Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Mice + Keyboards or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Wireless Gaming Mouse G700

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Wireless Gaming Mouse G700

Powerful control that gets you deep into your game. Wireless freedom without performance compromises.
Average Customer Rating:
4.074 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(135 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 135 reviews
5 stars
66
4 stars
33
3 stars
22
2 stars
8
1 star
6
104 out of 135(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Review 61 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mad Ad
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Why the G700 is bad for gaming

Date:September 7, 2011
I was buying logitech wireless desktops in 2000, im on my 3rd logi joystick having worn out two, ive used logi mice for years, on pcs in my home over years plus recommendations to friends, the hardware has always been superb.
In this I include my trusty MX518 ive gamed with for 5 years. Its wearing out so I wanted to treat myself to a G700, I needed more buttons for the current game I play too, so looked forward to the upgrade. Sadly I completely regret my purchase. I have gamed on it for several weeks now and its just wrong.
SHAPE DISASTER
The whole left hand side has been designed to look fancy curvy in the pictures but is infact an ergonomic disaster.
1- The thumb well is too small. The resting position for the thumb makes it collide with the buttons so mentally I try to push my thumb down but the fancy body curve forces it out making a change of side grip impossible, it makes you fight against it to keep the buttons clear and its very uncomfortable.
2- The only other position the thumb can grip without fouling or getting pushed up is forward, on the ridge below the lights. This too is not comfortable or good to grip but its the only other choice.
The right hand side body is no better, hands just arent shaped like that - looks nice in the pictures tho
1 - The MX518 has a ridge by the right click for the third finger, and a body panel to hold with your little finger. Here there is almost no ridge, what little there is ends up a point, not a good grip surface.
2 - The side below the ridge is curved down away into the mouse making gripping it a herculean task for your third finger since the curve forces the fingers to the tabletop in search of good grip.
3 - The small finger has no where to go because the 3rd finger is scrunched up trying to position it precisely. If you do get both on the panel, the small finger ends up underneath and farther in than the third. (try putting your hand in that shape, not good huh?)
Because of the push up/dive down body counter angles, the whole mouse feels as if its twisted under my hand but there is no 6th finger and only my palm to try correct it so my palm itself trys to curve into a grip shape...its not comfortable doing that either.

WHY IS GRIP IMPORTANT?
Gaming its not just moving the pointer side to side, its just as important to pick the mouse up to center it while you do things like run or turn. I may need this several times a minute so having a G700 shape that forces the left fingers down and the thumb up into the buttons on each readjust is a FAIL for gaming. Completely.
Compare to the 518. The thumb area is a nice flat panel allowing movement and contact where you need it, theres a tiny curve lip but it doesnt cause a problem. The ridge for the third finger is so important, as well as being able to pick it up with thumb and third alone, it also leaves the side panel clear for the small finger, again a flat panel that doesnt try and force you off the grip. If necessary i can lift it with thumb and third, or thumb and small, or all 3.
However the G700 is so uncomfortable for gaming ive been getting really frustrated with it. I can feel the extra stress in my tendons trying to keep the 3rd and 4th finger on the side, with the thumb having nowhere at all it feels at home. Overall this is a recipe for RSI/CTS if people are using this over any period of gaming. Who on earth is this body designed for? Did R&D even test it with FPS gamers?
SOLUTIONS? NO
I cannot see a solution. There is no other mouse that has as many buttons. Its too late to take it back to the shop. Im thoroughly disheartened since now going back to the MX would mean an improvement in control, but i have to give up the new buttons i needed. Sad face whatever happens.
To mod it id like to cut off the curvy flap on the left (its functionally useless), there needs to be a flat area where the thumb can grip the body, away from the buttons, except theyve put a glide pad on the bottom meaning i cant even do that. The right side needs a flat finger size panel the length of the mouse added so both fingers dont curl under but have somewhere to brace against helping hand tendons not strain to control the mouse in even non gaming use.
Sorry Logitech, you have seriously dropped the ball on this one. The software works well, the extra buttons was my real wish, but the poor ergonomics means i have now wasted a good chunk of money on this. The only way to rescue it would be to create an add on body, but im sure you are selling too many on the basis of its good looks to need to bother with that.
A previously happy customer :(
-1point
22out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
olatoks
from Moscow
Expertise: Tech Savvy

One of the best mices out there..A must buy

Date:September 12, 2011
I may not be a hard-core gamer or tech savvy person like every one else but i have done my term on a lot of hardware devices and i am very meticulous with what i buy. I like to go for the best if i can afford it. I bought this mouse as a replacement to another Logitech mouse (which came along with my keyboard).
I can tell you this device may not fulfill or meet the standards of some people out there but this thing DOES give you a run for your money. Do we want to talk about the smooth scrolling and lightning response? Do we want to talk about the wireless/wired combination? Yes, in my opinion, this thing is a piece of art and technology..combined..
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
espresso
from Serbia
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Date:September 17, 2011
The design is perfection. It makes you feel good just by holding it. Four keys on the side are easy to press and you won't mix them up once you get used to them. The three keys on the left top take some more effort to press (you gotta get the right angle) so I don't use them in games that require fast reflexes.
Other users summed this mouse up very well and I'll just add the only complaint that I have - battery life. It provides approximately two days of use with 2000mAh battery. By installing Sanyo XX 2500 mAh (low self discharge) battery I got 2,5 to 3 days of use. So I think investing in a more powerfull battery is a good move.
Anyway, two or three days of use is just too short. When you remove an "empty" battery from the mouse and measure the remaining capacity, you will see that it has more than half the energy left in it. So, this mouse is very energy inefficient.
I guess the choice to use one battery is made as a compromise of some sort. Two batteries would certainly provide better autonomy.
Lastly, I don't regret a single Euro that I paid for this mouse and I paid for it way over price (83 eur).
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blackout
from Microsoft Studios Redmond
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Perfect gaming mouse.

Date:September 23, 2011
Logitech-Quality, details, cutting edge
6 years ago I bought a keyboard & mouse set from Logitech, I use my computer over 3 hours a day for both work and gaming. Today it works beautifully. But when I upgraded my pc to a top of the line gaming pc. I could not just use any old mouse... I needed something special. The Logitech G700 fit the bill perfectly.
-Well priced compaired to some Gaming Mice
-Scroll button select
-dpi increase/decrease
-wireless/wired for charging
-Looks/feels AMAZING
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Giggedy
from Belgium
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great gaming mouse!

Date:September 24, 2011
This is the best mouse I've ever had. Really, it just feels awsome in your hand. I have big hands so finding a mouse that feels as comfortable as the G700 isn't that easy. the buttons on the side are really easy to use( even with big hands!) for shooters and mmorpgs. And the ones on the top are great for mmorpgs, but not really for shooters, but you dont need as much binds anyway.
the build quality is good too, i take it to school everyday and its still like new.
the setpoint software is really usefull for this mouse because you can just bind everything you can do on your computer to a button. This mouse makes everything easier you do on your computer, not only gaming.
another awesome feature is that when your battery is empty you can just pop in the cable, and you can just go on with gaming, while its charging. OR you can just put another battery. that's what makes this mouse just pure awesomeness. you don't have to wait for your mouse to recharge and when your battery is wore out, you can just put another battery in there.
My score would be 11/10. It's just wonderfull, and I've had razer/ steelseries mice too. but those mice can't top this one
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
J.Stock
from Abilene, TX
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Upgraded to G700 from MX518

Date:September 27, 2011
I've previously used Logitech MX 518 as my mouse of choice. I bought the original model when it first came out, and bought a second revision of it a few years ago. It took me a long time to settle on what mouse to buy, because I had such great luck with the MX 518. I've also always been weary of using a wireless mouse or keyboard.
First of all, the wireless aspects of the G700 are perfect. I have never encountered a single hick-up in the 40+ hours of gaming I've put in since I received the mouse. (Most of time was playing Deus Ex, or Battlefield Bad Company 2). I've even been able to use the G700 20ft away from the receiver, through a wall, without any issues. (Not that I would ever have a need for it..)
The battery life seems to be great; I've never encountered a low battery signal since owning the product. I'll charge the mouse after 2 or 3 days if I did a lot of gaming, but if I haven't had much play time, I've left it sit for a week without a problem. The great thing is the mouse can be used while charging, without any problems. However, the charging cable is a little stiff, so I eventually switched to a different cable, but its not necessary by any means.
The Setup itself is pretty easy, and Logitech includes a Quick Start guide you can look over in case you have any questions. I immediately downloaded the latest version of Logitech Setpoint, and began customizing the mouse to my needs.
It took me a few days to get the mouse set up how I like. There is so many options in setting mouse DPI, that I'm still working down to my favorite levels for various tasks. The SetPoint software allows you to create separate profiles, and customize each profile for what you need. If you want to have a profile for World of Warcraft, one for Black OPS, and one for web surfing--you can have that option. With each profile, you can customize what each button does, how many levels of DPI you want, and at what level you wish them to be it.
My main issue with the mouse so far has been the mouse wheel. I've had to turn the speed on it down to the lowest possible setting, yet I continue to tap the wheel in games, which switches my weapon normally, or while surfing in Aurora, it scrolls back up the page. This might just be something I need to get used to, but I never had this issue once on my previous mouse. I just always seem to be hitting that wheel. I have very small hands, so that may be causing some of the problems.
The only other issue I have with the mouse is the location of the buttons for Raise/Lower DPI, and Profile Switch. Its on the left side of the left mouse button. It's a bit of a pain to get to when I'm playing games. My previous mouse, MX 518, had a button on top and on bottom of the mouse wheel to adjust this setting, and it worked perfectly. I'm sure I will get used to it, but I'm still finding it annoying weeks after purchasing the mouse.
I love the mouse I received. I'm very impressed with the wireless capabilities, and the amount of customization available to you. If you are a die-hard MX 518 lover, this may not be the perfect new mouse for you, but its close. For others, especially those who have never used a real good mouse before, you will fall in love with this mouse.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jakob
Expertise: Proficient User

Could use some tweaking

Date:November 7, 2011
Won this thanks to Timegate a while back and I've been mostly pleased with it.
Responsive, plenty of features and the extra buttons are very useful.
Here's the thing, the button placement isn't the best.
With my hand in a relaxed state I can't just roll my thumb to hit Mouse4/5, 6 and 7 are unreachable unless I move my thumb to rest on the 4-7 slab. To me, this is far from ideal as it has resulted in accidental presses while moving the mouse around.
If the design were up to me, I would move the thumb pad up, leave 4/5 above the thumb and move 6/7 to below, all close enough that I could easily roll my thumb to press any of the four buttons, but allowing me to keep a snug grip on the mouse.
Buttons 8/9/10(DPI/battery check) are close to perfect, but personally I'd rather they be located a bit closer to the front of the mouse. If anything I'd say Logitech should borrow an idea from the RAT mice and put them on an adjustable screw.
Lastly, the mouse tilt. The wheel itself could be a little higher and the tilt itself a bit softer, something akin to how it felt on the G500
All in all, it's a good mouse, not the best button placement, but a good mouse regardless
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drickcan

AWSOME1!

Date:November 22, 2011
Had 4 over 1 yr. very good. the last 1 i had there was 2 batt. but dont make it any more. only diff. so i b
got 2 rechargable batt. frm doller store LoL @ wrks perfect.
-15points
0out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HH
from NZ
Expertise: Tech Savvy

WOW. Logitech wins again

Date:December 7, 2011
This is probably one of the best mice I have ever used.
Logitech is number 1 in my mind with mice, keyboard and even remotes.
Not only they make great products they also have the best customer service. They are very helpful, very easy to understand and they also know their products.
Logitech keep up the good work.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jason

Great

Date:December 18, 2011
This mouse is very comfortable, the charge lasts well, the buttons are easy to press, and the inboard memory is great. I have been using it for about a month and a half and it still is in great shape.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kenthegeek
from Atlanta, Ga
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Performance

Date:December 26, 2011
I've only used this mouse for a few hours now, but LOVE it.
I've had a pretty basic mouse for a long time, and was ready to upgrade to a high performance gaming mouse with more buttons and more capability. Well, this mouse has exceeded my expectations in performance and features. I bought this mouse thinking that it's JUST a Logitech mouse, but it blew me away when I got it home and learned ALL it could do. Then I realized it wasn't JUST another regular mouse.
It has different profiles to switch through for different button presets depending on what your doing on your computer. And you can set up to 5 different profiles, and set programs to use certain profiles with.
It aslo goes all the way up to about 5000dpi setting which is definitely good if you have a very large monitor and high resolution setting.
The one feature that I really like is the scroll wheel can switch between a smooth and a 'ridged' scroll setting. Which is great for scrolling through long documents or webpages using the smooth scrolling and just start the wheel spinning and it keeps spinning pretty much till you stop it on your own.
Pros: Great features, Great Quality, Scroll wheel switching, 5 programmable profiles, up to 5 dpi settings on the fly, USB charging and continuous use while charging
Cons: Buttons near thumb sometimes feel like they're in the way, but it is a gaming mouse with LOTS of buttons, a little heavy in the hand, could be a little better ergonomically, a little difficult trying to figure out how to navigate profiles and settings on mouse.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
panusr
from Northern California
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great mouse

Date:January 1, 2012
I have been a Logitech customer for years because of products like the G700. I thought that the mouse was really great right from the start. It got even better when I actually installed the SetPoint software and programmed the buttons for WOW. I love the fact that the mouse stores your profiles on the mouse, which leave you only to configure your software on your computer Great job Logitech.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WoW Guy101

Service Service Service

Date:January 5, 2012
I previously used the G500 and loved it but wanted more buttons to map to my app (WoW) so I went for the G700 love feel. It’s great in your palm like it is not even there. I did have one issue and Logitech was all over it. I an era where there is no more customer service Logitech has them all beat.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TestDude
Expertise: Proficient User

Bad buttons design

Date:January 17, 2012
The design of the mouse designed for gaming Logitech G700 was a good idea. Unfortunately, due to the design of some buttons, in this case the buttons on the left mouse button (G4, G5, G6 and G7); it loses all its attraction.
It is clear that those who designed this mouse have not tried long games like Battlefield 2. Otherwise they would have quickly realized that the buttons G4 to G7 injured thumb. These buttons are terminated by a sharp ridge, and when using these buttons, thumb support constantly on the edges and very quickly becomes injured.
In addition to the pressure with which you must press the middle button is much too high. It is the same for scrolling left and right.
This is extremely unfortunate that Logitech does not make more effort in the design of his mouse.
Still missing some things.
Whether the amount of buttons, button placement, button shapes, the sensitivity of the buttons, the ability to save the profile in a memory installed in the mouse, etc.
-9points
5out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SpydersByte
from PA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best gaming mouse out there.

Date:February 3, 2012
The review at the top of the page when I decided to write this spoke negatively of some of the buttons. I would like to reply to his words and follow up with my own review.
The buttons on the left side of the mouse are angled for a reason, the surface makes for easy separation and recognition of the buttons. You always know what you are pressing. Also, he claims he "injures" his thumb on them. They aren't sharp, they're simply angled. Unless you have an open wound on your thumb, I can't imagine them ever hurting you. If anything, for people like him they could be angled slightly less so. Making them flat loses the purpose of the design, which is a good one.
He also comments that the middle mouse button is too high. I suppose if you have very small hands it may be but if so, you can ride your hand up a bit more on the mouse. Beyond that, because of the side keys, you don't NEED to use the middle mouse 'push-down' feature. I myself simply remap that to a side key as I've never liked pushing down a scroll wheel personally.
------
Most people that I know consider the G lines' primary competitor to be Razor (I would name Saitek as well). Logitechs' quality far surpasses Razor, so much so that it's almost sad. I've owned this mouse for almost 2 years and it still works as though I bought it yesterday. I've owned multiple G15's and G330's, a G500, G700, and G13. I've yet to have a single piece of Logitech G gear fail on me because of anything but user error (ie. spilled coke on the G15, cut wire on the G330). I've also owned multiple Razor products, ALL of which have had at least one product failure within the first few months of the purchase. I even had one Razor keyboard that simply did not work straight out of the box.
I could think of a few ways to improve this mouse, but they are all simply more extraneous features that I'm sure will eventually be here. On-mouse profile storage and weighting would be nice, and you can always add more buttons (I would put two more on the side, one more on the top-left). Without these features this mouse is still by far the best gaming mouse out there. There are Razor and Saitek mouses out there with more buttons or more customization, however they both fall flat on durability. As gamers, we NEED that durability more than we need another button or two (unless you have money to continuously throw away and don't mind constant frustration).
Also, as someone below noted, Logitechs' customer support cannot be underestimated or undervalued. They truely care about their users and truely want to help you with any problem you may encounter (as unlikely as that is).
Obviously I'm a huge Logitech fan, but that love is not unfounded. I've gone elsewhere and I always return. This quality cannot be found anywhere else. If you want a gaming mouse, you want a G mouse. That's all there is to it.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thark

G700

Date:February 8, 2012
I've had one for about 3 months now, and like it so much I'm purchasing another for my office. I like having many buttons on the mouse, and this is one of the few that does. Other similar mice that I've tried really lacked the quality that Logitech has. I've been using their products for 12 years now, and the only time I had a problem their support was great.
This mouse has a very good feel to it. It performs well, has the buttons that I need, and gets the job done. My only drawback so far is that it takes 2 USB ports to use when charging (one for charging and another for the receiver).
Overall I'm very pleased with this mouse so far.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zach G.
from Salem, NH
Expertise: Proficient User

Simple and Efficient

Date:February 15, 2012
I bought this mouse with the intention of just replacing an old Microsoft mouse, and found to be much better than just a replacement. It is much more comfortable than the other mouse, the buttons took a little getting used to, but I got the buttons down-pat. Lastly, the fact that the battery is replaceable is one of the most important parts about the mouse, as most technology today does not allow access to the battery, making me and many others forced to buy another product when we should not have to if we do not want to. I would also recommend that people get the software for the smooth-scroll feature for the mouse, as you will then be able to take full advantage of the loose scrolling without the slow reaction to the scrolling effect. Great product overall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EssejSllim
Expertise: Proficient User

Gaming Mouse that's great for non-gaming too.

Date:March 1, 2012
Before I bought my G700, I looked at a bunch of other high end models (I'm sure most of you have too). Ultimately I decided on the G700 because it had the best button selection and was the only wireless mouse with wired performance levels. I am very glad that I decided on this mouse.
The mouse is extremely comfortable. Since using it, I recoil a little bit whenever I use a regular, two-button ambidextrous mouse. I have a strange grip where I rest three fingers on top of the mouse, one for left and right click and one for the scroll wheel. Never before has a mouse really accommodated this grip. This is great for gaming, because it allows easier access to the wheel as a button as well as the three buttons embedded in the left-click area. That said, it works just as well if you have a regular two-finger grip, though the three top buttons will require a little reach for claw-grippers.
The buttons are placed very well. The four thumb buttons are all easy to reach, and depending on the size and strength of your thumb, you can actually use two of them at once. This is a BIG mouse, and not really a mouse for small-handed people thought, and if you have small hands, or an especially short claw grip, the three top buttons will be a bit of a reach. Regardless of your grip, the scroll lock button and the G11 right behind that are easy to access.
The G700 is a very versatile mouse, for both games and regular use. I use it for FPS's, which I can only play with a mouse, never a console-style controller. I use it for Real-Time Strategy games, where the 13 buttons come in handy to program to numerous keystrokes. I use it for action games like Assassin's Creed as well. If you play FPS's exclusively, there are probably more apt mice for you, but none are more versatile. And that goes beyond gaming. I love having buttons for forward, back, copy, paste and media controls (play/pause, next, previous). In that case, I think this mouse is much better for regular use than most gaming mice.
Wireless is great! The connection is beautiful, I've never noticed any lag. You can leave the receiver in at all times if you want to. Unfortunately, it is not a unifying receiver; for performance reasons, the mouse needs a dedicated connection, but given the size, it's not a huge deal. I often hook my laptop up to my TV in the living room. I've gone upstairs and the mouse still works, with a good 30 feet and a few walls between it and the receiver.
The scroll wheel may be one of my favorite features. Free-scrolling works just as advertised, and can be EXTREMELY fast; I never have to use the actual scroll bar on anything anymore. And the click-to-click scrolling is very precise; you're never going to accidentally go two or three clicks when you meant to go one, like when switching weapons.
Lastly, the SetPoint software. It's very easy to use and very impressive in its depth. There are dozens of pre-built programmable commands, and you can easily assign custom keystrokes and macros. The mouse can store 5 profiles on it, and can switch either manually, or can detect applications to switch profiles automatically. I use the latter, and it is nearly flawless. The only minor complaint I have, and this could very well just be my fault, is how to really create macros and make them work. So far I haven't had any need for them though.
So overall, I would highly recommend this mouse; it is a very impressive offering.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thewildnative
from Laie, Hawaii
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Works for certain things, not all things

Date:March 16, 2012
I bought this mouse to use with my Adobe CS5 Master Collection, hoping that it would scroll sideways the way it works on a mac mighty mouse scroll ball. But its not too functional. Does work slightly on Photoshop and Illustrator, but not After Effects, Premiere or Flash. Scrolls sideways just fine on browers, haven't tried Microsoft office. I wonder if Hacking the drivers would make it work.
Also the G8, G9 and G10 buttons can be tough to push since the angle of the buttons is built awkwardly, this is not the case of the G4, G5, G6 and G7, they work brilliantly.
And the last thing in the scroll wheel, i wish that the logitech didn't include this free-spin feature in all their heavy duty mice, it weakens the regular click spin and feels like it could break if dropped just once. The unit does seem fragile, and am sure it could break if dropped, but i haven't had the experience yet.
In any case, All other Functions of this mouse are wonderful and easy to use.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Wireless Gaming Mouse G700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmage
from North Carolina
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Outstanding mouse

Date:March 16, 2012
I honestly couldn't ask for a better wireless gaming mouse that functions or is as easy or versatile as this mouse especially for the price.
I looked at TONS of other gaming wireless mice and the prices, reviews, and availability and none compared to the G700. I could go on about how easy it is to use, how great Logitech's CSR is, and all that but unless you try it all for yourself you'll not get the full understanding on how great all these are. If you've never used Logitech's products or have had second thoughts then I STRONGLY encourage you to give it a go and try these products. Whether it's a mouse, keyboard, or some other product I can just about guarantee you that Logitech will NOT let you down and if you've ever come across ANY problems their CSR is just incredible and will go above and beyond to help their consumers out.
If I'd been able to have these products while I were in Iraq (to use on the government computers) I'd done so in a hot New York second. I've used Logitech's products for over 8 years and unless something drastic happens I am more than sure I will continue to use Logitech products in the future!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<<Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next>>