Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Trackballs or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Wireless Trackball M570

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Wireless Trackball M570

A different kind of comfort. A different kind of control.
Average Customer Rating:
4.128 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(298 Reviews) 297
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 298 reviews
5 stars
172
4 stars
55
3 stars
29
2 stars
21
1 star
21
239 out of 298(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wireless Trackball M570
Review 21 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
iwantasingleclick
from Austin, TX, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Constant double-click

Date:February 28, 2014
I've used trackballs (thumb only) for close to 20 years. Big fan of the design and can't use anything else.
My trackman marble died after a few years and I got the M570.
I've been through 2 of them in the last 6 months. The quality control on these has just plummeted.
In both of them, after only a month or two, the mouse buttons stop behaving properly. Single clicks turn into double-clicks. Right click and hold doesn't hold (real fun if you are accustomed to using mouse gestures).
I went searching for the old Trackman Wheel.. they are about $50 more than the M570 if you can find them. The older model is in demand for a reason. It worked.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Yoonoo
from New York, NY
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Bad ergonomics

Date:October 11, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I've been a happy Logitech TrackMan wheel user for over 10 years, went through several units over the years and never felt the need to try anything different. Now that the TrackMan wheel has been discontinued I had no choice but to get the M570 as it is supposed to replace the older model.
What a disappointment! Although the smaller unifying receiver is a nice upgrade, the ergonomics of the M570 are just bad. The M570 is smaller than the old TrackMan wheel, which means that your hand doesn't sit as comfortably, the previous design was perfect and seemed like a natural extension of your hand. Furthermore, the buttons a bit smaller on the new model, which makes it very hard to find a position where your fingers can comfortably reach the left button, right button and scroll wheel.
I returned the M570 and went back to the old TrackMan wheel, hopefully I wont have to change it anytime soon.
My recommendation to Logitech would be to keep the new wireless/electronics of the M570 but offer them in a TrackMan wheel design, a design that's slightly larger but one that can be comfortably used by people with hands big and small.
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ryan

Unfortunate

Date:October 11, 2013
First off, I love having a trackball mouse. I feel more comfortable and ergonomic. But after just 10 months, this rollerball mouse is failing on me. It now 'double or triple' clicks every time I push the mouse button and is nearly unusable.
Dissapointed. And it is still in mint condition!
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MDelec

"New" dosen't always mean improved

Date:August 1, 2013
I am a long user of the Logitech trackballs from the wired, the best in my opinion, to the first wireless Trackman Marble, (the light grey one) a very stable and accurate unit that has lasted me for a decade.
Alas, my trusty Trackman Marble has died and Logitech has left me with no alternative other than the present M570 which is a quirky poor substitute for it's predecessor.
The M570 has the annoying habit of misinterpreting a single click as a double, and trying to drag & drop with it in any program or browser is a nightmare.
Now I have tried all the "fixes" settings, and drivers with no real improvement in stability.
Using this mouse in a complicated multi-track recording DAW is frustrating because the program keeps reading double clicks, as do many of my PC games and programs.
This is not, as Logitech claims, a software, or settings problem, but a hardware or firmware issue, I have tried another older wireless trackball from a friend, and it sets up and works flawlessly with the same Setpoint driver and settings.
Too bad the only wired trackball that Logitech still carries is the center mount ball, if they would offer a stable wired version of the M570 I'm sure it would be appreciated by many.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cytogene
from Port Byron, IL 61275, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

When it works

Date:April 27, 2013
I was wanting Logitech to come out with a laser trackball I was mortified when I found out it was cordless. It works great.... When it works. The pointer will freeze up until I shake it then it's ok for a while. Took it back to exchange it once thinking I got a bad one. Of course they discontinued the corded marble. Whatever they don't read these reviews. Have A Nice Day.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Guy who wants a wired trackball
from Vermont, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

WHAT IS THE POINT OF A WIRELESS TRACBALL? USE WIRE

Date:March 10, 2013
BRING BACK THE OLD WIRED TRACKBALL!!!!!!!!
If this is used for gaming or any sort of non traveling computer why not just keep the wire!! I like the extra buttons though.
+2points
10out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
hATE-eR
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Returned It Yesterday...

Date:March 4, 2013
So, I bought this mouse over the (past) weekend, I couldn't wait to try it out. What I liked about it was the pairing capability with the unifying receiver. I also liked the smaller trackball, I have currently been using an old Kensington Orbit Optical Trackball- I love that thing. Here come the cons; first of all it took me a few days to realize I couldn't find a comfortable angle, because the trackball is on one side as opposed to on top it took a while to coordinate my movements- the clickers were a little too squashed together, trying to use the scroll wheel in that regard was a bit tricky, I also didn't like haveing the back and forward buttons so high, they're a bit of an obstruction (for me). I just couldn't get it to work for me- so I returned it and kept my Orbit instead. An Orbit-like mouse with pairing capability would work for me perfectly... Please.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shibumi
from Vancouver, WA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Works fine but ergonimics are pretty bad

Date:February 28, 2013
I prefer thumb trackballs over mice. I've used Logitech trackballs for more than 15 years. Unfortunately, the M570 is the best one currently available. I say that is unfortunate because while the M570 works fine, its ergonomic form is pretty terrible. I can't understand how Logitech could choose to discard their previous near-perfect design for their current norm of orienting the buttons the wrong way and making the shell way too small. A small hand on the previous size shell was no problem, but even a normal sized hand is far too big for the current design, leading to significant discomfort. Since it only works with the right hand, I can't understand why the buttons are angled the exact wrong way.
Too bad wired Trackman marbles are no longer available.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lsone97
from Lancaster, PA, USA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Lacking ergonomics

Date:January 2, 2013
I previously had the Trackman T-CL13 Trackball Mouse and absolutely loved it. It was the most comfortable mouse I've ever used. I've always been loyal to Logitech for their quality products. When the Trackman died I was hoping this one would replace it. Unfortunately that is not the case. The hump is too high, causing my hand to constantly cramp up. Why can't you make a cordless version of the T-CL13? I'm afraid Logitech is losing their touch with ergonomics. I'm replacing this one with another brand.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigWill
from NJ
Expertise: Proficient User

My rat ate poison

Date:December 27, 2012
I've done new batteries and what ever it took to get it working. I dropped it once off my lap and ever since then it has been off and on with working. Now I have to beat it to even work sometimes. I love the thing when it is working but the last few months I have become a pro with the touch pad on the laptop. I don't think I will be able to buy another one when it comes to it not being able to take on drop.
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
snerd
from Utah
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Longing for an Upgrade

Date:October 30, 2012
I bought this to replace my ten-year-old Logitech USB trackball. I love the wireless capability and the driver software and button programming is great, but I've got to say I'm disappointed in the build quality of this device. As others have pointed out, this trackball doesn't have an "ergonomic" feel. I haven't had any pain or physiological issues, but my hand doesn't sit as comfortably on this device as well as it did my prior trackball.
My BIG complaint is the left button. After just a few months it started double-clicking when I definitely was not. Recently it has started deciding on its own when to end a drag operation which is monumentally annoying. A quick internet search reveals I am not alone. Either Logitech got a run of bad switches or they cut corners where they shouldn't have.
To put this in perspective, the last time I had problems of this nature was in 1979 with the sticky keyboard on my first computer, a TRS-80 Model I. (Anyone remember KBFIX?) I've owned countless computers, keyboards, mice and trackballs since then and have NEVER had a problem until now.
If I could find a thumb-style trackball from another vendor, I'd vote with my money and junk this thing in a minute. Unfortunately, Logitech's the only game in town and I don't want to switch to a mouse. Hopefully they'll get it right next time around.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
artygal
from BC, Canada
Expertise: Proficient User

lack of control, ergonomically poor

Date:October 18, 2012
i purchased this at the recommendation of the salesperson who, knowing i wanted it for fine control for doing artwork, said that the trackball gave extreme control.
unfortunately, i found that when i was attempting to use the finest control, is when the cursor would start jumping around erratically. a friend suggested i clean the sensors, but i had only had it out of the box for less than half an hour.
ergonomically, it is an extremely poor fit to my hand. where my palm wanted to sit naturally, my fingers/thumb did not line up with the controls. i do not have odd shaped hands, and i wear women's Large gloves, so its not like i have extremely dainty hands. perhaps a scaled-down 'women's' model would help -- but maybe not.
in order to get the thumb/finger angles lined up for use, my hand had to sit at a funny angle, with pressure under the side of my hand causing my hand and wrist to twist. after about twenty minutes of use, i noticed a cold numbness along the side of my hands. ....even after ceasing use of the device, the numbness and it's eventual reduction into aching has far outlasted my brief usage of the device this evening. ....and it is worth noting -- i have ZERO history of carpal tunnel syndrome or anything of the sort.
EXTREMELY disappointed.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marceepoo
from L.A., California
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Not a satisfying replacement for a Trackman Wheel

Date:September 14, 2011
Ergonomically it is great, but I wish I had bought a new Trackman wheel to replace the one I wore out.
Logitech does not appear to provide Linux drivers for the Wireless Trackball M570.
The M570 is far slower to respond than the Trackman wheel that served me well for years.
When I use the M570 in VmWare workstation in full screen mode, I cannot reach the controls (at the top of a virtual machine) to switch to a different virtual machine --- so I keep a Microsoft mouse attached concurrently, and I use the microsoft mouse to switch between virtual machines; and it is very annoying to have to do that.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jeff

Unreliable

Date:August 15, 2011
Poorly made, Battery does not maintain contact and mouse goes in and out, Lasted 6 months before it was totally shot.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
avibp
Expertise: Tech Savvy

TrackMan user for years (corded and wireless)

Date:July 20, 2011
Logitech may have wanted to design a 'laptop' trackman device. Its very light and It's too small for my 6' 1" tall 'man hands'. It would be light in a lap bag though. The lightness creates a sense of lower quality but it can't be. It's logitech.
5 buttons that don't include a lateral scroll must have been a HUGE oversight. (HUGE). Why is there no ring/pinky finger button? That is simply silly. Although potential over-kill: A button below and above the ball would be perfect for the thumb. In total: I would have added 3 more buttons plus lateral wheel movement.
The smaller 'ergonomic' size makes it harder to use declining its/my performance and thusly is not ergonomic but rather uncomfortable. In fairness to Logitech however, I use modeling clay on my cordless trackman wheel mice (corded and non) to increase the size of the mouse for my non-small hands. I've done this with all of my trackman mice. This one is a lot shorter and maybe I will find some other solution that will work for this but, (logitech) I shouldn't have to.
I really-Really-REALLY hope they continue to make thumb driven mice. They need to remember that we are a small group that pays top dollar.
Logiitech, we know what we like and will pay for it. Sadly for me, This missed the mark and very well might be returned. PLEASE TRY AGAIN – PLEASE.
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CH MN
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Not Good for Precision and all day use

Date:June 22, 2011
I have limited space on my desk for a regular mouse. I used the Cordless Optical TrackMan® for a number of years and thought it was comfortable and was able to do pretty precise work using its large ball controlled by my fingers. When it started acting up I was just going to get an other despite the large cumbersome receiver (by today's standards), but I really could not find it sold anywhere even Logitech's website showed it "out of stock" over several months. So I decided to try this one, but it is just NOT as comfortable or precise. Despite using it for more than week I just could not get the precision I needed, even just placing the cursor between two character would sometimes take two or three seconds of screwing around. My thumb and wrist got tired and my whole hand was stiff trying to control that small ball with my thumb. I really wish they would release the Cordless Optical TrackMan® with new Nano and/or unifying receiver.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DonnnyD

A couple steps down..

Date:June 19, 2011
I have been using the wired trackman wheel mice for over 10 years and this is the first time I can say I'm leaving Logitech behind. This wireless model is tomuch smaller than the original and has unbelievable lag while playing first person shooters. Since Logitech have discontinued the Trackman Wheel, this is my fair well.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bobbiac
from New Jersey
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Small and Poor quality

Date:May 4, 2011
This trackball just screams "Profit Margin." Everything about it feels cheap. The size is a decent amount smaller then the corded trackman, it is actually somewhat uncomforable. It is ergonomic, but the reduction in size retracts from that in my opinion.
The smaller ball reduce accuracy, that is a major reason for me getting a trackball in the first place. Tanking the ball out reveals rough edges and a nice big (uncovered .. yay for cleaning that!) hole for the optics.
The matte plastic has no heft and, judging by the sound when I tap on it, unusually thin.
There are 4 buttons on the device and a click when. The RMB and LMB work well enough, but the click / scroll whell is very simple with no side to side and a scroll that feels right at home 10 years ago. Buttons 4 and 5 seem to have some thought put into them, they are angled in such a way that simply leaning your index finger enough can activate them, comfortably.
I am glad that Logitech tried to update their trackball line, but I am not going to get another ... this is a 30 dollar trackball, not a 60 dollar one. I mean .. what the hey guys? Going to see if I can find a boxed unit of the corded version on auction somewhere online.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
K.A.I.N
from Reading, UK
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Very Disappointing. Could be much better.

Date:January 20, 2011
As with all the unifying devices i bought this to compliment my current setup, I also own a performance mouse MX & K350 keyboard to which i added this as a static "armchair" mouse device for fairly heavy day to day use.
I am quite fond of trackballs but i have to say after all the hype and delays in it coming to the UK when i finally got my M570 i found it a profound disappointment. Here's why:
The Good:
As always the unit looks good and as with all packing with Logitech high end products is clear and presents the product well / is easy to unpack. Also battery life is nothing short of impressive for such a wireless device. Setup was also a cinch thanks to the unifying software but the huge let down?
The device itself.
The Bad & The Ugly:
For those of us whom have extensively used trackballs before can attest the fingertip (index and middle finger type) control balls provide much better precision and long term comfort. Designing the ball as thumb controlled i feel was a big mistake, I have been using this for 2 weeks now and am still finding it irritating and clunky to use with little in the way of fine precision being achievable.
The lack of buttons is highly irritating, only right, middle (+ Scroll) and left click plus a small forward and back button next to the left click. Why not little finger and 3rd finger buttons as well as featured on several other products? This is a simple addition and would cost pennies to add and for those who dislike extra buttons they can be disabled in the options.
The device feels light and a little tacky with regards to production quality, i would expect a modern trackball to have some weight and be more solid.
It is way overpriced compared to other wired solutions available that provide far better functionality for cheaper.
(minor irritation) Lack of charging cable facility Why not provide a cable charging facility like on the Performance Mouse MX. This was a great idea on that product and can't cost much to implement. Why hasn't it been rolled out across the range, if we are paying for a premium product such as this then it can't cost much to switch to a rechargeable battery and add a micro usb cable port?
and finally:
This could be an individual problem but i have yet to find a solution at time of writing despite having looked for several hours. Now that i have added the M570 to my little nest of Logitech unifying products it has somehow disabled access to all the individual configuration settings tabs for those products. I do not understand why but now after the simple process of adding the M570 the control centre for the mouse and keyboard takes 3 minutes to load (used to be instant) and does not display any individual device configuration tabs or any information at all. I have updated the device firmware on all systems i have un-paired and re-paired the devices i have uninstalled and re-installed both the stock drivers and software and the latest versions and it is still acting up.
CONCLUSION: NOT GOOD LOGITECH. TRY AGAIN. I really expected better from you guys. I get the sense that someone in marketing said "hey there are almost no wireless trackballs out there, lets make a unifying one" and the entire product was given to marketing to design and then the user control group didn't even get a look in if there was one. I think this product needs to be re-thought from the ground up it could be SO much better in so many ways with Logitech's level of innovation and technology.
My advice to people reading this would be to go for a different wireless fingertip solution such as the Cordless Optical TrackMan, despite it's lack of unifying software and lack of buttons it is a good product and is much more usable, functional and comfortable or a different wired trackball there are several good ones out there.
If you want a wireless mouse device in general though i would suggest the Performance Mouse MX, it may be expensive but it is an exceptional product and I’m very happy with it.
-4points
15out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Wireless Trackball M570
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brett
from louisville
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Nice but needs Bluetooth

Date:December 24, 2010
Ive used trackball for about 7 years now and just added this one to my collection but I am still tryn to figure why this device is not BLUETOOTH what the heck... Unifying Receiver come on... how easy would it have been to make it bluetooth and now i have use up one of my USB ports for this and keep up with a tiny use receiver about the size of a penny i'd just assume have a cord and not have deal with the receiver and batteries. i bought this at Best Buy reasonably assuming it was BT but after getting home and using it, i will be returning it. hopefully they will come out with one that is Bluetooth
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
<<Previous 1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next>>