No "shift state" per se.
I can't speak for FPS games but this device is excellent for MMOs such as World of Warcraft. Has more than enough buttons for all your needs.
The only caveat is the "finger memory" issue. Prepare yourself to reteach your hand to press buttons.
I was tempted to go back to my keyboard because of this issue but stick it through and I guarantee you won't want to go back.
Though there isn't any "shift state" type of feature (though you can easily switch between sets of macros using the M keys), you can easily program any of the G keys to mirror Shift, Ctrl or Alt.
As a side note, those into multimedia, image editing or CAD might want to look into this device as you could easily program your favorite shortcuts to use with your applications.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
<<Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next>>