Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Harmony Remotes or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Harmony 650 Remote

Logitech Harmony 650 Remote

A color-screen universal remote that brings you showtime in no time.
Average Customer Rating:
3.426 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 202 reviews
5 stars
77
4 stars
33
3 stars
31
2 stars
21
1 star
40
118 out of 202(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harmony 650 Remote
Review 1 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Demteq
from Phoenix, AZ
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Recommended to Everyone

Date:October 20, 2011
As all would know it is a pain to have multiple remotes in a household, espicially when they get lost. This remote solves that problem completely!
Features:
The nice part about this device is the fact that you are able to program multiple devices on a macro command. Much like described on the box "One Touch", being able to turn on all devices to watch tv, watch a movie, or listen to music is done with ease.
Programing:
I did research on this device before purchasing. The one thing that I didn't understand is why others had such a difficult time programing the device. All of the programing done is online based. The steps are simple, easy to follow, and the online program does practically everything for you. The only thing needed to be done on the users part is to get the make and serial number off of the devices they want to control. From there the online based program will ask you how you want to control each device for the "One Touch" controls.
Performance:
The performance of the device is like any other remote, sometimes there is a small delay or you have to rotate the remote to get the IR signal to communicate with the devices being controlled (what else is new). When using the "One Touch" not all devices will turn on at the same time. There will be an additional delay when it goes from one unit to the next, this also applies to switching functions. I have read that going from "watch tv" to "watch movie" some have stated that there is a lag. I have experienced this lag as well and came to find a small solution by keeping the remote visable to the devices being controlled for an additional few seconds. The remote does us an IR signal, and much like anything line of sight, if you break the line of sight it breaks the signal. Remember, when using a macro command it has to go from one device after the other.
Quality:
The quality of the remote is much like all other logitech items "Near Flawless". Being a user of multiple Logitech input and output devices I am again not surprised of the effort and quality put into their product. Granted once in a while an item can get out that has a few bugs or doesn't work correctly, big deal, its the way it goes, doesn't matter what company it is.
Ease of Use:
Much like described above the remote is simple to use. Based off of its ability to practically do the work for you in the programing, the button layout, the tutorial the remote gives to assist users to use the remote, and a few other things, this remote can make life just a little bit easier.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UgaDog

Perfect Remote

Date:February 9, 2011
I worried that it would not perform all the odd functions that I need for my DVR and other devices. I was wrong!
I am extremely happy with the remote but only after some fine tuning. You see, the first thing that the manual tells you is to set up your remote by going to the My Harmony website and using their online tool. This technique of setting up your remote is crippled. You see, when you set up your remote with different Activities, you can't name them. This was very upsetting for me. I wanted activities that said: Play Wii. Play Xbox. Watch a Blu-Ray, etc... From the website you can't do this. It's really dumb to be honest. I have a fancy remote control with a color screen on it and I can't name the activities what I want to? You can only have them say something like: Game 1, Game 2, Custom 1, Custom 2, etc...
Well, I figured this just couldn't be right, and it wasn't. Through some investigation on the logitech website, deep in the help forums there is a simple solution from very helpful users: Don't use the MyHarmony web interface.
Instead, go to the Download page and download the Logitech Harmony Remote Software 7 program. This is the software to use when setting up the remote. You can set up and personalize the Activities any way you wish. It's wonderful now.
Besides this one flub by Logitech, the remote is awesome. It is a pleasure. It honestly replaced 5 remotes that cluttered up our table. It controls the DVR wonderfully. It changes inputs on my old JVC receiver wonderfully. This was one that I was worried about. It puts the TV on the right inputs for the Wii and such. And, if for some reason it doesn't work once in a while, you hit the help button and it resends all signals and usually clears up the problem ASAP.
One of the highlights of this remote is that it does control the Xbox 360 and this is just awesomel. I've never had a remote for that device. We have started watching Netflix on the Xbox because it is much easier now! It does not control the Wii or PS3, but I knew that. Those devices are Bluetooth. I am thinking about the PS3 accessory, but probably can live without it.
Overall, I have to admit that I love this remote now. I even prefer it over the more expensive ones. This one doesn't need to be docked to keep charged. This one doesn't have an expensive touchscreen. I think the price is just right! Can't wait to show it off to my friends. :)
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
opelboy
from South Africa
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Very impressed so far!

Date:September 21, 2011
I bought this remote a few months ago, and contrary to what I have read here, setting up was a breeze and only took me an hour or so to get the remote functioning fully with my equipment.
All configuration of the remote is done through the computer; the software is quite impressive in terms of features and the amount of customizing one can do to the remote, although being web-based, the software is slightly on the slow side when clicking through screens and might take a while to get used to for the non-tech savvy users.
My AV setup includes an LCD TV, AV receiver and DVD player (all Sony) as well as an obscure brand satellite receiver and a Mede8er media box. I was pleasantly surprised that the software picked up the settings of all the model numbers I entered immediately, with no further configuration of the remote buttons required. I just performed a bit of tweaking to customize some unused buttons to my preferences, and the Harmony worked with all my equipment.
As far as design goes, the remote feels quite solid and the buttons have a nice soft rubbery feel, although some buttons require two hands to push (one to hold the remote and one to press the button), especially the lower numeric buttons, as they are quite far down to reach while holding the remote with one hand.
There are a lot of reviews that have mentioned a rattle inside the remote. This is not anything loose or broken, but is the internal accelerometer which switches the screen on when you pick the remote up, and is a very slight clicking sound whem moving the remote around (can only be heard in a quiet room).
One of my favourite features of the remote is the ability to add favourite channels onto the LCD screen, along with the logo of the channel. No more remembering channel numbers or scrolling through the TV to find what you want.
I am also glad to have one remote in place of 5 cluttering up the coffee table, and being able to start watching a movie or watching TV with the press of a single button without having to switch remotes to start up all the equipment.
In summary, a very impressive little gadget. If you have been undecided about buying a Harmony Remote like I was, just bite the bullet and get one, you will be pleasantly surprised.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smooth
from Detroit, MI
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great remote serving most needs

Date:September 15, 2011
After my daughters broke our Harmony 670 fighting over a channel, I needed to go shopping.
Being satisfied with the 670 for 3-4 years of use, I started looking for what Logitech had to offer these days. I knew the 670 offered support for up to 15 devices, but realized I only had 5 in my entertainment center. I originally planned to find a new or refurbed 670 for a direct replacement, though the price on the refurbed and new 670s were out of the range of what I wanted to spend (it had actually gone up since I bought the 670 4 years ago).
This steered me to the Harmony 650. It supports my 5 devices in my entertainment center. It even allows me to control all the functionality on my XBOX 360 (ie Netflix).
I was able to use my existing 670 software and click on the 'upgrade my device' button. All the settings from my 670 were loaded onto my 650 using this upgrade utility with no intervention or modifications on my part.
After the 650 was loaded up with my settings and activities, I pointed it at the entertainment center and it simply worked. No headaches whatsoever. That impressed the heck out of me.
A few of the buttons are in different locations, but for the most part it was easy to get used to. The 'ok' button is a little tiny for my liking and if I had a choice the button feel wouldn't be as squishy (the only reason for the 4-star rating under quality) but overall the device feels solid and better balanced than my 670.
The color LCD screen on the 650 offers a better view of the device options than that of my 670 with it's fixed font size. Fonts on the 650 scale so you can read the entire option, rather than just the first 8 or so characters like on the 670. I also like the colors on the 650.
Everything about it is easier to use. It's also weighted much better.
Sure I gave up some 2/3 of the total number of devices I could control going from the 670 to the 650, but like I said, I only need to control 5 devices and the price is right.
It's another great Logitech product.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RemoteJoe
from Seattle, WA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

OK, But Not Great

Date:December 20, 2011
The Bad
=====
I'm not sure on the reliability on this remote model, as I had to return one (as many others have stated in other reviews). My previous 650 used to lose its current activity state after 15 minutes of inactivity. This only started to happen 4-5 weeks after getting the remote. It was a pain for the family to aim the remote somewhere else, then redo the activity just to get things working again. This seems like a defect, and I was hoping it could be upgraded through software. After trying to update through the software, it still was faulty, so I replaced the remote. My newly replaced remote doesnt exhibit this yet, but its only been a few weeks, and I'm not entirely confident that this problem will reoccur in a few weeks. I would like to hear from Logitech that they are aware of this problem, otherwise I can't necessarily recommend this model (and future models) to others.
The Good
======
The button layout and ergonimcs is an improvement from previous remotes, which is why I bought this remote.
The Quirks
=======
It also would be nice to have a larger Activites button so you can click it without looking for it. Also be aware that you can only fit two activites on a screen at a time (which doesnt make sense since you have 4 dedicated buttons). Logitech should provide the option (through software) to choose 2 or 4 activites per screen (like the harmony 550).
Future Requests
===========
It would be nice if the software provided shortcuts for xbox360 to directly start Netflix, as that is what I find myself using a lot. I've noticed that the Roku remotes have dedicated buttons for this, so would be great if Logitech invested research in adding dedicated macros for popular devices (like xbox360 apps, or samsung tv apps).
Overall
=====
Its an OK remote, but some imprrovements could make this device great.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maconda99
from Colorado
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Perfect Operation, Easy Setup

Date:May 22, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I've used many universal remotes before, primarily of the type which can "learn" functions as some of my electronics have a hard to match IR signal.
When my cable provider switched over to digital and required I have a cable box to get even basic channels, it was time to find a remote that would allow me to run everything I needed.
Between my Samsung plasma TV, Sony Blu-Ray player, Panasonic speaker system, cable box, and Wii, the Harmony 650 works wonders. Setup took about 20 minutes, including signing up for a Logitech account, entering my devices, and letting my computer program the remote. Each device worked perfectly the first time around, including all of the very specific buttons that the cable box needed. The best part of the remote is the ability to program activities. Instead of turning on the devices manually with the remote, I can press "Watch TV" and the remote will turn devices on/off as necessary, and set them to the proper inputs/channels.
As to the Wii, the Harmony cannot directly control the Wii since Logitech uses IR whereas Nintendo uses bluetooth. However, I can press "Play Game", and the Harmony will setup all of my devices so all I need to do is turn on the Wii with the wii-mote. I need the wii-mote out anyway for play, so there's no additional inconvenience.
Build quality and feel of the remote is outstanding. It feels solid and weighted, but not so heavy that holding it becomes a chore. The weight balance and button placement is perfect; even with such a long remote, I don't ever feel the need to use two hands. The backlight is a great help in the dark, but isn't so bright that it becomes distracting.
Overall, the best $80 I have spent on an electronic accessory in a great while.
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rafehelwer

Almost perfect

Date:May 16, 2011
Setup is reasonably easy (much easier than any other non logitech universal remote).
I really like how easy it is to add buttons that are not on the remote (via the screen).
It's compatible with every device I tried.
The way the remote software works is you add devices (tv, amp, etc) and then you set up activities (watch tv, watch movie) by selecting the devices and inputs you need. This part works great and once set up would be easily usable for someone who isn't great with technology or for people wanting to get away from 5+ remotes.
There's only one problem. Although the device supports custom activities, it doesn't allow you to rename them (ie I have an apple tv and so I had to create a custom activity for it, now I have to remember that in order to watch apple tv I have to press custom). This is especially frustrating because I have several custom activities. Also, it's not like it would be very difficult to update the software to allow this. For a $100 remote to not support this is beyond absurd.
That is my only complaint and the only reason why it's not 5 stars. I feel this is worth -2 stars because it's just so lazy. If you will never use custom activities then feel free to consider this a 5 star review however, if they left this feature out, who knows what other semi obscure features they left out.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couch Potato
Expertise: Proficient User

Wish bumping the remote wouldn't cause reset...

Date:April 17, 2012
This unit is not difficult to program, though would recommend using the downloaded application as opposed to the WEB only configuration. You gain additional options to choose from the app. Like length of backlight timeout… What brought me to this remote is probably the same reason for most people, reduce 4 or 5 remotes to one. It does a fantastic job for this. However, I do have one complaint and I see it has been listed and misidentified by some as just a reset. For me the reset occurs from the loose seating of the batteries. I have flexed the battery (-) connector out and put a folded piece of paper between the batteries and cover. This eliminated the bumping or setting down the remote causing a reset (removing batteries). I did see another post similar to mine with using foam to keep batteries in place. That is the way it should have came from the factory… I am having troubles separating quality from performance since these are tied together. I purchased this when they were $99 and now they have come way down in price from the same bigbox store. I don’t think I should have this issue and a makeshift fix for the price. I have my 650 for over a year now. Perhaps they have addressed this with the current product. Outside of this issue it is a great product for ME.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mr Hand
from NJ
Expertise: Proficient User

Great remote with Defect

Date:November 9, 2011
I have read many complaints online with a similar theme for the H650 and I believe these are all related to one defect in the physical design of the remote - The batteries easily disconnect from their terminals. So all the problems in which it shuts down and loses the activity you were using on restart, batteries die too quickly, can't get rid of the help assistant, etc. are a direct result of a lose of connection of the battery(ies) to the terminals.
I have been very frustrated with this problem, mostly because I love the way the remote operates when it works. I have tried to rig the battery compartment to better secure the batteries with mixed results. My latest attempt I cut a piece of the small spring found in a ballboint click pen and wedged it in the terminal. It's worked for a week now. Hopefully it did the trick.
Again, other than my struggles to keep the batteries in place this remote is excellent. I found the computer set-up to be easy, it operates all me devices, and little by little I have customized the buttons and screen functions to our personal preferences.
Finally, I've spent too much time tinkering with an elementary part of this product that should have worked out of the box, so if the batteries disconnect again, it's going in the junk pile.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Xander
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Nice remote, needs better programming software

Date:August 8, 2011
I've saw these on sale in Radio Shack and since my ancient Marantz learning remote has been dropped a few too many times, I decided to get one.
The remote is nice, easy to hold and the color lcd is nice, but it requires MS Windows for programming even though the software is Open Source based. I use Linux at home so I have to take it to work to program the devices.
What I find really annoying is this:
My old Marantz allowed me to remap the keyboard so that I could assign the volume up and down keys to us the TV volume instead of the DVD volume when watvhing a DVD. Ths remote simply doesn't work that way. In the watch DVD activity, the the Volume up and down are disabled. If I switch to the TV device It works, an the DVD volume works in the DVD device mode, but in the Watch DVD activity nothing is transmitted. (I monitored the infrared leds through a web cam to be sure). According to the configuration, as shown in the software, the volumr button are mapped to the tv in the watch dvd activity.
The programming system appears to be built on open source software ( Firefox and xpcom) and java, but the data in in a top secret format that Logitech is determined to keep secret from those of us with the technical skill to use it.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JB
from Texas
Expertise: Proficient User

Worth The Money

Date:January 23, 2011
I have several components with multiple remotes along with three kids and it is a challenge to sit and watch something or listen to music without searching for a remote or toggling all three of them to watch something. A buddy of mine has this remote and has been telling me how awesome it is and that I should spend the extra money and get one. I finally decided last night to try it and i could kick myself in the rear for not getting it sooner. The set-up was a snap(only if you can follow on-screen instructions). I was up and running in 20 minutes. Went back and customized several tasks that makes watching the TV, Playing Xbox, or listening to music a breeze. Unlike other remotes the display has important commands that are not usually on other universal remotes. I did not have to sacrifice or lose any functionality of my equipment by using this remote, in fact it literally is like combining all your task/remotes into one easy simplified process. This remote could easily replace man best friend- If you do not have this remote I strongly encourage anyone reading this to get one, if you don't have the money save for it as it will be one of the best purchases you have ever made.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FiveFootNothin
from Medina, OH
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Good Remote But Needs Some Improvements

Date:April 29, 2011
Overall I like the Harmony® 650 Remote but I'm disappointed in a few things. First of all, the activity buttons and help button at the top of the remote are not backlit and all the the buttons that are backlit are not bright enough compared to older Harmony remotes. In addition, the (1-9) number buttons no longer include the letters on the buttons (e.g. abc on the #1 button) which for me is a problem since I use the letters to perform on-screen searches and now I cannot see the letters in the dark. Having the letters on the number buttons on previous Harmony remotes allowed me to see the letters in the dark as the number buttons were backlit. I also was disappointed in the new online programming software which is easier to use but is significantly limited in the ability to customize the remote (I had to fall back to the Harmony remote software installed on my computer which works better but does not allow you to program some other features of the remote). All that being said, Harmony remotes are still the best universal remotes on the market and by far provide the best value for your money, my family could not live without them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BobO
from Gig Harbor, WA
Expertise: Proficient User

Going on Year 2

Date:November 28, 2012
I would love to give all high marks, but do save them for truly exceptional products. I think their set up website does need some more intuitive interactions, but overall I do think Logitech has a good product here. We've had the older 880 and it worked fine but was difficult to set up. When we purchased this model 2 years ago, I found it much more intuitive and easy to set up with an older more cumbersome receiver. I swapped out the receiver for one of the newer mid-range Pioneers and had to re-set up the Harmony 650. I was surprised how much better this unit worked with the new receiver, and the new Dish Network Hopper. I did have a problem with one set up item and called Technical Support at Logitech and found them to be very helpful. Since you only get one remote with the Hopper, I find that I use the Harmony 650 almost all the time and since I've had it long enough, I think I can honestly say that I'd buy another if COSTCO gets them back in stock. It is nice to be able to switch the receiver without having to deal with all the other remotes. Based on the quality of Logitec products, I'll keep coming back.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TCF2025
from Toronto, Canada
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Outstanding setup!

Date:May 1, 2011
I recently renovated my basement, installing a very nice home theater - projector, soundproofing, 7.1 sound etc. I also set up another area for the kids. For the home theater I bought one of these RF remotes that custom installers use. For the kids, the Harmony 650. Net result, I m envious of the Harmony. It cost 1/5 the home theater remote yet was configured in a few pleasant minutes on the Logitech website for the specific devices I had (including a 9 year old TV) and worked perfectly first time. The home theater remote is still a work in progress.
Training my wife on a new electronic device can be a challenge at the best of times. With the Harmony I just had to say, 'Pick the activity you want to do at the top, it will turn everything on and configure everything, and now it will work just like you expect. It did, and she was happy.
With my young son (6) he walked in, spied the remote, picked it up and gave it a look top to bottom, tapped the TV activity button and sat down to watch TV. Didn't ask or say anything.
If Apple made a universal remote, it would be a lot like a Harmony.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LCES
from Austin, TX
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Flakey at Best

Date:November 30, 2012
Along with a number of other Logitech products, I previously had a Harmony 550 remote that I was extremely pleased with - it worked flawlessly. When the 550 finally gave it up for the ghost, I purchased the 650 which has never worked quite right. Some times it works, some times it doesn't. It is highly inconsistent. Whereas the 550 controlled up to 15 devices, the 650 controls only 5. I was able to transfer the settings from my old remote to the new one when I initially set it up, but I recently switched cable providers and got a new cable box. In order to add the new cable box, I had to delete several of the devices that were carried over from my old remote so I now have less functionality. The 550 was a little more expensive than the 650, but it was comparable so I've been extremely disappointed with this unit.
I thought that perhaps I had a faulty unit and thought about purchasing another one since I've seen them advertised for less than $40 brand-new, but I don't want to risk wasting any more money. At this point, we'll just continue to struggle with this one until it dies.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Disappointed in the ATL
from ATL
Expertise: Tech Savvy

History is NOT repeating itself

Date:December 29, 2011
I use to own a Harmony remote about 5 years ago. I recently moved and ended up buying the 650 to operate my Phillips TV, 360, blu-ray, and generic sound bar. Setup seemed simple enough. I liked how it had the model numbers already stored in the system. The set up for the generic sound bar wasn't that difficult and works like a charm. Now for the issues...It will turn everything on that it is suppose to. But, if I go from watching tv to anything else, it stops one selection short of the input EVERYTIME! It trys to 'fix' itself, but has yet to actually 'learn'. Second big issue...After playing the 360, I select to watch tv, it will not only stop one input short (as above), but turns the 360 on and off no less than twice with it finally leaving it on for some reason. I never had an issue with the older one I had (wish it hadn't been lost in the move). I will try this weekend to manually program each remote into it and see how that works. I am very disappointed. I would not reccommend the 650. And the by the way, the Phillips tv I have doesn't have that nuance that the FAQ's had.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lunker
from Ohio
Expertise: Proficient User

Awesome remote!

Date:March 28, 2011
This remote is genius! I've been using it for a couple of weeks now, enough time to officially put all the other remotes away. Set up was pretty easy, it probably took me a bit longer than most, but I am very picky and wanted it to be perfect. It does everything it should, I find myself using my A/V systems more because now I don't have to fiddle with all the remotes and buttons and settings. I have it controlling an Apple TV, a Sony HD TV, a Panasonic AV receiver, a Time Warner DVR cable box, and a Sony DVD player with no issues. All the buttons are customizable, so you can program them to what you want that component to do. The one touch activities are the best part. Press watch a movie, and the TV switches to the correct input, the DVD player comes on, & the receiver turns on and switches to the correct input. I should have bought this a long time ago!
One tip to share: If you are proficient with this remote and your devices(read tech savvy), use the downloadable software to program the remote. It allows you more control and programmability than the web based tool.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ilikecorn500
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Works, but has battery connection problem.

Date:August 9, 2013
:Vizio HDTV, Marantz AV Reciever, (used to have cable, but got rid of it)
I bought this remote probably two years ago. The 650 is packed with good features, and I'd always wanted a Harmony remote, so I got the 650. My favorite feature is the color screen, and the software to set it up. I'm very tech savvy, but I think the average person could set it up pretty easily. So why am I rating it three stars?
There's a very annoying battery connection problem. I don't know if this has been fixed, but basically what it does is it turns off the remote if you hit it, drop it, or press a button when the batteries are kinda close to dead. To fix this, I put a paper towel on top of the batteries in the remote to pack them in and prevent them from shaking, and restarting the remote. Now all I really have to worry about is dropping it. There is a long Logitech forum thread regarding this problem that I will link to.
Again, this problem might not occur in the newer models, but I don't know. This is a great remote otherwise.
Link: http://forums.logitech.com/t5/Harmony-Remotes/Logitech-Harmony-650-Remote-repeatedly-restarts-and-no-longer/td-p/473313
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FlyingSandal
from Washington, DC
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Big Relief, it does have all device codes

Date:October 1, 2011
I was a little concerned that the remote library might not have some of my older or odd-brand electronics when I bought this remote. I was very pleasantly surprised to find all of my devices recognized and all components worked correctly right out of the box.
Activities worked great, the only thing I needed to change was to tell the remote not to turn off my Tivo DVR or the cable box, but the setup software made that easy to find.
My wife still thinks the universal remote is more complicated than using the original ones, but I've seen her pick it up and start playing with it as she sees me use it so easily.
I got this to replace a Sony universal remote that did not have all the codes and is big and bulky and hard to hold in your hand and pick up when you are laying down.
Finally the thing that seal the deal for me is the learning feature, I knew that is a guarantee that the remote will work with all of my devices and found it also cleverly used to identify the particular type of Tivo I have.
Simply brilliant. Very happy with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Harmony 650 Remote
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracy
from Sierra Vista, AZ
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Awesome Remote!

Date:August 17, 2010
This thing was sooooo easy to set up! Download & run the software, answer questions about how you use your system, plug the remote into the computer to download the settings to the remote, follow the instructions on the little screen, and that's it.
Push the "Watch TV" button, and everything switches to the correct setting to watch TV. Same goes for the "Watch Movie" and "Listen to Music" buttons.
Are you buying this because you can never get the inputs of your TV selected, or don't have a clue as to how the inputs work with DVD, SAT Boxes, Cable Boxes, Game Consoles, or Stereo Receivers. If so, have somebody who understands your system set it up for you. It only takes 15 or 20 minutes for a standard TV, DVD, SAT box setup.
My wife can finally watch TV after my kids have been playing PS3, and she doesn't have to call me at work to walk her through it for the thousandth time.
Well worth the money. If you have a PlayStation 3, get the adapter from Logitech as well. Seriously, one remote is all you'll be left with...for real!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next>>