Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Mice + Keyboard Combos or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550

A mouse-and-keyboard combo that gives you a comfort curve without the learning curve.
Average Customer Rating:
3.916 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 131 reviews
5 stars
68
4 stars
25
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 star
15
92 out of 131(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Review 21 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dongio2
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Good when it works

Date:June 24, 2012
I've had this combo for about 2 months now and in general the keyboard and mouse are very comfortable. I spend a lot of time on the computer both at work and at home and therefore comfort was essential. However, the keyboard signal to the unifying receiver is flaky at best and I'm lucky when I can type 3 minutes without interruptions whether it being having to wait for the keyboard to respond or multiple key strokes. I have tried everything from uninstalling the setpoint software to using different USB ports, but nothing seems to work reliably. Will probably get a different keyboard
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jeff
from DFW, TX
Expertise: Tech Savvy

They last about a year before failing.

Date:May 11, 2012
I have own two and both failed within a year of daily use.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
te
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Returned it

Date:May 10, 2012
I bought the MK550 and returned it. The software that came in the package did not seem to be for the MK550. I went on the site to get updates.
The wheel on the mouse is harder and more abrasive than their normal mouse. It's hard on the index finger. The zoom feature on the mouse zooms the icons when you click on the screen background. The keyboard is so busy saving the battery that it is constantly asleep and drops or delays characters that are being typed. I type stock market symbols a few characters at one time. I would look up and wonder where my characters went then they would appear. Taa Daa
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MJC
from Silicon Valley
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Not Mac compatible, loses connection ramdomly

Date:December 6, 2010
I purchased this keyboard after a very good experience with the original corded Wave keyboard (which has very unfortunately been discontinued). This keyboard retains most of the features that made me fall in love with the Wave including a fantastic ergonomic design, full number pad, extra buttons for music and application controls and the Fn button.
Unfortunately, I'm unable to recommend this specific variation of the Wave keyboard for two major reasons.
First of all, and most significantly, the keyboard and mouse randomly drop connection. I'll be typing and all connection will drop for 3-10 seconds. Then a portion of what I typed in the meantime will pop onto screen. This happens in Windows, so it should not be a compatibility issue. It doesn't happen with the Logitech G15 wired keyboard on the same machine. This is a huge problem, and I truly cannot recommend a wireless keyboard that's going to do something like this for work purposes.
Secondly, it is mysteriously not Mac compatible. One can physically use it with a Mac and it was clearly designed to be used with a Mac because the option and apple keys are printed on the keyboard, but the keys will not work as intended. I've personally gotten around this by using the third part "USB Overdrive" program, but my Apple key (the Alt key) does nothing. Now, I'll be fair in saying that they do say this keyboard is only meant for use with Windows machines, albeit in the fine print, but I'm still mystified as to why they couldn't make it Mac compatible, particularly when the corded version was fully functional with Mac. Having historically been a fairly Mac-friendly company, this product is a black mark for them in my book.
If you're like me and you have a corded Wave keyboard, just hold onto it tightly and deal with the cord. The cordless version is just not reliable enough and lacks the compatibility of its unfortunately discontinued brother.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Malkin
Expertise: Proficient User

Disappointing

Date:December 6, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I never experienced any problems with the mouse. The keyboard, though, has two flaws. The first one is a minor flaw and concernes the features/ergonomics: I miss very much an easy-reachable key with the context menue function. The second flaw is a major one and concerns quality. I always enjoyed Logitech products, but this one is cheaply done in an essential point: The key labels are superficially glued to the surface of the keys, thus the first ones disappear after only a few month of use.
I a good keyboard, the labels should be incorporated into the material and last for years, just as long as the keyboard lasts.
Logitech substituted the keyboard within warranty, but of course the substitute suffers just the same problem (maybe it's loosing the imprints a little slower). I would never buy it again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rafa
from California
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Keyboard randomly loses connection

Date:November 25, 2010
Ergonomics are good. I don't like the squishy feel of the keys, they're fat softer than I'm used to.
The most frustrating problem with this keyboard is that it loses connection to the receiver and stops responding at random. I was using the keyboard on my desktop with only 2 feet between usb receiver and keyboard. I have control version 6.15.6 and driver version 5.10.9. I've tried changing the channel and reconnecting but continue to experience the disconnections. I will no longer use this keyboard and will be using the Dell wired keyboard that came with my system until I find a reliable alternative.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LogitechReview
from Utah, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Nice design and features, but spotty performance

Date:October 12, 2013
I have a MK550 combo at work and at home. My wife and I both love the keyboard and mouse design as well as the features this combo offers. However, despite wireless technology being around for probably a decade now, both units still have wireless connection issues around our wood desk at home and my wood and metal work bench at the office. In both cases the keyboard and mouse are anywhere from 18 to 30 inches away from the receiver. Despite this close (and expected) range we still see missed key strokes and very annoying missed mouse movement. We have now replaced both units with more reliable wired combos again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Liveelulu

Keyboard Letters Rub Off

Date:November 20, 2012
I would love this keyboard but twice in 6 months I've had to exchange it twice because the letters wear off the keys.
I paid $79.00 for the MK560 combo wireless keyboard and mouse. Logitech please fix the problem!
Also you don't have this MK560 model number listed in your product choice listing.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
martez2003
from Florida
Expertise: Tech Savvy

MK550

Date:August 5, 2012
When I first purchased this product I was really happy with the performance. Then about three weeks later it started working sporadic. I had to continuously hit a key before the keyboard would work and the mouse would stop working while I was moving it. I was so impressed with this product I bought another one for when I finished building a computer for myself. My wife does not like this product and wants me to get her a microsoft keyboard. I reloaded the software several times and updated from the logictech site and I still get the same results. I have been trying to email support to get it replaced, we will see how that goes.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grandpa
from Oil Field Trash
Expertise: Tech Savvy

The killer updates

Date:July 3, 2012
The board worked just fine with the CD installation until auto updates killed all ability to change any functions on the keyboard. which is the reason I bought it anyway. Do not update the Logitech software if you want your board to work. The updates do not support the MK550 and it loads a K350 run. Of course you buy the expensive board for more buttons and wheels, well, guess what. The software update takes those keys away from you.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dewdrop
from Ohio
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Think Twice

Date:April 1, 2012
I received this combo as a gift and was looking forward to it because being handicaped the wireless gives me the help I need at times to stay connected. The CD is totally outdated and you have to go on line to download the software. And even doing that did not help the mouse that freezed, wounders, roams, and/or just quites on you constantly. There seems to be no help for it either. This is the worst item I've ever had from this company. Very sad.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
a bit picky
from Alexandria, VA
Expertise: Proficient User

Good, Average, Bad

Date:October 7, 2011
The good: the unifying receiver works flawlessly, it doesn't have an initial connection lag that is impossible to avoid when using a Bluetooth keyboard and mouse set (although the newer Bluetooth keyboard and mouse sets are quite a bit better).
The average: the keyboard works well, nothing to write home about, but it does its job. Overall it seems a bit bulky, as is usually the case with ergonomic keyboards, but I appreciate that it doesn't have a battery draining display screen and even gentle keystrokes are recognized consistently.
The bad: the mouse drove me crazy. It's too small to comfortably rest my hand on and the added weight from the two AA batteries inside made it feel like I was trying to slide a tiny barbell across the surface of my desk. I'm not sure if anything was actually going wrong with the operation of the mouse but the cursor always felt a little jittery. I managed to undershoot or overshoot displayed target points on a regular basis and diagonal cursor movement seemed to have a bit of a stairstep behavior.
I don't know what the problem was, and there is no need to speculate, but for one reason or another the operation of the mouse never felt as smooth as other mice I've worked with. (I now have a whole new appreciation for the laser mouse that came with my old diNovo keyboard, media pad, and mouse set)
In the end I returned this set and traded up for the MX 5500 Revolution Bluetooth keyboad and mouse set. There is still a tiny bit of Bluetooth lag (<0.5 sec) when establishing initial connections to the keyboard and mouse after powering up the computer, but the mouse is a lightweight and smoothly tracking thing of beauty and the keyboard is more suited to my taste. I found the set online for ~$115 after shipping, and I believe it to be worth every penny.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Morbius

Characters wear off keys!

Date:September 22, 2011
I've actually purchased two of these Wave combos in the last 3 years. They're easy to set up, they function pretty well, but both keyboards have had the EXACT same flaw! After about 3 months use, the characters start to wear off some of the keys on the keyboard, specifically A, S, E, D, C, N, and M. I don't know if it's because those letters are used more often, but both keyboards had this same problem. It's as if the characters are painted on the keys with cheap paint, or Whiteout, rather than being embedded in the key surface. After 6 months, the keys are completely black/blank, with no discernible characters visible on them! The mouse has been fine, and other than the wearing off of the characters, the keyboard has work well too. But this just smacks of cheapness, and having happened twice to me now, is going to put me off using Logitech products for awhile.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jkmdnp

installation

Date:July 21, 2011
software would not install and after several attepms i gave up
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gagootza
from st louis mo
Expertise: Proficient User

disapointed

Date:March 25, 2011
the keyboard is fine but i'm a gamer and the mouse that came with this mk550 is way too small and doesn't have enough buttons.the mouse that comes with the wave pro is what i need.everything about that mouse size and number of buttons is perfect
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Will T

quiet keyboard, loud mouse

Date:February 12, 2011
thanks for redoing the ergonomic keyboard standard and putting the keys together. *NOT*
i bought this keyboard for the sole fact that it had media keys that i liked, and i hoped that it would appeal to my ergonomic-needful fingers. it failed on the ergonomics.
also, i've been reading a lot of reviews about the sounds of the keys. and yes, they are softer and quieter. but the mouse is the loudest that i've ever heard.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
windy
from florida
Expertise: Tech Savvy

interferance

Date:January 2, 2011
The wireless interfears with the speakers on my pc. Had another wireless keyboard before buying this one and there was no problem. With a constant buzz through the speakers from this keyboard and mouse i could not recommend it to anyone. I am going back to my old keyboard.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Timel
from Port Townsend, WA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

So So....

Date:December 28, 2010
I like the compactness of the keyboard and it has good touch. That said I was glad that I could disable the side mouse buttons. Their placement allows for too many miss-hits and I wasn't prepared to take time to learn how to hold the mouse. I also miss that the scroll wheel cannot be clicked or related to the browser events to open a tab in a new window.
My biggest gripe however is the placement of the delete key. It is huge and far to easy to hit. As an old timer I, also, miss the easy access to the Insert, Home and End keys. These keys are an extended reach from the keyboard and I now have to look to see which key I'm using. I can live with it but it would be a major impediment to anybody who is used to a more traditional IBM keyboard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DryHeat
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Quite Pleased!

Date:December 3, 2013
I could go on with the superlatives, and probably should, but the only negative I have is that the keys "values" are appliques or decals. These will more than likely wear off in short order. This one "shortcut" is what keeps me from giving it five stars.
Now if Logitech wants to hit a home run, create this product with back-lit, inlaid keys and I would buy one for each of my systems and give a few out as Christmas presents.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Logitech® Wireless Wave Combo MK550
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trainee53
from Springfield, MO, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Great Product

Date:October 1, 2013
I was having some of the same problems with my keyboard as I have read in these reviews. The mouse works great and the keyboard is ...well not so good. I fought the lag time, some keys working sometimes, sometimes not. I changed the battery, I reset the unifier, I redone the disk install but to no avail. The mouse tricked me into believing my keyboard was bad because it worked flawlessly. Not 1 time did it go haywire. Then by chance, I moved my unifier to the front of my computer and bingo.....everything works and no more problems so far. It comes was a cable to let a person move the unifier closer to your keyboard/ mouse and if I had used it at 1st, maybe that would have fixed it. I wasn't thinking of the cable because of the wireless feature that I wanted not another wire on my desk.
At this time I am very happy with my keyboard/ mouse by Logitech. They have been a great quality and fair price company and I would buy from them again.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
<<Previous 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next>>