Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Mice or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Corded Mouse M500

Logitech Corded Mouse M500

The quick, comfortable mouse that helps you get more done
Average Customer Rating:
3.45 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 60 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
15
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
10
34 out of 60(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Corded Mouse M500
Review 1 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EJS
from Austin TX
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Love it

Date:March 7, 2014
I'm a former computer engineering manager and love this mouse. Worked perfectly out of the box. Great fit. Good value for the money. I would buy it again and recommend it to friend/family. EJS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
frigginawesomeimontv
from Sydney, Australia
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Brilliant

Date:February 12, 2014
I don't know what all the bad reviews are on about.
These mice are brilliant. I love them so much that I recommended them to all of my colleagues and boss, and now we're all using M500s.
I work at an industrial design consultancy, so we're all modelling, retouching etc., we aren't just part time PC users who browse or use spreadsheets. I also have an M500 at home, so I'm basically using the same mouse for about 15 hours a day. They withstand abuse, are accurate and my hand does not get tired or sore.
Wired mice are hard to come by these days, let alone good wired mice. If I even get a whiff that they'll go out of production I'm going to get a dozen of them.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LinuxPackager
from Europe
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Super Ergonomic

Date:February 11, 2014
I owned two of this and I can say that is the only mouse I can use for more than two hours (many times 8 or more).
Ergonomics is fantastic, but the wheel suck (too light, and after some time tends to act the switch).
I had an MX400 which lasted 5 years, and had no issue at all. Note that the MX400 has the same exact shape of this.
I hope Logitech will make a new version with the same exact shape, but sturdy as the MX400, and with USB interface, cause wireless is not good at all. Another great thing will be to have a simple (command line) Unix package to change the DPI and reprogram the side keys.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
prop
from israel
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

scrolling is not fun anymore...

Date:February 9, 2014
I have mac, purchased this mouse about a month ago.
good stuff:
- looks good , feels good
- you can customise most of the stuff
bad stuff:
- mouse scrolling has never been worse
- movement of the pointer is weird
at the end of the day , i am disappointed from this mouse, thinking on getting something else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gelo

almost perfect

Date:November 18, 2013
except middle button on whell. It's hard to click it without pressing whell left or right same time. Shame, except this mouse is ok
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JHinCalifornia
from San Diego, CA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Awful Mavericks Support for Mac

Date:November 4, 2013
I used to love this mouse. But sadly that has turned to crushing disappointment. Logitech really dropped the ball with Mac support when Mavericks was released. Control Center is useless, as are all of the customizable features on the mouse. No updates. No new drivers.
Don't buy Logitech if you own a Mac.
+1point
9out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mimi
from UK
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Started off well but..

Date:August 29, 2013
The wheel broke after a week, and has started jumping and spinning around even when not touched, the ratchet has gone as well.I am not a heavy pc user so this is disappointing. I need an ergonomic mouse, corded because of the win 7 issue and wireless mice, and as I have always had Logitec, I chose this, but, no, its going back for a refund and I go back to my old M305 mouse
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RandomDude
from Atlanta, GA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Solid mouse that's held up

Date:August 11, 2013
I've had this mouse for a couple of years. It has worked great and shows no signs of wear. All of the buttons work. Unlike many of the other reviews, I haven't had any problem with the left/right tilt on the scroll wheel. I rarely if ever use that functionality.
I appreciate the ergonomics of this mouse. I have small to medium sized hands, and the mouse fits me perfectly. I use it for everyday computing tasks and for gaming.
The mouse could be a little lighter, but not by too much. The weight is almost perfect, but it is a little too heavy. Overall, I am very satisfied with this mouse, and hopefully, whenever it fails, it will still be in production so I can get another.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dan
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

dont expect to make full use of all the buttons

Date:August 4, 2013
pay attention to the reviews noting the issues with the scroll wheel.
primarily the left/right side clicking function. be prepared to ignore the ability to use these, as they activate at a hairs touch. at the same time the middle click requires a very firm press to activate.
what this means is every time you try to use the middle click, you will be activating one of the side press buttons no matter how precise you try to be.
so in conclusion it is NOT a 7 button mouse, only 5 are usable.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EMB
from WA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Corded Mouse on Windows 7

Date:May 26, 2013
Prefer corded - hate changing batteries . . . given that, a corded is needed, but:
Windows 7 makes mice "jumpy" -- no matter which Logitech corded I plug in, or what settings I have enabled or disabled, the drivers for Windows 7 Pro don't function like they did in XP Pro. For instance, when you try to position the cursor to re-size a window, it is quite difficult to get a cursor on the line -- and just when you think you have it spot on, and you press the left mouse button, the cursor moves out of position.
I used to be able to stop the cursor with the point on a period -- that's what I need for work I do, so I have been VERY frustrated.
A touch screen or trackball just don't (won't) work with intensive graphics and I don't know what to do. BEGGING. FIX IT. The drivers don't do the job like they used to.!
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Degs
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Great features, but scroll wheel quality issues.

Date:May 5, 2013
I have this mouse for about a year now. I bought it for the features; numerous buttons, fast scroll wheel and a comfortable grip.
The good:
While on some websites it is advertised as having 5 buttons (more or less accurate in general), with software installed that could potentially be increased to 7 as the horizontal scroll buttons could be assigned for different tasks.
The scroll wheel is great working with big spreadsheets, long documents or even just when surfing the web.
Ergonomics are experienced different for each person, but I for one enjoy working with this mouse for extended periods of time. Colleagues and friends also seem to prefer it over the 'standard' mouses they are used to working with. Only a friend with small hands found it a little big, at first. I generally use a fingertip/palm grip and it seems designed with a palm grip in mind. I guess it could be used with a claw grip, but I would find that to be uncomfortable. The design is obviously right-handed.
Finally the surface is soft and the sides feel a bit rubbery, though smooth; I find the texture hard to describe. It doesn't get fatty or dirty as any other mouse I've used before and feels comfortable after extended periods of use. I am also far less troubled using it with a sweaty hand as with some other mouses I have used before. Still, cleaning the mouse from time to time is obviously good practice from a hygiene point of view.
The bad:
The scroll wheel is highly unstable and of poor quality. This affects the actual use of the good features described above. While the software can allow for the scroll wheel to act as 3 buttons (tilt left, center click, tilt right) it is so unstable that if the tilt buttons are enabled, it is nearly impossible to use center click without triggering one of the tilt functions. I set the most common tasks to the tilt buttons, which can be used without any problem. However, as such I would say that rather than having 7 buttons, it's more like 6 and a 1/3 as the center click isn't very usable. The effect only gets worse if you enable fast scroll.
Which brings me to the second issue with the scroll wheel. While fast scroll is nice, my scroll wheel seems unbalanced. Perhaps it isn't centered well or weight distribution is not even. The result is that sometimes after using the fast scroll function the scroll wheel rotates a few lines forward or backward when you let go. It doesn't always happen i.e. when all the weight is already at the bottom, but it is very annoying and forces me to lock the scroll wheel immediately after using fast scroll.
Conclusion
If you want a mouse that is comfortable to work for long periods of time and has 5 to 6 buttons, then would recommend this mouse. However, I would not buy this product if you specifically intend to use fast scroll or need 7 buttons reliably.
Additional note: if money is of lesser concern, perhaps try a G500 gaming mouse instead. I have used two of them and they do not suffer the same issues. I find it is also very comfortable to use (although a tad bigger) and provides the same functionality as well as 3 additional buttons.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TygrTat

Great .. for about a year

Date:March 18, 2013
This is my 2nd M500 mouse in 2.5 years. The first one's left click just died just after a year for no reason, it was falling apart, peeling, the wheel was acting up, etc... The 2nd one while it does have much less cosmetic issues, I've noticed the past couple of week the pointer has been very "jumpy". It's gotten progressively worse in the past 20 minutes, and now it's sitting in the garbage waiting to go where it belongs (the dump) because yet again the left click just died. I'm using my Wacom tablet as a mouse right now... not happy.
Shame, because I love the extra features this mouse has, but I refuse to spend another dime on this product for a 3rd time in 3 years.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lindsey

Mouse Wheel Issues

Date:January 4, 2013
In order to have 3dsMAX recognize the middle button (scroll wheel), i had to download logitech's propriety software and assign both the left and right scroll buttons to to function as if they were also the middle button. There's some issue going on with the actual middle button registering. In any case, now it works great!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BillyBobbieSue
Expertise: Tech Savvy

I wish I could love this mouse

Date:November 21, 2012
I have purchased this mouse twice in the past year. The scroll wheel is really nice and I like being able to toggle the super fast scrolling. When it's working, I love this mouse. The problem I've had with both of my purchases is that the left click wears out too quickly. My mouse now double clicks, unclicks while I'm holding it down and sometimes doesn't click at all. I am a pretty active gamer and chose this mouse for ergonomics over anything else and wasn't upset to buy a second one after the first one wore off after several months. Unfortunately, the second one has worn out much faster. I will purchase a higher end gaming mouse.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JohnM
from Texas
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Good mouse if it didn't fail TWICE

Date:September 21, 2012
Logitech was kind enough to send me another mouse of the same model as a replacement, but the replacement died (not response at all in any USB port on any computer) in less than a month. I just got off the phone with Logitech and then are forwarding instructions on how to get a refund (they offered another replacement, but I gracefully declined). I like the design, but apparently the quality is lacking.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hai-Etlik
Expertise: Tech Savvy

A very fine mouse

Date:May 23, 2012
Works perfectly under Linux and Windows without any hassle, configuration, or extra drivers. It feels great, and has a decent selection of buttons.
"Hyperfast scroll" is great. You can switch between the precise, clicky scroll we're used to, and the completely free spinning scroll for long documents.
The one downside is that the glue used for the glide pads doesn't last and they shift and fall, off far too easily. Otherwise the build quality is top notch.
It's hard to get a high end corded mouse that isn't a goofy "Gaming Mouse" any more, and this seems to be the best there is until/unless Logitech decides to make a corded MX.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tony
from Ireland
Expertise: Tech Savvy

An excellent everyday professional mouse

Date:April 25, 2012
I've been using this mouse every day for nearly 3 years, and I'm very happy with it. It fills the hand well, far more comfortable than cheap standard mice, and the buttons are well-positioned. It glides well, but I've had to glue two of the pads back in place. The fast-scroll button is great for long documents, and the forward-back buttons are really handy too (in the few programs that support them). However, the middle-click action is stiff and mushy and takes practice to get it right. I didn't need to install any software; it works perfectly with stock Linux drivers. Using the PS2 adaptor it doesn't work with my KVM switch, unlike native PS2 mice. On balance though, an excellent everyday professional mouse.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shawn
from Ontario, Canada
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Can't get this mouse under control.

Date:April 20, 2012
It feels like I'm trying to move this mouse through mud. It's horrible. I've tried different configurations to even several different mouse pads and surfaces to no avail.
The accuracy is non existent, the pointer just seems to go wherever it wants. I though the Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500 was bad with its scrolling and clicking problems. But that is a lot more tolerable than this. At least the darn thing would move in the direction I moved to go in, and not have to fight with it like this badly designed piece of junk.
The only good points about this mouse are that it doesn't have the clicking and scrolling issues that some other mice have. Unfortunately, that doesn't mean squat when you have to fight with the silly thing to move it in the direction you want it to.
I'm just so frustrated. Forty bucks for a piece of junk. Thanks Logitech. This is the last time I'll buy any of your products.
-8points
6out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Please Read Logitech
from Wisconsin
Expertise: Tech Savvy

SEMI DECENT - IDEAS FOR FUTURE PRODUCTS

Date:April 14, 2012
I love wired mice, you do not have to deal with batteries. That is the reason I went with the M500. I also have the wireless M505 which is a good mouse, but because it is wireless I don't use it anymore.
This mouse is okay, but it can be so much better.
Logitech, PLEASE PLEASE make it a heavier (or weight adjustable) as it feels very cheap and light. The tracking seems to be okay, but compared to my old optical mouse, this one actually seems a little worse. Also please put a rubber scroll wheel versus the "plasticy" one on this mouse. The rubber scroll wheels feel so much better, I cant preach it enough. Another thing I noticed, when I downloaded the driver software for this mouse, the auto-scroll feature disappears. The feature is the main reason I wont be using this mouse as it is very important for me.... I was heart broken when I noticed it was gone.
For those who don't know what the auto scroll feature is, it is the circle icon that appears when you press/click the scroll wheel of the mouse in and the move up an down for the browser to auto scroll for you.
I do like the extra buttons, however. Its is awesome that you can assign tasks to certain buttons such as moving back and fourth in a web browser (although it doesn't always work) and launching mission control on the mac with a single mouse button click.
P.S. This mouse is louder than any of my other mice. The scroll wheel can be adjusted to scroll really faster with a click of a button.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
office and home user
from Zurich, Switzerland
Expertise: Tech Savvy

The best mouse for your office and home

Date:February 23, 2012
Nice plain look. (One of the few without a stupid gimmick.)
Corded. (One of the few where you can rule out rage-inducing spotty wireless. The peace of mind I get from the rock solid performance in day-to-day use is easily worth it.)
Very pleasant to use. Never had a single problem with it. (Unlike many other more expensive mice.)
The only downside is you are limited to using it with your right hand. Not for lefties or the ambidextrous.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>