Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Mice or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Performance Mouse MX

Logitech Performance Mouse MX

Our most advanced tracking technology puts the power to achieve in your hands.
Average Customer Rating:
3.736 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(368 Reviews) 368
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 368 reviews
5 stars
156
4 stars
76
3 stars
58
2 stars
39
1 star
39
232 out of 368(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Performance Mouse MX
Review 1 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a bit picky
from Alexandria, VA
Expertise: Proficient User

Performance MX vs. MX Revolution (part of MX5500)

Date:April 23, 2012
This mouse is excellent, and there is heavy debate about whether it's better than its predecessor, the MX Revolution Cordless Laser Mouse. I've been very happy with both. The MX Performance mouse is quite a bit cheaper than buying the MX Revolution on its own (the MX Revolution has found its way into the $200+ range on Amazon.com), but if you really want the MX Revolution mouse and don't want to spend the $200+ then I recommend looking at the Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution Bluetooth Mouse and Keyboard.
As far as I can tell the only difference between the two MX Revolution mice is that the mouse that comes in the MX5500 mouse+keyboard set uses the Bluetooth radio frequency standard and the MX Revolution mouse that is being sold separately on Amazon uses radio frequency for wireless communication but doesn't use the Bluetooth standard. As a result of using Bluetooth the MX Revolution mouse in the MX5500 mouse+keyboard set has the standard 1/2 to 1 second Bluetooth lag when initially connecting up to the wireless transceiver (USB dongle that plugs into USB port on computer). The MX Revolution mouse sold on Amazon doesn't have that problem because it seems to connect up to its USB dongle during computer boot-up and then again when Windows Vista loads (based on the battery status indicator lighting up twice during computer boot-up and when Vista loads, respectively, even though I haven't moved or clicked any buttons on the mouse), which means there is no initial connection lag (which seems minor, but I power up and down my computer quite often, so I'm a huge fan of getting rid of initial connection lags for wireless mice and keyboards). The MX5500 mouse+keyboard set is about $100 less than the MX Revolution mouse being sold on Amazon (with no obligation to actually use the keyboard), so I guess it comes down to how you feel about Bluetooth and a 1/2 to 1 second initial connection lag.
MX Revolution (non-Bluetooth) vs. MX Performance:
Scroll Wheel:
The MX Revolution mouse includes a context-specific and dynamically changing traditional/free-spin scroll wheel, where the free-spin engages/disengages based on the active program or web page and also engages when the user spins the wheel rapidly (the SetPoint software offers quite a bit of customization for the traditional/free-spin settings). The MX Revolution further includes a second scroll wheel on the thumb side of the mouse that can be clicked in order to display all open windows in a 3D angled perspective (see a more detailed explanation of this below), where a user can scroll through the open windows using either scroll wheel. The thumb side scroll wheel also works during regular operation (i.e., when not displaying a 3D angled perspective of the set of open windows) for incremental scrolling through programs and web pages and traditional scrolling, when holding the scroll wheel in the forward or backward position (the side scroll wheel doesn't actually spin, it just rocks forward and backward and goes back to a centered position when no force is applied by a user.
On the other hand, the MX Performance mouse only includes one scroll wheel and it doesn't have dynamically changing traditional or free-spin functionality, but the user can manually switch the scroll wheel from traditional scroll wheel functionality to free-spin with a push of a button (the button is located directly next to the scroll wheel), which is nice because I like to leave it on free-spin most of the time and only switch to traditional scroll wheel behavior when I need a bit more precision with my scrolling.
Toggle/Jump among open windows:
The MX Revolution includes a side scroll wheel that lets you flip among open windows (same behavior as "Ctrl"+"Windows key"+"tab" or the "Switch between windows" button on the taskbar in Windows Vista ("Ctrl"+"Alt"+"tab" is the original Windows version of toggling among windows...but I digress)).
The MX Performance includes a lower thumb button with similar functionality, but it presents all open windows simultaneously in a tiled format, where a tiled window enlarges slightly upon mouse-over and can be selected by clicking on it. Not quite as visually elegant as the 3D angled perspective view of all open windows, but possibly faster to find a desired window, especially with a large number of open windows (and you can still display the 3D angled perspective of all open windows using the built-in functionality in Windows Vista and then scroll through the windows using the scroll wheel).
Size and Shape:
The MX Revolution is a bit smaller than the MX Performance, but my hand rests easily on both and neither feel too small or too large and neither cause discomfort or fatigue issues with extended use. Both mice are molded nicely to comfortably rest your hand on, but if you're a lefty who doesn't use your right hand to operate a mouse then you're out of luck, because both are only designed for right handed operation. Both mice also include low resistance pads on the bottom for low resistance gliding across desks, mouse pads, etc.
Wireless communication:
The MX Revolution uses radio frequency communication (Logitech didn't name it as far as I know) and doesn't have any lag when initially using the mouse after computer boot-up.
The MX Performance uses Logitech's Unifying receiver for radio frequency communication, which also doesn't have any lag when initially using it after boot-up but the MX Performance mouse goes into a deep sleep after a prolonged period of inactivity, and it takes about one second to wake the mouse up from the deep sleep (the battery indicator lights light up when the mouse wakes back up, and the mouse cursor instantly moves when the indicator lights light up, which leads me to believe that the communication doesn't have any lag, but the MX Performance coming out of deep sleep has about a second of lag). As far as I can tell the MX Performance goes into a 'light sleep' after three to five minutes (or possibly less) of inactivity, and doesn't have any lag when coming out of this 'light sleep'. The MX Performance only goes into a deep sleep after a much longer period of inactivity, I'm not sure how long it takes to drop into deep sleep mode, but I'm guessing it's in the range of one to 10 hours, because I've only dealt with it when I turn on the computer in the morning.
The deep sleep functionality is a double-edged sword because it enables the MX Performance to aggressively conserve battery power, which means it lasts longer between charges than the MX Revolution, which doesn't have deep sleep functionality as far as I know. The other edge of the sword is the fact that from time to time you'll have to deal with a one second lag when waking up the MX Performance, which isn't an issue with the MX Revolution.
Dongles:
The MX Revolution USB transceiver dongle sticks about 1.5 inches out of the computer, which may be a concern if the dongle is in front of the computer or otherwise in an area where it can get bumped or kicked and bent or broken as a result.
The MX Performance USB Unifying receiver dongle sticks about 0.25 inches out of the computer, which dramatically reduces (and possibly eliminates) the chance of the dongle getting damaged as a result of getting bumped or kicked. Another advantage of the Unifying receiver is that you can use a single receiver to connect up to six compatible devices, which is nice if you have a wireless keyboard that is also designed to work with a Unifying receiver.
For completeness, the USB Bluetooth MX Revolution dongle that comes with the MX5500 mouse+keyboard set sticks about 1.75 inches out of the computer. Since it uses Bluetooth protocol you can connect multiple Bluetooth devices to the computer via the single Bluetooth dongle (for a while I had two Bluetooth mice and keyboard sets connected to the computer via the same Bluetooth dongle, but there's really no point in having two active keyboards and two active mice, I just wanted to see if it would work).
Tracking Technology:
The MX Revolution includes laser tracking technology for accurate tracking on almost all surfaces.
The MX Performance mouse includes Darkfield laser tracking, which enables accurate tracking on even more surfaces than standard laser tracking, such as accurate tracking on glass.
Charging:
The MX Revolution includes a charging stand that you can drop the MX Revolution into, which is very convenient, even though you can't use the mouse while it’s charging.
The MX Performance includes a USB charging cable (similar to charging cables for cell phones) that you can plug into the front of the mouse, but it doesn't include a charging stand. The USB charging cable enables the mouse to be used when it's charging, but plugging the cable into the front of the mouse just isn't as quick and easy as dropping it into a charging stand.
My overall impression is you can't really go wrong with any of the mice I mentioned. I have a strange pet peeve about initial connection lag, so I may try to learn more about the deep sleep function for the MX Performance mouse, to see if I can turn it off (not likely I imagine), but other than that very minor complaint the MX Performance mouse is an excellent wireless mouse at a very reasonable price.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FellowLad
from Singapore

Pros and Cons, comparison with Razer Mamba

Date:November 24, 2009
I have a Performance MX as well as a Razer Mamba. I use my laptop for work and games and I bring it everywhere. I have a strict expectations for my mouse:
1) portable - Never mind that the mouse itself is big and bulky, I'm not expecting to fit it into my laptop sleeve. As long as it can be put into the main compartment of my bag without damaging the buttons and scroll wheel, it's portable for me. You can't do this with the performance MX or Razer Mamba unless you put it into a small tupperware lunchbox or something.
More importantly, portability means a plug-and-forget USB nano receiver that stays in my laptop so that I don't wear out my USB port by repeatedly plugging in and out wired mice or inch-long receivers (like the one in MX revolution) which can break if left in USB port while laptop is carried in a bag. Performance MX satisfies this need with its nano receiver. Razer Mamba doesn't - its receiver is its huge charging dock as it's meant to be a desktop mouse.
2) Productivity - Once you've tasted hyperfast scrolling and horizontal-tilt scrolling and how it speeds up work on a research paper, you'd agree it's a must for productivity. Therefore Razer mamba is out of the question even if it had 7 customizable buttons. Performance MX has 4 thumb buttons and 3 finger buttons, a hyperfast scroll wheel that has analog-sensitive horizontal tilting (the harder you lean the wheel to its sides, the faster it scrolls sideways). Unlike the mx revolution, there's no more rapid-acceleration-based toggling between hyperfast and clicky-precision scrolling, nor is it toggled by pressing down the wheel or program detection, why did logitech take away this feature?
In setpoint software, left and right click buttons are only swappable, not remappable. All other buttons, including left/right horizontal tilt, can be re-assigned to almost anything else such as keyboard macros and you can optionally specify profiles depending on program. Vertical scroll wheel is not reassignable, can only adjust its speed and acceleration.
3) Don't want to be caught in a scenario where you can't use your mouse:
- Performance MX really works on clear glass! Razer mamba works on frosted glass at best.
- Both Performance MX and Razer Mamba can be recharged via USB cable while you use them like a wired mouse (instead letting it sit on a charging dock while you can't do anything with it). However, despite the performance MX being connected via USB, all information is still sent via the unifying receiver! The USB cable is only a power cable to charge the battery. In that sense you need 2 USB ports to use the performance MX in wired mode - one for the receiver and one for the charging cable.
The Razer Mamba works independently in wired mode without its charging dock-sized receiver.
- What if you don't have the charging cable with you when the battery runs out? The performance MX comes supplied rechargeable 2000NiMh battery that has a low self-discharge rate (out of the box it runs 5 hours, but after full recharge it runs about a week on average use per charge), which can be swapped with any normal AA battery bought from a convenience store. Just remember to swap it back when charging or else charging alkaline batteries will cause some damage.
- All rechargeable batteries will eventually have to be replaced (3 years down the road and they last minutes per full charge) especially if you plan to sell 2nd hand. This is not a problem for the performance MX as you can easily find new rechargeable AA batteries. The Mamba runs on a rectangular lithium ion battery cell which is not as easy to find.
- What about charging your mouse while the computer is off? You can still charge the performance MX off via a supplied power adapter connected to mains outlet. The Mamba's receiver is also its charging dock but it can only connect by USB and you have to buy your own adapter to connect to mains outlet.
4) Quality, feel, durability, ergonomics:
- The build and materials of Performance MX FEELS like it would last me 4 years. Mamba FEELS less durable.
- Both Performance MX and Mamba are comfortable (for my big hand). Both look cool.
- Performance MX middle click (scroll wheel button) sometimes doesn't respond.
5) Gaming grade:
Firstly let me explain that it's a myth that wireless mice create noticeable latency because of the time it takes for the signal to travel through air to reach the receiver. Radio waves (used by wireless communications) travel as fast as light waves (speed of light) because they are both electromagnetic waves, the only difference is their frequency. If distance were to cause any noticeable latency in a few milliseconds (thousandths of a second), it would have to be at least a few hundred kilometers (such as playing on a server in another country), not the few inches between mouse and receiver.
What really causes the latency is the polling rate of the USB port (how many times per second the computer actually reads the continuous stream of data from the USB port), by default is set at 125Hz (125 times per second) which means there's an 8 millisecond gap between each reading, hence a latency of 8ms. Gaming mice overcome this because their drivers overclock the USB port to a higher polling rate. This has nothing to do with having higher dpi.
- Performance MX may look like a gaming mouse and the setpoint software even has game detection options and settings (adjustable dpi, macros, override mouse acceleration, etc), but the unifying receiver's polling rate is capped at 125Hz (8ms latency). Still I feel it's no excuse for logitech to not utilize the wired mode to bypass the limitation of the unifying receiver and achieve gaming-grade latency with a separate driver. Razer Mamba achieves 1ms latency in wireless mode because its driver overclocks the receiver's polling rate to 1000Hz. I've also used Logitech G9 and I must say that the G9 and Mamba felt snappier than the performance MX.
- Performance MX 1500 dpi is good enough for me. Mamba's 5600 is overkill.
+33points
34out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kungfujoe
from Fairfax Station, VA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Significant downgrade from prior flagship

Date:September 21, 2012
This is a great mouse for anyone who hasn't used Logitech's prior flagship mouse, the MX Revolution. This is its replacement, offered at the same price as the now-discontinued Revolution (which you can still find, but only for a very large mark-up). Unfortunately, while there are some nice enhancements, it's an overall downgrade, disappointing many users of the MX Revolution, myself included (there were over 100 complaints on Logitech's announcement blog before they locked the post down, disallowing further comment).
First, the good:
- The new sensor allows you to use the mouse on any surface, including glass. They're promoting this like crazy, but it seems like it's not really a big deal (hard mouse on hard glass is a recipe for scratches on one or both, if any grit gets between them, so I don't see myself wanting to use it on glass). This new sensor should mean better tracking on all surfaces, though, which is great.
- The new thumb button underneath the rubber is really cool, and very convenient to use.
- The DPI can be changed on the fly if you use the software that the mouse ships with.
- The accessories are very nice - a travel case, a USB charge cord and a USB-to-outlet-power adapter (which presumably can be used with any USB-charging device), and a USB extension cord for the receiver.
- The new receiver is tiny, so there's no risk of accidentally hitting it and breaking it if it's plugged directly into your computer.
- The new receiver is a "unifying" receiver, meaning it'll work with other cordless devices that support it. If you plan to buy another brand new Logitech input device, and if they stick with this interface in the long term, this could be really useful.
The bad:
- What made the MX Revolution revolutionary was the smooth wheel scrolling, which could be activated by a customized "SmartShift" setting - spin it fast, and it'll switch to smooth scrolling mode automatically. Since it was controlled in software, it also meant you could program ANY button to toggle scroll modes. Once you get used to this feature, you'll NEVER want to use a mouse without it. Unfortunately, Logitech dropped the feature, so you'll never again find a new mouse that has the feature. It was replaced by a cheap-feeling mechanical toggle button that cannot be reprogrammed. This is a major step backwards. They claim it was removed because it confused users, but public user comments _unanimously_ say otherwise. I strongly suspect it was discontinued because it was more expensive to implement than the current method.
- The MX Revolution had a cradle, which made it really easy to charge the mouse - drop it in the cradle overnight. The Performance MX replaces it entirely with a power cord, which has a small, fragile plug. This is probably better for travelers and laptop users, but a step backwards for desktop users.
- The Forward and Back buttons were shifted forward on the mouse. Unless you have a very long thumb, this means that the Forward button will require some reaching to use. Their placement on the MX Revolution put both of them in easy reach.
- This mouse's discharge/charge cycle has been inconsistent with the included cord. I instead resorted to replacing the batteries with ones freshly charged in a high-end charger (from LaCrosse) every few weeks. If I didn't, the batteries would stop holding their charge for very long.
- Same button switch as the MX Revolution = same reliability problems. After a bit over 2 years of ownership, the Performance Mouse MX started double-clicking with single clicks of the left (i.e. most-frequently used) button. Thankfully, while Logitech reliability isn't stellar (I've had MANY Logitech devices fail while still under warranty), their customer service is excellent.
Some people decry the loss of the side rocker wheel, but personally, I never found it to be a useful feature on the MX Revolution. Regardless, that wheel served as three buttons (rock forward, back, or press), which have been replaced by the single thumb button that I really like. If you want lots of buttons to assign functions to, the Performance MX has two fewer assignable buttons than the mouse it replaces, which might be annoying.
I got used to this mouse after awhile, but at its price, if I had paid for it, I would return it for something else. Fortunately or unfortunately, Logitech's reliability isn't what it used to be, so my MX Revolution failed just before its warranty expired (the latest in a long string of Logitech devices that have failed right around their warranty expiration for my family), and Logitech's wonderful customer service replaced it with a new Performance MX. I've always found Logitech's customer support to be absolutely top notch (which is why I keep buying Logitech hardware even though it keeps failing), but in this case, their warranty replacement turned out to be a significant downgrade that would not be worth the price this mouse sells for.
Still, this isn't a bad mouse. Whereas I'd give the MX Revolution 4.5-5 stars, I give this one a solid 3 stars. For the price and features, though, 3 stars aren't enough to make this mouse a good deal. There are sure to be better mice than this available at this premium price point from other companies.
(Note that this review is based on an almost-identical review I posted on another major retailer site)
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Indy
from Seattle, WA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great mouse, maybe not super durable

Date:November 6, 2011
I will have used this mouse (almost daily) for two years in December. I chose this mouse initially because it is one of the best/only wireless mice with such a large ergonomic profile. I still love this mouse but there are a few issues with long term use.
Short review: Works great, ergonomics are fantastic, highly recommended. Left clicker is wearing out resulting in it registering zero or multiple clicks each time I press the button and the right clicker is showing signs of the same problem (very frustrating for gaming). It is also nearly impossible to hold the button down (ie highlighting text), this just registers repeated random clicks.
Pros:
It is easy to use/reach all buttons, the only complaint being the bottom thumb button is somewhat hard to press and does not have a responsive click. Easy to assign commands to the buttons and scroll with the provided software.
I have never noticed a performance problem with wireless lag or interference. It does take a few good shakes to wake up when its asleep but it takes a while for it to start sleeping (more than 5 minutes of inactivity) Battery lasts several days on a charge (with regular use) which is plenty for my purposes. Lasts much longer if not used or turned off. I have heard complaints that it does not last as long as previous Logitech models.
Features are solid and not overly flashy. The Darkfield works impressively well, tested on a clear glass coffee table with no noticeable difference from a solid surface, but I cannot attest to regular use on such surfaces. The scroll wheel is also quite handy, I use the fast scrolling quite often and it doesn't take long to get used to.
The ergonomics are fantastic. I love heavy, bulky mice that can hold my whole hand comfortably. The weight is very nice, its on the heavy end of mice. I feel it gives more control and smoother tracking than a lighter mouse. This mouse also has a fairly tall profile which is nice for people with long fingers as they can rest their hand while still being able to reach the buttons and move the mouse around.
Cons:
Again, the bottom thumb button can be hard to push and doesn't give a very responsive click, sometimes I can't tell if I have pressed it or not.
I feel the price point is a little high and Im afraid most of it comes from the Darkfield technology that I don't really have much use for.
While the quality is high initially, feels solid looks nice, it starts to fall apart too early for its price point.
The scroll wheel could spin freely when unlocked when I first purchased it but about a year after purchase it started to stick. Initially the wheel would spin for nearly a minute with one flick of the finger, once it was sticky it would barely make it once around. This problem eventually fixed itself with normal use but is still slightly less smooth than initial purchase. I suspect this was caused by the rubber around the wheel, when it was sticky the rubber was looser than when I bought it and now it is snug again. This only affected the fast scrolling, normal scrolling (where you can feel it clicking as it moves) was completely unaffected.
The metal trimmings have started degrading. The metal on the scroll wheel is rusting on one side from continued exposure to my middle finger. The metal on the thumb side is developing a strange pattern of small holes in it where my thumb/palm rests (making me suspect its just shiny plastic) These are purely cosmetic however and cause no performance issues.
The biggest downside is that the left clicker is wearing out. Each time I press the button it can register anywhere from 0 clicks to 2+. This is not detrimental to casual use, it gets mildly annoying while web browsing, but for gaming it becomes extremely frustrating. Holding the button down is almost impossible at this point as it just registers many random clicks, so highlighting text for example is extremely difficult (I just use the keyboard at this point).
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jcp
from Portland, OR
Expertise: Tech Savvy

An unfortunate step backwards

Date:February 5, 2010
Summary: This mouse has promise, but in the end, is disappointing. Compared to its predecessor, the MX Revolution, the new Performance Mouse MX comes up short.
Pros: The new laser technology really does work remarkably well. I have not experienced any misreading problems that occasionally appeared with earlier laser mice.
I am also in favor of the USB charging cable. It eliminates two frustrations with the MX Revolution: Needing to stop using the mouse to recharge and the increasingly finicky electrical contact between mouse and charger.
I also applaud the USB receiver. It is handy to only need one, tiny receiver to work with multiple devices. Seamlessly switch between a large mouse on your desk, a portable one when working elsewhere, and the same model of wireless keyboard at work and at home. No wires, no mucking about with driver settings, all with just one receiver that barely protrudes from the side of your laptop. Well done, Logitech.
The switch to a NiMh battery has both pros and cons. On the pro side, the battery is replaceable. Our business has 8 MX Revolution mice of varying ages. The older ones no longer hold a charge for even a full day's use. The ability to simply replace a worn out battery is a plus. On the con side, the Performance MX battery does not last nearly as long as a good-condition MX Revo battery. You'll need that USB recharging cable more often than you might like.
Cons: A first quibble is with the redesigned shape and size. After a long day working with the new MX, my hands and fingers hurt. I do have larger than average mitts; ask one of my colleagues and she'll tell you that the new shape and size are much better. Those of you with large hands may not be happy.
The thumb zoom button is nice in theory but a pain in practice. My thumb keeps hitting it accidentally and I ended up disabling the button. Again, this may be a result of big fingers.
My primary complaints, however, are the elimination of several very useful features from the MX Revolution. The first is the thumb wheel. As others note, it ain't there no more. I used it on a daily basis with the MX, programmed to a number of different functions depending on the application set I used.
Next on the list is the lack of automatic ratcheting/free-wheeling mode changing for the wheel. This negates much of the value in having the two modes. The ability to go from clicking line-by-line through a document to flying through the pages is something you will really miss. The time, effort, and finger contortions necessary to switch between scrolling modes is no longer worth the benefit.
The scrolling mode change button replaces what had been the one-touch search button on the MX Revolution. This again proved to be a button whose absence I did not fully appreciate until it was gone. Instantly being able to Google (or insert your favorite search engine) a word or phrase simply by highlighting it is remarkably useful.
The final insult is that you can no longer set the scrolling behavior--which mode to start in, how many lines per click, etc.--for individual applications. Some apps are much easier to use in smooth-scrolling mode, others reward click-to-click. You may want to scroll several lines at a time through web documents, while one line (or page) at a time is more useful for Word and Acrobat documents.
I purchased a Performance MX to replace a MX Revolution that started double, triple, or quadruple clicking with the left button. The Performance MX may be one of the best mice no available, but it can't compare to the mouse it replaced.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ficko66
from East Lansing, MI
Expertise: Tech Savvy

NICE

Date:April 18, 2010
I got this mouse as a replacement when my old Revolution died.
If I'm home, I'm probably using my mouse. All day. Every day.
Typical logitech quality: Amazing. The mouse is all-around tough. No issues out of the box. Easy to set-up. Plus it's cool looking.
Whether it's glass, a mirror, a crazy design, Darkfield tackles it.
Free-spin is great and I actually prefer the toggle button. My revolution was inconsistent on when it would kick in if at all (I had more than one Rev and they were all like that) and I wanted a toggle for it without losing my middle mouse button.
You think you're giving up a lot with the automatic free-spin but you're not. I have more control now and it requires no thought to do. Within the first week I was automatically switching from click-to-click to free-spin and back. It's not hard to do or anything.
Some complained about the mechanical toggle, but it's still going strong for me. There is no reason to think that the toggle will fail before anything else on this mouse does.
Setpoint is awesome. It allows me to make my mouse do whatever I want. EVERY button except the toggle and wheel up/down is programmable. I can actually make wheel left L and wheel right O and then wiggle the wheel back and forth and it'll say LOLOLOL.
If there are default functions that you don't like or are getting in the way CHANGE IT-- use setpoint to make it do what you want. For example, I switched the Forward and Back functions so I don't accidently bump Back while working and I got rid of zoom and made that my document flip. You can program one-touch search and all that still. Very easy.
Plus some buttons can be programmed to have different functions depending on the program you have open. So my 'Back' button when I play Call of Duty is actually 'O' and when I push it I throw a grenade or whatever.
At first, I was sad to see the thumb wheel gone but I quickly learned that you have more options w/ the 2 additional buttons that replaced it. And like I said before, with setpoint, I still have the document flip.
The USB recharge cable is awesome. Basically every so often, your mouse has to be a corded mouse for an hour, then it can be a wireless for days. Beats the heck out of the old Revolution cradle.It also comes w/ a wall adapter, but I dunno why'd you'd ever need it. If you need your mouse, there's probably a powered USB really close by. I guess it lets you shut your computer off and charge it overnight.
The Performance does not hold a charge as long as the Rev BUT I have never had to wait on the Performance to recharge-- Ever. Plus no cradle contacts to go bad on you like on the Rev's charger (which is actually what I have to thank for this sweet replacement).
The Performance is also very comfortable. Its nice and big so its easy to get ahold of despite my short fingers. The only button I have to barely reach for is the default Forward button. Your bottom will get tired of sitting before your hand gets tired mousing with this guy.
In a nutshell, if you use the software, you can make this mouse do what you want, when you want, as fast as you can do it.
I think there's a lot of animosity towards the Performance since it took the Revolution off the market and the Rev was a great piece of hardware. If you give this mouse a chance tho I think you'll be really happy with it.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mike
from Maryland
Expertise: Tech Savvy

An Inferior Warranty Replacement

Date:May 14, 2012
I had a MX Revolution with a problem (the left mouse button was starting to fail) so it was replaced under warranty but the MX Revolution is no longer available so after I sent my MX Revolution to Logitech I was sent the Performance MX. This mouse is nowhere close to as good as my MX Revolution was for several reasons.
The Bad:
1. I thought the hyper fast scrolling worked perfectly on the MX Revolution but now there is an extra button to make it use or not use the hyper fast scrolling which alone isn’t a problem but now sometimes the scrolling doesn’t work properly which I expect to be due to the current software rather than the mouse itself (though the software is part of the mouse these days). In some cases I no longer have any scrolling (usually this would be in webpages that worked fine before) and in others when I scroll at all I jump to the top or bottom with no steps between (usually that would be when browsing files).
2. The Zoom button is in a horrible location making it more difficult to get to the Forward and Back buttons and more likely to hit Zoom (which I personally never use).
3. The Window Switching button under the thumb is very easy to hit accidentally and with my dual screen setup the stupid software ends up showing the windows to select on half of one screen and half of the other screen making it little more than useless. If all it did was to use the Window Switching feature built into Windows 7 then it wouldn’t be as much of a problem but being so easy to hit it the button by accident it would still be a nuisance. On my old MX Revolution it had a sweet second wheel at the thumb to use for Window Switching and it worked PERFECTLY because it was not something that I hit by accident and it used the Window Switching built into Windows 7.
4. The shape of this mouse is not as comfortable due to the extended part on the lower right, but perhaps I just need to relearn how to hold a mouse (which should not be something a mouse should force a person to do).
5. The extension for the wireless receiver is not a true USB extension cable, it will not work with other USB devices I tried. I would have preferred that a normal USB extension cable be included since I could use that elsewhere if not for its intended purpose.
Not everything about the mouse is bad.
The Good:
1. I can use the mouse while charging it which I could not do with my MX Revolution.
2. The time using the mouse between charges is so far good (I’ve been using the mouse on its first charge for a month or so)
3. The wireless hub included is small and supposedly it can connect several more devices but I have not tried to connect anything else to it since this mouse is the only device I have that uses it.
4. The mouse comes with a extension cable in case the signal in back of the PC is too weak, but I haven’t needed it.
Overall its not a bad mouse but when I compare it to the MX Revolution I've been using for the past three years I still prefer my old MX Revolution to the "equivalent" they sent as a replacement and I would give it 3 out of 5 (though my use of the MX Revolution has raised my standards so if I never had my revolution I might have rated the Performance MX as a 4 out of 5).
Ignorance is bliss (also expensive, dangerous, and a poor excuse in general).
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lost Creation
from Toledo, OH
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Not a good replacement for the MX Revolution

Date:September 11, 2009
Pros:
- This is a solidly built and attractive mouse.
- Pressure sensitive side-scrolling is a nice improvement on a hardly used function.
- The rechargeable battery is replaceable, and you can use the mouse while charging.
- Darkfield technology, Dual Sensitivity modes, and Unified Receiver are all excellent improvements. None of them, however, were applicable to my usage scenario.
Cons:
- No SmartShift technology. For me this was the easiest way to switch from click-to-click to free spin on the Revolution. Flick hard, and I'm going through the page very quickly. With this mouse, you need to manually switch between wheel modes -- SmartShift is not available under Set Point's scroll wheel options. In my time with the mouse, it was more convenient to simply scroll through the click-to-click, and I rarely switched modes.
- "Zoom" button is a poor replacement for the thumb wheel. On the revolution, one "click" zoomed in, out, or reset the zoom. Now you need to click to enter the zoom mode, scroll the wheel to zoom in or out, and click the zoom button again to end zoom mode. Middle-click while in "zoom mode" does not reset the zoom level. It was awkward trying to hold the zoom button in while scrolling the mouse wheel.
- SetPoint does not allow application-specific remapping of the "Zoom" button.
- "Back" and "Forward" buttons are too far on top of the mouse. You can't just move your thumb up a little ways and hit the buttons with the side of your thumb like you could with the Revolution, you have to move it out, up and over to reach these buttons.
- "Menu" or app-switcher thumb button is hard to click and too far away from the back, forward, and zoom buttons. Clicking it may have been something I would have gotten used to, but the placement would have remained poor.
Conclusion:
The MX Revolution was an amazing mouse hobbled by weak software and poor default settings (middle click, search button, in particular). The Performance MX mouse has much better default settings in comparison, but sacrifices too much of the most innovative technology from the revolution to make this mouse feel next generation. The zoom wheel and SmartShift were intuitive designs that should have been brought forward with this mouse.
While the charging solution is incomparably improved, performance and convenience while using the mouse is more important, IMO, and leave the Performance Mouse MX a weak alternative to the Revolution in comparison.
Looked at on its own, this is a good -- but not great -- mouse, which I felt overpriced for my usage requirements (i.e. no need for Darkfield, DPI switching, or the universal receiver). In comparison to the Revolution, it is not a mouse I would recommend.
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RW_in_CMH
from Columbus, OH
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Corrects the MX Revolution's deficiencies.

Date:September 12, 2009
I've owned a number of Logitech mice -- among others, I've owned the G5, the G9, the VX Nano, the MX1000, the MX Revolution, and now, the Performance Mouse MX. I believe I'm qualified to pass judgment on Logitech's newest pointing device, the Performance Mouse MX.
For starters, the Performance Mouse MX ("PMMX") improves upon the MX Revolution's ("MXR") somewhat kludgy mechanism for switching the scrollwheel from a freewheeling mode to a clicky "detent" mode. Where the MXR required the user to firmly press on the scrollwheel to change modes (often resulting in the mouse generating a scrollwheel button-press event rather than changing the scrollwheel mode), the PMMX uses a button just behind the scrollwheel to switch between those two modes. This is a far less frustrating method, and is also better implemented than the G9 mouse's bottom-mounted mode change button which required that the mouse be turned over to switch modes.
The PMMX also improves upon the MXR's charging design considerably. While the MXR required you to put the mouse in the charging cradle to recharge its battery -- thus rendering the mouse unusable for the duration of the recharge cycle -- the PMMX can be recharged on the fly while the mouse is in use by attaching a micro-USB cable to the front of the mouse and plugging that cable either into a powered USB port or into the back of an included AC-to-5V USB adapter. While Logitech's charging solution isn't nearly as elegant as Microsoft's implementation on their Sidewinder X8 (which uses a thin wire with a magnetized "charging paddle" which grips the front end of the mouse fairly tightly), it is equally as functional and is a quantum leap over the MXR's charging cradle.
Additionally, I could detect no discernable "wireless lag" between the mouse and the PC. The MX1000 had considerable lag as well as occasional glitches in how it interacted with the OS (sometimes resulting in the mouse tracking over only part of the desktop); the MXR still had some lag, enough to make it difficult to play certain "twitch" games (first-person shooters, for the most part), but no show-stopping tracking issues. Also, the PMMX seems to track more smoothly across all the surfaces I've tested it on (wood, cloth, mousepad, glass tabletop, glass patio door) than the MXR ever did; the MXR won't track reliably across glass on its best day, while the PMMX seems to be surface-agnostic, as it tracks equally reliably across every surface I've tested.
All in all, the Performance Mouse MX is a worthy successor to the MX Revolution, and would also serve well as a wireless gaming mouse. Its few flaws are outweighed by its improvements on its predecessor. I heartily recommend it.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
voxware
from North Carolina, NC
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best mouse for my needs.

Date:February 7, 2010
Let me start by saying that my previous mouse was an MX 518. I was never too pleased with the look of the mouse especially when the grip on the side started pealing off but the performance was pretty solid. This is my first wireless mouse though so I can not compare it to something like the MX Revolution. What sold this mouse for me was the replaceable, rechargeable battery that works while plugged in. In that respect, the MX Revolution was not a thought for my needs.
I plan on using this mouse mostly wired as well.
So the pros
- This mouse looks sleek and beautiful. Jaw dropping.
- The replaceable, rechargeable battery that works while plugged in by either USB or AC(in conjunction w/ receiver). Selling point.
- A lot of buttons, even a horizontal scroll ability which is new for me.. though I remapped it to control volume.
- The scroll wheel is a huge step up from my old Logitech mouse.
- The tracking is pretty solid. I was actually having some precision problems initially, then I realized it was my mouse pad. It's like a whole different beast on just the desk itself.
- The packaging is very nice as well as the goodies that come with it, including the very nice accessory bag. Now I have a way to charge my iPod using AC power.
- On/Off switch.
The indifferent
- The weight and general ergonomics. This may take some adjusting to for gaming. In general it feels pretty good though.
- The unifying receiver. This in itself has some pros/cons so it's almost a neutral trade off.
- Another review mentioned the feet wearing quickly. I can't comment on this since I've only had the mouse for 2 days but I hope to see some quality reliability. I also hope the grip doesn't peal like my old MX 518. I worry about the durability of the USB charge cable too so hopefully that doesn't endure too much wear and tear from frequent use.
- Battery life seems to be a concern of many people. I can't comment since I use it mostly wired and I haven't had it too long.
The cons
- The sleep function is fine but it occurs for me even when it's plugged in. In takes a fraction of a second to recover and it's really not a huge problem for me but I just wish it performed more like a wired mouse when plugged in. This is a general con since it's also related to the performance.
- The button placement for Mouse4/5 and Zoom.
- The Mouse 3 button is very iffy as well as horizontal scroll.
- I'd like a bit more customization from the SetPoint software, like the Charge light, Sleep function and program exceptions for the Application Switcher button.
- I thought I paid a lot for my MX-518, this mouse costs a pretty penny.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jalharad
from Bellingham, Wa
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Product, works better then advertised

Date:June 18, 2010
First off, the molded shape has reduced my carpel tunnel problems.
So upon opening this product i've been on a quest to find what it does and doesnt work on.
Glass: Works ok, slower then normal
Smooth Fabric: works great, tends to pull the fabric a bit as you slide it
microfiber/other woven materials: does not work well, very slow speeds, and the tracking can jump around as you pass over different woven strands
Books: works great, significantly different texture or color can change how the tracking works
Cardboard: works well, so long as its a flat surface (like a box) and one color, different colors will change how fast the tracking is as you pass over them (going from red to blue)
carpet: does not work, to many surfaces
Tile/laminate/lenoleum: works great, same issue with texture and color as mentioned above.
Wood: works good, same texture/color issues
cement: works, but very slow. May be because all the cement i can find is on the road and is a very rough texture.
walls: works great, texture issue applies, color not so much (i dont have huge color changes in my walls, they are all white)
Battery Life is about 19-20 hours of constant use. Can be charged and used at the same time (WONDERFUL features!)
even after all the testing i have done the foot pads on my mouse are looking great, no bent ends, doesnt grab anything.
With software installed you can change the scroll wheel to scroll from 1+ lines (i havent tested the upper limit, currently set to 3, the default), on the free motion selection, i have been able to get to over the 70,000th cell down in excel 2007 on a single spin (crazy to watch)
With the software installed you can change what the buttons do (very interesting to swap the right and left buttons, then let someone else use the computer....very funny!)
You get a pleather case with this mouse, it contains the charging cord, a usb extender (that looks really funny) and a few other things. All cables have velcro strips to keep them tidy inside the case. Case is great to carry around, makes it very easy to find the right cord in the laptop bag (or for me, my school bag)
Price was fairly high, but I'm a strong believer in "You get what you pay for" you can also find it on sale at different times of the year at consumer stores (Bestbuy, Frys, Target) and online (Newegg.com, tigerdirect.com, amazon.com)
Deffinately worth the purchase. BTW: i have tested it on water, it will track on a smooth surfaced water (but quickly deteriorates because, well your touching the water with the mouse)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Delightful

Overall a pretty nice mouse to use.

Date:August 19, 2011
This is my first ever "proper" mouse that I've ever used, but that doesn't mean that I can't identify the pros and cons of this particular product. I'm fairly picky when it comes to details.
So I've used this mouse for a while now and one thing I have to say is that whenever I look at it, I still get that sensation of owning a brand new and beautiful electronic.
Pros:
-So the first and foremost thing that I like about this mouse is the design, very slick, very elegant. And it feels nice and firm to the touch.
-The button on the thumb rest is an amazing feature. For those who are using Mac like me, this is a great button to activate Expose, in replacement of the four-finger swipe on the trackpad. So far, this feature has proven to be the most useful of them all to me personally.
-Mouse design is quite big so those with a large hand will have no problem using this mouse, However, for those with a small hand, this mouse might be too big for you.
-Thumb rest is very helpful, I like it.
-Micro Gear Scrolling wheel is also a very nice feature. Love the smooth scrolling.
-Battery is also quite strong.
-Packaging comes with a variety of items to support your mouse.
Cons:
-When the scrolling wheel is out of gear, I've noticed that it can sometimes roll on its own (not by much), this might not be a serious problem, however, when if you are playing games, and the scroll wheel has a function to it, then it could be a problem.
-Zoom button is quite annoying as default. You can zoom on a page by holding the zoom button and then scroll the wheel, but, the zooming is not smooth and zooming can go out of hand sometimes, so that's a pretty bad thing. Logitech should do something about this. This is the reason why I reassigned it to mouse sensitivity.
-Back and forward functions, for some reason,does not work for Firefox or any browser for that matter. Whenever you use it, it changes instead the Space. However, this function does work on Finder.
-Could have came with a pinky rest and some replacement feet for the mouse.
-Could have made the scrolling wheel more sturdy so that it doesn't rock about.
Overall: I like this mouse very much, it has definitely proven to be very helpful in many ways both in productivity and gaming, however, at a price of about $99, small yet important flaws should have been avoided. This mouse could have been even more useful than it already is without these
I definitely recommend this mouse.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mousemaniac
from Southern California
Expertise: Tech Savvy

First Impressions/Review from Hardcore Mouse User

Date:July 13, 2011
Logitech Performance Mouse MX
7/12/11
ABOUT ME:
I use only one mouse for everything; from working on files in Word, Excel, Photoshop, Flash, Dreamweaver, etc., to web-surfing, online gaming and general use. In other words, I’m a heavy user and this thing will be diversely tested.
PROS:
1. Darn comfortable. The large size fits my hand well (flat hand size about 8”x3.75”). I tend to palm rather than claw, but mouse is really very comfy with either grip. Claw-grip users will like the well-placed grooves on the nicely textured rubber sides, and palmers will really like the thumb “tunnel.”
2. Good weight.
3. Seems very nice for graphics editing and online gaming, though I admit I haven’t had time to try it extensively yet.
4. Mouse itself slides around smoothly and wireless cursor reacts instantaneously.
5. Programmable buttons offer great versatility.
6. Looks pretty sweet on the desk and build quality is good. All buttons click/press nicely.
7. Tracks on everything except air and mirrors.
8. Got it on sale from the manufacturer and free shipping to boot.
CONS/SUGGESTIONS:
1. Takes a little getting used to coming from a plain-jane 3-button symmetrical style mouse.
2. Comfort- could be even a bit bigger, especially toward the base of the palm.
3. Weight- could possibly be a bit lighter.
4. Scroll wheel functions are slightly tricky to utilize. This probably will just take more getting used to.
5. Right click button on mine is a tiny bit lower than left button. It feels fine, so maybe it’s supposed to be this way?
6. People with small hands may not like this mouse since it is relatively large.
7. Lefties are screwed.
8. Had to pay sales tax though it shipped from TN (I’m in CA).
9. WISH IT CAME WITH TRAVEL POUCH THAT THE MOUSE WOULD FIT IN!
WHAT I WANT TO SEE MOST OF ALL:
Software updated to allow every button full programmability for all applications. For example: At present (Control Center 6.30.41) the zoom and thumb button cannot be programmed to respond differently for Photoshop (rather than their general settings). A mouse this advanced (and expensive) should have FULL programmability.
NOTE: I turned SetPoint option for smooth scrolling off to prevent the mouse from “bouncing” the top of web pages down a few bars when the scroll-wheel clicks were engaged.
CONCLUSION:
Try to get it on sale, but definitely buy one if you’re a major mouser; you won’t be sorry!
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sea
from California

This mouse lives up to its name

Date:September 14, 2009
The Darkfield laser technology isn't hype. It is extremely responsive and glides without any hesitation on any surface. I used the mouse on a wood desk, a vinyl surface (a skinned netbook), and a glass tabletop and it worked perfectly.
The mouse comes with a recharging cable instead of a dock. At first I was thinking I would miss having a dock, but the ability to use the mouse while it is recharging, which you can't do if the mouse is in a dock, is a big plus. The charger uses a micro-USB connector, which I guess is good, but most of the other gadgets I use still use a mini-USB connector.
The Unifying receiver is truly amazing. It's tiny (sticks out less than an inch) and you can use it with other Logitech Unifying devices. I plugged the receiver into the back of my desktop computer, which is a good 10 feet from my desk and not in clear sight of my mouse, and the mouse still worked perfectly. I didn't need to use the included USB extender.
The mouse is a little larger and higher than some, but it fits comfortably and naturally in my hand. The deep contour for the thumb seems to help me position the cursor with more accuracy. The clicking sound is a little louder than other mice I've owned, but that's not really a problem for me.
All of the buttons seem to be well placed and useful. It’s easy to switch between ratcheted (click-by-click) scroll and hyperscroll. Hyperscroll is great for quickly navigating long documents. The forward\back buttons are also useful. The back button is easy to press, but you do need to move your hand slightly for the forward button. There's a "hidden" Application button under the thumb (just press down) which I actually like. It brings up rather large pictures of all your running applications so you can easily see and switch to a different application. I like this better than using Alt+Tab or even the Windows+Tab function in Vista. The Zoom button I found less useful, probably because I'm already so use to holding down the Ctrl key and using the scroll wheel to zoom in and out. However, the Zoom button allows you to do this with one hand.
This is easily the best mouse I’ve used, and it’s worth the price if you’re in the market for a high quality, laser desktop mouse that works on all surfaces.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CTXADM
Age: 35 to 44
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Three steps back

Date:November 30, 2013
I needed a replacement for my aged MX Revolution. This is not supposed to be about the MX Revolution, but I just have to say that imho the Revo was the best mouse ever made, period. Unfortunately, the Performance Mouse MX is FAR from the Revo’s perfection.
First of all, the PMMX’s shape, even though only slightly different from the Revo at first glance, turns out to be considerably different, and much less ergonomic. Somehow, everything that felt just right with the Revo, now suddenly is not quite right anymore with the PMMX. Size, distances between buttons, width, height, weight … they’re all slightly different, resulting in a much less comfortable user experience. The Revo almost felt like it was a part of my hand, the PMMX doesn’t.
Second, the PMMX’s USB charger cable is a major setback compared to the Revo’s cradle. With a crade, the mouse always had a home, a fixed place on the desk where it belonged. The PMMX’s charger cable just adds to the already present mess of cables, and with the cable plugged in, the mouse becomes simply unusable.
Third, the PMMX’s battery life is a joke (a bad one) compared to the Revo. I could work almost a month with the Revo before I needed to recharge, the PMMX’s batteries don’t even endure for a normal work week! Yep, that’s true — when using the mouse on a daily basis at the office, the batteries are drained before Friday comes around.
Fourth, scroll wheel behavior. Several previous poster already commented on this. The Revo’s programmable scroll wheel was one of it’s killer features, why did it go away on its supposedly ”better” successor?
Fifth, the Revo’s thumb wheel, one of its most ergonomic features, was deleted on the PMMX.
Sixth, the PMMX has only 3 LEDs to indicate battery charge, 2 down from the Revo’s five. This doesn’t make any sense at all. Shouldn’t the mouse with the shorter battery life (PMMX) show more precise charge information (i.e. in finer granularity)?
Bottomline: with the PMMX, Logitech fixed what wasn’t broken, and deleted almost all features which made the Revo stand out, resulting in an inferior product lagging far behind the excellence of its predecessor.
Verdict: not recommended.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stormforce
from Northern - New England, New South Wales
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Very, very comfortable for extended use

Date:May 20, 2011
The best feel and fit for my hands after trying quite a few different mice before hand. Software was easy to install in Windows 7 Home Premium - 64 bit. Found the application switch kept getting bumped while gaming, which instantly crashed my favorite games, so I re-assigned it to keystroke "tab" and it was much better thereafter. I also found it to be in a handy position when filling in online forms. I originally re-assigned the push-scroll middle button / wheel to "mouse sensitivity" for "on-the-fly" dpi changes thinking it might be ideally suited to shooter rpg's (800 > 1500dpi) but found it interfered with the rifle scope zoom in/ out action, so I changed it back to the OEM assignment, then re-assigned the "zoom" button, on the side, to "mouse sensitivity" (push to switch dpi) and it too, was better situated for that task, because it is slightly out of the way of my thumb and doesn't get bumped as easily. The forward / back buttons would have been better as a slider or wheel, as in the MX Revolution mouse, as they are too big, the back button is in an easier to use position, than the forward button, for me anyway. I found the sensitivity of the tracking resolution isn't as good as the marketing may have suggested, it's very difficult to get precise positions whilst photoshopping, even at very low dpi rates, but especially so if you use a neoprene, optical / laser type mousepad. I found the best performance was with a super-slick coated, textured, hard surface, mousepad. It took me more than a week to reach a dpi resolution and pointer acceleration level I could live with for normal use. It's extremely responsive when gaming, where every control on it is ideally situated and this is where it really performs and even excels all others, except the G700. The best battery life was reached at 3 days before critical levels were reached. I up-graded the OEM 2000mAh Eneloop battery to a Vapex 2900mAh and now, with normal use at home after work hours, I can get up to five days use before I reach the critical battery level. I don't use the re-charge lead, I use a USB powered AAA/AA charger and swap out with a freshly charged battery as required.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2-bit reviewer
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great mouse once the buttons are customized

Date:February 14, 2010
Changes from the MX Revolution:
- The thumb rocker (zoom?) and aux middle button (search), which I never used, were eliminated. The zoom rocker tended to get in my way more often than not, so I didn't really miss it.
- A zoom button and a windows (?) button was added above and below the thumb area of the Performance MX. Again, I don't use zoom or any of the other features very often, so they're mapped to custom keys on my Mac. Curiously enough, the "zoom" button is mapped to Option, which will do the same thing in Mac OS with the scroll wheel.
- The electronic hyper-scrolling switch was replaced with a mechanical one. This is nice for those who didn't set up their drivers to auto-detect when to switch scrolling modes, but for those who did, there's only one way to switch: the toggle that replaced the search button. I found this way a bit easier to use, but that's just me. A caveat, though: it's not quite as robust as the MX Revo wheel, as over time and heavy use, the wheel accumulates dust and grime (because its mechanism is a lot more open to the outside) and no longer sustains high speeds. I've had my Revo for longer, and its wheel still spins like a champ.
- I'm not sure if it's my mouse, but the tilt buttons don't "click". I can scroll horizontally, but the mechanism makes it more difficult to differentiate between middle button press and tilt.
- The new sensor is AWESOME. What gave my MX Revo fits, this new mouse shrugs off. "You call that a confusing surface?"
- I don't use this mouse very heavily, so I don't know precisely how long the battery lasts.. However, the NiMH battery is easily replaceable, and combines a feature from the old MX series mice-- you can have a few spare batteries lying around in case your battery is low, and you misplaced your charging cable. For that matter, this thing uses a standard micro-USB cable at the top of the mouse, so if you want a corded mouse again (sort of), just plug it in. I suspect that it's just for charging, though.
If this mouse had the wheel of the older Revolution, I'd gladly give it 5 stars. Hopefully the next top-tier Logitech mouse would combine the best features of these mice.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BenJ
from Vancouver, BC
Expertise: Proficient User

Left button fails after 6-12m. Excellent otherwise

Date:May 31, 2012
I've always loved Logitech products, because their quality is awesome. But the same can't be said for this mouse.
I bought my MX performance on 6/12/2010 and started having issues with double clicking around November of 2010 and wrote to logitech requesting a RMA on 10/12/2011. I got a RMA from logitech and received a replacement mouse on 15/12/2011. I was really happy with the communication and the way logitech handled the RMA. I'm now requesting another RMA today (6 months later) for another replacement because of the left clicking issue again.
This isn't a issue isolated to the Performance MX. The MX revolution I owned previously had the same issue. The MX 1000 I used lasted 3 years with no problems. Please bring back the old logitech quality. Just google "logitech performance mouse mx double click issue" to see tons of threads about it.
As for the features, ergonomics, etc... This mouse is superb. It feels comfortable, looks sleek and is a step up from the ergonomics of the MX Revolution. The material quality of the mouse is superb as well. I love the feel of the textured thumb area and the matte feel of the buttons. The mouse also matches my G510, and they look great together. I like how logitech stays away from the gaudy look of other gaming mouses and maintains the professional/modern/sleek look. I mainly use this mouse for document/web browsing as well as FPS gaming, and this mouse is excellent for both. The plug-in USB is awesome and removes any hassle with owning a wireless mouse. The unifying receiver is great, the small size means that you won't accidentally knock it off when your fiddling behind your computer. I wish they would bring back a fuller curved back like the MX1000 though.
This product, aside from the left click issue, is excellent. If you can deal with an RMA every 6-12 months, then there's nothing out there that beats this mouse. I would not recommend this to a friend simply because I wouldn't want him complaining to me that the mouse broke after 6 months, but because I don't mind RMAs, I would buy this mouse again.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DC
from Puyallup, WA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Perfect mouse BUT...

Date:October 19, 2009
OK, first everything that has to do with the mouse itself is outstanding. All the hardware is incredible. The reason I can't give 5 stars across the board is that Logitech Setpoint uses C++ 2005, code that Windows Vista 64 doesn't come with.
I got home, opened the box, plugged it in and thought I'd be good to go because I was using a VX revolution previously with setpoint. Unfortunately the new mouse wasn't recognized, so taking the recommended actions from Logitech, I uninstalled my current version of Setpoint so I could install it fresh from the disk. This is where the problems started, at about 90% complete I kept getting the same error message about the VC8 Libraries. So in accordance to the error message, I restarted the cpu and tried again, same thing.
Next I downloaded the Setpoint Installer from the Website, sadly, the same issue. Come to find out through VERY thorough searching on the internet, I'm FAR from the first person to have this issue. Matter of fact, the solution is posted right here on the logitech forums, but it's not directly referenced from the Performance MX troubleshooting page.
The least Logitech could do is CLEARLY point out that for the effected operating systems, you will need to download a few redistribution of C++ from Microsoft's website and present us with the link up front rather than after a frustrated hour of Google searches.
Better yet, include the redistribution with the software. Even better yet, update Setpoint to use the CURRENT version of the code so this is no longer an issue.
That said, now that my first extremely frustrating night with this mouse is over and done with, I do love it and Highly recommend it.
And for anyone that experiences the same VC8 Library error message I did, here is a link to the forum post you need, hopefully it helps you get going faster than I did.
Post #38 is the one containing the links to the required redistribution.
http://forums.logitech.com/t5/Windows-7-Discussion-Topics/SetPoint-4-80-is-Windows-7-WHQL-certified-and-available-for/td-p/369510/page/4
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Performance Mouse MX
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrickInTheHead
from CT
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Some of the changes are a step backwards.

Date:August 23, 2010
I've been a long time user of the MX Revolution (it's been well over 4 years since I bought it), and my friend purchased one of these and has been revering it as a fantastic mouse. While it is, some of the things that made the Revolution great have been taken out; a huge turn off for me. The freescrolling now has a button that you have to push to enable (where the middle mouse button used to be), instead of just flicking the scroll wheel fast enough. Also, the new chrome look has made it look...odd, and the way the battery levels are displayed is definitely a huge leap back; it's no longer always lit up, and it's got an indicator next to it. The side buttons along the left rim have also gotten substantially fatter and wider, similar to many other mice, whereas the buttons on the Revolution were very slim, and pointed further out instead of being flat, giving them a nice contrast.
While the aesthetic changes like the chrome and the buttons aren't enough to make me avoid purchasing this, the removal of the internal mechanism for the scroll wheel an the battery indicator are (you can argue the battery indicator is an aesthetic change, of course, but to me it seemed more of a feature that they were under the rim and had no "indicator" that's saying "Hey stupid, this is the battery level!").
For anyone else that's as ficky as me where these are an issue, you can still purchase the MX Revolution on Amazon new from WorldWide Distributors.
For logitech, if any of your employees actually read these reviews, you should seriously consider bringing back the scroll mechanism and the way the battery light displayed, because those features contributed to the "minimalistic" (if you can say that for a mouse with 13 inputs) feel of the Logitech Revolution that made it so stylish and functional. Merge the two mice together; keep the new charger, the more refined lazer, and the smaller receiver, and the neat new thumb button, but bring back the overall design of the Revolution; it'll be the greatest mouse ever.
3/5.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 Next>>