Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Harmony Remotes or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Harmony® 900

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Harmony® 900

A universal remote that lets you control your home-entertainment devices&em;even when they're hidden.
Average Customer Rating:
3.421 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 107 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
15
3 stars
14
2 stars
22
1 star
15
60 out of 107(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harmony® 900
Review 1 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wazzugreg
from Richland, WA, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Very Good Product So Far...

Date:January 17, 2013
:-Pioneer Elite SC-65 Receiver -Pioneer Elite M-10X Amplifier -Pioneer Elite BDP31FD Blue Ray -Axiom 60 Theater System speakers -Direct TV Genie Box
After considering an RF remote for years in order to clear the clutter from my family viewing room, I finally jumped on a Harmony 900. I researched many remotes and found this to be the best option for the price. I had to admit, I was a little hesitant given some of the reviews. However, I'm fairly tech savvy so thought I'd give it a shot. So I took a weekend and moved my entire system (other than plasma TV) into an adjacent room, set it up an an audio rack versus entertainment center, put in an old-work dual gang port, pulled wire, and had it roughly connected by Sunday night. Set-up of the 900 was not difficult--though the software had a couple of loading glitches and updates but nothing I couldn't work through. So...thus far everything is working perfectly! I have fairly high-end Pioneer Elite equipment and it has enjoyed its marriage to the 900 well. I have not had time yet to get into more specific specialized commands as I've only been up and running a week. I will get to it eventually however. Nonetheless, the TV (through the 900 using IR) and Direct TV Genie (RF) work great together with no delays. When I throw in the TV audio to output through my receiver, it also is perfect. I'll report more as time goes on. But for now, I'm impressed and the system is working as Harmony intended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Marc M
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Expertise: Proficient User

Had Problems

Date:January 2, 2013
We went through 2 remotes in the last 2 years and both are no longer working. Honestly, after our experience, I would
not comfortable buying this product.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DoubleTap
from California, USA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Simply Amazing!

Date:December 25, 2012
Ignore the negative reviews. these people must have a mental condition preventing them from properly using this remote.
Setup is AMAZINGLY Simple!. This remote does exactly what the Mfg claims and MORE!. the customization you can do is almost mind blowing. it turns on what should be turned on and off what isnt being used! and automaticaly switches my Tv's input to what ever component is requested to use! I AM BLOWN AWAY BY THIS REMOTE!. If you can't figure it out put down the remote and step away!. Logitech made this as simple to use as can be. if you can't, Don't blame the remote. Look in the mirror and you'll see the problem.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MHR
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Impossible to set up

Date:December 12, 2012
I have 3 Harmonys
They take weeks if not months to set up if you can ever get them right.
You will never get them to control everything properly. The remote that comes with your cable box will do all the basics & is 1000 times easier to set up.
-55points
3out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
401kjay
from Wisconsin
Expertise: Proficient User

Good remote... beware of battery

Date:November 27, 2012
This is a good remote. If you keep the remote in the charger cradle for extended periods of time, the battery will expand and fry the remote. So only use the cradle when the remote needs to be charged.
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alan J.
from Long Beach, CA
Expertise: Newbie

Owner for 4 Years

Date:November 24, 2012
I have had very little trouble with this remote. Yes, sometimes not all the devices don't turn on when a particular request is made and I have to go through the help button to turn them on. This is a small inconvenience for the benefits of not having to be in direct line of site to my devices.
Only once in four years have I had to update the remote so that it would continue working. I have no complaints.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mark

Don't do it

Date:November 18, 2012
Simply put. Worst purchase ever! Throw your 400 dollars in the trash. At least when it's gone you don't have to be reminded every time the remote breaks that you blew your money. Can I get a full refund?
-31points
11out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hayward350
from Toronto, ON
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Good device, bad support interface

Date:November 6, 2012
My 3rd remote - I like the device. But the software and configuration are stuck in 1996 and barely work on a Mac. In fact I have to run Windows version to actually update the device. I really like the Harmony concept but Logitech haven't moved the needle on usability and simplicity.
-2points
7out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DKay

Not Reliable

Date:October 10, 2012
After one year I started having trouble with it. In two years the screen would just turn white about once a week and you had to reset everything. After three years it is unusable. That's over $100 per year. Not worth it. I have an older H659 that is like 10 years old and still works great, so Logitech is capable of making a nice product but I would stay away from this one.
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
tasker
Expertise: Proficient User

Unreliable and Frustrating

Date:September 12, 2012
I have had mine for about 6months and have found it to be totally unreliable. For instance I have it set up for 3No devices, TV, DVD & Amp, should be easy shouldnt it. 20% of the time all 3 will turn on at the same time (good). 10% of the time the DVD wont come on (bad), 70% of the time the TV wont turn on (bad). When this happens I have to use the help! to turn them on. In addition it randomly locks up for no reason until Freeview is selected again. It also again randomly swaps from HDMI to TV for no reason. I have asked my supplier to take it back and refund me. If not it will be going on ebay. My advice....keep clear of the Harmony 900.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BaldOnis
from So. Cal.
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Awesome Remote!

Date:September 10, 2012
This remote has performed flawlessly for 2 years. It has endured wife, kids and parties. I have a rather complicated setup in my theater and this remote controls everything, even the lighting.This remote can be a little frustrating getting everything setup the way you want, but with some perseverance and patience it's really not that difficult. Once setup you never have to do anything but charge the battery.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Walter
from Ohio
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Very nice

Date:August 31, 2012
I have had this for over 1-1/2 years. Only the TV is in the family room. Everything else is in a closet. It worked as advertised from the start. Easy to set up using laptop. I was surprised how tolerant the remote senders are to location. That made things easier than expected to set the remote location up. They can be at a sharp angle from the receiving equipment and still communicate well. There are times I have to hit the soft screen a second time to execute a command and even the buttons sometimes don't execute the first time. I know this is a matter of the RF signal communicating with the closet devices. I except this as part of the technology it is using. Battery life was fine the first year but is getting short now. That is why I came to this site - to find a replacement battery. I decided to write the review because I am very happy with the remote.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Randy

Excellent Device

Date:August 30, 2012
Best remote I have ever used, I have had my Harmony 900 for over a year and am very satisfied. The one button programming which controls and turns on multiple devices works great, succesful use of this device is all about properly setting up the initial device programming. If you are not computer savy use GEEK Squad, they are very familiar with the programming features of this device.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Helpingspecialkids
from Waynesville, NC

Frustrating!!!!

Date:August 5, 2012
We have had our Logitech 900 for more than a year and I'm still having trouble with it! Reading other reviews it is very clear that this device is great for those with lots of tech savvy. However, if you aren't a tech geek, you may want to avoid this product! I have 2 bachelors degrees and a masters degree so I'm not dumb, lazy, or uneducated but I am still having trouble with this remote and regret ever buying it!
-25points
7out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
T3NNIS TMB
from Virginia
Expertise: Proficient User

Exactly what I needed

Date:July 9, 2012
I think the Harmony 900 is the best remote I've seen or heard about on the market today. I originally tried the Harmony 1100 but the touch screen did not work as well for me as the buttons on the 900. I have had the 900 for over a year now and it has performed flawlessly, even through power outages. It controls all of my equipment and it was very easy to add or change equipment with the online support site. I would definitely recommend the Harmony 900.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
opy01
Expertise: Tech Savvy

My wife loves it!

Date:May 2, 2012
The title says it all! My wife no longer has to remember which output on the receiver is for what device. Now the display shows Wii, PlayStation3 and Watch TV.
Setting it up took about 30-45 minutes. For devices I selected the brand and typed in the model and it automatically programmed the remote. The only one I had to learn was my HTPC remote and it only took 4 buttons for it to find the proper codes for all the buttons.
The only thing that wasn't automatic was setting my HTPC to never shut off since I leave it on 24/7. That took 1 minute and was easy to do.
With the PS3 adapter I no longer have to pull out the PS3 controller to play my Blu-Rays.
This thing is awesome!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chromero83
from New York, NY
Expertise: Tech Savvy

One fine remote

Date:February 25, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I owned the Harmony 550 for some years and i was happy with it, no problems what so ever.Once one of the buttons started to not function at times it was time for an upgrade. Using the remote on a daily basis for some years it took a beating, so i went with the Harmony 900. This is a complete different animal. Its very easy to set up and the screen is very vibrant in color. I love the fact that you can upload your favorite Channel icons to the remote to be seen for a soft key button. The set up was easy and straight fwd. Quality seem to be good but cant tell after a good amount of time in use. The side soft key buttons to switch to the next page is a little unresponsive at times, need to hit it twice sometimes. The remote tends to slide off ur hand if you dont hold it right when trying to flip thru pages on the remote cause the back of the remote is smooth Battery life is ok depending if you surf channels frequently i can see the battery not lasting long between recharges. over all the remote is pricy but the RF function is pretty sweet. for the price i definitly got the insurance just in case it falls off the hand and breaks cause it would hurt the pockets to buy another one.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taylor
from Virginia Beach
Expertise: Tech Savvy

My favorite toy

Date:February 17, 2012
I'm a little bit of a geek when it comes to electronics and this remote is the best thing I've ever bought. After years of programming either the new TV remote or the receiver remote to work everything I finally purchased the harmony remote and every time I use it I'm amazed. It is easy to set up, it does the little things like turning off other devices when you change inputs. You connect it to your computer and you can program it to do an infinite number of function in any order you want. If you use a Blu-ray player, a cable box and a receiver for sound then you'll be glad you bought this product.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Av man 1999
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great device

Date:January 30, 2012
Does everything and more you could ever want from a controller. Set up was less then an house for 12 devices. A+++ rating.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Harmony® 900
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A random software developer
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Not up to Logitech's usual quality

Date:January 17, 2012
I bought this remote based on recommendations from owners of previous models. Setting it up to work with my system took a whole afternoon. Fine tuning the commands, another half day. The remote is not even working perfectly now. This is mainly due to one of the most unintuitive piece of software I've seen: slow, badly designed (how come I must always scroll down to click on 'next' even on a 42" screen?), in short, a very irritating experience.
The remote itself is ok though a bit long and unbalanced which makes it hard to reach both ends using only one hand. The touchscreen is so-so especially for the arrows which will give you a pretty hard time trying to press them (come on, we're in the smartphone era!). And a HUGE showstopper here: no macro, no sequence of commands, meaning no way to enable 3D on the tv with a single button press).
And the list of annoyances and issues continues:
- Only 3 activities per screen
- Buttons are restricted to devices configured for current activity which means no way to pre-start your media player while you're still on the previous activity
- Responsiveness really bad on a Popcorn C-200 no matter how I configure the remote
As a conclusion: with the current design and without a significant software overhaul, I'd really recommend avoiding this model.
+16points
25out of 34found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next>>