Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Harmony Remotes or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote

The fun never ends with this rechargeable universal remote.
Average Customer Rating:
3.915 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 94 reviews
5 stars
50
4 stars
18
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
13
68 out of 94(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Review 1 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jeremy
from Lafayette, Oregon
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best Remote ever!!

Date:March 14, 2010
Only reason i gave it 4 on ease of use was becaue of the setup. I had no problems, but someone who is not very techie may have some difficulties with the whole account setup...software download ... setup steps.
I love this remote though. Its the only one that we found that would work correctly with our Vizio soundbar (the one that comes with it is a cheap little junky one that doesnt have very good signal)
I have also set it up and been using it with my wifes laptop for playing movies...media center etc. works great.
i love the one touch switch from one activity to another. no more turning one thing off and another on and finding the tv remote to change the input. once its set up its just awesome.
+74points
88out of 102found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Otis
from Kamloops, BC, Canada
Expertise: Tech Savvy

I love this remote

Date:January 6, 2010
I have a number of components, some new, some old school (such as vcr). There was no way with my other remotes (including universal) that I could had any one of 5 controls that would cotrol all 5 devices flawlessly. It took at least any 2-3 remotes to do all features required to do any task. Some would not provide all menu features for digital set top box, for example. The one remote that would, could not handle the AV receiver menus.
My wife, not being a technical geek had major problems trying to figure out which one to use to get the results she requred.
I thought the programming of the Logitech Harmony 700 was great - as long as you have all the correct model numbers for your equipment it programmed very easily. The on screen computer interface to set up the unit was good, to change existing info was a little awkward to figure out at first, but didnt take too long to get it done.
Once all components were programmed in, the unit work perfectly on all devices with a one touch button to activate the required device. (every function of the original remote was available on the Harmony 700).
I like the way you can power on required devices only, and shut off power to all at once if desired.
Also, if you do happen to get a problem and somehow your equipment gets out of sync, pick the help button and an intuitive instruction list gets things working easily just by following the prompts with easy answers.
I have already recommended this unit to several of my friends that have remote problems.
To sum it up, It's a great unit.
+62points
65out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aeb

Harmony 520

Date:September 16, 2012
I actually own an older remote than the harmony 700. I have had a harmony 520 for quite some time now. Thank you Logitech for your excellent product(s) and your excellent customer service. I was so excited when my husband I bought our flat screen with surround sound until I discovered how frusterating it was to use the 4 remotes that went with our system. The harmony remote was the answer to this problem! It was easy to set up and when I ran into a minor technical difficulty (due to my own technological ignorance) your customer support was easy to get a hold of and walked me through it with ease. I have been using the remote with no problems ever since. My parents have even used this remote when staying with the kids with no difficulties : ).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
newyork_AV_guy
from Long Island, NY
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Potential, but not yet

Date:August 20, 2012
Logitech could own the Universal Remote sector, but their programming system is antiquated and not user friendly. The software is also buggy and difficult (too many steps) to create simple commands.
You can either program the remote via an online sight or local software. The local software limits the use of the remote to 6 devices whiles online version permits 8 devices; however the online version does not permit macros. I own three of them and I did not notice the limitations until after my purchase, and now i cannot return them.
If Logitech would simply update their software, my paper weights would become useful.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chain

Even My Wife Likes it

Date:August 8, 2012
So I bought my remote over 2 years ago, and when I first got it, my wife was so reluctant on using this remote, she actually only used the Direct TV remote and then had to use the stereo remote to turn that on. and if she wanted to go to the DVD she had to use all the others. She fought using it for about a month, then finally she wanted to learn how to use it since my then 5 year old child could use it before her. She now uses it everyday, the remote gets tossed around having 3 kids I am sure most can understand.
The only real issue that she has with it is when you press the TV, or DVD button she says it takes forever!!! ( a whole 10 seconds) before she can turn the volume down or change the channel. that would be the only flaw that I really have with it... Will get another one once this tv gets moved into the Playroom but I think I want the 900 this time so it can do just a little bit more.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Marius

Ups and downs

Date:July 26, 2012
The remote itself is great! The design of the remote and layout of the buttons is great, but:
The remote is simply not easy to setup. The software you have to use to set it up is the slowest and most unstable software I've ever used, and it got serious problems communicating with both the remote and the online Logitech account you have to create in order to setup the remote.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dw_drums
Expertise: Tech Savvy

DO NOT BUY

Date:July 16, 2012
Nicely designed - worked for six months and then would get stuck in "boot" mode anytime it was set aside for more than 15 minutes. Retailer where I purchased it (SEARS) advised that there was a 90 day warranty and I was out of luck. So I have folder it in half and threw it in the trash - and writing this warning to others - DO NOT BUY!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
papagordie
from Red Deer, Alberta
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Highly disappointed

Date:July 14, 2012
I previously had a 670 that worked exceptionally well for me once it was set up after slogging through the horrible software interface. It came to an unfortunate end and I decided to look for a replacement.
The 700 seemed like a good option considering my electronics. The first one I brought home had a terrible habit of entering double-clicks when I pressed the OK button in the centre. This was very odd behaviour to me so I looked for any settings that may affect this. Finding none and learning nothing online that would point me to resolution I returned it to the point of purchase. I chatted with a sales person there, a well known electronics retail outlet, in the department where the remotes were. I was assured that this was unexpected behaviour and it was suggested I try another. I decided to do just that and initially it seemed not too bad. Obviously switching the remotes through the software was easy enough so no loss there. After a short period of time I began to get the double-click action when all I requested was a single. It is infuriating.
As well, it seems that every time I use it I have to click the Help button to get things on track again. It is ironic that the screens says it is attempting to fix the problem, never does on its own, and I then have to click through the repeated, "is the XXX device on?", and go through all the devices until eventually I say "yes" because it seems to be ok - until the next time I turn my devices on with the Harmony.
For a variety of reasons I was unable to return the device to the store for a refund in time so I persevered. I am pretty much all done with this disgraceful product. I have been a long time fan/supporter of Logitech hardware for sound, keyboards, mice and the Harmony series but this particular remote has frustrated me for the last time. It is a sad comment to spend the $120 bucks thinking it would be an improvement over the previous one I lost but at this point I choose to have six remotes on the table again.
I see lots of great comments about what an awesome remote this one is but there are also plenty around that lean very far the other way.
Into the trash for me and I doubt very much I would ever consider another.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kelly
from Central Oklahoma
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Durability, battery life and quirky OS

Date:July 7, 2012
Bought the 700 (purchased 11/17/11) to replace a Harmony 880 (purchased 12/03/06)that had given almost 5 years of absolutely flawless service when the pause button finally failed. I purchased the 700 thinking it would be a serviceable replacement. As a whole, I'm disappointed in the durability, battery life w/ rechargeables and some quirks in the OS. Almost immediately, the black color on the rubber buttons began rubbing off to reveal white below. That may seen insignificant, but it makes the symbols on the buttons very difficult to read. Particularly to a newer user unfamiliar with button location. I tried touching up the black w/ a variety of pens, permanent markers, etc. - nothing worked. The paint continues to degrade and I'm adding this review because I'm now going to have to replace the remote. Battery life using Duracell rechargeables was poor - seven days at the most, typically five. Finally, the OS was prone to occasional lockups, requiring a restart to get everything working. I would not recommend this remote to a friend. Guess I'll be buying the Harmony One or Harmony 900 and hoping for more durability and better life between recharges.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Grandpajohn
from Texas
Expertise: Proficient User

Good at first

Date:June 18, 2012
I've used this remote for a couple years or more. It's a super remote when it's working. Like all things the older it gets the less it works. Now it's become a daily task to keep it working.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Grubia
from Sofia, Bulgaria
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Mixed feelings

Date:May 31, 2012
I bought this to replace my old 525. It is bulky but fits well in my palm.
It has color coded buttons that i need for my sat receiver (harmony one does not).
Cons:
Small lcd,narrow viewing angles of lcd, oddly positioned buttons - when i watch tv i need colored buttons, directional buttons, menu/guide/exit buttons and channel numbers.. so i have to constantly move my hand across the remote..
You cannot order activities on lcd
Activities buttons are not backlit
Can control up to 6 devices.
Bottom line:
If harmony 525 was still on the market I would have bought it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fox
from Colorado
Expertise: Proficient User

Great Remote

Date:May 27, 2012
I just got this remote and it's great so far!! It's easy to program most equipment. The only one that required an extra step was for my DISH VIP 612 DVR. I had to change the remote address on that receiver from 2 to 1...after that, it worked great!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bill
from Kansas City
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Amazing piece of kit

Date:May 24, 2012
I bought my 700 as an upgrade from a 300. I was honestly between this and a 650, but future expandability (8 devices vs 5 devices for the 650) was the biggest determining factor.
The big positives for this remote are the easy web setup, the response time, built-in charging capability (using MicroUSB, just like most cell phones), backlit keys, the overall ergonomics, and the number of macros it supports.
The only negatives I have at this time have to do with a lack of dedicated DVR "hard" keys and the web setup. The DVR key thing is obvious, and while it's in the "soft" keys, it should be a standard thing since DVR "hard" keys are on the 300. The web setup, OTOH, is in need of an overhaul. It's based on Microsoft "Silverlight" technology (Microsoft's competitor to Adobe Flash) and runs slow on my Mac i5 Quadcore in both Mac OS X and Windows 7 Home 64-bit. It also only supports one remote per account, apparently; since I'm keeping my Harmony 300, I had to make a second MyHarmony account for this remote. I personally think Logitech would be better served to go back to the older software solution that's still used for the One, 900, and 1100 remotes for these lower-model remotes.
All in all, I can happily recommend this remote over anything out there.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
05soxfan
from Crystal Lake, IL
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Absolutely best remote ever

Date:April 16, 2012
I bought this remote to replace my DirecTV remote that had broken, and it was one of the best purchases I have ever made. I absolutely love the custom settings that can be programmed into it and the fact that the settings can be easily changed if needed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ftlman
from Fort Lauderdale
Expertise: Proficient User

The Logitech Harmony RC Can Control Sleep Timer

Date:March 31, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
As many consumers have expressed that their Harmony Remote Control cannot activate the Sleep Timer function of A/V devices, I did find out a way to do it and decided to share it. Is not easy at all but worth doing it to have this and other functions in your Harmony RC. Unlike the Universal Remote Controls from the nineties, the Harmony does not have a dedicated Sleep Timer button. As well, most audio/video components nowadays including the new flat screens TVs do have the sleep timer function but dependent on pressing an ordered sequence of keys. In my case, the Yamaha Receiver does have a dedicated Sleep Timer button but the Samsung TV does not.
The Harmony needs to be programmed trough a computer. Initially I programmed the Harmony 650 the easy way, by including the brand and model of each of the five components. With this configuration, the basic functions worked but was unable to access specialized functions such as the 3-D conversion, format selection, components on-screen menus and the sleep timer. Thus, after performing the necessary reset for the RC, (remove batteries and press “all off” for a few seconds), I then proceeded to program the Harmony with commands from the individual remote controls.
Using the Harmony Software version 7.7.0, went into the “learn from other remotes function” and for the Receiver it was just pressing the Sleep Timer Button. The Harmony immediately received the command. Now for the Samsung TV, I did have to follow the full sequence of pressing multiple keys and accessing the sleep timer function. The Harmony did learn the complete sequence. Once you perform this with all functions that you want the RC to learn, need to save them with the software and wait until the RC Reboots. After rebooting, a chart will open on the computer screen and you will check all the new functions for the proper key. Now it is OK to disconnect the RC from the USB cable and test it, Worth mentioning that have not been able to assign the colored keys to any customized functions, yet.
The way to access the Sleep Timer in the Harmony 650 is using the seven keys in the periphery of the display and the sequence is: Devices / TV / Right Key until the eight screen and in the Upper Right quadrant you have the Sleep Timer functions. In my case, on Screen seven I have the Smart Hub and on Screen Five, the 3-D tools. For the Yamaha Receiver, the Sleep Functions show up on screen 13. Be aware that your configuration may vary as I did include all functions in my Harmony RC. Hope this helps and will be worth seeing if other users find alternate ways of accomplishing this as well as how would other Harmony Remotes handle the Sleep Timer function. Photo of my RC with the Sleep Timer function included. Good luck!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bil4short
from Denver, CO
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best Remotes Ever

Date:March 16, 2012
I recently purchased a Logitech 700 Harmony remote to replace the 688 that died. I LOVE these remotes. I bought the 700 without hesitation because the 688 was so good and so easy to use.
Once you use one of these remotes you will NEVER want to go back to that mountain of remotes that you have to deal with now. If you don't have a Harmony remote, you should! I can't recommend these enough! Worth every penny!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jim
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Awful! 4th remote still does not work.

Date:March 12, 2012
Started with a 650, worked 50% of the time. Got a 700 replacement, works 50% of the time. Got another 700 replacement, works 75% of the time, better. AND....got another 700 replacement, the number buttons do not work at all. Customer service has been awesome! And I love Logitech products, but these remotes are just junk!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaCeige
from Baton Rouge, LA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best Harmony Remote, DON'T GET A TOUCHSCREEN!

Date:February 22, 2012
My Harmony ONE remote broke from falling off the couch the other day. It lasted less than 6 months in my house. I've had a Harmony 700 series remote for a few years now and you can throw it at your kids and keeps working.
Not to mention, the entire remote contours to your hand. No need to re-arrange to touch buttons on the touch screen. Plus, this remote just feels faster, more responsive. The 700 is best remote you can buy!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
racknstack

Doesn't seem to keep the settings

Date:February 5, 2012
I just bought one of these after reading good reviews. Charged it out of the box, setup was a snap. Too good to be true!! Sadly, my unit does not appear to be holding it's memory, i.e. in the morning it won't turn on the television, sometimes it doesn't turn to the right input, etc etc. Drives my wife mad. She'd rather go back to three separate remotes. I have programmed, reprogrammed, recharged, you name it. Hopefully Logitech works with me on either figuring this out or replacing it. I cannot recommend this product with my current experience, but that may change.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Harmony® 700 Advanced Universal Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChandlerAZ
from Eagle, Idaho
Expertise: Proficient User

Grandmother Gift

Date:February 4, 2012
I received the Harmony 700 as a Christmas gift in 2010. I think the setup directions were easy to follow. I just did exactly what it sad to do. I've been using it for over a year and still don't have any problems.
The only downside for me is it won't turn on my Wii. Just thought of another -- it's not user friendly for my 5 year old grandson, but he has learned to use it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next>>