Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Harmony Remotes or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Harmony 650 Remote

Logitech Harmony 650 Remote

A color-screen universal remote that brings you showtime in no time.
Average Customer Rating:
3.426 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 202 reviews
5 stars
77
4 stars
33
3 stars
31
2 stars
21
1 star
40
118 out of 202(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harmony 650 Remote
Review 1 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike
from Charleston, SC
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Harmony 650, GREAT!!

Date:September 29, 2011
We've got a fairly simple system, and the 650 works perfectly for it! Set up was a breeze, took about 5 minutes, and it's worked flawlessly. No complaints to speak of. I could make some suggestions, but Logitech seems to have incorporated all of my suggestions into the Harmony One. Great job Logitech!
-78points
88out of 254found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SurfGramps
from Franklin, TN, USA

Works great while it works

Date:March 26, 2014
I am on my second 650 in about 3 years. I love the programability so that it is never obsolete. It does take a while to set up, but the effort is worth it. Where the remote falls down is reliability. I'm not sure the build quality is as it should be. The first remote started having problems after two years. Often used buttons stopped working. The current one is experiencing the same problem after only about a year. Very disappointed. I will look for a better model or brand next time.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
blackhawkfann24
from il
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

not what it was

Date:March 25, 2014
I bought this one cause I had the older model that I loved, it always worked and did every thing that my tv , dvd, tuner, and anything I put on It. so when it broke I was disappointed, when I wen to go buy a new one I tried to find it and found out they no longer made it. so I saw this one and said...well it Logitech so it should work just the same. nope I was wrong, it was cheaper looking and didn't work everything that the older one did. compared to the old one I would not recommend this to anyone. sorry but I loved the other one and this one is nothing like it
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gram
from Maryland
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Harmony 650

Date:February 4, 2014
Love the remote. Took about ten minutes to learn how to operate. Only complaint is that it eats up batteries like PAC Man!!!!!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RL
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male

Terrible

Date:January 16, 2014
This thing would only control all three devices about 80% of the time. Constantly having to get up and make changes manually. Constant source of frustration. And it eats batteries like candy. I will not have another one.
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sonny
from Texas, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

I think it's great!

Date:January 1, 2014
ok , I did just get this yesterday but so far it works great and was a snap to set up.
I have a Samsung tv
a Samsung dvd player
a Samsung sound bar
and a scientific Atlanta cable box
everything programmed in just fine with the initial setup.
as I was viewing I realized there was a couple buttons I would like to change to my satisfaction, first try at it I forgot to sync when done...ooops. after that any changes I make are simple. I love it, and I would highly recommend it to all.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JasonR
from Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

5 Device Limit; Really?

Date:December 30, 2013
:0
I bought this remote today to replace my old 670 which I found hard to read in low light conditions. I love everything about it except I can't use it and forced to return it. It has very stingy and likely arbitrary 5 device limit. I have 6 devices and planning to add another one or two in the future. I've been buying harmony remotes for ages so that adults can also navigate my AV system. I'd pay twice as much for 650 allows 8 or more devices so I'm covered. The higher end remotes don't have keypads so they are out.
-5points
8out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jbutter
from Southern California
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Great Purchase Great Product

Date:December 27, 2013
:TV, Fios DVR, BluRay, AV Receiver, Apple TV
I rarely write reviews but I'm so impressed by this product I can't restrain. The initial setup was very easy, took 10 minutes. After using the remote for a while I began wishing it could control some of the complicated commands on my AV receiver and I wished I could customize several other things. I plugged the remote back into the computer and was able to customize the remote exactly the way I wanted. If you are savvy enough the online software program lets you customize anything and everything...and if you get too carried away there is a "reset default" button. Truly impressed.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sbc
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Poor Sync Web Site

Date:December 21, 2013
The remote will not sync with the myharmony web site. Worked the first time but unable to update the activities.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigDaddy
from Portland, OR, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Absolutely excellent!

Date:December 16, 2013
:TV, Stereo, Roku, Hopper, Blu-ray, DVD/VCR, WII
Of all the electronic equipment I've purchased over the years, the 650 has by far been the best. It completely exceeded expectations. I've had trouble with home theater stereo's and have had to swap different ones in and out. The Harmony and it's excellent setup website made it a snap. Just awesome.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OldEyes

Dim Back Lighting

Date:November 22, 2013
If you are under 40 years old, the back lighting is probably adequate, but I am 57 years old and the back lighting is so dim that I need a small flashlight to see which button to push. My old Harmony remote had translucent buttons so the entire button was illuminated. I read reviews before I purchased and only 1 person mentioned dim back lighting as a problem. I really don't want to wear reading glasses while watching TV.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fest911
from Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Works great until the buttons wear out.

Date:October 28, 2013
:TV, DVD player, DirecTV receiver.
The Harmony 650 remote was great when it was new. However, the number buttons started to fail intermittently after a year and a half. Now at about the two year mark, the number buttons hardly work at all, and the thin black coating is wearing through at the edges of the buttons. It also goes through batteries so fast that I wished I had the rechargeable unit. This remote doesn't receive a lot of use so I'm surprised at how bad it is after two years of use. I would have hoped for a more robust product from Logitech.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don

Harmony 650 Happy moment

Date:October 26, 2013
The happiest moment of my Harmony 650 experience happened when I found my Best Buy receipt and I was able to return it for a trouble free and complete refund. I have a samsung smart TV the Harmony pretty much transformed it into a dumb TV . I spent three sessions on the phone , I was given 27 steps or interfaces to get the remote to bring up the Smart Hub. It did come up however I was unable to navigate around the hub so all the "Smart" features were just icons sort of like a screen shot. I did find out that the receipt wasn't necessary for the refund fortunately to avoid any questions I did have the receipt there is apparently only a 15 day window for returning this item to Best Buy so don't waste a lot of time trying to get it working properly. One final note Best Buy seemed to be more concerned that they got the batteries back
+4points
15out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Butch
from Mobile, AL, USA
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

bad device

Date:October 15, 2013
:Sony DVD and surround sound
Had the harmony setup by dealer, quit working in a matter of days. Got dealer back out, worked fine for a couple of days it messed up again. Removed battery's put remote in a drawer, after a couple months called dealer he got it working again (for a service charge). It has messed up again, one hour after dealer left, it appears that wife and I are not smart enough to use the remote.
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rodrigo
from Long Beach, CA, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Best Remote Ever

Date:September 10, 2013
:60-inch Sony LED, Sony Blu-Ray, Sony Home Theatre Receiver, DirecTV HD DVR & AppleTV
I've been using 5 remotes for years now and had simply grown tired of having to have a handful of remotes every time I wanted to watch a DVD or what not. I just purchased the Harmony 650 today and setup took less than 3 minutes. Setup was a snap. All I had to do was tell the online setup what model no's to my TV, Blu-Ray, DirecTV HD DVR, Home Theatre receiver & AppleTV. The rest is history. I've since put all of those remotes away for good!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clemensnonpapa

Works like a charm

Date:August 28, 2013
unpacked, put the batteries, loaded configuration via USB (very easy software to use), all my devices were recognized (even a very old hifi). Pointed to my devices and all configs are working.
The people complaining about the remote not working properly possibly have to review their connections and inputs on their devices. Once that's clear, configuration is a piece of cake.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Butch
from Waldorf, MD, USA
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Useless

Date:August 13, 2013
As soon as I received the remote, which I purchased on line, I followed the instructions for set-up and it first it seemed fine. In a few days though it seemed to lose its mind, refused to do some tasks and continually wanted to go back thru the set-up. As far as I am concerned it was money wasted. I do not have the time or the patience to continually go back and reprogram this thing. My wife, who is a lot less tech savvy than I am found it impossible. I was continually sorting things out for her until I too could not get the "piece of junk" to work. I would recommend that anyone considering a remote stay away from this. I own a number of Logitech components and I was surprised at the sorry quality of this one. I repeat, unless you have some cash you want to throw away, DON'T BUY THIS THING!!
-3points
29out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ilikecorn500
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Works, but has battery connection problem.

Date:August 9, 2013
:Vizio HDTV, Marantz AV Reciever, (used to have cable, but got rid of it)
I bought this remote probably two years ago. The 650 is packed with good features, and I'd always wanted a Harmony remote, so I got the 650. My favorite feature is the color screen, and the software to set it up. I'm very tech savvy, but I think the average person could set it up pretty easily. So why am I rating it three stars?
There's a very annoying battery connection problem. I don't know if this has been fixed, but basically what it does is it turns off the remote if you hit it, drop it, or press a button when the batteries are kinda close to dead. To fix this, I put a paper towel on top of the batteries in the remote to pack them in and prevent them from shaking, and restarting the remote. Now all I really have to worry about is dropping it. There is a long Logitech forum thread regarding this problem that I will link to.
Again, this problem might not occur in the newer models, but I don't know. This is a great remote otherwise.
Link: http://forums.logitech.com/t5/Harmony-Remotes/Logitech-Harmony-650-Remote-repeatedly-restarts-and-no-longer/td-p/473313
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cathy

big mistake

Date:August 5, 2013
We got one to run TV, cable, and ROKU player. After 3 months, we have to use all the remotes to operate everything--the Roku player is inoperable because we can't turn it on without syncing to a remote and Comcast doesn't support it. Want to throw away!
-16points
4out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wesblake
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Last great Harmony remote, unfortunately...

Date:July 8, 2013
Wondering about the title? This is my 3rd Harmony remote. I love them, nobody else does the activity based remote quite like Logitech yet. However, I think Logitech is making a huge mistake going forward with touch screen remotes. Its one device that needs to stay away from touch screens. Ill pose a simple question pointing out a simple fact. If you've not gone for the touch screen remote yet, when you watch TV, when's the last time you actually looked at your remote while using it? Most of us "learn" our remotes, and can lounge about happily, remote in hand, working just about everything without looking at our remote. Great when you want to be in lazy mode. Now you have to actually look at your remote for most functions, lame.... I hope Logitech sees this, I think many will begin to dislike the newer remotes and there will be a return to remotes like this one and older Harmonys.
+38points
45out of 52found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next>>