Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Wi-Fi Music Players or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Squeezebox™ Touch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Squeezebox™ Touch

Discover a world of music.
Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 34 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
29 out of 34(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Squeezebox™ Touch
Review 1 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Max ID

Good, but there's still room for improvement.

Date:August 4, 2012
I own this device for more than a year, and I must say that I rather satisfied with the product. In my setup it is connected via optical cable to ESI Dr. DAC Prime, then to NAD C375BEE amplifier. Sound quality is really good, Touch plays even DVD-audio 24/96 stereo. When I started to use Remote Controller app, my experience with Touch really improved.
Now about some issues. The firmware stability is not good at all. I often experience "Logitech Server stopped due to a problem" message, that requires me to launch the service manually on Touch. Also, if I turn on my WiFi router while listening to music, the sound from Touch just disappears :( I guess its because Squeezebox tries to connect to a network and this causes some problems for some reason. To fix the problem, I have to switch to Internet Radio, for example (that plays flawlessly), than back to USB disk, and all is fixed! So this is definitely a software bug, not a hardware one.
Squeezebox often does not recognize SD cards as well as USB mass storage (it just does not show them in menu). However, when I later open these (not recognized) devices on my computer, I can see that squeezebox actually created some folders on them!
Anyway, my verdict is - good device, but needs thorough polishing.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HiFi
from N.Y.
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Excellent purchase

Date:August 4, 2012
Setup very easy, worked seamlessly with NAS. Found music files instantly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Papi
from Zurich, Switzerland
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great, easy and beautyful!

Date:May 9, 2012
Works like a charme as expected as squeezebox user for many years...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scorpionro

Unexpectedly Good

Date:March 27, 2012
I'm only using the SB Touch to play FLACs from my PC and in that role it does great. I can't really comment on its internal DAC, but with my external DAC I can't really tell much difference between it and a very good quality USB digital interface that I was using before.
The Android and iOS remote applications are great and are a breeze to use.
My only concern is the durability of the soft plastic, that seems to pick scratches quite easily.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
willie69
from Portland, OR
Expertise: Proficient User

Does not work with Pandora

Date:March 9, 2012
Does not work with Pandora, Slacker, and other services. Horrible waste of money.
-16points
4out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nacsiv

Mixed Performance (2 stars + 5 stars) / 2 = ?

Date:February 6, 2012
The product quality is good. The wifi internet radio works very well (5 stars), but playing music from SD card/USB drive really needs to be improved (2 stars).
To play music from a USB drive, you will have to insert the device and start the "squeezebox music server". It takes a while for the server to scan the device and prepare the music ready for playing. However, the squeezebox music server would just go "offline" or stop by itself for no apparent reasons. This happens almost every day or every other day. When it happened, you would have to re-start the server by hand again (and it takes a while). This happens too often and is quite annoying. Does anyone know what is wrong and how to fix this?
Another minor flaw is that when you have music or radio station not in English, you cannot see the non-English information (just some codes that look like boxes) on the screen of squeezebox touch, but you can read it just fine on the squeezebox app (Android or iOS devices).
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Squeeze Lover
from Edmonds, WA
Expertise: Proficient User

Amazing for the price

Date:December 27, 2011
Just hooked it up to our home system and it sync'd with the wireless, the "mysqueezebox" account, and all of our IPod Touches. The software updated automatically and we now can control and listen to just about whatever we want. The App is excellent. Can't believe I didn't buy one of these a year ago.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Audiophiliac
from Los Angeles, CA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Insane value

Date:December 26, 2011
I purchased the Touch based on a review in Stereophile and they couldn't have been more right on.
As the 3 remaining record labels prepare the death of CDs I figured it was probably time to jump on the 24/96 bandwagon. I replaced my Conrad-Johnson preamp, tube DAC and dying (thanks to Philips) CD Transport with the Touch and a Benchmark DAC1 HDR. My Dynaudio speakers and Conrad-Johnson power amp are very happy campers... as am I.
My speaker cables cost far more than the Touch and it looks almost stupid next to a 60lb power amp. I purchased it from Amazon in case it needed to go back but that's not gonna happen.
I have not tried the analog outputs but that's okay; the Benchmark is sucking up the bits just fine.
Anyone looking for a digital source component for any system at any price needs to look at this thing long and hard before spending more. 70'ish CDs all FLAC'd up per 32GB SDHC card mean even those of us willing to clean vinyl and change tubes can sit on our fat butts just like the iCrap generation and listen to actual music... not the cartoon versions.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dogin
from Colorado
Expertise: Proficient User

Did almost everything I wanted

Date:December 10, 2011
Plays fine from WD elements ITB drive with no PC. Only thing wish it would do is play 192Khz (ie have some)but that seems to be a mute point relative to any quality over 96Khz. Very happy with HD playback. Using a NuForce Icon HDP DAC but the sound straight from SB seems very good.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hans
from Dordrecht Netherland
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best product on the market at this moment in time

Date:December 7, 2011
Is this product perfect no it is not. But then one would ask if there is a better alternative ? unless you go to Sonos there is non. So why The squeezebox touch and not a Sonos ?. Simply because Sonos is more expensive and even more important for me it does not support HD audio ( 24bit -88 or 96 Khz sampling). that makes the touch system technically superior. Having said that I noticed that due to incoming jitter from for my nas I could hear a difference in sound quality( same song) between FLAC ( 24b 96KhZ and PCM (24b 96KHz) . With PCM is was better then with Flac. The processing power in the Touch is likely not big enough to do this job right. I converted all my HD Flac music to HD PCM to overcome this problem. With todays harddisk sizes this is not a real issue. If you use the touch with its remote and the touchscreen it is not user friendly. Sonos is doing a better job. However if you use the Ipad and Ipeng then you will have a great product and easy to use interface.
I bought a external DAC from Cambridge to get the music one step up but to be honest the internal dac is pretty good
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dh237
from Boston MA
Expertise: Proficient User

My music central nervous system

Date:September 21, 2011
I just built a house. I had owned the touch before I had I started but I literally designed my whole house around it. I located a ethernet port right next to my bed where my nightstand sits. So I plug it directly into my network. The Squeezebox is versitile. First, it is my clock radio because i like to listen to internet talk radio before I go to bed. Then it wakes me up (wish the alarm was a little better it is a little buggy). Then I use my Ipod touch for the rest of my day with the Ipeng app to control content. I dinged easy of use just because of how rigid the menu is to navigate. I integrated the crestron prodigy system to control A/V DVD etc. That said, Please pay the 100 per year to use napster. It is just the perfect music service to go with the touch. You can search music using ipeng then INSTANTLY hear those songs streamed through the touch. It is amazing. When you change albums it is instantaneous. I thought the value of the squeezebox was the ability to stream from my Imac but that is childs play compared to Napster. ( PS I do not work for best buy or Napster it is just a superior service when you couple it with the squeezebox) Lastly, I mistakenly decided not to prewire one of my floors for music. So I ended up purchasing a regular squeezebox and plugged it into my old system which I can sync with the touch and control using Ipeng app as well. So it is a cheap way to get one more zone after I messed up.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hal
from New York City
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Concept. Poor Execution

Date:September 17, 2011
Serious music lover from Washington and Cameron have assessed this device just right. Great concept and unit but terrible software. My Squeeze Box Touch would work only when connected to computer powered on and would not play music from SD card or USB flash drive when computer was off as claimed. Software "fixes" from Logitech only made matters worse. "Upgrades" tended to freeze unit. Whoever writes code for Slim Devices should be replaced.
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Serious Music Listener
from Washington State, USA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Device; Mediocre Software

Date:September 10, 2011
I am a new owner of 3 squeezebox touches. The idea is great, the hardware is compact and great and the software is positively mediocre. It is not possible to create a playlist directly without working on the active playing area. It then is not possible to manually rearrange the playing order without starting from scratch. If you have a large music collection you will pull your hair out trying to set up quality, archivable playlists.
The exiating remote is almost useless as you cannot read the active screen on the remote. So, you must be sitting within reading distance of the squeezebox to truly use the remote.....ergo, you may as well do without the remote.
The necessary instructions and list of settings and what the setting does is virtually unavailable unless you wish to spend your life reading forums that are fractionally accurate when you ought better to be listening to music.
Logitech squeezebox support is readily accessible, but the average support employee does not know the fine points of operating the squeezebox touch.
In conclusion, this could be a great product if Logitech refined the software and did not yse the general public as the beta testers.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andrew
from Boston, MA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Music Player

Date:August 24, 2011
I have been using the squeezebox for almost a year now and it does exactly what it is advertised to do. It plays all my music perfectly, with incredible sound quality thanks to the optical output. I like the user interface. It is easy to navigate and find music that you are looking for. The touch screen interface is natural and intuitive, almost as good as an iphone or android phone. The wife likes to play Pandora on the squeezebox while she cooks dinner, which also works flawlessly. I recently downloaded, "Squidget" an Android app that allows you to control the squeezebox with the phone. I can be in the kitchen and change songs with my phone! I agree with the second guy about the number of updates, but I haven't had any trouble with the updates. Not really sure what the updates are doing for me, but the player seems to keep working flawlessly so I don't really care all that much. I dinged the features category one star only because I think that Logitech should make a better remote control, something more like Squidget and they should give it away for free.
P.S. Why isn't this product better advertised? I had to use google to find it originally.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
helm
from Norway
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Still my favorite

Date:August 13, 2011
I've owned a Touch for about a year now.
It has been my main music platform ever since.
The music quality is very good, both from a local disk and from streaming sources like Spotify.
From time to time the local server dies, especially with the latest software update, which generally seems a bit unstable.
What I'd like to see is:
More stable USB drive management.
Better integration between local music and streaming services. It shouldn't be necessary to select music source. (That's why i give only *** in ease of use) Multiple sources should be treated as one when searching, playing and making playlists
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cameron

Terrible software solution

Date:July 15, 2011
The squeezebox is a good idea and when I first got it I thought it was great. But the constant required software updates for the server software that runs on the computer and the updates that are constantly being pushed down to the squeezebox make the thing stop working all of the time. Then I end up spending an hour or more getting my music working again. Once you get it working the way you want to there is no way to turn the updates off so you end up fixing everything again in a couple of weeks.
+13points
20out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
psweetie

Given up my Naim CDX2 player

Date:June 13, 2011
I had a Naim CDX2 as my main source with a modified Squeezebox as an alternate for convenience. The wireless player gradually took over and I have just sold the CD player and replaced it with a new Touch as a digital transport and a Naim DAC doing the business on the conversion side. Fantastic sound quality, great convenience and will play my FLAC files perfectly.
I have mine on a wired network to ensure bnest quality but it worked fine on wireless too. Excellent product and have already demonstrated and reccomended it to my friends and plan more for a multi-room setup in my house.
I have a wireless Duet Controller as a remote control, which works fine, as does iPeng app on the iPhone. All those tracks without getting out of my seat!
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
slocumten
from Millbrook,NY
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Fantastic!

Date:May 11, 2011
Just set this unit up yesterday. Was considering SOMOS system and now glad I did not. For my needs the portability of being able to use the touch in any location I have a wifi signal, price, and the many connection options sealed the deal. I am amazed at the number of internet stations available and the sound quality I am getting from most of them. Pandora works great. Love the on-screen interface as well as the Squeezebox App on my ipod touch. Great job Logitech staff!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rocketman
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Almost Perfect

Date:April 10, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This product is so clost to being the perfect addition to my Billiards Room. I have it setup on the Bar so anyone who walks in can search and play music of their choice.
Users can also have their own playlists and it is possible to add multiples of these to the current playlist.
I have only been able to find 1 problem with this product.
That is, when users who are not familiar with the product try to use it, they always end up replacing the entire current playlist with 1 song. This is the default action when you single tap a song that you have searched for.
If this default action could be changed to "Add to End" the product would be flawless for my purposes.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Squeezebox™ Touch
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MusicLover
from Portland, Oregon
Expertise: Proficient User

Great product

Date:March 29, 2011
I love the SqueezeBox, it has replaced listening to FM radio now, considering in my city there are no more good stations anymore. I love how it has access to Pandora, Facebook and Shoutcast, it has many more, but those three are my favorite.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>