Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Wheels or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech G27 Racing Wheel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech G27 Racing Wheel

Dual-motor force feedback makes you feel closer than ever to the world's greatest circuits.
Average Customer Rating:
4.435 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 46 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
40 out of 46(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for G27 Racing Wheel
Review 1 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arcticspyder
from Anchorage, Alaska!
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Grat purchase! Changed racing as I know it!

Date:January 20, 2013
What a fantastic steering wheel. I have been playing at racing games for a while now and no matter what wheel I used (I have tried many) racing was always difficult and simply not that fun. After reading reviews and feedback and then doing hours of research I chose the G27 as me new wheel. I am so glad that I did.
This wheel and pedal set is amazing, the precise controls allow for great cornering, the smoothness of the pedals makes braking fun and exciting. Now when I take a hairpin corner I know that the car is going to do what I want, when I want it to and how I want it to. This wheel has literally made me a better racer! LOVE IT!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thiel_20
from Wisconsin, WI
Expertise: Newbie

Logitech 27

Date:December 3, 2012
i got this steering wheel last week and is sweet i got it for my ps3 grand turismo 5 is pretty beast and test drive is too but the only thing i don't like about it is that some games it doesn't use the whole 900 degree turn only dirt 2 and grand turismo but they are fun to play on i had no problems with it yet and the force feedback is nice the steering wheel feels amazing and it is like u are actually driving a real car.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pete0145
from NJ
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Two Malfunctions in a row

Date:November 16, 2012
I bought this wheel in January of 2011. It worked great for 2-3 months and then it began to have centering issues and would not calibrate correctly so I began the RMA process and had the wheel RMA'ed. The replacement I was sent was disgusting. The package looked like it had been thrown off a building and the replacement wheel was dirty. I had bought a BRAND NEW wheel a few months ago and now I was getting a dirty used replacement wheel.
So I used this replacement wheel for a good month and then I stopped playing racing games for a while so I could focus on other things. Fast forward to September of 2012 and I began playing racing games again. It took less than 2 weeks before the replacement wheel began having centering issues. At this point I was furious. This is the second time this has happened and I'm not on warranty anymore. This is not the level of quality I except from logitech products. I will no longer be giving my money to logitech and I will be sure to post this review on other website that sell this wheel so others hear about how terrible the quality of this product is.
I sincerely hope logitech cleans up their act and decides to use higher quality parts in their products. I have looked online for the issue with my wheel and it turns out this is a very common problem. There seem to be 2 major causes. One is that there is a screw that is not tightened enough and the other is that one of the major components of the wheel that is used for calibration is made out of plastic and develops hairline cracks.
I am very disappointed with this product and I really expected better from Logitech.
+26points
40out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 4 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
akimcrew96

Superb wheel for PC

Date:October 2, 2012
I recommend to others at outside there to buy this ... Really-really good thing .. :)
0points
10out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NitroStar
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Wheel & Pedal Set

Date:July 20, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had my G27 for a couple years now and I race on the PC frequently. It still feels like the first day I bought it. It works great in any game I run with it (and I have a lot of racing titles). The pedal pressures feel great and aid in making precise throttle, brake, and clutch adjustments. The force feedback is great and with the Logitech Profiler software, I am able to adjust the wheel rotation and tension for any game before I start it. This is VERY useful for racing games that don't have enough "in game" adjustments for the controllers. I have been very pleased with my purchase of the G27 Wheel and Pedal set for a very long time now. I would highly recommend the G27 to anyone who wants a great feeling wheel that is compatible with a computer or Playstation 3 console.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SealedGecko
from Yucca Valley, CA
Expertise: Newbie

Fun to use.

Date:February 22, 2012
Pros: Feels realistic, Looks nice.
Cons: Only three and they are not too bad. Takes a little bit of work to set it up and then if your like me you have to take it apart when your done so it's not in the way. Takes a little too much force to turn it, on a light table it's almost throwing my monitor of at 200 degree spin, at 900 degree good bye monitor, turning off force feedback works well for 900 degree though. Most of the exterior is plastic, in the pictures it looks more like metal, but that's not horrible.
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KEY1701

So far The best wheel out there!

Date:February 22, 2012
I had the G27 for 3 weeks so far. I must say--I'm very impressed by it. The wheel is well designed, not too large not too small. Paddle shifters are excellent--so is the H-Pattern shifter as well. I also bought the accelerator, brake and clutch unit. I've seen other here complain about the design or whatever. I'm sorry, I don't what you're talking about. They're well built with skid proof bottom. I also bought the Wheel Stand Pro rig for the G27. The WSP is a wonderfully built steel and rubber rig, it folds away nice and neat (and WSP customer service is the best). Although I have a large apt, it's nice that it sets up real fast; and it fits so well with the G27. All in all Logitech put together a really good sim racing wheel system.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kingston
from Miramichi, NB
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Amazing Performance

Date:December 26, 2011
This wheel is an incredible piece of equipment, great for anyone who is into sim racing or just likes to race casually on titles such as Need for Speed. It's dual force feedback motors really put out a lot of power, you can feel every bump in the surface of the track. It's pedals are a bit of a downfall. Nowadays we have pedal sets like the CSR Elite made by Clubsport/Fanatec that are top of the line for the price. 200 dollars for just pedals is a bit steep but they are fully customisable, you can even take the pedals out of the plate and mount them elsewhere. With the Logitech G27 stock pedals you have very limited customisation but still for the price, its great. The shifter is the most durable shifter and best looking "H-pattern" shifter I've seen. Great buy for the price.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
matthecreator

g27

Date:December 8, 2011
nothing more annoying than a product that doesnt do what its supposed to!!! after playing gt5 for a few minutes, wheel starts to offset until almost 90 degrees to the left and theres no way to recalibrate other than to turn off the system and let boot back up. Obviously not a solution due to the fact that you would have to do this about every 5 minutes!!!! I checked forums and found that this has been issue since day one...one year later and logitech still hasnt solved the problem. Everything else is great about this wheel. Nice setup, just doesnt function properly. Advice...dont buy it!! Sending mine back
+18points
30out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 10 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
garyred71
Expertise: Proficient User

Great wheel tops for the money

Date:November 26, 2011
I have been racing with my G-27 for about 4mo. now and upgraded from the MOMO & found myself about a tenth quicker on every track. I race IRACING the most competitive sim racing in the world. I have already found victory lane a number of times and feel more control with my G-27. It took me a bit to get the calibration settings that worked well for me but after I got them set with a little track time I was really happy with my purchase. I have had no issues with my G-27 and have already over 10,000 laps logged. The 6 buttons on the wheel really help and the paddle shifters are awesome. The stick has 8 additional buttons that will surely come in to use. If you want the best wheel for the $$$ this is it. I have had up grade peddles CST but have not hooked them up still running the stock G-27 and they are fine. How ever the CST will be setup in my Obutto cockpit soon.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oakvillien

Best Racing wheel I ever

Date:September 17, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I got this wheel yesterday and let me tell you something, yest it is expensive but it is worth. I have owned many Thrustmaster and Logitech wheel and the g27 is the best by far. The force feedback is very precise and really makes you feel in the game. This wheel is a big improvement over the driving force gt and the g25 (very silent compared to others). I was surprised that the LED's work with most games (gt5, NFS Shift, Dirt 2&3, etc...). I would recommend this wheel to everyone except if you own a g25 since it is not worth paying for an almost identical wheel.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Driftzy

Best Buy

Date:September 6, 2011
Title says it all. I've owned this wheel for several months and I am loving every single day of using it. Buttons are in good spots, love how I can use the clutch on GT5. Just wish it was fully compatible with GT5. Also wish there was a software for it to use it on my Xbox.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Redragon20

Great racing wheel but.......

Date:August 9, 2011
I bought this steering wheel for the excellent gamplay which is what it did but then one day I was tightening the left clamp on the wheel itself and it just snapped off so I called up logitech and they replaced the entire thing then I received my second wheel but after about a month or so it did it again and I wasn't even tightening it that much I hope logitech improves the clamps to be more solid or something maybe metal clamps that way the won't snap.
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jag327
from MD
Expertise: Proficient User

G27 Racing Wheel

Date:June 5, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My 1st g27 wheel out in March set back to logitech. They did not have 1 in stock to send back to me so I have to wait until May 23. So my wheel come in around the 27th of May man how I miss this wheel Logitech did real good by me and very easy to talk with on the phone. This is the best wheel I ever had and I play GT5 game for hours. When I come from work get something to eat and pull out the G27 wheel and go racing. Thanks Logitech
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
xxsns

Great Wheel.

Date:April 11, 2011
I use this wheel for iRacing and its an absolute waste of money if you use it for GT5, NFS or any other game than iRacing.
Back to the wheel:
Very firm feeling, great force feedback, authentical shifting/steering/use of pedals.
all in all a great piece.
-28points
12out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 16 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NOS_Waster
from Palmer, AK
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Wheel. It's moddable, too!

Date:January 27, 2011
Quality: The Shifter clamps aren't very easy to use, and the Leather on the wheel rim, while good quality, isn't one of the best materials to use to cover the wheel rim. Alcantara would have been nicer.
Features: The bolt pattern for the wheel just BEGS for it to be hot-swapped with many other wheels. Examples of the wheels are Custom F1 and GT-Style Plexiglass wheels, Chilicoke wheels, and many other adaptable wheels. The hard-mounting points on them are quite awesome and will help me out when I can get an obutto oZone.
Performance: This thing can handle heat. After hours of racing, this thing can get hot, but just doesn't buckle at all. This wheel was built to last. I absolutely love my G27.
Ease of Use: Download Logitech Profiler, Plug wheel in. DONE! Using PS3? Plug it in! How easy could it be?
Ergonomics: It does have adequate grips to cater to people using the 9-3 and 10-2 positions for hands. The buttons are in the perfect place for both hand positions.
Overall Rating:
It's a great wheel. I'd definitely recommend it to friends, but there are improvements that could be made. Overall, a great wheel from Logitech. Bravo!
Other thoughts:
I am going to be buying a plexiglass Williams Formula One style wheel. It will include 12 buttons, 2 rotary encoders, 4 rotary switches, and Shift Light Indicators. It will directly replace the stock wheel on the G27.
This wheel will be mounted into an Obutto oZone where I will custom-drill the holes to hard-mount the modified G27 to it.
I will also be having a triple monitor setup to go hardcore sim racer with this wheel.
If you are on the fence about buying this wheel, if you dig around and look at all of the modifications you can perform to this wheel, it should make up your mind for you.
Note:
Plexiglass wheel I am getting: $626
Obutto w/ triple monitor mount: $600
3 monitors: $600
New GPU to support triple monitors: $400 (AMD 6970)
Modifications and gear to go hardcore is only recommended for the people who can easily find the funds.
+4points
19out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 17 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike

Great Wheel

Date:January 10, 2011
I've used the g25 and the g27 and i like the g27s steering much better, though i do miss the ability to change the shifter like on the g25 but the padels make up for it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wang
from Athens, OH
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best gift!!

Date:January 10, 2011
It is a perfect wheel for the New GT5 game on PS3. I also used it to play need for speed on PC. A Wonderful gift from X'mas love it!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Racer 48
Expertise: Proficient User

Great Wheel

Date:December 28, 2010
I got this wheel about a week ago (along with a Playseat Evolution) and I haven't put it down yet. The wheel feels very realistic and is of high quality.
The wheel itself is wrapped in leather ( a nice touch) and has many buttons that are very useful when racing on a pc. I use this wheel mainly on a ps3, and though it has more buttons than necissary for that system, they are still nice to have. I give the wheel a 10/10
The shifter feels very realistic, but can get confusing when you need to downshift rapidly. For quick downshifting, I usually use the paddle shifters on the wheel. The shifter also has many buttons, which include the x,square, circle, and triangle buttons for the ps3, along with a d-pad. Due to the fact that it is easy to miss a gear when upshifting, I have to give the shifter a 9.5/10. Still a great feature that makes this wheel great.
I really liked the pedals that came with the set. Each pedal has a different resistence, and feels just like a real car. They can be moved apart, and need to be if you are using a playseat. the steering column gets in the way of the brake unless you move it over. A quick fix, 10/10 for the pedals.
The price is great for the quality of the wheel. Price, 10/10.
I do reccomend buying a playseat or some other type of sim cockpit as this needs to be mounted to something sturdy. If you get really into your sim racing (as I do) a coffee table will just not cut it. A cockpit is a must.
Overall, This wheel is a great value. If you buy one, you won't regret it.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for G27 Racing Wheel
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DetroitJake
from Detroit MI
Expertise: Tech Savvy

G27 for PS3 Gran Turismo 5

Date:November 25, 2010
Last night I played GT5 for PS3 with a G27.
As those of you that are reading this know, there are many wheels with full GT5 support, but you can NOT select a G27 wheel in the controller settings for GT5 right now.
And so far it seems I can NOT configure the buttons on the G27.
(I tried to change the buttons on other wheels, etc, but seems no affect to the operation of the G27)
HOWEVER, the G27 DOES work OK with GT5 for most things.
This is what I have observed so far:
PADDLE SHIFTERS
L2 / R2 Paddle shifters are correctly assigned and function as paddle shifters.
RED BUTTONS ON THE WHEEL
The top red button on the left side of the wheel seems to function as L1 and gives rear view during racing.
The other red buttons on the wheel don't seem to do anything.
RED BUTTONS ON THE SHIFTER
On the shifter, the middle left red button functions as SELECT which allows in game view changes.
The middle right red button on the shifter functions as START which allows you to pause the game, etc.
The other red buttons on the shifter don't seem to do anything.
BLACK BUTTONS ON THE SHIFTER
The X , Circle, Triangle, Square button seemed to be configured as the four black buttons on the shifter in the same pattern as a PS3 controller.
During racing, the Circle functions as E Break.
During racing, the Triangle functions as Reverse.
The X & Square don't seem to do anything else in race.
During menus, the X functions as enter.
During menus, the circle functions as back.
D PAD ON THE SHIFTER
The D Pad also works correctly for menus.
D-Right works as view right during racing.
D-Left functions as view left during racing.
D-Up seems no function during racing.
D-Down functions as view back during racing.
WHEEL
The wheel works correctly.
Force feedback works correctly.
The RPM LED's do light up and correspond to engine RPM.
PEDALS
The accelerator works correctly.
The brake works correctly.
And yes, the clutch works correctly.
SHIFTER
The shifter also works correctly.
One point of note: When shifting to reverse, if it feels like reverse doesn't work, don't confuse your self (I was confused). It does work!
If you let the clutch out before you give the engine some fuel, you'll stall the motor and the car won't move (Just like a lot of real cars eh?!)
So don't forget to give a little accel pedal before letting the clutch out if you want to go in reverse.
REQUEST TO LOGITECH
On the Logitech website, the G27 does list that it can be used with GT5, which is true but only partially.
However, please try to work with Polyphony Digital to get full support of the G27 for GT5.
I already have a Driving Force GT too, but I was really excited about the clutch, shifter and build quality of the G27.
I bought both of these wheels for GT5 (the Driving Force GT was for GT prologue). I'm sure we all would appreciate full support for the for the more capable G27. And hey, it cost more! Wouldn't you rather sell a G27 than a GT? But knowing that the GT has full support for GT5, a lot of customers will shy away from the G27.
Thanks guys!
-PS3 Racing Fan
+150points
151out of 152found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>