Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Remote Accessories or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Harmony® IR Extender System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Harmony® IR Extender System

Logitech® Harmony® IR Extender System&em;control your entertainment system hidden inside a closed cabinet with most infrared remotes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 15 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
12 out of 15(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harmony® IR Extender System
Review 1 for Harmony® IR Extender System
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Steve C.
from Novato, CA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

What am I dong wrong?

Date:March 10, 2012
I have fiddled with the positioning of the components for two days. I finally got everything to be consitently controlled but it only works up to about 10 feet. At 11 or 12 feet away from the receiver it does not work. I have removed it from my system and will bring it to the electronic recycle center. Maybe this unit does not work well near a plasma TV. If that is the case it would have been nice to know before I bought it. I purchased it because my stereo receiver was difficult to control as it is partially blocked by a sofa. In my situation the whole system works better and more consistent without the extender. I love and trust the Logitech name but the IR extender is just not worth the trouble.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Harmony® IR Extender System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lakerfan
from Cali
Expertise: Newbie

Harmony® IR Extender System

Date:January 20, 2012
Ive been using this for over 1yr 1/2 stopped working. I moved furniture around and this is when the problem occurred. The fix for me using my fios verizon remote to my LG tv and LG dvd is to UNPLUG MINI blasters and only have power and IR plugged in it works!!! Its behind glass doors. Good luck!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Harmony® IR Extender System
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick
from Long Island, NY
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Takes some warming up

Date:January 10, 2012
I've had this product for about 7 months and I'd say it's a B-. I use it so I can hide my cable box in another room. Once I power on the TV and cable box, i have to press buttons on the controller for a good minute or so to get it working properly. If I don't, it doesn't work and no signal is sent to my cable box.
I did recently recommend it to a friend, but warned them about the long runway needed to get it working during any given sitting.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Harmony® IR Extender System
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steve_in_Redding
from Redding, CA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

LOW RX RANGE!

Date:August 31, 2011
IR receiver next to TV on wall-Point remote at IR receiver-no receive. Move close enough, works. I am only 10 feet away on my sofa! Though maybe was interfernce from TV-no, clearly distance. Receiver is not as sensitive as origional components. Remotes include Dish remote, Panisonic surround, Toshiba Blue Ray. Fairly disappointed. BTW, dismantling case and using just the IR circuit yeilds a few more feet, still not quite good enough!
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Harmony® IR Extender System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
steven from oceanside new york
from oceanside, ny
Expertise: Tech Savvy

unbelievable product

Date:April 19, 2011
this ir extender works seemlessly with my harmony 700 and any other remote that came with my equipment. all the equipment is hidden in the cabinet and to get the most out of the ir extenders, i tin-foiled the inside of the door to the cabinet so the signals bounce off and really intensify. i would definately use this product again in another room of my house.
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Harmony® IR Extender System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
philphromphilly

Works great with this tip....

Date:January 8, 2011
Ok so I bought this to wall mount a TV, hide my DVR (Comcast) in the closet, and still use the Comcast remote. I'm using a 35 FT audio extension cable to reach the cable box. After some "fiddling" (See below) the product works great!
After initially installing I was receiving major IR interface from multiple sources that rendered this device useless. The main sources being CFLs and the LCD TV.
I spent a few days researching IR interference and found a post on a forum suggesting to use a piece of electrical tape to cover most (not all) of the IR receiver. The tape acts as a filter and blocks out most of the weaker IR signals and allows only the strongest ones (ie remote signal) to get through.
Since placing the tape over the IR receiver the device works perfect!
Hope this helps!
Phil
+19points
26out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Harmony® IR Extender System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
djms
from los angeles, ca

Great product!

Date:July 24, 2010
We have a Motorola cable box from Time Warner Cable. After contacting Motorola and TWC to ask for their advice several times on a product to use I found one at Radio Shaq and it was horrible. It was very large and not discreet at all, and took up way too much room in my media cabinet. I then found the Logitech system on line and ordered it. It installed in seconds and works beautifully! there's no lag time and it's very discreet, you barely notice it on the TV. Great product!!
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Harmony® IR Extender System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chuck
from Greer, SC
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Extremely Satisfied

Date:March 16, 2010
I purchased the IR extender so that I could locate my A/V anplifier, Blu-ray DVD, and Satillite receiver in a closet about 35 feet (circuit length) from our plasma tv. I was concerned that it might not work because the extender only comes with about 8 feet of cable to connect between the receiver and the blaster. I bought two 20-foot stereo headphone cables and used them to extend the connection. It works great. The blaster is located over the closet door and operates all of the devices. The mini-blasters weren't required. It was a great solution at a good price.
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Harmony® IR Extender System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phillyfisher

Great Buy

Date:January 24, 2010
Great product, easy setup, worked perfectly right out of the box. Much less expensive than other IR repeater options. Nice quality- exactly what one would expect from Logitech.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Harmony® IR Extender System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dmsherer
from Minnesota
Expertise: Proficient User

Great Great Product

Date:January 16, 2010
I am actually a big review reader prior to buying anything so I thought I should write a review myself. We actually heard about this from my father-in-law who just purchased one for himself also. We built an in home entertainment closet in which we hid all of our entertainment components so we could have a flush wall with just the big screen so therefor this was the perfect solution to still getting that signal to everything without leaving the door open! This was easy installation and as I have said prior Logitech is well known and Im sure will stand behind there product. Have had it up and using it for about 2 weeks now love every bit of it with no complaints! Way to go Logitech!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Harmony® IR Extender System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TechTester
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Outstanding! Best extender I've used so far!

Date:December 15, 2009
I first had a chance to use this system during a beta test. I have used other brands of extenders, all of which had sensitivity and control issues. Along comes logitech's extender. It worked flawlessly right from the get-go! All 5 of my components, which are in a closed cabinet, were controlled using only the main blaster, which impressed me most since the faces of my components are only a few inches from the cabinet door. I did not have to use the extra two (included) blasters at all! The ONLY issue I had was the cable for the IR sensor was not long enough to run through the walls to where my components were. It was easily extended using a headphone extension cord, which did not affect the operation at all. Way to go Logitech!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Harmony® IR Extender System
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mike A
from New York City Suburb
Expertise: Proficient User

Too slow to respond to Cable box

Date:November 30, 2009
I love the Harmony product line and thought this product would add to making life simplier and less cluttered. Unforetunately, the Blasters are too slow to respond to the keyed in command on the remote (either Harmony One or the cable remote). I tried moving the receiver away from the TV, but repornse was just as slow (if it worked at all). I do see the the signal being sent but it is very slow and sporadic. Will most likely have to invest in a more pricey product as I already prepped the closet with electricity, shelves, light, and a cable mangement system.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Product MarketingLogitech Harmony Remote ControlsJanuary 26, 2010
The Logitech Harmony IR Extender System can control AV devices that are in a closed cabinet. It’s important to ensure that the infrared signals fired by the blaster and mini blasters do not "escape" the cabinet and are not detected by the IR receiver. If this does occur, you might experience the slow and sporadic control you’ve described.

To prevent infrared signals from escaping, make sure that your cabinet doors are closed.

If preventing IR from escaping the cabinet does not solve the concern, consider placing the blaster in your cabinet on its own (without the mini blasters) and see if it can control all of your devices. Also consider repositioning the blaster and/or mini blasters to ensure the repeated IR signal is reaching your components.

If you’re still having trouble, we can help.

Please visit information on this topic within Logitech.com's on-line customer care area:
http://logitech-en-amr.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/logitech_en_amr.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=12704
Review 13 for Harmony® IR Extender System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aero_ag
from Ft. Worth, TX
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Yes! Perfect

Date:November 28, 2009
Exactly what I needed and the right price too!!! The product was perfect for hiding my components to my LCD TV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Harmony® IR Extender System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrFinga
from Buffalo, NY
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Better then expected

Date:November 20, 2009
I purchased this device so that I could put my components out of site in a cubby that is around the corner from my living room. I ordered this after I had everything set up with the tv above the fireplace.
Two things that I did not know that I wish I had:
1) The cable is attached with pretty much a headphone jack connection. This makes it easy to get a longer extension cable. I needed this to run the cable through the wall.
2) The power is needed at the blaster end. I put more power behind the TV in anticipation but needed the power in the cubby where all my components were. So if you are hiding this in a small area keep in mind you will need an extra power plug for this and not at the TV end.
Overall this works as planned. I am very impressed with how I can put it almost anywhere in the cubby and it works. I guess IR bounces around a lot.
Just what I needed to make my install complete.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Harmony® IR Extender System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aceboy
from Melbourne, Florida
Expertise: Proficient User

Oh what a relief it is!

Date:November 7, 2009
Wow...what a great invention! My equiptment...DVR/Cable Box, Receiver, DVD Player and CD Jukebox...are inside a cabinet and I always had to open the door before the signals from my Harmony One remote could be received. How many times I have sat down only to have to get up again to open the cabinet door because I forgot. The product installed in minutes...I set the blasters to bounce the signal against the cabinet door since there was no room elswhere...no shelves because my components are stacked. I was concerned there might be a delay in the signal reaching my components since it has to travel from the IR receiver via cable to the blasters but was delightfully amazed...there is absolutely no delay whatsoever. My wife is happy because now she does'nt have to leave the cabinet door open and look at those "ugly boxes". Only one detractor...it seems the signal gets confused when I have the cabinet door open...to see radio station presets or insert a DVD...and use the remote. Maybe the blasters divert the signal away from the components or something. No big deal, just unplug the power cord from the blaster. Great, great, great product, I no longer lament that the Harmony One does not use RF signals. The Harmony One is also a fabulous device that even my wife embraces...she can watch a DVD now without me being home to switch all the inputs to that function. Sorry to go so long but just had to "get it said!"
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.