Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Wi-Fi Music Players or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Squeezebox™ Radio

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Squeezebox™ Radio

A compact all-in-one network music player&em;that lets you rock the house with digital music.
Average Customer Rating:
4.413 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 92 reviews
5 stars
65
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
81 out of 92(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Squeezebox™ Radio
Review 1 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rcom6
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Didn't buy it for music

Date:July 10, 2012
Okay there are a few of us out here who are news and sports junkies. I've been buying devices to get the BBC since I was in Jr High and am now nearing 70 years of age. Squeezebox and software provide the best access ever to BBC radio programming. I love it plus you can find about anything you want to listen to from anywhere. I carrying it throughout the house and yard and find the portability a tremendous advantage.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Massachusetts Tom
from Sturbridge, MA
Expertise: Proficient User

COuldn't live without my Squeezebox Radio

Date:July 9, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I purchased it for one purpose only, but it has become perhaps one of my favorite electronic devices. I purchased it so I could listed to an AM news radio station in Boston which is almost out of radio reception range from where I live. I listen to it daily while getting ready for work in the morning but the fade and noise was driving me crazy. Ny friend, already a Squeezebox user recommended it to me, so I gave it a try. I was immediately in love with it! I use it everyday and I forget that I'm actually lostening to an internet feed. I also ofent listen to a news radio station in my old home town of Philadelphia and that too is like I'm right there. Beside the radio feed, I have my SiriusXM and Pandora accounts linked. Finally, I have my personal MP3 library accessable as well. I have my Jazz folder stored as one of the presets, so all I have to do is hit the preset, and my personal jazz collection begins playing. I love this radio so much, that I recently cut an outcove into the wall of my bathroom, and installed an outlet in the side of it and that's where my Squeezebox resides. Here's how it looks before I added the trim molding. It's a well made, well thought out product, and I highly recommend it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wave1710
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Worth every penny.

Date:June 23, 2012
I’ve had mine for about 2 years. It’s an extremely well designed and engineered device, I’ve simply never had any issues with it, which is saying a lot considering how sophisticated it is and how demanding I am. A person could easily have 2 or 3 or these.
Not stereo, but the mono speaker is hi-fi (if such a thing can be said) and provides a rich listening experience – much more than one would expect. I primarily use it as an aux speaker for my various mp3 players, and also for the internet radio.
The volume goes from whisper quiet to loud, in 100 steps, using the volume knob, which is perfect, so you get the exact volume you want, even bedside, where most devices of this type are too loud even at the quietest volume. Even though it lacks a tone control, the sound is “engineered” so that it doesn’t need one. Most similar devices have a boomy bass, but not this. Even at quiet volumes the sound is just right.
The various knobs and buttons make it very easy to use, which I prefer over the touch screens. The remote isn’t really necessary. 10 presets would have been nice, or for the 6 presets it does have to access 12 or 18 channels, considering how many internet radio stations there are, but you can access 1,000’s more channels, and other music services, including Sirius-XM, through the other controls. Every internet radio service is accessible, or you can keep things simple and just use your favorites. The built-in software can be updated to include the latest internet radio services as they come on line (but you don’t have to if that’s not your thing).
Another very convenient feature is the display, which can be configured to show the date and time or music/station information. I have the date/time displayed all the time, it’s so convenient.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Squeeze Boxer
from Scituate Mass
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Brings back the Radio Days

Date:May 25, 2012
This devise is a necessity if you have a computer
with a WIFI connection,it will also run off the Ethernet. It receives stations from all over the world and all stations from every state in the country. The price is extremely reasonable for a radio this good. The sound is exceptional and it is fine stereo sound through headphones. As an auxiliary tuner for a stereo receiver it is perfect. This devise receives weather forecasts from all around the world. It is the best piece of audio equipment on the market. News,old time radio entertainment,classical,and popular music,jazz you name it and you got it. Pandora is a great connection on this radio as the stations that you create yourself can be played without a computer. I repeat this radio is not a luxury it is a necessity.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amos

I regret not buy it earlier.

Date:April 14, 2012
The control is very easy and setup is done in a few minutes. The sound quality is very good; especially the treble and bass are much better than a AM/FM radio.
The Android and Iphone remote app is well design and easy to use.
Now I can hear my favourite radio stations around the world and enjoy the rich and clear classical and jazz musics.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grimley
from Montreal Canada
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Could this be it?

Date:March 27, 2012
My third wi-fi radio in as many years. Other units were either cheaply made (Grace) or lacking in technical sophistication (Vtech). As far as the Logitech is concerned, audio quality (for the size) and fit and finish are excellent, as is network performance (excellent cold boot time - about 45 seconds compared to 3 MINUTES for other units). I use the Squeezebox strictly as an "internet radio". I like the presets and the fact that pressing one will start play on the selected channel instantly (from standby). Out of the box, I'm impressed.
Quibbles (all based on internet radio feed operation):
Power switch - turning the unit on (from standby) will bring up the last station and the "Play" button must then be pressed to hear the feed. Pressing a preset button (from standby - as noted above) will begin play instantly. Turning the unit OFF (to standby) will take TWO quick presses once the "screensaver" mode is operating. Pressing and holding the power switch will power the unit right down. Difficult to explain in a manual. Takes practice.
Battery pack (grumble, grumble): An extra 50 dollars for a proprietary battery pack + a remote I don't need? I understand the marketing rationale of it and I know it takes a lot of power to keep a (wireless) appliance like this one going but I would have preferred to use generic rechargeable batteries (even if the radio were physically larger). I have yet to receive the battery (which I had to order separately from Logitech). I trust that it will be as well engineered and robust as the radio.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dreneeps
from UT, USA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Much Better Than apple & itunes!

Date:March 17, 2012
The versatility is more than I ever expected. Though this does have the ability to work with itunes it offers SO MUCH MORE. How about some internet radio? OK. How about just listening to whatever files I have on my computers & network? OK I really can't think of any significant feature or ability this device lacks. The sound quality is also very premium, I plan on buying more to sync and play throughout my property.
I used the word "itunes" deliberately. I used to use it a lot, since day one in fact. It is time to realize what your ipod and itunes won't let you do. I'll openly admit that now that I know what something like a squeezebox offers me I will be avoiding anything that starts with an "i". If you like having no choices about your music, that you own, and your device, and what you can and can't do then go buy an ipod. If you want to have nearly unlimited access to all your music wherever it is, more internet radio than you have time to explore, and still have the ability to use your beloved itunes get a squeezebox. Easily the best audio related electronic device I have ever seen or heard of.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ldillon
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Used it daily for over a year

Date:March 1, 2012
I thought I would use it to stream my large music collection but the Linux software wasn't that good and it's hard to find things in a large collection so I've been using it mostly for Internt streaming radio, which it is really good at. It has a large selection of built-in stations and lets you add custom locations. I wish I had one or two more of these players. Good sound with the built-in speaker (stereo is pointless when the speakers are too close together).
I think that battery + remote "accessory pack" is a little over priced and it's a shame you can't buy them individually. Though, the Andriod app makes a dedicated remote kinda pointless. I also hook it up to my $3000 stereo and it never has any hum or noise. The wirless workes well anywhere in my 3 story house or in the garage.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
City of Oaks
from Raleigh NC
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Across the Street or Around the World !!

Date:February 29, 2012
I found this product rather intuitive in setting up and in daily use. The remote is nice if you're taking a call or want to turn on/off without getting out of bed, if its across the room. The unbridled power of the radio is experienced, when you add the Logitech app to your Android or iPhone. Makes exploring or searching a joy.
The battery is seriously sized right. One charge lasts for almost a full day of use, or multiple days (great for visiting or camping). The six presets are like my car radio, and would only be better if they added a way to switch between 3 or 4 banks of six (would be great for his and her favorites).
One minor improvement needed note, we had a hard time finding the headphone jack until we peeled back the protective shipping film; glad they put it on there, but how about marking the jack with a white ring. Overall we love our Squeezbox, and are thinking about adding one for the Great Room sound system.
I grew up listening to far away stations on shortwave, and this radio lets me listen to the local AM station news programs or explore music from Ireland and Africa. Great sound for a unit its size!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VH
Expertise: Newbie

Best Christmas Present Ever

Date:February 3, 2012
Bought for my husband for Christmas and he said it was the best Christmas present ever! We keep it in our bedroom instead of a full stereo there. Never had any connection problems and plays internet radio, like Pandora, just great!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bikechuck

Love this product

Date:January 23, 2012
The squeezebox radio is one of those few products that have exceeded my expectations.
I have used it everyday since I purchased it. I gave it four stars for features as it would be nice if the battery was included for the price that I paid. I do not care so much about the remote. Note that I did purchase the battery and the remote and I am happy that I did so. It is nice to move the radio from room to room and on my deck without plugging it in.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marcg
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great streaming music player!

Date:January 15, 2012
I bought one of these boxes several months ago as a first foray into streaming music players, and liked it so much that I bought a second one.
I was looking for a relatively inexpensive box that supported a wide range of music formats in addition to supporting internet streaming. I didn't want to buy something that would lock us into a particular vendor's formats or products, which ruled out Apple. A key selling point for me was that the box has front panel controls. While I'd heard good things about Sonos, I didn't want to have to go to a computer or carry around a cellphone to control the player, which I think are your only options with the Sonos.
Sound quality is decent for a box of this size, similar to a good quality small boombox. I purchased the battery pack for one of the players so that we could take it outside, which is nice. A remote is packaged with the battery pack; the remote works, but seems a bit useless since you have to be almost within arm's reach of the box to read the menus.
The menu layout and controls are reasonably easy to use after just a bit of practice.
We listen to a combination of music from our home media server, plus Pandora and streamed versions of our local radio stations. We live in a hilly area with poor radio coverage, and can receive many more stations over the Squeezebox than over the air.
I had no problems connecting it to our home network via WiFi or hardwire. We are running the Media Server on a Lucid Ubuntu box. Our music is stored in FLAC format, which is probably overkill for the Squeezebox, but it sounds good. The linux Media Server software is stable, and it's great to be able to control our two Squeezeboxes centrally, and to sync them, when we want to.
We have not had problems with the boxes losing settings as others here have mentioned, with the exception of when I was initially setting up the first box. I'm guessing the issue is that, if your home Media Server goes offline, the box looks back to the Logitech site for its settings, which could be different from the Media Server at home. If you run the Media Server at home, it's probably best to run it on a machine that's always up.
The iPeng application, available at the Apple Store for a few dollars, works really well for controlling the boxes if you want to control them from an iTouch/iPhone/iPad. I think there's an Android version, too.
Overall, I'm really pleased with this product: convenient, flexible, works as advertised. The only con is that the controls seem a bit flimsy; we'll see how they hold up. If you want a true hi-fi solution, this isn't it, but Logitech doesn't advertise it as such, either.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TLoooo

WOW

Date:January 11, 2012
What a great device. I had a Pandora account and a Rhapsody account which makes this device the best ever.
I am very happy with the sound quality. Easy to add internet stations.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
uncleralphie
from Rural Northern New Mexico
Expertise: Tech Savvy

I chose right one!

Date:January 10, 2012
Squeezebox...you show me something new every time I turn you on. Logitech...you've got a winner here.
Good audio...and ease of operation, once you get it. Took me just a few minutes to get stations when I first plugged the Squeezbox in. Then I downloaded the operating manual from the web site...that all it takes. Read that baby...and enjoy. My box is in the kitchen and pulls it input from the Gateway-Router that's in the office. Wirelessly. No problem.
Great backup too from the Logitech site. Thank you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike G.
Expertise: Proficient User

GREAT Product

Date:January 10, 2012
I purchased my sqeezebox to replace my receiver which could never hold a signal from anything except inappropriate stations. The ease of use and available stations are perfect. I love that I can control the stations and volume from my smart phone. I am buying three more for my other stores.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pir8

Love it

Date:December 27, 2011
I absolutely love this thing! It never fails to please me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VTpugster
from Burlington, Vermont
Expertise: Newbie

A great replacement for my satellite radio!

Date:December 16, 2011
I was tired of paying too much for my satellite radio and after almost a year of missing easy access to music. I saw an ad for the Squeezebox and decided to give it a try. One of my favorite toys this year!!
To have so much music, news and some fun apps at my fingertips makes this purchase a good decision! and all without any monthly charges!!
It was simple to connect to the internet...it took me about 4 minutes to have set up and on a radio station(from the other side of the world!) Also, I easily got my Pandora and Spotify account up and running so quickly!
After reading other reviews I think it's fair to say this little radio puts out a really good sound, better than one would expect from a small source; sure it's not going to tear the roof off, but it's loud enough and sounds great for around the house listening! If you want to blow your roof off there's always the option of the line out on the radio to attach the Squeezebox to a receiver!
The color screen is a nice added touch, it makes the unit feel a few steps above an actual traditional radio.
A lot of things these days feel cheaply made. However this little unit feels sturdy and has heavier than expected feel to it.. it feelsl solid and well built!
One aspect I really like is you don't feel tied to the computer, if your computer is off or you leave your laptop a work you can still connect.. you can also move the unit from room to room without loosing your settings.
To have so many stations from all over the world and have stations that play specific genres makes this unit worth more than I paid.
This is probably a bit long for a review, but I'm very happy with the Squeezebox and can't say enough good about it.
I love, love, love it... great replacement for my satellite radio and it satisfies my music addiction too!!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Maleigh

Very Happy

Date:December 14, 2011
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my husband last year and at first, he wasn't really sure about it, but he loves it now. It's great to be able to listen to Pandora or other internet radio stations anywhere in the house. It's very compact, so easy to take along somewhere. The sound is amazing. I also like that both my and my husband's Pandora accounts can be accessed with a few clicks of the wheel. I know some devices only allow one user information to be entered, but the Squeezebox allows for both of us to have our account information. We just had it on recently to a Christmas station while decorating the tree!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike L.
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Excellent product

Date:November 29, 2011
Bought my first Squeezebox 8 months ago and my second last month. Apps are fantastic (Esp. Tune In Radio and MOG)
While looking at Logitech.com, discovered the Squeezebox app. Makes the experience that much more enjoyable. Highly recommend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Squeezebox™ Radio
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jess

Great Little Machine...Poor sound

Date:November 25, 2011
We got the sqeeze box becuase we wanted to be able to listen to our iTunes around our house, mvoing the music with us from room to room. The Sqezebox does this great. I love that we can control the music from the unit itself. However, after all the other reviews stating the sound sis great, I had high expectations...like a bose. The sound, much to our disapointment sounds like it is coming out of a small box. It is more on par with a boom box you would buy from a box store such as Target. For this reason, we are returning it and spending a bit more for a Sonos so we can get great sound.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next>>