Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Premium Services or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)

Logitech Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)

Logitech Alert ™ Web and Mobile Commander—The freedom to manage and control your Logitech Alert ™ system from your smartphone or over the web.
Average Customer Rating:
3.12 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 25 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
6
17 out of 25(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Review 1 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JC
from Germany

Great, no off-site recording

Date:April 2, 2014
:4 outdoor and one indoor cam
We have been using this system with 5 cams for 2 years now and it works just fine.
There is, however a severe security hole: as the videos are recorded only on the camera, thieves could break in and steal the camera - you would be left with, at most a few still photos but no video.
I am aware of bandwidth issues, but if it were possible to mirror the SD-cards at a remote location, the service would be much more secure
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TJ
from Ohio, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Great System...

Date:October 14, 2013
:Alert Master w/ 3 add'l 700i Cameras
I am very satisfied with my system. I installed it and deinstalled and re-installed it at my new home. It is a breeze to install and operate and has all the bells and whistles for my needs. I have recommended this to friends. I like the clarity of the video and audio provided. I also like the feature that allows me to record and save video for as long as I need it. I used Customer Service once and they were very helpful and available when I needed them on a weekend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Steve
from Florida
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Why did Logitech remove the clip download feature?

Date:September 29, 2013
I have this setup in three locations - with my wife at work it is four. Thirteen cameras in the three. I used to love it.
Downloading the iPad app "upgrade" was a big mistake. I should have read the reviews first - but did not because I never imagined that the mfg of what was a great product would actually remove features that I was paying for in a subscription.
The problem: the new app does not allow for downloading clips - which is the most important feature. Worse, when displaying clips for play back it leaves out hours of clips during times where I know there is activity. They obviously did not test the new app. I wish I could revert back to the old app.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jmbeachsurf
from KS
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

setup is horrendous, but good once it is working

Date:September 1, 2013
:2 x outdoor and 3 x indoor cameras
The setup for this system is horrendous. Connectivity is sketchy at best, when initially setting up the system. It's too sensitive to external interference, such as other wires/cables. I've spent hours just trying to set this system up. If you own an iPhone, just by WeMo accessories. The Logitech Alert is too unreliable and will consumer your valuable time.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rtom
from Arlington, TX, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

mobile Commander

Date:September 1, 2013
The new app for the mobile commander will not capture clips to save or e-mail. Do not download the new app!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tony
from Austin, TX, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

My experience

Date:July 28, 2013
:Master Alert outdoor & add-on camera
Purchased outdoor master & add on camera. Both installed easily & connected to computer easily. However Master camera and sometimes add on camera would have connectivity problems or need to be reset every two weeks. So I had to pull out a 12 ft ladder to do the reset each time. My advice is to mount cameras with easy access. Of course this also makes them easy targets. Especially since red lights on cameras are visible at night. Also remember camera and video recording is controlled by Logitech and they can view all video and see what's being recorded live.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Befuddled

Works For the Most Part

Date:July 18, 2013
:iphone and ipad
I like the quality of the cameras. However, I am constantly having issues with playback from both the mobile apps and on the computer. Crashing happens often and I get so frustrated when I want to check out a clip and have to wait for what seems forever for clips to load, only to crash again. I wish you would fix this issue. I pay for the web and mobile commander and it takes forever to view my clips. It has been almost a year since I purchased my subscription.
Recently, I was on vacation,and over a four-day period, I lost access to my cameras for two of those days. I was not able to review my clips until I got home. What a waste of time! What's the use in buying something you can't even use or access.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bob77

Good - However

Date:July 7, 2013
:700e (2)
I have had this system up and running for a few moths now. Overall its a good system with a few caveats. Real time monitoring is pretty good. Playback mode from the camera has some issues however. Playback will lockup and report errors from time to time. The supplied micro SD cards have both failed. Replaced with Sandisk Ultra cards and they work much better. Resolution is very good to about 20 feet and falls off from there. Cameras night vision on the cameras is good. However they will switch back and forth at dusk between night and day vision rendering an almost totally dark picture.
I would like to see the ability to tag or mark selected clips on the timeline without having to download or email the clip.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
supra661
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

WONT BUY UNTIL THEY ADD SOUND TO ANDROID CLIENT

Date:March 22, 2013
:750n, 700n, and three 700i cameras (two on order right now)
The Cameras are great, and the web interface works pretty well with the subscription if you're at a computer... But I use an Android mobile device and that is where I want to have SOUND on both the real time viewing AND the playback of recordings.
On top of that, in the android client, you cannot pan around, or ZOOM in or out of the image!
I have seen how the Apple iPhone version works, and it DOES have those features... but I don't own an iPhone, and don't ever intend to.
If Logitech would bother to develop the Android app as well as they have on the iPhone version, I would happily rate the Alert software much higher and pay for the yearly subscription cost.
As it stands, the Android based Alert app is junk, and without that, the paid Alert subscription is worthless to me.
BUYER BEWARE.
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dave M
from Michigan
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Great product, just missing some minor features

Date:March 4, 2013
I recently had some packages stolen off my front patio, so I was inclined to prevent this from ever happening again. I did my research and this seemed to be the easiest setup which required the least amount of wiring.
The setup was extremely easy and it worked with my router with minor tinkering. At the moment, I don't have the camera outside, but inside on a lower shelf in a window aimed at my front area. It works great through the window, although Night Vision doesnt work through the glass, which I totally understand. As long as I keep my porch light on and the Night Vision option off, it works great at night.
I love that I am able to purchase more cameras along the way and they should all integrate within the system.
My wish list would include:
- I would love if I could schedule when the camera is active and when it is not and it would be great to have a schedule bypass button in the software. That way I could set a schedule, but then have the option to override it during a time that it's not set to be recording in the schedule. For example: Having a schedule that doesn't record on weekends, but then I head out of town for the weekend, and instead of having to adjust the schedule, I just hit the "Manual Override".
- I would like if there was a sync-to-computer option that would allow me to set when the camera saves the video files. That way, I dont have to worry about my computer always writing to disk, and I could set it to something like "Save to Disk at 5AM"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Camera_Guru

Toggling Alerts is now very difficult

Date:October 15, 2012
You used to be able to tap "Alerts" at the bottom of the application and then toggle the cameras on/off. Now when you go through the mobile app you have to tap the camera and then choose from a list of schedules. Please change this! This is the only reason I subscribe to the application in the first place!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bigeye
Expertise: Proficient User

Quality product

Date:July 16, 2012
Very nice product with great features until I realized you have no control when you leave your home area. This system is in my second home and now I have to purchase software for $80.00 a year to use it. Deceptive not having a clear indication of that up-front.
+16points
25out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
David
from Vancouver
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Exceeded expectations

Date:June 12, 2012
I didnt have a lot of time for research and knew nothing about these cameras but wanted a few things if possible... internet and iPhone access; motion initiated recordings to a network drive or even the cloud; wireless setup; decent resolution; ability to add more cameras.
I got all of that. Also got motion zones and the desk software has a great UI.
It took me about an hour and a half to set up but was also cooking dinner for the kids and doing a couple of emails. I'm buying another tonight and bet it will take under 20 minutes to mount it. Connecting to the network is just a matter of plugging the power box into the wall and then connecting the power box to the camera with the supplied Cat5 cable. Very well thought out. The setup even defaulted to a network drive where I have tons of storage available, I was worried that it wouldnt see the drive since its not on the same computer as the software. (ie, Dropbox wont see that drive).
One recommendation so far... I have this camera pointing at the driveway where there is a lot of activity at certain times during the day - this is when I dont want alerts and this is where there should be no activity at night - which is when I want alerts. Would prefer a date and time range for when the alerts are sent to the PC or my email. Would also like to preference adding a snapshot of the activity to the email. Looking forward to these features in the next sw update!
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WBE
Expertise: Newbie

Missing a key feature...

Date:December 20, 2011
First the good. The system was really easy to set up. I was ready to go in under an hour. I am not a techy guy and with a busy schedule I was pleased to breeze through the set up. Now my "needs improvement"...there is no way (that I found) to turn motion email alerts on or off for certain times a day. I am securing an equipment yard and don't need emails all day long while I am working there. I need them only after hours when I am away. Hope this becomes a software update.
+35points
39out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dick Rochfort

Security and home management has never been easier

Date:November 26, 2011
I operate 6 Logitech Alert Commander cameras at my home. Some are Home Plug Technology and some are connected via POE (Power Over the Internet) switch. Some are outdoor cameras mounted outdoors, some are outdoor cameras mounted indoors and some are indoor cameras (mounted indoors of course). My home is an 80 year old brick/stone/slate/copper cottage with old wiring which has been upgraded many times. We use UPS backup systems on all computers and telephones including the router and we have a 12 KV 50Hz backup generator with a whole house transfer switch. We have extension cords,water pumps, HVAC motors and all sorts of stuff turning on and off all the time.
The Logitech Alert Commander System works reliably in this environment and don't let anyone tell you other wise. It is extremely stable. I have observed that it will sometimes fail if the house power flickers on/off prior to the generator comming on line. In this case unplugging and/or reformatting the sim cards solves the problem.
In the future I would like to have independent control of the IR lights on the outdoor cameras because they reflect off of glass when mounted indoors. I would like to see video recordings with date time stamps (a standard in the professional security industry).
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Styleplague

Eh, it's alright

Date:November 12, 2011
I have used my camera a couple months now. The picture quality is ok.. Can't make out who a person is from less than 50 feet away. 720, yeah ok. It is difficult to go through recordings on commander. I installed commander on a laptop so I could view recordings that saved to my hard drive while It was home connected to my wifi when I get to work. It takes forever to sync from sd to computer and the computer needs to be awake the entire time. The online commander is lame. It is difficult to view and move along videos. Epic Fail logitech
-1point
11out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
buckethead
from Canada
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Investment

Date:November 11, 2011
This sytem was very easy to set up and get the video feeds. Some reviews mention that since the system uses the elctrical system in the house to feed the video that this product may not work in homes with older wiring. I believe that this would be the case in really old home where post and knob type wiring was utilized. I have both aluminum and copper wiring in my home (25+ years old) and all works fine. I would highly reccomend this product as picture quality is great and the features of the Commander Program are easy to use.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
spratjack
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Almost great

Date:October 31, 2011
The cameras are great. The set-up is fairly painless. The new cameras and sofware have some nice new features. But, the old WiLife version allowed for alerts to be confined to particular hours of the day, and the new version has removed this nice feature. I used to be able to receive a snap shot via text message to my phone whenever a particular camera detected motion after hours. Can't do that any longer - too bad. Otherwise, this is a perfect 5 stars.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Week3
from Seattle, WA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Still not available for Windows Phone

Date:October 29, 2011
I played with the app on a friend's android phone because Logitech still hasn't built a Windows Phone version of the app. It's a good start. You can figure out how to use the app fairly easily but there is still a lot of room for refinement and new features.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Alert™ Web and Mobile Commander (1 year subscription)
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nebulae

alert 750

Date:October 7, 2011
Write on the box, view from your iphone for $79 a year.
The cost of a single camera is already high, then added
charges yearly. Also the card within a card is bad engineering, the cards are already small enough.
logitech has good products - on this you dropped the ball.
+6points
16out of 26found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>