Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Mice + Keyboards or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Gaming Keyboard G510

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Gaming Keyboard G510

Get instant access to the tools and intel you need to win.
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 66 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 star
6
46 out of 66(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gaming Keyboard G510
Review 1 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Silverphish
from DFW, Texas
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Fine in Theory, Lacking in Execution

Date:April 18, 2013
This is a refresh of the awesome G15 from years ago. It has nearly all of the same features plus a couple of new ones (multiple colors, and built in headphone jack). The software suite is fairly comprehensive and easy to use, and I must say that I like it despite not being a fan of most peripheral specific software. Interestingly, it will control both the G510 and the G15 keyboards perfectly well even if they are both plugged in at the same time. When using the G15 options, you get a picture of the older model to go with the menus. That is an extra step that I really appreciate.
Where this keyboard falls apart is, ironically, in the keyboard department. This is probably the worst engineered keyboard I have ever used. The keys all have very little tolerance for being pressed from imperfect angles, having a tendency to hang before you press them all the way down. The worst culprit here is definitely the space bar. You must push the space bar in the middle, or it WILL hang before a full press. This totally defeats the purpose of having a wide bar. it would have made more sense to just make a 'space key' instead.
The keys also frequently create double presses, giving you unwanted double characters while typing. This, combined with the sticking keys, literally prompted someone I was chatting with to ask me if I was drinking. "Yo man are you drinking? What's with all the typos?" "No, sorry, it's this junky overpriced keyboard I just bought".
I should also mention that the legs are too weak for the level of frustration generated by this keyboard. While playing a fps, hanging keys were ruining my game, and both legs snapped off when I slammed my fist into the middle of it. I used it for a couple of days leaning in the wrong direction, but have now moved back to my 7 year old G15. The backlight is a little dim now, but it's still a great keyboard.
Logitech, I appreciate the idea of the G510, but the next time you revive the awesome G15 please do it right. No more cheap junk.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NewbCompGuru
from Somewhere over the rainbow, Oz
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Good but w/ quirks

Date:April 1, 2013
This is a nice keyboard but it does have some issues that can be very frustrating at times. The biggest issue I have noticed is that it takes far more force than should be necessary to get some of the keys to register that it has been pressed. Also the space key can sometimes not register if not pressed near the center. Another little issue is the backlit keys are not the brightest, especially when viewed at an angle (if looking directly down at the keyboard the colors are fine). I've used the macros on a few games so far and they work fine. (the only thing I've noticed that made me sad is that you cannot macro key strokes and mouse clicks in the same macro. Though it is possible I just haven't figured it out yet). The LCD panel is nice for getting day/time, and other few semi-useful things but overall in my opinion a feature I rarely use. The media keys are very nice for listening to music while gaming, don't like the song you're listening to? just skip it! Excluding the little quirks of this keyboard, overall this is an acceptable keyboard.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SDVDR
from Green Park, MO, USA
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Good keyboard

Date:March 29, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I bought this keyboard about three months ago. I'm pretty impressed. It's a really good keyboard and the keys feel great. I really like the display. I run CoreTemp (an application supported by the Logitech software) on it to monitor the temperatures of my CPU on my custom built computer. My only complaint is that sometimes you have to push pretty hard for some of the keys to work. For example, when playing games, I have to push pretty hard on the left shift key for it to work so I can run. I got used to it and now no problem at all. The display is the reason I got this keyboard over a mechanical keyboard, and I think it's worth it. As I said, I use CoreTemp on it. I can see my CPU clock speed, which is nice because I have an overclocked CPU, current CPU voltage, the temperatures of all four cores, and the date and time which is very convenient to be able to see when the taskbar of Windows is unavailable. I also use the standard Logitech media features of the display, which allow me to see the song I'm listening to. That's great for when I game because I have media keys to change the song and I can see the song playing in iTunes on the display and use the buttons on the keyboard to switch between widgets. The volume knob is absolutely excellent. All keyboards should have it. I use it all of the time, along with the mute button next to it. It may sound stupid, but that's one of my favorite parts of this keyboard. I wish the backlights were a bit brighter, but they look great at night. Being able to create custom colors is awesome. Good job, Logitech. I plan to keep this keyboard for a long time. I own many Logitech products and have never had a problem with any of them.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Strog
from Ogden, UT
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Good keyboard, but not for gaming.

Date:March 24, 2013
Pros: This keyboard looks awesome and feels nice. Customizable color for the backlight is awesome.
Cons: I used it for a few days and realized that you need to press the keys firmly down in order for them to register. Others have noticed this mainly with the spacebar, but I noticed it with all the keys. You need to push them past the point of the 'click'. I noticed many times while gaming that I wouldn't be pushing the key down quite hard enough and it wouldn't register that I was pressing it. It got old very fast. I ended up going back to my old keyboard (microsoft sidewinder x6).
Also, the backlighting was quite dull.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1337I\/I4I\I
from Munich, Germany
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Perfect for serious gaming!

Date:March 17, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
i have my logitech G510 gaming keyboard now for about 2 years and im glad to have it!
it doesn´t matter if youre going on any lan-partys, gaming sessions or just playing at home.
this keyboards durability is like a rock ones.
its very robust (like nearly all logitech products) and the display with all the game and program applications is more than only helpful.
you can sight all the informations you need in an eyeblink.
helpful non standart apps by example are: Core Temp(cpu monitoring program), EVGA Presicion X (graphic card monitoring/overclocking program), Fraps (program for screen videos and screenshots).
the lcd screen gives a clear sight for your cpu temperature/utilization by example (with "core temp")
how i said:
i LOVE this keyboard. and i´m sure it´ll hold for two more years easily.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
timvisee
from The Hague, The Netherlands
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Just Awesome!

Date:January 25, 2013
I would like to say just one single word, 'Awesome'! For me, as a programmer, this keyboard is perfect. The keys feel very good and doesn't make much noise at all, unless it's a mechanical keyboard. Also the other keys found on the keyboard for volume, the media keys and the other ones feel good, definitely not like cheap hardware keys. The volume control barrel is even better! With all the new software of Logitech installed it's very easy to add macros for any game, or just for desktop software, if you'd like to. The software does even recognize some games installed and gives you a huge list of predefined macros.
Also, a thing I have set-up with the newest software, is that if I start certain games, my keyboard color changes and all the macro keys under M1, M2 and M3 are customly set-up for each game which gives a good look in the first place.
Lastly, the LCD is awesome in my opinion. It's easy, to use the LCD for voice software like Mumble, Skype or similarities. Also, it has a build in feature to show your PC's performance (CPU and RAM usage). On the internet you can find loads of other apps to run for specific games. Like statics on the LCD for the game you are playing.
I definitely recommend others to buy the keyboard!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
wheelchairhitman

Average at best

Date:January 20, 2013
ok so i had a g11 b4 the g510 i now own. looking at the spec it looks like a good gaming keyboard, lots of g keys and a backlit lcd display.
the only good thing about this keyboard is the media controls. they are smooth and well to hand.
the backlit keys are far to dull, my g11 had much more brightness to them. the spacebar is terrible in game, if you hit the left or right of it it dosent work, you have to hit it dead on center.
my g11 had usb ports on the back of the keyboard, the g510 has none! why??????????
they should have just updated the g11 and put a screen on it and sold it for the price of the g510!!!! you would have made a killing!!!
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tyrael160
from Macon, GA, USA
Expertise: Proficient User

Back to the Tried and True

Date:December 24, 2012
Bought this as an "Upgrade" to my V1 G15, I've never been so disappointed. Never had an issue with G15 or G5 mouse, hooked up the G510 and on start up the computer wouldn't recognize there was a keyboard ( EVGA 780i FTW w/ Win 7 64bit). Used another keyboard to get to windows and the 510 would work. in game it was ok but I really had to press the keys to get any response.
Bottom line, I'm writing this review on my G15 and come the day after Christmas the G510 is going back to the store and I'm using the G15 till the day it dies. I've used Logitech for a long time but this may end that if their quality doesn't get back to the level of the G15 and G5 I'm used to
-7points
6out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
IainB
from VA, USA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Horrible keys kill this keyboard

Date:November 25, 2012
This is my second Logitech keyboard (used to own an original G15 with the folding screen) and I don't think I'll ever buy another one again.
This keyboard has some nice features like the multimedia buttons, built in headphone/mic ports and the "disable Windows" key but the absolutely horrid action for the keys make me regret purchasing it.
All the keys are mushy and sometimes don't even respond to key presses. The spacebar is the worst offender, if you press too far to the right or left on it it won't register at all- pretty bad when using WASD for FPS games.
The performance of the keys is enough to make me not recommend this to anyone.
-9points
6out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
g0lden_i
from Denver, CO
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great keyboard

Date:November 7, 2012
I bought this keyboard because I wanted a backlit keyboard, I was originally planning on buying the G110 for $80 but while I was about to buy it in store they ran out, I decided to check my phone real fast and see if BestBuy had one in stock and as I was searching I came across the G510 for $80 on sale, I quickly called up my local BestBuy and asked if they could hold one for me (They had a ton in stock but I was just worried lol) I drove there picked it up and just played with it for a bit, I have to say I love having all the macro keys on the side and the quick macro function is great say you have a lot of email addresses you can just macro one of them to G1, G2, G3 etc. and then just quickly hit them when you need to, overall I would have to say this is the best keyboard I have purchased and am glad I have done so, a little heads up the driver disc does NOT work with windows 8 so you will have to go directly to the Logitech support site to download the correct drivers hopefully that gets fixed soon but as I am an early adopter of windows 8 it is to be expected.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
allsop

Cheap

Date:October 31, 2012
I bought this keyboard through amazon.com and I was really excited to get it and start using it, because I have had Logitech keyboards in the past and used them up until recently. But when I got the G510 I was very disappointed, the feeling I got when I was typing with it was very poor, it feels cheaply made. I had to press the keys down harder than my last keyboard just to get something to type. It's like Logitech phoned it in with this one. I sent it back and bought a Razor gaming keyboard instead, and that is what a gaming keyboard should be. The G510 is a good example of what a keyboard shouldn't be. I don't know if I will continue to purchase Logitech items in the future.
-36points
1out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Steve Careers
from Indiana
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Its not about the macros, its about the hotkeys

Date:September 16, 2012
I'm an avid gamer, and the hotkey feature alone makes this board worth the money. Forget macros, just keybind your actionbars/hotkeys in the keyboard's interface, and with a clever ctrl/alt/shift setup in game you'll never touch another key again.
The clusters make muscle memory a breeze, and you'll forget what any other keyboard feels like. Trust me, this is an excellent board.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Koneke
from Stockholm, Sweden
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Pretty neat, but bad choice of focus

Date:September 3, 2012
Okay, so you hear a lot about the display and all the macro keys and whatever, but to be honest, I never found them useful. At all. Most of the stuff which would be available on the display is visible ingame anyways, and usually in a clearer fashion, and I've simply never needed to macro something at all. Same with the profiles.
On the other hand, the volume scroller is really, really nice, and so is the audio out/mic in ports on the keyboard. Only problem with them is that the mic in seems to mess quite a bit with the quality of the signal. Used the media buttons a couple of times, useful in games where you can't alt-tab (which is very few nowadays, but every now and then they show up), and I got use for the win-key disabler a couple of times.
Backlighting is nice, but not strong enough.
The keys feel very, very plasticy, which is quite a minus. They give very little feedback. When you get a bit used to them they are fine, but that's about it. The keys simply don't feel nice to have under your fingers, nor to press down. Also, it's supposed to have full anti-ghosting, as far as I can remember hearing, but it doesn't. Anti-ghosting seems to be working fine around WASD, but for any other keysetups, well, you're out of luck. Tried playing Jamestown, where you use the arrow keys, and it was just unplayable. I seriously couldn't play it because of ridiculous ghosting issues, so I ended up getting a gamepad for it instead. Win-key disabler is nice, but I've only needed it like... Two times so far, I think. Good for people who hit it accidentally I guess.
Accompanying software is pretty neat, when it works. As mentioned, never felt the need for the macros, but the few times I've been messing around with them has worked fairly well. The interface is a bit clunky and glitchy, which can be quite irritating. I really like being able to script stuff for it though, it's nice that you get that. But, it has a tendency of crashing every now and then, like right now it's not working at all, LCore.exe crashes every time it starts up. So while it has a bit of potential, it's just too broken right now.
Overall, pretty neat, but way too much focus on redundant amount of macro keys and profile stuff, when it'd be a lot nicer to have better keys overall instead; mechanical keys are preferable. When you get used to having a couple of columns of extra keys to the left everything sits where it's supposed to. Audio through is nice with good mute buttons and a nice little indicator by them, and the volume scroller is awesome (but feels a bit laggy sometimes). Media buttons work fairly well, even though I used to have a bit of trouble with them. I really could do without the display, and the better price that'd come without it, because I've never, ever found any use for it. A few games use it, but that info is on the screen anyways, where you don't have to look away to see it. Might be worth picking up if it's on sale, otherwise I probably wouldn't bother with it.
-4points
4out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Blaze0303
from Orlando. FL
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Doesnt live up

Date:August 28, 2012
Terrible keyboard. Non-mechanical keys with VERY bad feeling. Lighting is way too dim and the display isn't supported by ANY new games. Totally worthless and very upsetting waste of $120. Oh and the space only works if you hit it dead center. If you press it on the left or right it wont actuate.
(I am an experianced PC builder)
-13points
2out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mike R. Ophone
from Baltimore
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Buy it, it's worth it.

Date:August 26, 2012
I've had this keyboard for a little more than a year now. Saying that, This keyboard is probably the best keyboard I've put my hands on. The lighting for it is nice and bright, easy to change and each profile can have its own color. The screen is easily seen at night and throughout the day. The mass of buttons are great. Scrolling for volume change is so simple and extremely useful for someone who listens to music as much as me. The media buttons are great, of course. If you're thinking about going with another keyboard, go ahead. But as soon as you see this keyboard in person you're going to wish you hadn't.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unknown Reviewer
Expertise: Tech Savvy

One Neat Keyboard

Date:August 13, 2012
I bought this keyboard about a year ago, and its still a great keyboard. I love the look and feel of it. I love the macro features, and espesically, the screen. Very useful. If im gaming and have a time i want to get off, i can just set the screen with the clock and look there. Great keyboard and i recommend buying it. Its ergonomic but not as much as other keyboards such as the Razer Lycosa. But I dont care for ergonomics (unless its a mouse)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nomnomking
from New York
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Keyboard

Date:August 11, 2012
This is a fantastic keyboard. I've had it for over a year now and it still is in great condition. The only bad thing is it often gets crumbs and dust in between the keys, but its easy to remove. The only thing I could suggest Logitech doing is make it a mechanical keyboard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vinder

Great keyboard

Date:August 9, 2012
This is an amazing keyboard it has improved my speed and performance in games. it also makes it easy to control your music while deep into a game. But a bad thing is the game panel LCD software doesn't have a whole lot of games that work with it. but it is still a great keyboard non the less.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Michael
from England.
Expertise: Tech Savvy

I love this keyboard :0

Date:July 23, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Been using it for almost a year, got no problem with it, the one that I love the most is the macro key, lots of macro key makes my performance in game faster and easy control! but I only use the LCD for clock ;D its good!
totally worth it! :D
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gaming Keyboard G510
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jake

Amazing!!!

Date:July 12, 2012
You can literally any gaming mouse or performance mouses and microphone with some audio divide and you got your self the perfect combo built to game on WoW, Cod4, and MCD.
I'm a mac gamer who has the confidence to now rush my target on Cod or be able to macro a command on Wow.
Thanks logitech for this amazing device! G510
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next>>