Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Master Systems or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System

Logitech Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System

Weatherproof, night-vision video security. Set it up yourself, count on it when you need it.
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 40 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
5
24 out of 40(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Review 1 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
reltub2000

some what dissapointed

Date:December 9, 2013
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
I bought this camera master so that I could watch my truck. the ease of installation is great.
I have watched on the video my truck get broken into 5 times. None of the times has the camera given a good enough visual of the thief for me to make out who they were.
When the police reviewed the videos, they recommend I get a better system.
I have had this camera zoomed in as far as it would go, and still I get a bad video.
Now that I have a new computer with windows 8, The camera says it has a fatal error, and does not record. I have kept this updated. I will contact customer support and find what they have to say
For now, no more than 3 stars, After I contact customer support, I may change that.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chief
from Upstate, NY
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Outstanding product and support

Date:November 20, 2013
:Logitech alert system 4 outdoor cameras, two locations
I purchased my system 3 years ago, have been extremely happy with this product, I have since added 2 additional cameras and set up a second system at our vacation home. I did have one camera go bad and one power supply go bad. I contacted product support and they promptly replaced both items. The few times that I have contacted logitech support, they have been very helpful. Logitech has been a pleasure to work with. I am a retired chief of police and know the value of security cameras, I recommend this sytem to everyone I know, you can't beat it for a diy system.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ax
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Unreliable, spotty performance, frequent errors.

Date:September 26, 2013
:Using indoor and outdoor camera types, Mac software and app works well.
Cameras keep dropping off the network and it takes a re-boot to get them back on-line. SIMM card errors are frequent as well. Software package is well designed and easy to use. Alerts and camera control work well. Image quality is good and motion setup area is very good. Too bad this system and it's cameras are not reliable, otherwise it would be 5 starts.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ric
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Very Nice System

Date:June 2, 2013
I bought 5 cameras in my system and after having read the reviews was not really sure what to expect. Some people had a lot of problems getting reliable connections and my brother, who has a system that connects over a wireless between 2 houses, told me that there can be some tricks. At first I has some difficulty finding all the cameras but if you set them up in one room or in close proximity, get the updates taken care of, find them, name them based on where you plan to place them and then set them out where you want them, it goes much easier. My son, who is a computer guy, suggested delegating fixed IP addresses on the router (use the MAC addresses on the camera power supply) so that they would not be constantly changing and possibly causing conflicts. It seemed to work.
They have been running a week with no hitches. The main issue is that they are mounted by my parking lot lights so bugs are continuously setting off the motion detectors. In dark areas where there are no lights they seem to work best, the night vision is amazing. I really like the picture quality on "Live" and "Playback" is better than I have ever seen. Definitely would recommend them!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bill
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Great Product - Highly Recommend

Date:May 25, 2013
:750e outdoor cameras
I have had the cameras (now three) for over a year. They cover the driveway and front yard. On four different occasions, people have come up to my vehicles in the driveway to see if they were unlocked. They quickly moved on. I provided the video to the police. They were able to locate and convict one of the individuals who stole from other neighbors using my video. We live in a very safe neighborhood. I was amazed at the nighttime activity. They are easy to install and I have visibility from anywhere I have 4g access or Internet access. Great add to the security of our home.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
handyman
from Hawaii
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Logitech 750e system

Date:May 10, 2013
:Logitech 750e master system
I have had the master system outdoor camera for about one year now and it has worked very well. I have been reading about some of the problems with unreliability in some of the other reviews. My advice to them is get a back up battery power device for computers and hook up your modem and your computer to it. This has solved all my reliability problems. I have the power supplies hooked to regular plugs so if the power goes out the camera just reboots and connects again to the system again, but the modem never goes off. My only lingering problem is a occasional delay in my email notifications coming through to my phone. But I still "caught" an insurance adjuster snooping around my house yesterday (I was an hour away at work and was watching him on the camera while talking to the police) I was able to give the 911 operator a good description of the vehicle and the person, and gave him a really good scare when the cops "busted" him :)) I guess he will think twice before he snoops around my house again.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scott
from Ashburn, VA, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Simply Amazing

Date:April 6, 2013
:(1) 750e
I was surprised at how easy it was to set up this camera! Logitech made this nice and easy. My neighbor set up a different camera system and had to build it out, which mean he had to buy everything separately. The video quality is amazing in the daytime or night. I am trying to determine where I am going to install more cameras. Definitely recommend this product.
-4points
5out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Aloha
from Hawaii and Texas
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Excellent cameras, but unreliable system

Date:April 5, 2013
I have 8 cameras in 2 systems in 2 different states. The quality of the images is fantastic, the PC interface is very good, and it is very easy to set up. Unfortunately, these systems have serious, chronic reliability problems. They routinely go off line and your PC needs to be rebooted and/or the cameras powered on and off, so if you do not have anyone at the location to do it, you are SOL. Logitech support sucks. As I write this, their support web site is down. I am getting email activation alerts but the cameras are not showing up through my browser. Some of the nice camera features are only available for the $90 annual subscription fee but the playback is Byzantine and what good is it and why spend the $$$ if the system itself is unreliable? Too bad this system is not supported by a company that is devoted to making it work like it should.
+13points
23out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SBrennan
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Glorified Webcam

Date:February 13, 2013
I bought the outdoor master system first. This worked well so I decided to buy the indoor camera shortly after, I wish I had waited. This is not a reliable home surveillance system. One camera knocks the other off, the motion is very blurry and the cameras need a reset at least once a week. I have static IP addresses for the camera, they are on separate circuits and all I have been able to get for support was a new plug or blame on my "power lines".
Unfortunately I have invested in this system what a lesser name brand but better reliable master system would cost. I have also initially recommended this to family members because of the ease of set up and initial thought, luckily they did not make the purchase. Logitech has a lot of work to make this truly a reliable offering.
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Randy
from Portage, WI, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Nearly flawless surveillance system

Date:January 24, 2013
This system is a clear winner for home and business owners who are looking for a reliable and effective surveillance solution that is easy to set up and manage. And from a reputable and trusted company as well.
I rarely write reviews but felt compelled to voice my satisfaction with this system. I have never had a computer network related product work as flawlessly as this one. From the moment I opened the box, I had the first camera up and running within ten minutes. That includes perusing the quick-start guide and installing the software.
I was immediately impressed with the quality of the video I was seeing. The frame rate is a bit low but more than adequate for surveillance purposes.
The mounting hardware for the outdoor cameras gives you several options, including an extender arm, that should work in just about every installation. Once up, the cameras hold their positions securely.
The software gives you plenty of flexibility when setting up motion-activated alerts. You can target specific areas in each camera's view as motion zones, thereby preventing waving tree limbs or pets from triggering alerts.
Being cursed with no options for hard-wired broadband at our location, we are forced to use satellite broadband which usually wreaks havoc with any attempts to remotely access our computer. I was elated to find that all of our surveillance cameras were readily accessible from both our smart phones as well as any remote computer that we logged into our Logitech account from. The fact that our computer didn't even need to be turned on to remotely access the system was incredible.
I did quickly realize why Logitech implemented the six camera limit that is inherent to these systems. There is a definite bandwidth limit, based on the quality and lengths of run of the electrical wiring being utilized. When you exceed that limit you will start seeing cameras drop out of the network sporadically along with slower frame rates. Our system worked flawlessly until the sixth camera was added. Subsequently, our furthest camera mounted in the garage would vanish from the network every few days. A simple reset of the camera would bring it back online. All in all, a relatively small glitch.
We've had our cameras operating for a week now and I couldn't be happier. I avoided the hassle of running dedicated cables to each camera or having to deal with the reception issues so common with wireless cameras and have a first-rate surveillance system with exceptional video quality and remote access. Thanks for a great system, Logitech!
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Napawino
from Napa Valley, CA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great System

Date:December 5, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I used to have ADT and was always disappointed in the false alarms and lag time in response with real ones. Was searching for a new alternative when I found these cameras online. I purchased the outdoor startup kit and added an indoor camera. The system was easy to set up and works flawlessly. My only complaint was no Mac software and had to set up with Windows on a boot camp partition. This has recently been solved with the new release of the software. Also realized my indoor camera did not have IR. My mistake. Cameras are not much good if they can't see in the dark. Looking to add more cameras soon.
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unkelremus
from Hartselle, AL
Expertise: Newbie

The System

Date:November 7, 2012
For the money invested, this system has done an excellent job, minor website outages, and very minor problems.
It would be nice if you could turn on your computer from their website, because sometimes their is a power outage that knocks my computer offline. I go through logmein to get computer back on when I am away from my home, but I am still very happy with the service and workings of these cameras.
-9points
5out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dean
from Denver
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Logitech 750 Security Camera System

Date:November 3, 2012
I have been searching for a good security camera solution for several years, and found nothing that was really functional that I could monitor from a smart phone or internet computer. Logitech knocked it out of the park with this system. It is easy to set up and use, have great video output, motion detection and alarming features. Others have indicated that it did not work on GFCI circuits...but it did for me. If you have been searching I highly recommend Logitech. PS often times I read reviews and think that the folks selling the product wrote it...but I am just a happy customer of Logitech...and have not had a bad experience with any of their products.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Little Eddie
from Michigan City, IN
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Works only sometimes

Date:October 12, 2012
Have been using this camera for about 8 months. It works great most of the time however there is a lot of problems with it not recording all the time when the computer is off. Example I just came back from vacation so the computer was off, network working fine. It recorded to the SD card the first 2 days then did not record anything for about 8 days then started recording again a few days before I came home. This has been an ongoing problem. It seems to work all the time IF you leave the computer on and the Commander software OPEN and running.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sar1

Always Fixing

Date:June 23, 2012
I've had problems since I got these camera almost a year ago. The camera are great! when working...
1 - Every once in a while a camera will go off line, and then my entire network will stop working.
2 - The SD cards never stay working. (even bought the best brand and everything) but still need to reformat them at least once a week.
3 - All cameras will go on and off line as the please and some just wont come back on. (Need to search for them) and most of the time the network will crash again.
------------------------------------------------------------
Its annoying. I'd like to leave the cameras be and let them do their job without the need of constant upkeep, but I need to fix them at least once a week. (Climbing out windows, standing on ladders... ladder
+27points
31out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nightview
from New Jersey
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Fix the software & camera specs.

Date:June 6, 2012
Software does tell you if memory is formated, just says format. Doesn't show size of memory. Instructions doesn't tell you that the eithernet doesn't have to be pluged in when your PC is off. I bought 2 cameras and both had bad memory cards, drove me nuts figuring it out. No fix from Mfr. like a replacement. No good specs on camera, like viewing distance or night vision is only good to 15 feet. They dont offer cameras with better night vision when you need it. They don't mention that you can not plug in the units on power lines with ground fault protection. Otherwise I got both of them to work.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NotAHappyCustomer
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Serious Recording Gaps

Date:April 20, 2012
If you are looking for a Toy to play with, then you might be happy with this system. However, if you are looking for a serious Surveillance system to protect your property (not a fancy web cam) then this system has way too many flaws and missing features. The outdoor cameras themselves look and feel to be good quality (only time will confirm that), but the software is a joke. The cameras record motion, however they seem to be configured to be more concerned with storage, and less concerned with recording footage (which is what most folks purchasing a Surveillance system are purchasing it for). As a result, what winds up happening most of the time, is you get *partial* recordings of events. I have tried all different sensitivity settings, and other recording options, but the result is always the same. There is also no manual record option, nor a scheduled record option. This issue could probably be fixed with a software update, but Logitech does not seem serious about this product, and the rate of improvements and feature enhancements is at a snails pace at best (the only improvement I've seen since my purchase, is they finally changed which frame of the recording is sent in an email, so that the email actually contained some relevant information).
+32points
33out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Disappointed
from Raleigh, NC
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Software Blows

Date:April 19, 2012
The cameras themselves are much better then the older WiLife cameras, but the software is pathetic. The cameras do not record enough. They always fall short of recording an entire event, thus worthless as a security camera, and extremely fustrating. Seems like something that would be very easy to fix ... just increase the amound of time the camera records when it detects movement. Allow the user to adjust this timer to their preference. Also, there is no manual record feature. Not sure what happened when Logitech purchased WiLife, but many of these features, and more, were available in the old WiLife software.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
oscar
from virginia

not good, dont throw money

Date:March 7, 2012
i bought 2, they worked for a year and then out, they say they garantee for a year, not true, they are now in a corner like a trash.
+9points
17out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Alert™ 750e Outdoor Master System
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bob
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great system

Date:January 23, 2012
bought the 3 camera outdoor special they had. I was skeptical about the system due to the data over AC line design. Im an electrical engineer and I designed a simular sytem many years ago for a company but we could not get good enough performance due to long AC runs in buildings and getting a good signal across different phases of the power lines.
I have a remote shed about 100 ft away from my house that I wanted to mount one of the cameras. I got lucky that it was on the same phase as the reciever is on. I ran the AC signal check and it showed 2-3 signal level (very low) but the camera works just fine. I also put a camera on the back of the house on a different AC phase. This camera had no signal so getting this system to work over different AC phases is difficult. So I rerouted power to an outlet on the same phase (all worked well after that). Another option that I did not try is to install a phase bridge across the mains of your house. They do not offer an option for this so your only options are to reroute power or put the camera on wired or wireless network (which can be done but you need to get a POE network interface)
I got all three cameras running and they work great. The video quality is very good, much better than my $1000 PTZ security camera I currently have. The wide angle lens is perfect and the infrared vision is very good to. I run the video on my Iphone, again great results.
Motion detection: Can't seem to reduce the sensitivity and it trips on anything, no matter where I draw the detection box too. But then again I limit the HD space and it over writes the older files. Actually its kind of nice to see anything that moved. So this is one reason I would never want emails everytime it gets a motion alarm. They would never stop. Spiders making a web in front of the camera sets it off every time.
The software is great. So easy to use, make changes and play back clips. It really cant get much easier. My $1000 PTZ camera software has more features but its soooooo hard to use you almost have to read the manual anytime you have to make changes. So good job Logitech on the software.
Overall its a great system and Im going to order more outdoor cameras. The install was quick and easy, hardward is well thought out and the software is easy to use. (and I spent 15 years designing security sytems including video systems).
+25points
29out of 33found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>