Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Mice + Keyboards or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Optical Gaming Mouse G400

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Optical Gaming Mouse G400

Rock-solid performance for when your sights are set on victory. If you liked the Logitech MX518, you'll love the G400. You get the features you've come to rely on with improvements in precision and speed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 28 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
22 out of 28(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Review 1 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ericl85
from Pheonix, AZ
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Great mouse, poor cord

Date:March 30, 2013
My second time going through a G400. First mouse lasted about 7 months, second mouse about 5 months. Both died because of the cord short causing the mouse to disconnect at certain angles. I don't travel with the mice (I leave it with my desktop) and I never dropped the mouse or pulled on the cord unreasonably. I've actually been very careful with the second mouse, even using a device that ensures that there is enough cord on my desk so I never have to pull on the mouse very hard. Yet both mouse suffered the same issue.
The mouse itself is great. I prefer it over all other logitech's mice (gaming or not) and also over razer mice. I just wish they would solve the problem with the cord. 5 stars with a fixed cord. But I cannot recommend the mouse without a fix.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ecmanaut
from Mountain View, CA, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Are you a mac osx user? DO NOT BUY!

Date:February 17, 2013
This is the successor of the AWESOME (mine lasted 12+ years!) MX500 mouse.
It has a Windows driver but no Mac driver. You'd think it shouldn't need one, and yes, it is POSSIBLE to use it without one on a mac too, but it tracks WAY slowly – you have to mouse around a lot to drive the cursor across the screen and get anywhere, even at OSX's highest sensitivity setting, which makes it insane to throw money at this mouse, as it will just make you frustrated and angry.
The support forum claims they are working on an osx logitech control center update (3.6.0, the latest available for download on Feb 17, 2013), but the current one doesn't even consider the mouse a logitech device.
Buyer beware!
-1point
8out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cprossu
from Phoenix, AZ
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Great mouse, poor decision on the cord

Date:February 3, 2013
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I've used Logitech mice nearly exclusively since 1994.
I believe Logitech made some poor choices when introducing the G400. If you look at the original blog entry for the G400's introduction, you can find it's failure.
http://blog.logitech.com/2011/06/09/introducing-the-logitech-optical-gaming-mouse-g400-2
Quoting information from the blog entry:
" We were very careful not to mess with the shape, tracking consistency, button layout, or legendary durability that millions of customers have grown to love and rely upon over the years "
but when you continue reading a few paragraphs later you'll also find
"And to help you move the mouse more easily, we also changed the USB cable – making it thinner and 25% lighter."
They did indeed "mess with" the legendary durability. Perhaps unintentionally, but the end effect was still the same. Some rigorous play-testing, or perhaps a machine which stressed the entry 'pinch' point to simulate gaming use over X amount of time should have caught this issue before it was released to manufacture.
Each time my mouse has died, I switch to my old MX500 mouse which doesn't have this problem, and I've had to wait at least 2 weeks for a new one for one reason or another. I don't expect this to change, and I even fully expect my replacement mouse to exhibit the same failure at some point.
As a computer enthusiast I would not mind if Logitech would send me replacement cords to install, it would save them money, time, shipping, and effort. The old molding inside the mouse is such that it will accept the old style and thickness cords as well (like from the Logitech Wheel Mouse Optical days), so I don't understand why this isn't an option. The best kind of warranty is the kind you never have to use though.
I've really considered buying another G400 just to have when I am RMA'ing my defective mice.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sian
from atlanta
Expertise: Proficient User

great

Date:November 20, 2012
had the mx518..used it til it wouldn't work any longer..and got the G4...outstanding mouse...crisp movement and cursor control
+6points
15out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mightynickster

Logitech rules

Date:October 27, 2012
I have this mouse in the cordless style with a Logitech charger synced to mouse and wireless keyboard. I have had the same 4 batteries for 5 years and rotate 2 at a time that is needed. However, the Logitech Desktop Receiver/Charger only functions as a receiver and stopped recharging the batteries 4 years ago. It was so convenient to just set the mouse in the receiver and have the battteries recherge. I had to go get a regular wall socket battery charger but stil need the receiveer on my desk. But hey it is eight years old and still kicks butt.
-14points
5out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nialb
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great mouse

Date:October 26, 2012
Used the mx518 for the longest time and loved it, sadly it died. So decided to give this a try and absolutely love it. Would recommend to anyone looking for a mx518 replacement or great mouse in general.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neonyziee

Great mouse for great price.

Date:October 9, 2012
I got this mouse, and I am satisfied with it. It has great design, made of good materials, comfortable in hand, etc. Pretty good mouse. I would recommend it to everyone.
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CannonBall
Expertise: Proficient User

Best Mouse Ever

Date:September 30, 2012
I used the MX518 before now I love G400 works great with everything
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
duke

wish it was a g5

Date:September 27, 2012
A decent all round mouse.
Lacks the tilt wheel that i have become so used to in logitech products. doesnt feel quit as precise as some of the higher dpi laser mice.As one other reviewer wrote, the logitech g5 was the pinnacle of hard core gaming mice.
Shame it was discontinued. If i had one request of logitech it would be to reintroduce the g5 with the highest grade laser and have the buttons on the top of the mouse made really durable(they always gave out first on my g5)
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fox550
from Croatia
Expertise: Proficient User

Best mouse I have ever used!

Date:September 22, 2012
I bought this mouse so i can play games better and easier and this mouse is an excellent gaming mouse!
I highly recommend this gaming mouse for every hardcore gamers out there!
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fluxxie
from Tilburg, The Netherlands
Expertise: Tech Savvy

The mouse that will survive WW3 has been surpassed

Date:September 1, 2012
You sometimes hear that cockroaches can survive a nuclear war. Well this mouse surpasses the MX518. Which has been my mouse for over 7 Years i believe, it stuck by me with the the top of the world in BF2 and creating stunning images with Photoshop. I believe that the specifications said it would last 10 million clicks, it has survived 10 trillion i believe.
The G400 has to overcome a legend but i believe he can, I'm currently playing it at the top of ranked play in league of legends and it has not failed me once. The mouse remains its optimal performance on any surface from cloth to stone from wood to plastic.
I believe Logitech has created a series of mouses that will last through your life. You will never get disappointed
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
corwin
Expertise: Proficient User

A worthy successor to the MX518

Date:August 15, 2012
I bought this mouse to replace my long-time favorite MX518 (which scroll wheel broke down after 6+ years of usage). It seems G400 is a worthy successor in every way. I just wish it was a tad smaller and lighter, but that's just me.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moderated
from Ohio
Expertise: Proficient User

Amazing mouse

Date:August 7, 2012
It fits my hand, it has enough buttons to do everything I need, the software is powerful and easy to use, and it looks good. The only complaint I could possibly have is that it's a wired mouse, and that isn't it's fault. 5/5
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alchemypc
from Stephens City, VA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Perfect for extended use.

Date:August 3, 2012
I have used 3 Logitech mice in this body style, and will not use any other style mouse. The shape and ergonomics are perfect for the long hours I spend on computers daily. I own a computer repair shop, and have tested many brands and styles of mice. This is the only one I would ever endorse.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trey
Expertise: Tech Savvy

What you're looking for in a mouse

Date:July 14, 2012
When looking to get a mouse, the "best" mouse is something that's very subjective. Some people love complicated mice with tons of buttons, but others hate the same mouse. However, some mice are for everybody, and I believe that's what the G400 is. I actually had an MX 500 years ago (same exact chassis as G400) and it's what attracted me to the design- I remember how much I loved the MX 500. The G400 is a fantastic mouse. If you don't mind a wire, I think it's a mouse that everyone will love. It feels quality all the way around.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheL

The best mouse

Date:July 10, 2012
Best mouse I've ever bought.High quality and very comfort.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rock
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Prodigal Son of MX518

Date:July 4, 2012
For well over 5 years, I trusted my gaming performance to my MX518 mouse. It was, in every way that matters, the perfect mouse. Could be held comfortably for hours at a time, super accurate, super fast, no ridiculous "MMO" layout splaying dozens of buttons around your thumb to press accidentally.The mouse is so reliable that it's STILL in use, but I've handed it down as a gift to an up and coming gamer with a new laptop and with the MX518 out of circulation I knew my new mouse would be the G400.
The G400 is a worthy successor to the MX518. It has every benefit of the MX518 (exact same shape) with a few nice bonuses (higher DPI, more precise sensitivity buttons) plus a few all new features to cement its place as the present and future of competitive gaming - the new Gaming Software is much better to use than the old SetPoint program and allows for major customizations of every single button. It's a nice touch that it's the same software I'm using to control my G19 keyboard and G930 headset.
If you're in the market for a gaming mouse at all, make it the G400.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Saeed
from iran

MX518

Date:July 3, 2012
The G4 or MX518 is one of the best mouse in gaming series. I play games for 5 years in professional level (Lan Clan) and use this mouse. its good but nothing is perfect. everything about it is Ok except it's cable. i changed it's damaged cable for 4 times yet!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lllubbbo

Great mouse

Date:June 18, 2012
I have used the mouse for more than 6 months and I haven't had any problems with it. However, the software for the mouse is very disappointing. The software for my wireless logitech mouse for Word has more settings than G400's gaming software. With the wireless mouse software you can adjust the pointer acceleration, while there is no such option for adjustment in the gaming software - you can only change the report rate to 125, 250, 500, or 1000. When you increase the report rate, the gaming software automatically reduces the pointer acceleration. Therefore, if you want accuracy, you will have to choose 1000 report rate which uses about 30-40% of my GOOD cpu. You can check in a search engine for this issue if you do not believe me that a mouse can use so much CPU.
All in all, I really like the mouse and I have never had a better one.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Optical Gaming Mouse G400
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
aviosis
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Quite the disappointing mouse

Date:June 7, 2012
Ergonomics are good, handling is good, the mouse buttons are crisp and fast to respond. The DPI adjustment buttons are very handy and the scroll wheel rolls/clicks smoothly and firmly. Tracking is very accurate, no lift-off issues experienced whatsoever. Mouse IS a little bit on the heavier side but in my opinion this is important in gaming for better precision and wrist strength.
Now, the problems:
First mouse I got started disconnecting randomly every 30 seconds after only 4 months of usage. I simply could not believe it. I paid $40 for a mouse that lasted me 4 months. My $9 cheapo mouse from Staples has lasted me 2 years with no disconnecting issues whatsoever no matter how much abuse I had thrown at it. I even took care of my G400 and never pushed it to its limits.
Second mouse I got as a warranty replacement mouse is now starting to disconnect randomly every 2 minutes, sometimes even 5 times within a span of 20 seconds especially during gaming after only 3 months. And for the same reason at that, too - which I would like to explain a bit further.
The G400's have a critical flaw in their design whereby the part where the cord connects into the mouse is extremely weak and susceptible to wear and tear. When you wiggle the cord around that area the mouse disconnects and reconnects (which is what I was experiencing). They really should have reinforced this area, and this isn't just a defect in both my G400's, either; this is a common problem. I wonder when Logitech will finally realize that their otherwise superb mouse is inferior to its competitors' mice in just this one aspect - and yet this one seemingly negligible factor is what makes or breaks the gaming experience.
I play competitively. I need a mouse that can be relied upon to do its job in the most critical of moments. The G400 failed to live up to my very low standards and expectations.
I will not be buying a Logitech mouse in the future. The G400 was perfect in everything except the fact that now I simply cannot use it.
+9points
19out of 29found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>