Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Mice + Keyboards or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Gaming Mouse G500

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Gaming Mouse G500

When the pressure is on and everything is at stake, this is the mouse to have by your side.
Average Customer Rating:
4.35 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 117 reviews
5 stars
71
4 stars
27
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
3
97 out of 117(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gaming Mouse G500
Review 1 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
boydsc331
from California
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

outstanding customer service

Date:March 29, 2013
this review is not so much about the mouse but the awesome customer service i received. i bought the G500 over 4 years ago it has been great ever since. recently the mouse would turn off and lose power after 15 min of use. i contacted support through the website, told them my problem. i really didnt think it would go anywhere i mean it was 4 years old. the rep said provide your proof of purchase. i just happen to save all my receipts from computer purchases so i emailed it to him. to my surprise they sent me a brand new G500 mouse, no charge and i didnt even hafta hassle with sending my old one back. how great is that ? customer service like that is hard to find now days.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cookies69
from Florida, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Really good mouse for the money

Date:March 26, 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed this mouse. It was wonderful for the money that you paid for it. I thought it did everything pretty well. My only wish was that it was wireless. Other than that I loved it and would totally buy another one without hesitation.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fairandbalanced
from Washington, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Great mouse, may develop left click issues

Date:March 1, 2013
(I notice that any sort of even mildly critical review gets tagged as unhelpful, shame on you if you do that. Didn't know peripheral companies had fanboys!)
I'm on my second G500 and I like almost everything about it. Ergonomically it feels great and the adjustable weights are an ingenious feature. The buttons and scroll wheel are all very responsive. The laser sensor works perfectly on pretty much any surface.
I use this mouse for work, general computer use, and for playing games. It works perfectly for all situations. I love the customizability built into the mouse, even though I don't take full advantage of it. It's nice knowing that if I ever do decide to tweak the settings, I can tweak just about anything.
Small issue: When the scroll wheel is in "frictionless" mode, it tends to drift a bit even when you have stopped it from spinning. It's a bit disconcerting to be reading something and the page skips ahead a few lines. I end up using the "clicky" mode instead and don't really care anymore.
Larger issue: The reason I'm on my 2nd G500 is that the left click mechanism can wear out over time. This results in unwanted double-clicks and inability to drag and drop because of random unintentional click signals being sent. Luckily, Logitech support is very understanding about this and will send a replacement mouse free of charge. And if you're motivated you can find guides online for disassembling and fixing the problem.
Overall despite the issues, I love the mouse and as long as Logitech continues to support (and hopefully permanently address) any issues that come up, I will continue using this mouse.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spok

Buyer Beware

Date:February 24, 2013
First, the mouse is a really 5 star mouse. All the programmable buttons make often repeated tasks really quick. Being able to adjust the weight and feel of the mouse with the included weights is a really nice touch.
However, if you're the sort of end user who, like me, when a new product is purchased that comes with a software installation CD, ignores the CD and goes straight to the manufacturer's web site to download the latest and greatest version of the software, DON'T DO THAT...at least not until Logitech does something to fix a somewhat nagging problem.
I downloaded SetPoint 6.51.8 and installed it. The program recognized my keyboard but would not under any circumstances recognize the G500 mouse. On a hunch, I uninstalled version 6.51.8 and installed 5.2A from the accompanying CD. Voila! The software recognized my G500 mouse...but not my keyboard. For me, this is a minor problem because I don't want to remap my keys. However, it would be really nice if Logitech would fix version 6.51.8 so that it would recognize both the keyboard and the mouse. From reviews I've read, this is a problem of long standing. Fix it Logitech, fix it!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gradius
from Brazil
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

It was good until...

Date:February 19, 2013
Your left buttom start to double click beyond your control. I opened the mouse and to swap the click switcher would be a trully nightmare. In other words, this ain't serviceable like it used with Logitech's mice.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jack-Glass-1903
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

great mouse

Date:February 14, 2013
in my opinion its the best gaming mouse / mouse i've ever used, perfect size, weight and response is bang on, i always buy Logitech mice and this is no exception, well designed, feels solid and looks cool, several configurable buttons, adjustable weight which works well for me, great mouse
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Th3 ArCh0n
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Best mouse I've owned

Date:February 5, 2013
I absolutely love this mouse, i upgraded from the G5, and at first it was pretty hard to get used to how much easier the scroll wheel spins in "click" mode, but now that I am used to it, i can actually switch weapons in games even faster now.
I love the DPI settings, i play with it all the way up, with all the weights in, Windows mouse sensitivity set to 6, enhanced pointer precision off and the MarkC Windows 7 mouse acceleration fix added to the Windows Registery. I play Counter Strike Global Offensive at a Sensitivity level of .16 and it's perfect!
**Don't forget to turn the USB Polling Rate to 1000 in SetPoint**
For refernce i play on a SteelSeries XL Mouse pad
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tim
from Bangkok, Thailand
Expertise: Proficient User

Best Office Mouse Ever Purchase

Date:January 15, 2013
Pros:
-Most ergonomic mouse ever palm grip. I can grip it for 8 hours x 5 days.
-Dual Mode Scroll. Good for productivity usage.
-Track fine on Razer Goliathus speed.
-Programmable macro key.(Copy, Past, Cut, Backspace) huh? forget my keyboard sometime.
-Adjustable weight can balance my mouse and has better moving.
Cons:
-Very heavy for first time use.
-No replacement mouse feed available.
-I would like to see more color option.
-Not for left hand user.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gunghoe
from Cincinnati, OH
Expertise: Tech Savvy

The best gaming mouse out right now.

Date:December 3, 2012
I have been using this for about 3 years now This is really the best mouse i have ever used. now lets compare this mouse to a graphics card. an new graphics card comes out, you see it you are like OMG OMG OMG that destroys mine. You envy the card. Now lets look at it from a mouse perspective, and because i have this mouse I really do not need any other mouse. now lets say a new mouse is released, you are like ok yeah that mouse is cool but mine is better! and some times the mouse is up to 50% off compared to the competitors that come out.
the ergonomics, simply put Amazing. all the buttons are in the perfect spont none ore in the way, and all are macro able accept mouse 1 and 2 (why would you need that?) The position your ring finger lies is an nice and useful spot. it makes for easy lifting of the mouse when you reached the limmit of movement, to re-adjust. (if you use a lower DPI setting, it further becomes handy) the thumb spot is great spot too, and the place the thumb buttons are positioned are not lacking in any way. they do not get in the way and are also pretty useful, and in a good spot to reach them easily.
The performance... Is some of the best around, the lazer sensor is really close to being the most up to date, and was for 2 years when i first got it. now it is a difference of like 500dpi or something.... Both claw grip and palm grip are able to be used efficiently, though this mouse favors palm just a little more. but if you claw it, the way the mouse is designed, you can for real have big benefits.
on top of that the lazes position is right under your fingers not in the center like other mouses. for me, it is just a minor difference, but now you can get greater movement for less actual movement because it is closer to the tip instead of closer to the fulcrum of movement.
The position of the DPI changers or buttons 8 and 9 are in a perfect spot for DPI change, they are also able to be changed to be any thing you want them to be. they are also macro-able!! they are not locked to DPI changes. which could be a great thing if you plan on using this mouse for an MMO or RPG
The main mouse buttons them selves, are HUGE!! that is a good thing. they take up about half of the entire top surface of the mouse. about 3 inches. so that lets you grip the mouse almost any manner you want! i find my self using a combination claw/palm grip with this mouse. if that says anything.
All right here is where some things can be viewed not perfect. The mouse wheel is great and all with the "hyper-scrolling" but mine has almost stopped working that way. Though it is my fault, and if you are never eating at your desk you would never run into the problem with it becoming dirty and not spinning like it once did. (near never ending), now it ends in like less than a second after taking my finger off of it. But the amazing thing about this mouse wheel it is in it self 5 buttons scroll up down left right and press. That is amazing i usually put Knife to my left side, and the buttons are holding sturdier than ever. Aside from that awesome feature, i feel the "hyper-scrolling" is more of a gimmick than anything.
The adjustable weights, are a nice touch. I use the heaviest setting, this mouse is already a basically fine sturdy weight. but a little front heavy, so you do want to balance that out. IMO i love the fact you where not stuck with the base weight of the mouse! and lets you customize it. i personally went with the heaviest, never looked back.
the texture on the side seems decent, and never really have had any sweating problems while using it.
the color scheme is better than most mice, but still is not closest to the best looking, pretty much the beauty pageant mice are Razer and their products. Logitech has the better and more functional ones.
Overall, after about 3 years use, when ever this mouse is dead, or going i will buy another, or the replacement version of the mouse. (that is because i highly think this mouse has like 3 more years left, and for others if they take the best care possible, I think they may never need a mouse again!)
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
logitech_user

Meh.

Date:November 24, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
The mouse design is appealing, functional, and effective. However, the chord is wrapped in nylon, which for some reason was too tight. The actual chord ended up sticking out of the nylon wrapping. Very disappointing for a mouse so expensive.
-9points
8out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Michaelangel007
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Almost THE perfect mouse for gamers.

Date:October 26, 2012
I have been gaming for 30 years and literally have worn out about 3 mice in that time frame. In my time I have tried various mice. Some have been extremely badly designed. Others have been mediocre. Logitech has _slowly_ been making their way to designing the perfect mouse. While they still lack insight and knowledge in what gamers _actually_ want in a mouse; the G500 is about as close to perfection in some areas that you will ever find.
Pros:
+ 3 Thumb Buttons that don't get in the way
+ Ability to customize any mouse button including key presses
+ Button below the mouse scroll wheel to toggle free fly wheel mode
+ Custom weights
+ EXCELLENT custom DPI settings
+ Wired means never having to recharge your mouse in the middle of a gaming session due to a low battery.
+ Mouse Wheel also has left/right scrolling. With 5 directions (left,right,up,down,press) it is perfect.
Unfortunately Logitech still misses the boat on a few key issues:
Cons
- Ugly black stucco color, with no custom colors available. One of the prettiest mice was the MX518 (except it has stupid looking "dimples")
- No sizes available: It is fixed at a "medium" size; Maybe one day Logitech will provide 3 sizes: small, medium, large for those of us with bigger hands.
- ZERO support on OSX. You are forced to use SteerMouse or USB Overdrive.
In spite of the negatives the bottom line is:
For the most part Logitech nailed it. You get the quality of the mouse that you pay for. Treat yourself to a quality mouse. You will _love_ it for years!
The G500 is the "creme da la creme" for gamers wanting to take their game to the next level. (It remains to be seen if the G700 is a step forward or back.)
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Horace530
from Hong Kong
Expertise: Tech Savvy

One of the Best gaming mouse ever built

Date:September 29, 2012
Have already been using mine for the 3 years, still haven't ever let me down. The only cons of it is it's not using Telfon feet and there's no any replacement for it. Also the travel distance/force for the click buttons are a bit long as a gaming mouse, comparing with the Deathadder.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
philip1243[reddit]
from PA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Everything you could ask for is in this mouse.

Date:August 2, 2012
The title says it all. This is the best mouse i have ever owned, i am an avid game player (Portal, Half-life, Counter Strike, Team Fortress, Stalker, Fallout, etc.) and this mouse was more than i could have asked for through out all of my game plays.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lanceo90
from Collinsville, IL
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Awesome Gaming Mouse

Date:July 12, 2012
I got this mouse for Christmas with gift money I had, don't regret it a bit!
I would say "this little mouse" but that would be a falsehood, this guy is pretty large. it's absolutely perfect for me, but I could imagine it being hard for someone with smaller hands. But as I said, I couldn't ask for a more perfect fit for myself.
I gave quality a 4 because, although everything else is perfect, the camo-looking paint of it is starting to rubb off there I click and where the part of my hand beneath my knuckles and a little bit where the very base of my thumb sits. Not a big deal performance wise or anything but it would hurt resale value of it if I ever get a new mouse. As I said the rest of the quality if just fine.
I gave ease of use a 4 because I don't believe it game with the best instructions when it came to the weights. It took a bit to figure out how to get the little weights in. Then there wasn't much advice on what kind of weight might be fitting for different kinds of users. I just put some in in what looked like a balanced load and have just been using that since.
All and all it's a great product though and it really stepped up my game, and I have already recommended it to some friends.
Word of caution, normal mice will feel tiny to you after getting used to this one :)
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Escurofalcon
from Los Angeles, California
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Good mouse with one very bad feature

Date:July 4, 2012
I have had 2 of these G500 mouse and they have both died on me, resulting in me reverting back to my my Comfort 3000 mouse that has never given me a problem and I have had it for 4 years. I didnt even have my second g500 for a YEAR!
I am very upset with the mouse and I will never by a G500 or any G series again.
The reason both of the mouse went out was because of the stupid braided cored that they warped around the wire. I move around alot and the cord only stays in one positing pinching it, even if you straighten it out it reverts back
-15points
15out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HopeSeekr
from Houston, TX
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best Mouse I've Ever Used

Date:June 30, 2012
I've been using this mouse since early 2009, and all I can say is: I love this mouse!!!
It's only mouse I actually miss when I'm away from it. I love the programmable buttons and how I can change both the mouse's sensitivity and pointer speed with the flick of a switch on the mouse itself.
This is the best mouse I've ever come across; you should try it!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
michu
from CA

Decent price for Decent mouse

Date:June 28, 2012
I bought this at Fry's for $55, which is a large fraction of the cost here.
The mice I've used so far have been standard optical mice so I've been looking forward to getting a laser mouse for some time. I chose the G500 because the price was much lower than the others on the wall and the dpi maximum was 5700. I was only looking for high dpi, but the changeable weight and custom key clicks were a bonus.
Now, normally I used smaller mice, for my smaller hands. Though the G500 is comfortable, I often end up click the buttons at the side when I don't need to and when I do, the position to do so feels very awkward. It would be nice to mind that there are female gamers out there with small hands. Overall, I am in love with this product and will hopefully adjust to it.
P.S. Some reviews say that the G500 is very ugly. Well, it's not like any player will be focused on looking at the mouse in his or her hand 24/7. This specs on the mouse are pretty decent for the price (I suggest going elsewhere for a better deal) and is a good starter for people who want to be more serious about gaming.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vyacheslav Lanovets
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Well-suited for office use

Date:June 19, 2012
Good mouse for office use which I purchased to replace MX620 that I liked but it does not sell anymore. I did not like Performance MX and I did not want to downgrade to corded mouse (M500) without getting anything in return so I purchased G500.
I find G500 mouse very convenient for different office and CAD applications. It feels comfortable, and variable weight is a good feature. Scrolling wheel traditionally serves as a 3rd mouse button. I like finishing on the surface under thumb more than rubber in MX620. Sensor in G500 feels more precise than one in MX620.
On a negative side are extra buttons under thumb. No wireless. Left and right mouse buttons are too loud compared to MX620. "Dirty" paint looks ugly. DPI LEDs are annoying.
Still I did not regret my purchase. But for my home PC I need wireless mouse, probably G700.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vegentius
from Covington, GA
Expertise: Proficient User

Second Best Mouse Purchase

Date:June 14, 2012
I purchased the G500 to replace the G5 that I have played extensively on for the past 6-7 years! To top it off, my G5 still works okay, but it is finally wearing down (left button, side button and scroll ares starting to "hesitate" when action gets knee deep.
While this G500 seems a tad flimsier in craftsmanship I have confidence in Logitech and expect at least 4-5 years of trouble-free use and hardcore gaming out of this mouse. If not, they need to reinstate the old, old G5 because that's the kind of accessory legends are made of.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gaming Mouse G500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Turnabout
from Renton, WA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Two years of great gaming!

Date:June 11, 2012
This mouse features fantastic ergonomic design and the thumb buttons are just right for me. Though advertised as a gaming mouse, I find that it works wonderfully well for almost every application. I took it out of its box two years ago and it hasn't failed me once. In fact I'm buying a second one for my work machine.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next>>