Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Mice or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Marathon Mouse M705

Logitech Marathon Mouse M705

Power on&em;a wireless mouse that runs for up to three years on one set of batteries.
Average Customer Rating:
3.68 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(172 Reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 172 reviews
5 stars
71
4 stars
39
3 stars
20
2 stars
20
1 star
22
110 out of 172(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Marathon Mouse M705
Review 1 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ScottyT
from Connecticut, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Total Awesomeness

Date:March 28, 2014
When I first bought this mouse I was skeptical. I don't like having to change batteries all the time. So, I bought this mouse and the solar keyboard.
I have had this mouse for almost 4 years and haven't changed the first set of batteries. It is so nice to not have to change the batteries every few months. Also I don't have to put it on a charger.
Marathon Mouse / Logitech Solar keyboard and I haven't messed around with chargers or new batteries in almost 4 years.
This rocks!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Solo
from Yakima, WA, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Offset laser is bad for gaming

Date:March 5, 2014
The m705 and m510 has an offset laser which is horrible for gaming! Tracking is off if you're a person who uses their wrist for a pivot point. When you move left, the pointer will move left+down. Moving right will cause the pointer to move right+up. Its a nightmare to play first person games. I have both of these mice and replaced my m510 because I thought the laser was defective. Then I find out the same thing was happening with my m705. After countless searching though forums I find out it's the way the laser is angled. I love the button layout of this mouse and don't want to spend more money. My only option for now is to take the mouse apart and move the laser to another spot with it facing straight down. I've seen another person who has done this and it fixed the tracking issue perfectly. Poor design Logitech, please do not continue to do this.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ProfGeek
from Charleston, IL, USA
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Not for lefties

Date:February 12, 2014
This mouse feels great in the right hand. The trouble is, I'm left-handed. It's like trying to play baseball with a right-handed person's glove. It's all wrong. If you want to see how it feels, just put it in your left hand. Why don't they make a left-handed version if they are going for a contoured mouse? Totally worthless to me. Trouble is, I got it in an MK710 kit and can't return just the mouse. VERY disappointed.
-11points
1out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Suri
from Penang, Msia
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Signal Issue

Date:January 6, 2014
After using for a year, I discovered it has sensitivity issue with signal. Can not jump browser anymore. Will still try to solve this but the whole school whom were given this mice had stopped using it on our brand new Window 7 PC.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dave
from Grimstad, Norway
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

A great mouse

Date:January 4, 2014
This is definitely one of the best wireless mice I have ever used. The battery life is amazing (I have used it more than a year without any battery replacement), and the hyper scrolling feature (or whatever it is called) works like a charm. The latter helps me a lot during programming sessions as well as reading lengthy articles. Highly recommended!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gw1108
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Signal issues

Date:December 31, 2013
Not for use with a desktop having tracking issues and sensitivity keeps resetting itself each time you unplug it. not a good feel when moving around with the mouse making it a poor choice for games.
-8points
1out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
justsomereviewer
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Not for Gaming

Date:December 30, 2013
I won this mouse and the M510, which I actually prefer. The M510 is $10 cheaper, great for universal applications, and does not suffer from the major drawback of the M705, which is the scrolling, Everything else is great, the mouse feels solid, the programmable buttons are great, the mouse is extremely comfortable (except for lefties like most Logitech products) the wireless and Unifying receiver are great, and the tracking is impeccable. The scrolling does what is should in free spin mode, but when the click-to-click scrolling is activated, it doesn't do much to slow down the scroll speed. This is a pain because when I play games on my laptop it becomes very difficult to move one at a time through the scroll bar, whatever that may be in that particular game. Also, moving the mouse jiggles the scroll bar, which I mostly see as an issue in games because they're more sensitive to scrolling. It is not an issue on the web or otherwise
Pros:
Great battery life
Extremely comfortable
3 Programmable buttons
Solid feel
Great wireless
Great tracking
Cons:
Not ambidextrous
Scrolling can present problems
Scrolling makes mouse nearly unusable in gaming
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jkob

Terrible tracking....

Date:December 24, 2013
the ergonomics is great, so is the quality, and the feel of the scrolling wheel. but big tracking issue, probably because bad weight distribution - two AA batteries at the base of the mouse, causing vertical accuracy to be really really horrible. gonna try to return it.
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Technodude9000
from Portland, OR, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Good overall design

Date:December 20, 2013
I bought this mouse as a replacement for my m310 and was very happy with the upgrade. I did find however that constant use of the hidden thumb button for gaming or anything else does make the rubber on either side indent a little, but it's definitely not a flaw that would make me reconsider this purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LP
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Great feel, very functional

Date:December 4, 2013
This is best mouse I've had thus far.
Very comfortable, practical and battery hasn't gone out on me yet. (+6 months )
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CosminB
from Bucharest, Romania
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Very good response and many features

Date:December 3, 2013
Very good mouse. I play Battlefield 3 with it. It works with 2 or if you want it to be more light with just 1 AA battery. 4 ways scroll wheel, 2 side buttons, the scroll wheel have a button that makes it spin unrestrained (need for speed mode :) ). I had bad experience with Logitech sound system but what is good is good and this mouse is excellent.
I rated just 4 stars because you need a little time to get confortable with the scrool wheel - but this mouse becomes a 5 star after a week.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
M705H8R
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Flawed design on otherwise decent mouse

Date:December 3, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
The first thing i noticed when using this mouse is the tracking felt inconsistent and inaccurate. Then i realized it has nothing to do with the sensor quality or how well the sensor 'sees' the surface, but it has to do with the designed location of the laser sensor. Most mice it is in the middle, or very near the middle of the mouse. The M705 has it located near the edge of the mouse, nearest your ring/ pinky finger.
I believe this is the reason tracking is so difficult. It's difficult and frustrating to try to accurately click on your target. Compared to any other mouse i've ever used, the M705 takes significantly longer for you to 'mouse over' your target before you can click on it. And i've had experience with many other mice, sensitive, and not sensitive, and the M705 is the most difficult to use. I've been using it for a week now and i still haven't gotten used to it enough to tolerate it. I'm going to try to return it.
If you're a person that gains accuracy in the Y direction by keeping still or 'anchoring' the pinky side (right side) of the mouse and moving the thumb side of the mouse up and down, this is definitely not the mouse for you. The reason is when you anchor the right side of the M705, your're essentially anchoring the sensor and keeping the cursor anchored.
If you're a person that anchors the thumb side of the mouse and moves the pinky side of the mouse to gain accuracy in the Y direction, you may as well move the entire mouse up and down because the sensor is moving the entire distance. This is how i tried to train myself to use the mouse and it does make it slightly more usable, but still not nearly accurate enough to continue to use.
The other points of the mouse are great though. The comfort/ feel is great - i wear size XL gloves. The hyper scroll works great. The button positions are well located. It took a couple days to get used to the "application switch" (which is alt+tab) button at the thumb, but now that i'm used to it it's great.
Sadly, all those great points don't mean anything if i can't track it properly. It's going back.
a link to the forums where other people have noticed the same thing.
http://forums.logitech.com/t5/Mice-and-Pointing-Devices/Is-it-just-me-or-do-other-M705-mouse-owners-hate-their-mouse/td-p/482187/highlight/false/page/2
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
geoffbob
from Miami, FL, USA
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

At first I didn't like it

Date:November 6, 2013
I was going to get the very sharp looking Logi mouse that cost more but the guy at Office Depot told me to get this one as I'm not a gamer. I got it home and the scroll wheel feels flimsy when used for side to side. I was going to return it but soon realized that it was perfect for the size of my hand, quite precise, smooth sliding, and I never got tired. Waay more precise than the MS Wireless laser 6000.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jeff
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Battery Life - Good Comfort

Date:November 2, 2013
I love the the long battery life, very comfortable mouse to use. All the extra buttons my school go faster
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kuro
from Australia
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Keeps dropping out

Date:November 1, 2013
I bought my mouse and keyboard combo and the keyboard as well as the mouse will frequently drop out and not respond as Im using it. Waste of money in my opinion and not enough support on the issue anywhere to even try to troubleshoot and correct.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kenblu24
from Virginia, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Pretty good mouse.

Date:October 13, 2013
Had this mouse for over two years. Almost every button still works, except for the middle button which I broke.
Pros:
Incredibly comfy for me;
Scroll wheel uses a separate button to switch modes unlike the Anywhere MX;
Forward and back buttons (I switched these to control the volume);
Super long battery life even for a moderate gamer and daily use.
Cons:
The middle mouse button took some practice to use fully, but afterwards it worked fine until I smashed it;
Scroll wheel gets crusty and is hard to clean without opening the mouse up (like all mouses with hyper-scrolling);
Fifth thumb button doesn't quite feel natural;
connection is slightly unstable if receiver is over six feet away
Super solid mouse, buy it if: You're a gamer of any kind (other than one who throws his controllers) ;
You love the hyper scrolling feature;
You want a good comfy mouse that lasts a while.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ocdperson
from Indonesia
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

2 cents from person with OCD regarding lightness

Date:October 4, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I am an obsessive person. I prefer lightness in spite of battery life. Nobody needs 3 years of battery life, anyway. That's why I put in a single cheap carbon-zinc AA battery in it. It became so light it could flies! Let see how long the battery would last. Probably I'll put in a AAA battery with AAA-to-AA adaptor to get even more lightness!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reed
from Fremont, CA, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Scroll Wheel Ratchet lock in not recessed

Date:September 24, 2013
Clicking the button behind the scroll wheel changes it to ratchet or to free wheel. The button is in the way with the scrolling feature rubbing against the scrolling finger. It is important to me not to have the added tactile feel when using the mouse. I would rather have better recessed or just some where else out of the way.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Elcee
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Great mouse for about a year. Disposable.

Date:September 24, 2013
I'm a graphic designer/web developer/photographer who is admittedly hard on mice. I'm a female with small hands so this mouse fits comfortably. I love the arrangement and functionality of the buttons. I love the weight. Everything about it is wonderful, except that after about a year of usage, the left button gives out, rendering it useless. I'm on my 3rd one in 3 years and guess what? A few days ago, that left button gave out. I keep buying the same mouse, but honestly, I've had enough and I'm searching for something else. It's a real shame that Logitech can't fix this obvious issue. I see many others here complaining of the same problem. I'm done with it.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Marathon Mouse M705
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChibuChan
from California, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Awesome Mouse but Tilt Scroll was bad for me.

Date:September 12, 2013
I'm a VERY picky person when it comes to computer accessories. I only prefer Logitech items because they have a solid build quality, great lifetime with batteries (I never had to replace a battery at all), many many many buttons! I own the Logitech K360, Marathon M705, M325, and M215. The K360 is a great wireless keyboard, very space efficient. But I've been using the small wireless mice from Logitech (i.e M325 & M215)) they were great when I was gaming and the M325 had the nice Tilt Scroll. But after a while I got tired of the "Claw Grip" I had to do with the small mice. They are meant to be portable and my hands aren't necessarily big.
That is why I ordered my Marathon M705, what I can say? It takes some use to get used to it since I've been using a claw grip mouse for the longest time. Lots of buttons, even if it's not a gaming mouse with 12 buttons on the side (which is absolutely unnecessary) it has about 5 extra button besides the left and right click and standard middle click. My only gripe about it is that the tilt wheel on the Marathon is very light and not sound. I never hear a clicky sound and I can barely feel it unlike my M325 mouse where it was very clicky and I felt the actuation point. Of Course it still works and it takes some time to get used to but that's my only gripe about it.
Fantastic mouse and I will be definitely be taking it to the Fields of Justice in League of Legends :)
Thanks Logitech for great products.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 Next>>