Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Add-On Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera

Logitech Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera

Add a weatherproof, night-vision video camera for more outdoor visibility.
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 15 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera
Review 1 for Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pete
from New York, NY, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Great porduct

Date:January 19, 2014
:Simple, reliable, easy to manage system
I own my system of now 13 cameras since over 3 years and it has worked without a problem except for a little hiccup of one camera. Always received prompt delivery of the hardware as I built the system. Very easy to install. I am a 95% remote user and have never had a problem accessing the cameras. Power failures, router-reboots, change of IP address are no issue - very reliable. Camera design mostly blends in with overall house. My out-door cameras only show very little wear and deterioration of lens/material after 3 years; the cams are mounted under soffits and are somewhat protected from the weather. In-door cameras pretty much look the same as the day I got them.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dolly
from Kansas, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Outdoor works Ok

Date:October 30, 2013
Bought a whole set (4) of the outside cameras but they didn't work for my plan, which was to have them around my back yard, as it turned out I had them too far from my house (over 100 feet). Meaning my computer would not pick them up. So I had to install them much closer to the house. They worked good for 3 years and now I have 2 cameras out. Last year I also had to change the SD cards in 3 of them. Now this year I have 2 of them completely out and I am still trying to figure out why. At this point I do not think it is the camera I think it is the power box that comes with each camera. For what I paid for them I think they are ok and will probably buy I new set and just dump these. Cheaper than paying for some company to come in here with a costly security system..... but also I have to do the upkeep and these cameras will need upkeep, that’s a given.... I also think they are a bit costly but I also think paying for the added comfort of safety is well worth it....
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bbex
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

A very good and affordable system

Date:August 12, 2013
:Three 700e outdoor cameras
I installed a couple of outdoor cameras back in November 2011. We thought someone had stolen some gas from one of our vehicles parked in our driveway.
We live in a good neighborhood, but about 2 or 3 times a year, we have reports of people steeling things out of unlocked cars. The camera system has captured three different instances where people have tested to see if our vehicles were unlocked. Nothing was stolen.
I passed the videos on to the police. They actuality caught one person who had stolen from a neighbor using the video. He had to admit to it since he was caught trying to open my vehicle door.
This does not take the place of regular home security, but adds to securing the home. The remote access (the ability to see the cameras from anywhere with internet connection) is outstanding.
The system was easy to install. You just need to have a computer that will capture the videos.
I have recommended this system to a number of friends. I have added a third camera in the front.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dingo

Works great after two years

Date:July 22, 2013
I have the complete system with two outdoors and one indoor. Live in South Florida with heavy rain and lightning. I can always look at my house on my iPhone in HD. I keep the software updated and had no problems.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Page

they don't work long

Date:May 17, 2013
I'm on my second set in 2 years.
Last ones were free by logitech. Lot's of calls to staff for help. Sorry.
Staff is great but product is not.
Now my 700e is out again.
I plan to buy this time a 720 ?, because it is cheaper and will be used in a enclosed garage.
If this doesn't work I'll simply through the whole thing in the trash.
Good idea...but just doesn't work.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JWT
from Dallas, GA, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Easy to install... Looking to expand the Cameras

Date:March 22, 2013
I wanted to start with 1 indoor camera to see how it worked and to gauge the viability of being able to set up multiple cameras. It was very simple. Follow the instructions and it is up and running in no time. Took me apx 10 mins and that included downloading the software. I am now looking to expand my camera collection to include outdoor cameras. I would recommend this to anyone looking for an easy, plug and play set up that does not require wiring.
My only gripe is with the app. It is downloaded to my IPad and IPhone. It shows you live picture, but does not allow you to rewind or record.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hudyhoo
from Maryland, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Great security but

Date:February 19, 2013
Sometimes it stops recording like when the sd card is full--- it doesn't erase earlier videos fast enough. Also wish there was better control over videos that are recorded like being able to zero in on a car/ license plate when reviewing videos. Otherwise, I love being able to see who is coming to the door before they ring the doorbell. Great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisa

Awsome. easy to install great security

Date:October 2, 2012
I would recommend this camera to anyone. It is easy to install and provides great security. Clear video/night vision and voice recording.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CT

I did it on a mac.

Date:March 2, 2012
This system is awesome! I loaded window 7 on my imac through boot camp and the logitech system runs awesome on it. I am impressed with the video quality!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meiko
from Central Florida
Expertise: Proficient User

Auto Control Limitations

Date:February 7, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I just added an outdoor camera on my front porch. The walls of the house are a light color and that results in the night vision sensor getting "flashback". This closes the shutter down and makes so that the picture is almost black. I had to turn off auto control and play with the brigtness and contrast controls separately to obtain a reasonable picture. The auto control works fine during daylight.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kwatts
from Texas
Expertise: Newbie

Easy to install and it works!

Date:November 3, 2011
After reading through a few reviews on the web, I decided on this camera. I'm glad to say, I've made the right decision. Setup was 2 hours (took awhile to mount it in the location I chose) and virtually seamless.
Ergo: I had to make a few adjustments to get the angle I wanted.
Ease of use: For a system with these features, you can't get much easier.
Performance: One of the features is the ability of motion-detected recording. At times, this can be a little touchy. I've seen recordings of many a fly crossing the camera and I've noticed sometimes it will not record with significant motion.
Features: Night vision, motion-activated (user selected, multi area), view from any wifi or 3g connection in the world...the list goes on...
Quality: Ive had the unit outdoors with zero maintenance for just under a year and I've had no problems.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LegalEagleAL
from Birmingham, AL
Expertise: Tech Savvy

So far, so good!

Date:February 8, 2011
I've installed 1 camera thus far (with a few more to go), and it works great. Night vision has been good, and during daylight, it's fantastic. Installation was a breeze as far as the camera itself. (I ran conduit and added a junction box to mount the camera for a more secure solution - that was the hardest part in the whole setup.) The only negative, if you'd call it that, is that the mounting bracket doesn't allow the camera to tilt downward enough based on how I have it mounted. A gooseneck mounting option would be a great accessory (hence my 3 star ergonomic rating.)
I read another review stating distance was only about 30 feet, but I've not run into this issue. It picks up much farther than that on my driveway, and even detects/records my dog running across the far end of the frame.
I've only had it running a few days, but at this point, I'd highly recommend it as a good easily-implemented solution if you're in the market for a security camera system.
The supporting software is great as far as it goes, but I'm also adding after-market camera software for continuous recording, as opposed to just motion recording.
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TB
from Nassau County NY
Expertise: Newbie

easy and cost efficient security system

Date:January 31, 2011
tried several other security cams, wireless, dvr card application, VISEC
Alert is superior to all of them. The software is easy, and it comes with the package, unlike VISEC, ( they purport a lifetime license but not) the instructions could use some helpful hints but I was able to getit up and running within an hour with 4 cameras...
The system uses your own electrical outlets and your computer..... no complex dvr card computer installation...
I started with indoor cameras then switched to all outdoor cameras for the night vision benefit....if Logitch could add night vision in the indoor cameras it would be incredible, for the size of the indoor camera is much smaller than the outdoor cameras
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Campgroundguy
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Poor Range

Date:January 12, 2011
Nice robust looking camera, and setup was a breeze. But the range is only about 30' inside the house, and doesn't work outside at all. Logitech does not answer the telephone # given for support, and emails have gone unaswered for over a week.
+9points
17out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Alert™ 700e Outdoor Add-On Camera
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JTeam

As My Son Said... Awesome!

Date:September 23, 2010
I have been seeing some kids in the neighborhood that my son told me had been trouble makers in school so I decided to add to my security and purchase cameras. While the alarm may go off and alert the police, I don't think it would help in a "smash and grab" situation. But having the cameras would help get the stuff back and get the people who did it.
I planned on only getting one camera but it was so easy to set up and the pictures were so good that I decided to get another for the back of the house. Again, I am so happy with the system that I am now thinking about getting more to cover all four sides of the house and the shed out back.
One of the reasons that I first selected this system was the box had on it that I could actually get alerts and view the cameras from my Blackberry but I have found out that the alerts are only via emails and the app is only available for the older models of Blackberry and not for my model.
But to get an email alert with a snapshot of the triggering event and the ability to use any computer to view the action is still... as my son said when he saw the system when coming home from school... AWESOME!
+40points
49out of 58found this review helpful.