Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Mice or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Performance Mouse MX

Logitech Performance Mouse MX

Our most advanced tracking technology puts the power to achieve in your hands.
Average Customer Rating:
3.736 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(368 Reviews) 368
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 368 reviews
5 stars
156
4 stars
76
3 stars
58
2 stars
39
1 star
39
232 out of 368(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Performance Mouse MX
Review 1 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
K

Ok mouse with horrible software/drivers

Date:April 1, 2014
It's a good average mouse, but the lack of decent drivers/software is why this will be my last Logitech mouse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bombardierr
from San Francisco, CA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Defeating by way of charge, or lack there of... =\

Date:March 28, 2014
Like others have said, the length of charge is horrible. I get at most a day and a half of use before I have to recharge it. This is so inconvenient, that it becomes a corded mouse at my desk. But herein lies the defect in this device: Once plugged in and charged up, the charge through USB ceases, and you then are running off of battery even though you are still plugged in through USB, and even though the charge lights are all green indicating fully charged, as soon as you unplug it, it goes red and it’s out of battery.
For example: Fully charged, a day and half of use, red lights come up, I plug it into USB so that it can charge. Whatever time later, the lights all go solid green indicating fully charged, but tired of plugging/unplugging on nearly a daily basis, I just leave it plugged in to USB, effectively making this a wired mouse. Once the lights go solid green indicating fully charged and letting the mouse remain on USB, the mouse begins running off of the battery and USB power so now your battery is running right back down. And when the battery dies again, the USB provides enough power to let it continue running but does not resume recharging the battery at all. So even when the mouse has been plugged in and fully charged for any length of days (well beyond the battery life), the moment you unplug the mouse from USB, the lights go red and the mouse is already dead.
You could say that this mouse is of less value than a WIRELESS mouse because the battery life is so poor that it must be left plugged in all the time. But then you could say that this mouse is also less than a WIRED mouse because at least with a wired mouse you don’t have to incessantly unplug/plug back in the USB all the time to jumpstart the charge on the battery.
This mouse is only good for glass and shiny surfaces and if you use it for very very very short periods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
tschar
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Extremely short charge on internal batteries

Date:March 26, 2014
I only get 6-7 days of usage from a full charge. There is little to none advance warning. When the charge is empty the mouse ceases to function. I must take the charging cord with me everywhere because I never know when it will die. Otherwise the mouse is marvelous, but I would give up some features to get 6 months of usage per charge - even if I have to use regular batteries.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marko

Wow, multitasking to the max!

Date:March 20, 2014
By far my favorite mouse I've ever had. I'm an avid apple fan, and usually try to not buy any computer accessory other than an apple brand, but this mouse is crazy. i can switch between a bunch of different applications in a matter of seconds. the ability to customize the buttons on the mouse is amazing. i would buy this mouse 1000 times over!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
djhamster
from Serbia
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

exelent performans

Date:February 28, 2014
best mouse ever, a very fast response cursor all the recommendations.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ThomD
from Los Angeles,
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Second best mouse I've ever had

Date:February 21, 2014
I have used dozens of different types of mice and trackballs over the years, but I keep coming back to Logitech (I DO NOT work for Logitech).
My favorite mouse of all time (Still using it at home) was the Revolution. It was apparently designed with exactly my hand in mind when it was made. The buttons fit me perfectly and the thumb rest keeps me from dragging my hand all over the desk. Love this mouse so much I just bought a new battery and set of replacement sliders for the bottom. The screws that hold the top and bottom together are under the sliders and there is a guy on ebay who makes them to match exactly the original ones.
I wanted a Revolution for work but sadly Logitech has moved on, you know, like you do. So I read as many reviews and individual ratings as I could find about the Performance MX and it sounded like it would be very close. I went to a big box office supply store and picked it up and held it to see how it fit my hand. It was really really close to the Revolution so I got it.
I am almost as happy with the PMX as I am with my Revolution. I prefer the size of the Revolution's frame to the PMX because it is a tiny bit wider and fits my pinky a little better, but that is the only complaint I have.
The PMX is the most accurate mouse I have used and the buttons work well and have showed no signs of wearing out even after a year of constant hard use.
I would strongly recommend this mouse to anyone who likes a slightly larger mouse with the convenience of button program-ability.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zabestof
from Athens, Greece
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Best mouse I've ever had

Date:February 12, 2014
I bought this mouse back in 2011 and it never failed me. I use it heavily (I'm a web dev) at least 10 hours/day and it works perfect, not even a problem. With good rechargeable batteries it lasts about 2 weeks.
The only drawback is the price, hehe. I wanted to get a new one as a backup and the price hasn't changed since 3 years ago.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MechDrafter5473
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Could Be Amazing...

Date:February 5, 2014
The mouse feels great has good tracking but fails in the middle button category. I returned it thinking it was only a manufacture Issue but it has same exact issue on the second one.
The middle button down click which is used constantly for 3D drafting software does not work properly or is poorly positioned. The only way I could get it to work was positioning my finger in the tens of thousands of inch position and pressing down and to the right.
It has the potential to be one of best mice on the market if it was not for this huge flaw.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Guest2674
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Liked Revolution Better

Date:February 1, 2014
I liked Revolution well enough that I had a back up purchased. After heavy use, the ability to drag and highlight started to fail. I bought this, since it was advertised as the "new" Revolution.
It may be new, but it is not improved. I hate the charging cable. The USB connector is very difficult for me to attach to the mouse.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous846
from here
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

not good for pc gaming & PC w/ several usb inputs

Date:January 20, 2014
Do not get this mouse if you are a PC gamer. The charger that you get with the package can't be used while dragging the mouse around your mouse pad or table. It just falls out after 10 minutes of charging. Also, the battery life varies a lot. Sometimes (after fully charged battery) the battery can last for 1-2 weeks, but sometimes it only lasts for just 3-6 days. The tip of the charger can also get broken easily.
I have been using this mouse for about 2 years now (not so much for PC gaming though), and it's been working perfectly fine, until i started to have more USB devices plugged into my PC.
After this, the mouse started to lag a lot, and just some days ago, when i plugged the Logitech Performance Mouse MX USB receiver back into one of my PC's USB inputs, the whole PC crashed and shut down. After this, i have not been able to use the USB receiver again, which results in me not being able to use my product anymore, which is very sad.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DarkWorks
from United states of america
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Pitfalls

Date:January 18, 2014
Thought this is a rechargeable and programmable, it is somewhat of a eminent disaster over the M705 marathon which is $50.00 less and works off of two AA batteries. I use rechargeable. I own several keyboards and mice by Logitech but this over the M705 Marathon isn't worth it in the least. Now Logitech is a little off on the speck. My M750 does everything this mouse does except die. Yup, this rechargeable goes, you're toast!
Keep the pretty light, keep the uncomfortable look, and I'll continue kicking it with the M705 Marathon that I bought two years before this model and using it now. Rock on Marathon!
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Podhry
from Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Mac OS X Mavericks Support

Date:January 17, 2014
I own this mouse for about 2 years now and it has been brilliant till date.
Unfortunately it no longer works on Mac (after updateing to OS X 10.9 Mavericks).
The mouse tracks and all buttons reacts to clicks but dragging is no longer possible which makes the mouse unusable for any kind of work. There hasn't been a firmware or driver update that would fix this despite the fact that Mavericks came out like 6 months ago.
Very disappointing, Logitech :(
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thatnerdyguy
from The Southwest
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Here's how it is

Date:January 10, 2014
I've been using the MX product line of mice for about 13 years now. Not much has really changed in the actual performance. So I'm going to list the pros and cons.
Pros:
Big hefty mouse
Very comfortable
Will last many years before the rubber starts to wear off
Right/Left and thumb buttons are smooth
Cons:
Middle scroll works good BUT it's button pressing down is tough
Battery life is meh. Will last about 3 days with 8-10 hour use per day before it starts pooping out and blinking red at you
Takes about 3 hours to fully charge from near dead
There's a small chance a new mouse will have a mushy button or a wonky sensor so you'll have to get a replacement
A bit pricey
* As a side note do NOT use the Setpoint software. It WILL make your mouse sensor spaz out and go from 0-90 in a second.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MrMoleno
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Symmetrical or Left handed of this quality needed

Date:January 8, 2014
I am one of 10% of the worlds population that using a mouse ergonomically designed for right handed people is uncomfortable. I would like to see a mouse of this quality made either symmetrical or with a left handed design as well, even if I had to special order it direct from Logitech. The only mice I see that are symmetrical lately are the lower end models, and I want quality. I would like to see some high end mice and gaming mice that are comfortable for the other 10% of the people out there.
Please offer high end symmetrical mice that can be used in either hand or left handed versions.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Martelmungo
from Indiana, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Excellent

Date:December 29, 2013
I bought this mouse in September 2012, I use the computer 8-20 hours a day on any given day. I used the 4 buttons on the right for gaming, for keys 1,2,3,4, i like the scroll feature and am aware there are 2 more buttons but I don;t need them. The software that comes with it is good too, met all my needs. I need to recharge maybe once every week.. So people complaining about battery problems.. it has been a year and still no battery problems and oh btw, if you do have battery problems switch the battery out for another AA rechargeable battery. That is how simple it is, I have never needed to, but you could, It works on clear glass and black tempered glass along with shag carpet, and every other surface I have put it on. I enjoy being able to plug it in when it dies, which is only once a week. Oh and the people having mouse clicking issues, or the mouse not picking up anything, it is because of interference. If I position the adapter higher up, I can take the mouse up to 16 ft away from my computer and still game with it, if it is below where I sit, as in the adapter is farther down then where my mouse rests, I have interference issues. My set up though does not cause any issues, so I am fine with it, if you do not like that, then do not buy it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
yuncanfly
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: More than a Year

produces a double-click when i click it once

Date:December 24, 2013
First, it is not good for small hand ppl. Performance Mx is too big for my hand. Second, my battery indicator light is not working. It is never on. So I don't know how much battery time I have. Third, the most annoying part, it produces a double-click when I click once. My windows xp is DISABLE for the single-click to open folders. I don't know why it still does this. I do programming and code. Some times, I just want to point to somewhere in my code, and delete one letter/number. This mouse will select the whole part and delete them all. So I have to be very careful in case it messes up my codes.
It is totally not worth the price. and soooo annoy that it messes up my codes!
I would like to return it! I bought it somewhere online, not in bestbuy or chain stores. I don't know where to return it.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cmnsnse
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

A great mouse gone bad.

Date:December 20, 2013
We have been using these mice for over 3 years at our company. While these were awesome mice at first Logitech is at the point where they seem to be cutting corners more and more to make more profit on these devices. Keeping the price at a premium.
We have purchased over 40 of these mice in the last couple years. Over 10 of them have had the left mouse button work sporadically or quit working altogether.
In comparison, I still have a half dozen originals around that have not stopped working and have had no issues whatsoever. But all the ones purchased this year are very problematic.
Last year it was battery issues, this year they replaced something in the left click that is not near as sturdy as the originals. Likely they thought... no one would notice!
I have already had 4 replaced this year, now I have a stock pile of 6 more. Irritating to say the least. I think it is time to move on.
It is sad that they make a good product at first and then use the name to charge a premium and give you a mouse that isn't as good as the one that comes free with your computer.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TrainerDude
from Colorado
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Good...but...

Date:December 18, 2013
If I did not have to reset the mouse application to open ALL windows every-freakin-day this would be a very good mouse. I'll never purchase it or possibly any Logitech mouse again.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Michael
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Needs recharging daily

Date:December 17, 2013
It seems like a great idea: A rechargeable battery in the device. But wait until you try it in practice.
A regular computer user -- four hours a day or so -- will quickly find that the device needs recharging practically every day. And you find out in the most unpleasant day: erratic and unresponsive behavior.
So now you are in a middle of a project and you need to plug in your "wireless" device so you can continue working while it is recharging. If your reason for having a wireless mouse is because wired is greatly inconvenient, well, there you are, back to a greatly inconvenient wired mouse.
Yes, traditional batteries need to be replaced, but believe me, I would rather pop in new batteries every 6 months to a year than to have to suffer through wiring the mouse up daily.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gypsy
from Manchester, TN, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Best Mouse Ever

Date:December 13, 2013
My first MX mouse was purchased in the fall of 2009. This week the left click began to hang up so it was time to replace. In my opinion 4 years of HEAVY use is not to bad. When I say heavy use I mean I use this mouse on average 50+ hours a week at work and approximately another 25 hours at home through out the week. I have never replaced the battery and have used my computer as the primary charging source. If you want a mouse with bells and whistles this is the one. If you have small hades this might not be the best fit, but my hands are large so it is very ergonomically for me.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 Next>>