Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Webcams or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech HD Webcam C270

Logitech HD Webcam C270

HD 720p video calling that's simple.
Average Customer Rating:
3.296 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 27 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
6
17 out of 27(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HD Webcam C270
Review 1 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gshawn60
from Crystal River, FL, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Great fair cost replacment for my old Logi webcam.

Date:March 25, 2014
Not too happy with the stand, but it works great. No problems at all. Used it with Skype and Yahoo chat just fine. My system runs Windows 7 ,and is about three years old now. I had no problems getting it to work once I got online. I still have some upgrades to do to my desktop. I never ran it on my OEM laptop that runs 7 as it has one built in. I do not use a wide range of different products, so running in too conflics remains at minimum. Learned that the hard way in high school with my old 486 running 95. Some hardware drivers does not get along with the replacment product drivers from another company.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AveragePcGamer
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Pretty Good for average video calling

Date:January 25, 2014
This webcam for an average webcam user. Its quality is descent for the price but i wouldn't recommend it if your trying to portray an extremely high quality video call. Works well for google hangouts and skype.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Finn
from Southern California
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Basic is What You Pay For

Date:December 29, 2013
Basic webcam good to start with, easy to use. Image quality is decent at best. Some zoom problems- mostly webcam has zoomed in when I didn't instruct it to, leaving my face too blown up for my preferences. I use my laptop on my lap, so my face is already close to the screen.
If wanting something more reliable, try a step or two up.
This is good to start with or if you've got limited funds and time to spend with a technician on the phone with any problems.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JEpiCsOme
from Manila, Philippines
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Oh Logitech

Date:November 4, 2013
I have this Logitech C270 Webcam for about a year now and it works perfectly with skype and other social networking sites that requires me a webcam and delivered very good quality video. I also used this as a microphone when playing games.
But after this great usage time it suddenly died out of nowhere it is detected but only as a USB Composite device and whenever I access the Logitech software the green light on the lens turns on but the software doesn't detect the webcam.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jackaroo
from Parker, CO, USA
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Come on Logitech

Date:October 27, 2013
I had this webcam for a year. Now nothing will stream video from it. I've tried Windows movie maker, iMovie, Photo booth and Skype. It seams like it just died. Before it died it worked great and was a good basic webcam.
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rup831
from Dhaka, Bangladesh
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Decent outputs from a reasonably priced Webcam

Date:August 22, 2013
>>PROS :
▲Great crystal clear HD picture quality, especially Logitech amazed me with the brilliant low-light capturing technology.
▲The built-in mic is super-sensitive, allowing the listeners to hear even the slightest of metal clunks produced by a spoon hitting the ground.
▲There is also a headset that comes inside the box with the camera. It's quite good, especially when you don't expect a complete headset (stereo speakers + mic) with a Webcam!
▲Awesome reasonable price. You cannot expect more from a Branded company such as Logitech to provide you more at such a low price, considering the features provided.
>>CONS :
▼The lens doesn't have a cover in front of it, which serves as a deposition chamber for dust, if you don't cover it yourself. (I use a thin piece of adhesive tape to cover up the entire lens and microphone area, when the cam is not in use! )
▼I had difficulty in placing the webcam over my LCD monitor. It won't fit there, and kept on falling over continuously). So mounted that on top of a rack of my PC table.
▼The headset that comes inside the box with the camera has the speaker buds covered with a cheap foam cover, which is very prone to dust. In my case, both of them got destroyed in the course of a year, owing to dust.
▼The headset mic is not as sensitive as the built-in mic itself. I would recommend users to use the built-in Mic.
◄◄ My Recommendation ►►
Grab this, if you are a new entrant to the world of webcams, and want to enjoy HD quality conversations, KEEPING IN MIND that you have an internet connection with speed of more than 1 MBPS.
Enjoy.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
monday16
from NC
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Not up to Logitech Usual High Quality

Date:July 17, 2013
I own lots of Logitech products, keyboards, mice, webcams, and headphones and continue to buy them because they are usually good products, decently priced and user friendly.
However, I have to say this Webcam has been unpredictable at best. In some programs the webcam zooms out correctly, however when I try to use it in Skype, it zooms up close and the only way to get anything in the picture is to set the webcam across the room. At first thought it was a software issue, but has reinstalled the software and it did not help. I have the same issue on Windows 7 and 8. I then thought I just had a bad unit, but after researching the web, it appears this is a common problem for many but not all C270 owners. The sheer number of complaints on this one webcam across many forums makes me wonder why Logitech has not addressed this issue with a software update.
I would still recommend Logitech products, but this particular device has been nothing but junk for me. The only reason I gave it 2 stars is it does work in some programs and the picture is clear and sharp, even if it is zoomed in way too far.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Vladonexxx
from Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Do not buy

Date:June 23, 2013
I have bought numerous Logitech products and enjoyed them all except for this one.
This webcam DOES NOT WORK WITH SKYPE! It's been causing me nothing but distress. 90% of calls get high pitch voice that sometimes goes away by remaking the call (very seldom ~1%) or by changing the USB port so I guess it pretty much does what it wants. Changing quality from 64khz to 16khz seems to solve the problem but why would I want to do that?
The problem seems to be with the kernel but Logitech doesn't do anything after years.
You have got no idea how much anger this piece of plastic has caused me. It would've been a much better choice to pay a quarter of the price on a functional cheap one.
-12points
2out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HighPockets1966
from Florida, USA
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Quality controls and optics

Date:June 8, 2013
I bought this cam after searching the web and watching demo's. The price was great and the cam works great. I love using the motion detector when I am away from my home.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GA@NY
from New York NY
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male

Good value, could use better grip

Date:March 18, 2013
Delivers as specified... good picture and clear sound. Would gain from an improved clip/attachment design.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hank
from NH

Logitech 270 software

Date:February 23, 2013
The video quality is average, but the software has too many individual applications. The software hung up two computers operating with Windows 7. I had to uninstall the software and use just the camera driver to have it work with Yahoo Messenger.
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Libby

Can't be seen

Date:September 25, 2012
The camera doesn't work well on my laptop. I can't get it to remain in a good posistion on the laptop. People either see the seeling, my outfit without my face, or the keyboard. I can move it to a table but then you only get a side view.
-6points
20out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KumputerDave
from Shawnee, KS
Expertise: Tech Savvy

I love this Cam!

Date:August 31, 2012
I've had several Logitech devices including webcams over the years and have always been happy with their workmanship and both in design and delivery of performance. As expected this cam has met or exceeded all of my expectations. I've been in the I.T. business both professionally and personally for over 25 years and don't understand why people don't take the time to research before they buy. Take a look at the specs, if this is what you need or want then I highly recommend it to anyone.
+25points
31out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Johnathan
from Washington State.
Expertise: Proficient User

Cheaply Made...

Date:June 27, 2012
Usually I like Logitech products, and I can only hope that I just got a lemon... Device would not install drivers at first, then it just got worse. The USB was so bad that it would disconnect itself if there was a small breeze blowing by the laptop.. and I was indoors. Anytime the Camera was moved, it would disconnect. Again, I'm just hoping that this one unit was defective, but just beware before you buy.
+4points
12out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jhelinski
from Niagara falls, NY
Expertise: Tech Savvy

So Irritating!

Date:April 18, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This camera had really nice video quality, and pretty decent sound quality, but only for a month or so. After a month, the camera began to have a night life; making all the video pink, green, jumbled, and flashing. Over the next month, it would do this more and more, 'till it's just not usable anymore. I didn't even mind the random switches from high definition to low definition in the middle of the Skype calls, or the random mic cut out that would happen every moment or so. I didn't even mind when the camera got uncomfortably hot, thinking it would start some sort of fire. It was really the rave parties that bothered me the most; so much so, I just smashed it on the desk, and I'm USUALLY a really chill guy. I just regret recommending this camera to my friends, thinking it was a really good camera.
+10points
21out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paranoia

Love My New Cam!!!

Date:March 30, 2012
My old Logitech camera was so out of date but it seemed like most peoples camera's seemed the same way. Until I got my new HD camera...I love this thing...The pictures and video is just amazing as well as the sound...Im so glad I up and got the new model. ^^
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lexi
from Atlanta, GA
Expertise: Proficient User

Really Good Webcam

Date:March 18, 2012
I bought this webcam on 03/16/2012 and I am in love with it. I love that it has a built in mic and it comes with a microphone headset, which works fine. I wish that the headset was adjustable and that the web cam cord was longer but it's something I could live with. I participate in online webinars and the quality of the web cam is very clear. Another downside is that I could upload any videos to Facebook or YouTube from the web cam but again, it's something I could live with. I am very happy with the product. Please read the directions carefully because when I first tried to install it, the web cam would not install because I didn't read the directions carefully. Make sure that your computer is compatible with the software.
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joann
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best Webcam for under $40 By Far

Date:March 7, 2012
The guy "Bob" who left a bad review obviously has a virus in his computer preventing the software to install properly. As the owner of 3 computer repair shops I know that logitech HD webcam drivers, picture quality and software is the best by far over the other webcams. Trust me you will be very happy with any of the logitech HD webcams, so buy one that is in your price range :)
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bob

Web Cam Software is JUNK

Date:February 26, 2012
I tried 3 times to install software and each time it would not complete, always with a different problem. Finally gave up installed SKYPE using camera only Works Fine
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HD Webcam C270
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cadi
Expertise: Tech Savvy

A really good starter webcam

Date:December 19, 2011
I got this almost a year ago, and I'm still using it a lot. I make vlogs on youtube, and this is perfect, because it's very good video quality, and the finished products I am always happy with. The cord is a bit short for my liking, but I get along just fine with it. The microphone and features work perfectly, and I love the features it has. The only downside is that it doesn't come with the video effects feature, but I easily add those in with my video software. It's a very good webcam, and easy to use for first-time buyers. I will definitely buy my next webcam from Logitech.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>