Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Webcams or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech HD Webcam C525

Logitech HD Webcam C525

For portable HD video calling and recording&em;with autofocus.
Average Customer Rating:
3.85 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 20 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
3
15 out of 20(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HD Webcam C525
Review 1 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overdrive
from Croatia
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Great value for money cam

Date:December 30, 2013
(+) Easy to use, plug and play in windows 7, for more tweaks you need to download software from logitech, or use a cd rom from the box, great pic quality, great sound quality, very good video in dark conditions, awesome view angle, autofocus, great clip make easy to place camera anywhere
(-) Autofocus is not sometimes responsive, sometimes need a time for closer objects to put them in focus, but nothing to badly, for longer distances its not a problem.. and the softqware doesn't have the option to choose camera video resolution like 360p, 480p, 720p... it's always sending the best video quality that you'r network line supports.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BoboDale
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Dead out of the box!

Date:October 18, 2013
Very disappointed! Hope the return policy is quick.
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2cupsofjo
from Pleasanton, CA, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Just in time

Date:September 20, 2013
I needed a webcam for an important Skype call from overseas and I found this one on the shelf. The old one I had was indeed old and thought of giving this webcam a try. My Skype call went through without any problems the picture quality was terrific and the sound was perfect. What more can you ask for.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
HyTekCat
from Charter Township of Clinton, MI, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Great Cam, but...

Date:September 17, 2013
I used to have a Logitech Communicate STX. This camera's software was compact and expandable upon the click of your choice, and had many options and adjustments. Very well done software.
The c525 software is soooo stupid simple, that it lacks in features and controls. There is no way to shut off the camera's video without closing the software. Only a microphone mute, and we're lucky to have that!
Not all of us are stupid these days, in spite of the growing number of stupid people. Why not make something for everyone? Half the models for intelligent, the other half for stupid.
+2points
10out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bagman
from Roswell, GA, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Camera Great - Software has major issue

Date:May 8, 2013
Camera works great, has excellent picture and the software enables great remote control - BUT the software includes a MAJOR bug : it creates a file (lswdebugou t.txt) that grows and grows on your hard drive until you wonder why your pc is out of drive space and is running so slow. Even the latest software updates have it. Cannot kill it. It starts growing whenever you use the software and doesn't stop until you shut down the computer !
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
miznic
from Robins AFB, GA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Cameras have come a long way....

Date:March 6, 2013
I bought this from the Logitech VIP store a few weeks ago and I've never been happier. The last webcam I had was in 2002, and it was a disappointing experience... but this one?
This is one camera that I can honestly say: it's better than advertised! If you're looking for something basic but great quality, this is it.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TONY192
from CALIFORNIA
Expertise: Proficient User

WINDOWS 8 UPGRADE

Date:October 30, 2012
I HAVE THE C510 MODEL AND I AM GIVING ALL FIVE STARS TO THE C525 MODEL. THERE'S NO UPDATE FOR WINDOWS 8 FOR MY MODEL YET, SINCE BOTH CAMERAS ARE EXACTLY THE SAME THE ONLY DIFFERENCE IS THE AUTOFOCUS THAT THE C510 DOESN'T HAVE. I INSTALLED THE PROGRAM BECAUSE WINDOWS 8 IS AVAILABLE FOR THE C525 MODEL AND I AM SO HAPPY THAT ALSO WORKS FOR THE C510 MODEL. IF YOU HAVE THE C510 MODEL THIS SOFTWARE WILL ALSO WORK, DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME THERE IS NO SOFTWARE FOR WINDOWS 8 FOR MODEL C510.
-1point
13out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
HPIsBest
from And just why do you need to know where I live?
Expertise: Proficient User

Good Webcam

Date:August 3, 2012
The video quality is good, and there is almost no lag from your movements and what the webcam shows. The sound quality is good, though it is a little bit jumpy at times. Comes with loads of features, and more that you can download off of this website. The only problem is that I can't reinstall it. I got it for skype, and to use as a microphone to record game play videos. It worked fine and was easy to install on my old laptop, just plug it in, and in about 30 seconds it sets itself up. Now I have a new wont and it wont install the software onto it, I have tried all 4 of my USB ports, and none of them work.
I still think this is a good product, but I think the price needs to come down a bit.
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mach32V305
Expertise: Proficient User

Excellent Web Cam

Date:June 19, 2012
Installed flawlessly, image is outstanding, ability to mount in different locations (including using a tripod). Good purchase overall.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fernandothebull
from Melbourne, Australia
Expertise: Tech Savvy

C525 and Linux - quicker to set up than Windows

Date:May 3, 2012
I have a Linux Netbook, running SuSe 12.1 and I unpacked the camera plugged in the USB lead, started "Cheese" webcam program and started taking photos within 2 minutes. On the other hand when I decided to load it into WinXP on the same machine the install took around 7 minutes, but then I had issues with the screen real estate. I needed Ctrl+Alt+Del to shut it down because the buttons were off the screen. Under Linux everything worked perfectly "out of the box" .
I chose the 525 because it had auto focus and 8Mp resolution. I am very happy with the purchase and will be informing the Linux mailing lists, to which I subscribe, that this is an excellent product.
I purchased it to set up a "photo Booth" for a family celebration, but now I need a way to Print the photos straight after they are taken and then move the file from the initial saving directory into a "printed" directory. Thankfully there is a Linux program called inotify, which should help me to do this.
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Chuck
Expertise: Tech Savvy

not good enough

Date:April 14, 2012
As another reviewer noted, the first screen on the setup asks you what language you speak. All of the options displayed were the same: "0123456789012345678901234567890"
Why does that error persist months after someone found it?
During the install the Next button would not display. I finally had to resort to a full auto install. Goodness knows what kind of stuff got installed on my PC.
The image quality only seems slightly better than my ancient Logitech web cam from 2005 and no better than the cam built into my Acer A500 tablet.
There is no way to rotate the image so you're stuck with having the cam placed awkwardly. On top of the monitor is about the least attractive view of the user.
All in all a disappointment. Trying to decide if I should return it and get a different brand.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
gbXL
from Chicago, IL
Expertise: Proficient User

installation hiccups

Date:April 9, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Have just installed, and the picture quality looks good. However, here are some things I wish had gone more smoothly during setup:
1) First screen on the setup asks you what language you speak. All of the options displayed were the same: 0123456789012345678901234567890. (See attached image.) Not too helpful.
2) I accepted the Skype installation option. Oddly, this option installed the Logitec webcam for video, but did not install its mic. My old (uninstalled) webcam was left selected in the audio settings of Skype.
3) The best way to attach the webcam to my monitor turns out to be upside down. Seems like there ought to be a way to use the Logitec setup to rotate the picture 180 degrees. If there is, I sure don't see it.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kabe
from NC
Expertise: Tech Savvy

525 Loogitech HD Webcam

Date:February 7, 2012
I bought this C525 because I used Logitech products (mouse, etc) in the past. It is the worst thing I've spent money on in recent months.
-23points
7out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AMMOBEEMAN64

EXCELLENT BUY

Date:February 5, 2012
Wasn’t quite sure what model to buy for my home PC. Don’t quite remember where I bought the C525 model but the customer service rep pointed out the 8MP camera, the HD capability and most important - $ THE PRICE. Couldn’t pass it up.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skybits
from Cleveland, OH
Expertise: Tech Savvy

constantly flickers in the picture

Date:February 4, 2012
-have windows 7 Pro 64-bit
-connected it to USB 3.0
-pic constantly flickers no matter what program it's using
-troubleshoot every setting available in the software that came with this camera and still same flickering
-cannot use this camera with a constant flickering on the screen
-found many ppl in forums and chats also had the same problem
-still looking for a solution
I put more than a year as length of product use because I'm a tech and have used Logitech products more exclusively than any other brand of webcam, mice, and keyboards. That is also why it is very frustrating for this stupid flicker problem to not go away.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
floridaaf4

What an Improvement!

Date:November 27, 2011
Just purchased c525 and I am amazed at the superior video quality compared to my standard laptop webcam. Was worried about installation and was also amazed at how easy it was to install the software-had it up and running within minutes. Vey happy with my purchase and got it on sale at Best Buy for $39.99---altogether cant be beat!!!!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaserJock
from Lakeway, Tejas
Expertise: Tech Savvy

C-510 (C-525) is EXCELLENT!!!

Date:November 6, 2011
1) Ease of install. Did not have to use the included software, merely plug-n-play on Win 7 Pro 64 bit SP-1 and Win XP Pro 32 bit SP-3.
2) If i would have known more about extra features, I would have installed the software but only after the intial install was confirmed OK.
3) Compact, yet rugged.
4) Secures relatively well on top center of a LED-LCD monitor.
5) Works well with Skype, ooVoo, Google Talk, etc. Have not yet tried Logi Vid.
6) Decent video quality
7) Mic is decent
8) Would like to see tru optic glass used instead of composites.
9) Great value when you buy it for $40 w/No tax and free S&H!!!
10) Excellent communications tool esp. for elderly parents and older siblings and old friends from yesteryear.
11) HIGHLY recommended!!!
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TimmyD

Great Deal for what you get!

Date:September 23, 2011
I reviewed all the products at Best Buy and this one was priced very well and caome with the in-cam microphone. My daughter (in college) says the picture quality she views of me are great and the Mic sounds fine.
Performance I marked 4 stars as my system didn't recognize the microphone a few times and I have to fix it in Systems. Other than that its a great product!
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick

Not bad

Date:September 10, 2011
Not bad at all based on the quality and price !!!!
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HD Webcam C525
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
B-rad
from Magnolia, Tx
Expertise: Tech Savvy

It has brought honor upon our village.

Date:September 5, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
It does what it does and does it well... Not much to say other than it's very nice looking compared to my laptop's webcam.
SOOOO nice actually.
The example I uploaded looks much nicer than it shows to be.
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.