Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Speakers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Laptop Speaker Z205

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Laptop Speaker Z205

A clip-on, laptop-powered, USB stereo speaker that's as portable as your laptop&em;with better sound.
Average Customer Rating:
3.864 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 22 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
0
15 out of 22(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Laptop Speaker Z205
Review 1 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
securityguy320
from Cottage Grove, MN
Expertise: Proficient User

Worst speakers ever

Date:October 17, 2012
I bought the speakers on the recommendation from a coworker who had bought a set for his laptop. I had to return the speakers the next day as the sound was nothing but static and the audio was choppy. Would not buy this product again unless some improvements are made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deborah

Great Product...one Flaw

Date:July 9, 2012
Loved this speaker....good sound, easy to use. Due to port location behind the handle it bent several times during use. Cannot be fixed. FYI....the cable from older Blackberries will connect this speaker to your laptop.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lee
from So Cal
Expertise: Proficient User

It was a 5, until the connection ruined it all!

Date:June 23, 2012
Sound was fantastic. I could hear it all over the house. The plug quickly bent due to location by ciip. Started cutting out, then staticy, then nothing. Too bad the great speakers are worthless due to a design flaw. Didn't get to use them very long before they died. No cords anywhere to be found.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superbert40
from canada
Expertise: Tech Savvy

logitech z205

Date:June 20, 2012
so,i just picked up a nice little speaker for my laptop,the z206.very nice little unit,nice and sleek,only one speaker that clips onto the top of my screen and thats perfect.For 35 bucks and a single laptop speaker,its unreasonable to think its going to burn down the house with big bass and thump,but the sound and the performance is quite good.I can hear everything clearly and now my laptop is a great portable little movie theatre.Nice that it came with a little carry case and usb cord which is perfect in length.And the fact that it only needs the usb,u just plug it in,let it install itself and thats it.now im off to watch a movie on my laptop,and to try really hard to come up with something to complain over regarding this tight little james bond speaker.its sleek and the quality is very good
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gdnctr
from York, PA
Expertise: Proficient User

Great Laptop Speaker For The Price!

Date:May 28, 2012
After reading 1 or 2 semi-negative reviews, I was hesitant to buy one for Dad's HP Laptop, but I did, and we were both delighted with its ease of installation and operation, and with the sound.
I've used Logitech MX-3200 Wireless keyboards & Mice for my PCs for years, and have several new ones in the original boxes, unopened, as back-ups.
I also use Logitech's PC Sound Systems, exclusively. I have a Logitech Z-680 v5.1 THX-Theater Digital Surround/Dolby Sound System on my super-fast HP 6000 Pro Microtower PC, with a spare Logitech X-530 v5.1 Surround System in the basement, from my former office's system.
Logitech rocks.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
K-Osc
from Laurel, MD
Expertise: Tech Savvy

well worth it

Date:April 18, 2012
I bought this for my M11x about 3 months ago... no issues sound is awesome for what i paid for. when i connect it; it automatically turns the speakers on with great quality good for travel and at home. not the loudest but gets the job done well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
willow

disappointed

Date:April 17, 2012
I got this for a gift less than a year ago and just realized it wasn't working after trying all the ports nothing was happening, I finally looked at the cord and saw that it was almost completely detached from the part that plugs into the speaker itself. When it worked it was great easy to install and use and was nice to have the extra sound when needed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
redoverfarm

Poor quality

Date:April 10, 2012
I purchased this and the first time I used it worked OK. Then subsequent times it was terrible. Speakers cracking, loud noise in the background. I guess you get what you pay for. In search of something better.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SAM11
from Ontario Canada
Expertise: Proficient User

DISAPPOINTED

Date:April 5, 2012
Got this speaker for a present, and it worked good, until the USB cord connection was mistakenly bent when someone else tried to unclip it from my laptop.
Now it simply will not work. I've been everywhere trying to find a replacement cord to no avail.
I only used it several times before this happened and so am very disappointed that it has stopped working.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
suzie
Expertise: Proficient User

questionable

Date:March 10, 2012
the first time i used them they would work in 1 of my 4 usb ports only. they had horrible static/cracking inthe other 3. the sound in the working usb was very good. the next day the horrible static cracking was in the fourth usb also. i assumed these were defective & returned them (my old speakers non-usb worked , as did my built-in laptop speakers). I would like to purchase another pair if they would work but because of the sealed packaging i'm not sure i will be able to return them if they do this again. i'm assuming it was a loose wire but not sure.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pegmg
from Arizona
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Simple accessory!

Date:November 25, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Setting up was VERY easy and so was installation! Just plug in, and clip on. When I found it in the store, it was MUCH smaller than I thought, turned out to be only 7 inches long. The sound quality is not much more than what actually comes out of your original speakers, depending how bad your speaker quality actually is. The best thing I do enjoy about this contraption, is the portability, and it DOES amplify the original sound. Over-all, if you don't get to purchase this system on Black Friday, or a major sale going on, its NOT worth anything over $10-$15. Iv attached a pic of this system on my laptop to give you an idea. Sorry if its so dark. My camera is not that good. Hope this helps!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
blondesareeasy
from Redondo Beach,
Expertise: Tech Savvy

rgal from New York...You nailed it.

Date:September 7, 2011
I thought I was nuts. Tried everything, and you've proved that I'm not nuts. (Okay...maybe a little.)
But your report is entirely accurate. I have the same problem. I can't consistently use this speaker, headphones, laptop speakers without playing a lot of on/off/reset/unplug/try this/try that games.
There's got to be a better way to connect this and keep it working reliably.
Otherwise, a great sounding product. Maybe some drivers from Logitech?
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr excellent
Expertise: Proficient User

actually a good deal on a great product

Date:June 27, 2011
1.replaces my dead "fairly good sounding" speakers on my lap top
2.easy install of software nearly hands free
3.really truly a great sounding pair of speakers
4.pc supplies the units power via usb
5.made to clip on lap top or to stand alone
6. great price on a great product
7.easy volume control on units top, actually controls the computers volume not just it,s own
8.great looking speaker unit
9.usb cord supplied just perfect length for me
10.volume can get much louder than the comps built speaker now
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
judster
from Portland Or
Expertise: Proficient User

Works for me!

Date:April 26, 2011
I hooked this on my laptop, plugged it into my usb port and I was off and running with it. Now I can listen to shortclips on Youtube and not have to switch to my desktop to get decent sound.
Like it a lot!
-2points
8out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kiof
from Greece
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Excellent Product

Date:February 11, 2011
Replacing laptop's short-circuited sound card. Excellent Value for Money product with surprising audio performance. Nice design, ease of use. Plug and play. I recommend it for anyone who works on a laptop for many hours. (work/no desktop). Just completely satisfied.
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rgal
from New York, NY
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Sounds great, some usability issues

Date:February 10, 2011
This speaker sounds great, clips great, and looks great. All the things I wanted it for, it excels at.
Here are some things which have proven problematic in the months since:
1.)Using this on a laptop, many laptops have headphone jacks which override the internal speaker so that when you plug-in headphones, the sound re-routes from the internal speaker to the headphones. With the Logitech speaker working, plugging in headphones does not have this effect. If I want to hear headphones, I have to unplug the Logitech, then plug it in when I want normal listening again. This is a big annoyance.
2.)The usb port on the back of the speaker is positioned right where your hand presses to detach the speaker when it is clipped on. Over time this bends it--they foresaw this somewhat in that the plug seems to have a bendy base. Still, this really should've been placed to one side.
3.)Continuing on #1, since you will be plugging/unplugging this unit often if you have a laptop like many, and sometimes like listening with headphones (at night, perhaps), you will find that many software applications will not work when you've changed the speaker to headphones and then back to logitech. You will often need to restart the player/sound source to get it to "read" the logitech again. Winamp, iTunes, Skype...all these have issues. For instance, if I set Skype to use the logitech for my ringer, and then unplug it to hear headphones, when I plug it in again Skype doesn't switch it back to logitech so I miss calls. This is partially a problem with the software, however, the main problem is that I had to disconnect the speakers when a headphone pass-through on the back of the speaker would've solved the issue entirely. There is only a line-in on the speaker, which is far less useful. A headphone pass-through would solve almost everything here.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bryceson6
from Homer, Alaska
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Couldn't ask for more!

Date:January 29, 2011
X-mas present-Very happy!!!! works with every application i have as long as plugged previouse to opening. For the price, can't compare to anything else i've attempted. Only down side is the clamp that secures the speakers is right in line with the USB conection and at times gets mistaken, and pulled over thinking it is the latch when releasing- all around have to give them a 9 out of ten for there purpose.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Azraai
from Malaysia
Expertise: Tech Savvy

the perfect solution

Date:October 10, 2010
i bought this Z205 to replace my mediocre netbook speakers.. was looking around for a portable yet decent quality USB speakers in terms of sound and built..
i guess i've finally found the perfect solution..
sound is crystal clear, with a touch of mid-bass.. works well with Win7 Ultimate..
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MJfromNY

Not working correctly

Date:June 22, 2010
This is not working well on my laptop. It plays some sound but not others. It won't play the itunes music, but will play the windows noises...which if I were to choose, would be the exact opposite of what I'm looking for. It crackles as well, which is annoying.
There are no drivers, FAQ's or even help in the support forum. I'm out of luck. Not a good purchase.
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ray
from Montreal, Canada
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Incredible sound for the size !

Date:May 15, 2010
Just picked these up this afternoon and I'm thrilled by the sound. Incredible! I will not be glued to my laptop any longer :)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>