Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Speakers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Speaker System Z523

Logitech Speaker System Z523

A 2.1 speaker system that lets you rediscover the art of listening&em;all around the room.
Average Customer Rating:
4.122 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 49 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
3
38 out of 49(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Speaker System Z523
Review 1 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mark
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Great product

Date:January 3, 2014
I like the audio overall. The speakers are pretty good with mid and higher range notes and very loud when you want them to be. The subwoofer is okay. I sort of expected more out of it. It has a hard time playing lower bass notes. However, the subwoofer can get very loud and for a small woofer it's powerful.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Florin
from Buzău, Romania
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Terrible when it comes to mids

Date:December 13, 2013
I had a pair of Logitech X-230 till the transformer inside started buzzing. Went to get these speakers the Z523 only to be totally disappointed by the sound, the mids are terrible, it sounds kinda metallic and not really there, so i went on and fixed my old X-230 which are awesome compared to these. Now the Z523 sit in a corner collecting dust. Bring back the old line for 2.1 these ones are terrible Logitech and they don`t server well for your name. Total usage was 1 day, couldn`t listen to them more than this.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kdt05b
from Austin, TX, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Great Sound, as Long as You Never Touch the 9-Pin

Date:December 6, 2013
I was very excited to get these speakers and very disappointed when they came. I love Logitech and prefer them for all of my peripherals, but these were a huge letdown. I received a horrible humming feedback when I first plugged them in. I unplugged the 9-pin connector and reseated it, screwing it ALL the way in. This took care of the hum; however as soon as my foot touched the slack cable, the humming came back. The only solution for this was to unscrew, unplug, replug, and rescrew in the cable. This is the first product from Logitech that I would not recommend to anybody.
I may try replacing with the same model in case I simply had a faulty system. I hope I can update my rating to 5 stars when I replace the set I got.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pheidias
Age: 35 to 44
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Good with the right setup

Date:December 4, 2013
I've had these for a couple of years and they're still going strong, though I'm about to replace them. Note that if you plug these directly into your computer and use no EQ, they're miserable to listen to. Here's my setup:
-Coaxial digital from the computer sound card to a cheap but good DAC
-Optical digital from the TV/monitor to the DAC for listening to HDMI devices (cable box and game console)
-From the DAC I run high quality (but still cheap) cables to the subwoofer's RCA connections
-Set the Logitech volume to 11 o'clock to minimize hum from the system
-Set the Logitech bass between 9 and 10 o'clock, because there is far too much bass otherwise
-Place the subwoofer in a corner about an inch from one wall (side) and six inches from the other (back)
-EQ the heck out of it in software (Realtek in my case)
Here's the EQ correction I found after much experimenting:
31Hz and 250Hz: flat
62Hz: steep cut
All other bands: big boost, with a bit less boost around 2k
The result is very listenable and sounds like music. From here you could upgrade to a little T-class amp and bookshelf speakers, as I'm doing.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cosmin
from Bucharest, Romania
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

worked just for 10 minutes

Date:November 29, 2013
worked 10 minutes and then subwoofer died. i'll never buy sound systems from Logitech.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JimS
from Missouri, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Distortion abounds

Date:October 31, 2013
These speakers are no better than a cheap pair of no-name PC speakers. I can hear the mid and high distortion at only half volume. I see other reviews on here claiming good sound, but all I can say is keep your reciept.
I am taking these back, and I bet the replacements won't be Logitech. I use other Logitech products, and am happy with the quality (except for the Boombox, which sounded great but has an issue with the electronics that makes it shut off) but I'm very disappointed with these speakers.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Salim
from North Nazimabad, Karachi, Pakistan
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

when U required extra BASS

Date:September 1, 2013
Truly this set doesn't gives very sharp treble (crisp) sound so much BUT it gives extra deep bass impact sound by Sub-woofer of 21 watts / 5.25-inch down-firing sub-woofer with 5.5-inch pressure driver. i have given it extra amp to test the speaker for lowest frequency but not any distortion noticed, price is little bit higher but quality is very nice so it can be compromised. Keep the bass mode nob at the middle (50 %) & volume at (70 %) that I recommended best balance sound....................................... Z523 is good option.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MustaK
from Ontario, Canada
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

HUMMING - NO LONGER

Date:August 30, 2013
Great speakers - in fact, terrific, for the price!
That is, once I realized to place a 2" polystyrene sheet under the sub - which had been just sitting directly on my office table behind my computer display and keyboard, and causing big time trouble (making my table top into a sound board).
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Djordje
from Zrenjanin, Serbia
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

good speakers but...

Date:February 19, 2013
I bought my speakers in june last year and they worked fine, until a few weeks ago. My right speaker doesn't work when i'm listening to music from my computer. But, when i hook up a cellphone or a mr3 player, it works great. I checked in control panel if the mono sound option was chosen, but the stereo sound was enabled. Please help!
Thanks!
+19points
26out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cRaZyxcOrE

Pretty Good

Date:January 22, 2013
I've just got these speakers and their sound is really good for its value. No humming like the one two posts below me. :)
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tony
from New Zealand
Expertise: Proficient User

Love it

Date:December 12, 2012
great sound, no 'humming' like the previous review just the sweet sound of music.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Code_Merk
from WA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Could be a 5 but...

Date:November 25, 2012
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
That horrid humming just ruins an otherwise "outstanding 2.1 system" (It’s not a 10in sub, but it’s good for a laptop station and what not.) This humming is so bad, I can't lesson to anything with the sub on, or use it only for my old HP laptop, which is the only thing that I can connect it to and it doesn’t make the noise.
But with my iPhone, MacBook, Tablet, etc... It’s nothing but this nonstop humming that only "seems" to go away if you turn the volume up loud. Very displeased that I can't use this system for anything else, the first thing from your company that I didn't like, otherwise I have your keyboards, your mice, your gaming hand system thingy (name escapes me sorry) and don't tend to buy from anyone else as I love the things you guys make. Otherwise I hope that this is just a bad apple that I bought from the store and will swap it out to see if that helps or its the same.
*Disclamer*
BTW this Video is not me but of a guy who has the same issue as I do. Just using it as reff, the video is his.
+4points
16out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leeson

Excellent value

Date:November 16, 2012
I've had these a few years and they've been pretty good little speakers. For the price it's a great value. The sub is pretty powerful and the two speakers sound good too. They''re not great, mind you, but for a hundred bucks you could do a lot worse.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
steveo

4 of 5

Date:November 7, 2012
Overall these are truely computer speakers. For a three speaker set the are priced well. Remember this is only a 40 watt system so if your looking to by a surround sound system for a TV, I suggest you spend the money on a 500 watt system! Overall if your looking for JUST COMPUTER SPEAKERS they are worth it!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sean
from Virginia
Expertise: Proficient User

Really good speakers

Date:October 10, 2012
I got these speakers today. When took them out of the box, turned them on and played some music they sounded BAD. I didn't like them. They sounded like they were distorted, had no treble, no highs, the 360 effect sounded weird and not awesome, but I loved the bass. The bass is the best I've heard on a speaker system at this price. I then played around with my sound card for an hour( Realtek HD so it's not exactly the best) adjusting the equalizer to "powerful" and the environment to "city" and they now sound really awesome. My old speakers were two mid grade JBL's that had awesome highs and mids but not enough bass. I also turned the speakers around so that the rear firing drivers face me because the back speakers sound a little bit more powerful, but still facing frontwards they sound good. I was debating whether to get Harmon and Kardon Soundsticks 2 or Klipsch Promedia 2.1 and I still might switch to something else, but I'm starting to like these speakers. When I say the bass is awesome, I mean I have bass on low and its still sufficiently shaking my room haha. Use an equalizer and the highs and mids sound more crisp. Just don't expect groundbreaking speakers and high clarity with 99 dollar speakers, They're awesome if you're a college kid in a need of a good system for parties and just blasting music.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Se7enUpMustang
from Macon, Georgia
Expertise: Proficient User

Best **** PC sound system I've ever owned

Date:July 20, 2012
I was looking to replace my old (and very cheap) 2.1 system, It was a sad little thing with a 2 inch sub and 8 watts but it served me well for 3 whole years. After looking around I decided that I was going to spend a bit more on a more powerful system instead of getting another weak one. Out of all the 2.1 systems I found this one is by far the best, the satellites provide crisp clear sounds unlike anything I've heard, I can hear leaves rustling, the crunch of gravel and glass under the boots of characters and the soft whispers of the wind. The sub woofer is my favorite part about this system though, With 40 watts pushing a 5 inch sub plus the driver the depth of the bass is amazing as is the volume. I can make cups and plates in the kitchen and tools in my garage rattle with this thing. I can hear and feel it outside even up to 20 feet from my house. The only problem I've had with the system is that the sub vibrates itself out of my desk but that was easily solved with a bit of tape. I wish Logitech would add another input so I could hook another sub to it, I can only imagine how great it would be with 80 watts and two of these sub+driver boxes.
Buy this you wont regret it
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Manhart187
from Copenhagen
Expertise: Proficient User

Mid-tone garbage

Date:July 20, 2012
I bought these speakers for my girlfriend as a gift because of many good reviews, but I was SO disappointet of the sound when I finally heard them
I am amazed how little sound have improved since my first Creative set (Inspire 4.1 4400), a very cheap one indeed, almost same price as this one, and it was back in 2002.
The z-523 offers almost only mid-tone sound, which is horrible for both music and games, and the bass is nothing compared to it's giant size.
My creative set has much smaller speakers and subwoofer, but I think the range of Hz seem larger, and the sound is overall better. The speakers of z523 weigh almost nothing, and feel very cheap in quallity, and you better have space for the sub, cause it is big. I would really suggest people to spend a bit more money on a better set, unless you only listen to techno music, and don't care for sound except for bass. If you like the sound of these, you REALLY don't know anything about sound.
-14points
3out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yardstyle86
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
Expertise: Proficient User

Absolutely the best!!

Date:July 6, 2012
I have used Logitech speakers before and know that they are very good. I decided to get some speakers to go with my new touchscreen computer and the Z523 are just as good as the ones I had before that I paid twice as much for. The sub woofer is superb, the speakers are surround sound without having to get a bunch of speakers on my desk. It was well worth the money. I would expect to pay more for the sound I am getting. The system is easy to set up and use. I connected it to my iPhone and play my music, just one simple unplug and plug in. I am listening to my music now and enjoying it much better!! I love Logitech speakers and will continue to use them for life!!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
user2322
from Slovenia
Expertise: Proficient User

Excellent!

Date:June 22, 2012
Got these for only 40 € in a small web store. I have just one word for them: excellent.
Easy to install, just connect 3 cables and a power cable and you're good to go.
Volume and bass control are at the reach of the hand on a computer desk.
Sound is incredible, music can be played very loud and clear, great for movies and FPS - good for some COD geeking :)
And down-beating adjustable bass is amazing, you can tune it up to the point the whole room will shake. Best buy!
(Recommend placing the subwoofer in front in some corner and try to have your computer's sound loud enough you keep the volume indicator on the speakers about in the middle.)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MIA
from Waco, TX
Expertise: Newbie

Impeccable Product

Date:May 27, 2012
Due to many competitors, this product is top rated for the size , price and usage of it. Do not assume that you will receive movie theater quality sound but you will receive clear sound with a fantastic bass sound for the amount of money you will spend. I was able to use these speakers for a house party of 57 people and I assure you that everyone heard the fun and excitement of music. You will truly enjoy and feel confident of your purchase. Have fun with it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>