Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Headsets or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech USB Headset H390

Logitech USB Headset H390

A versatile headset that lets you get comfortable with digital sound.
Average Customer Rating:
3.016 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 64 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
12
3 stars
8
2 stars
17
1 star
12
30 out of 64(47%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for USB Headset H390
Review 1 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Manvaril
from Madison, WI
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Good headset, some glitches

Date:March 16, 2014
This is a good headset, although when I'm in TeamSpeak 3 and then launch ArmA II the headset will drop and reload, (USB disconnect noise on and off) and the only way to fix it is to set the Playback and capture in TS to the sound card on my computer and then load the game and then switch back to the headset in TS once the game is done loading. I cannot figure out why this headset does this and don't know if anyone else has this same issue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Salman
from Saudi Arabia
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Perfect Headphone

Date:March 10, 2014
This is not first headphone from logitech.I bought a year and half ago a Logitech H110 and its was working perfectly no problem but i think i use it little roughly thats why suddenly its one speaker stop working and after its mic may be strect of wire.I always watching my programme with those headphone and sleep while headphones on so its more possibilty of streching wire.The headphone are perfect i use it and compare with similar headphones but not similar with these.This is the reason when they damaged i again choose the same logitech but this time i bought USB and ifeel more comfortable and see how long this will work without rougly use and i will take care of it this time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Silverdrake357
from Colorado, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Comfort seriously lacking

Date:March 5, 2014
While the earpads on this model look cushiony and feel cushiony to finger touch, they are immediately as uncomfortable on my ears as the cheaper, foam-padded model is after hours of wear.
Head fit is great.
Sound quality is great.
Comfort is extremely disappointing.
For a model that costs twice the price, I would expect at least the same comfort as the cheaper model, not immediate discomfort. Nor does the discomfort level seem to be decreasing after a breaking-in period.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Link

Works great!

Date:December 27, 2013
I've been hearing how good USB headsets are recently and am very happy with getting this headset for christmas. Works perfectly on my Windows 7 desktop and my very old Windows XP laptop.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SimpleSam
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Fantastic...even after all I have put them through

Date:December 26, 2013
I have owned mine for about 3 years now. They still produce great sound and I have never once had an issue with them as far as quality. I have thrown then across the room, sat on them, stepped on them, snapped them in half, and duct taped them back together. And they still work flawlessly. The audio range and frequencies are great for the price. I can play music in .flac and can barely notice a difference between them and professional grade audio sets.
Cons: They do require a little setup and basic knowledge of hardware. Also the little clip on the inline controls will catch on my shirt or seat at times. It can be removed with ease though.
Ultimately they are an amazing headset.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Demetrius
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

HAD A SHORTAGE DIRECTLY OUT OF BOX

Date:December 20, 2013
I picked up this headset from Walmart, and I immediately noticed that the sound of the 2 speakers were inverted, this made competetive gaming very hard. i played around with it a bit and i noticed that the smaller cord was inverting the speakers back and forth with enough movement. I'm thinking this is just a packaging flaw but a flaw nonetheless I'm returning less than 24 hours later
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AnonymousArizonan
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Bad Microphone

Date:December 13, 2013
The microphone picks up every sound in the house possible. Even when settings are tweaked. Every noise. It is impossible to use this headset for anything useful. Every breath you take. Every cough, or sneeze. Every other noise on your person, like quietly scratching your leg, over a foot from the mic. Every voice in the room, and beyond, picking up others' talking. Everything. Absolutely everything.
I asked for a headset to record singing, and have a headset for gaming both... But, it's not only impossible to use for the primary reason I wanted one, but I wouldn't use it for gaming either. No one wants to hear someone snoring in the next room, your cat meowing at their food dish, you farting, a door moving, or other random, and possibly embarrassing noises within a 100 yard radius of the mic.
Mine have not broken in over a year. But, the mic is a useless piece of dung.
I'm instead using the bad speakers on my mic. that don't match any possible speaker arrangement my computer offers (it has three speakers), and some really old, and cheap Sony microphones that were bought for a karaoke machine over a decade ago. I am absolutely not impressed with the modern speaker, and microphone technology I've seen. (Modern karaoke machines also sound horrible, as they seem to all have it in them to make bad singers sound good, and keep you from singing along with an original artist so you can't learn how to sing the song. But, that's another topic.)
For the price, even the better sound quality of the headphones isn't worth it.
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tenna

Design Flaws

Date:November 13, 2013
I've owned three of this model of headset before switching to the discontinued H530. Though the price is decent for a USB headset, there are some major design flaws in the way the cord and inline audio controls attach to the headset that prompted me to switch models. I have never had one of these models (the H390) last more than three months before something has gone wrong, and it has been the same for all three headsets.
The main design flaw is in the cord between the headset and the inline volume controls; the cord itself is much thinner than the cord running between the control and the USB port, which makes it a lot more delicate to use. Even being as gentle as possible with the headset, this cord developed a short within three months, usually also developing a short elsewhere in the line. I had tried getting around this by securing the inline volume control to the side of the headset itself, but then you still have to deal with a three foot length of cord being in the way.
The second design flaw is in the stiff clip on the back of the inline volume control itself; once that clip snaps off (which it will within a month if you are clipping it to any fabric), the extra weight pulling on the thin delicate cord will cause a short in the wire. Unfortunately, once the clip is gone, the full weight of the cord pulls on the headset, causing more problems with the thin wire. I have gotten past this at times by using an old ID-badge clip to fasten it to my shirt, but it is still awkward.
The third design flaw again is centered on the thin wire, only now where it connects to the headset itself. If must take absolute care to never place pressure on that spot, lest the cord will form a short in that position as well as down at the inline volume control. In this case I had to loop the cord around the earpiece itself and secure it with tape; however, when the tape wore out, it fell, plus then the looped wire would often get stuck on my ear, entwined with my glasses, or the tape would get stuck in my hair.
Also, though I had not noticed it as much as the first three problems, a fourth problem would be that any movement on the USB plug itself into the computer will cause the headset to reset itself. This has happened to me on every USB headset from Logitech, and I have tried them in numerous computers, both my own laptop and gaming rig, and in a university computer lab. Same thing happens - you touch it, the headset will usually reset, especially if you need to use a USB hub for any reason, even a powered hub.
Overall, my experience with this model has not been good, but more or less from the actual design perspective. From an audio perspective, the audio is good enough for PC gaming, Skype, and other VOIP applications, both as a listener and speaker (friends have complained that I sound distorted when I have tried headsets that were not from Logitech). The sound quality itself, to me at least, is comparable to Logitech's laser-tuned audio on its higher-end models. Also, it is lightweight, so extended use will not cause headaches or neck pain.
Pros:
- Good audio quality
- Good microphone quality
- Relatively high quality for price
- Price low enough that you can afford to replace it when it breaks
- Good for occasional use
- Lightweight
Cons:
- Design flaw with thin wire between headset and volume control leads to short in wire
- Volume control design will often break
- Short life (~3 months total)
- Touchy USB port
- Too delicate for daily use
Recommend for:
- Occasional Skype or VOIP usage
- Occasional audio applications
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sam5ellis
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

great until the mic broke

Date:November 2, 2013
i ordered to headset it worked great and was easy to use until about 3 months later the mic randomly broke and i am going to return it
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
WichaelAmundson
from Edina, MN
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Broken in a knot.

Date:November 1, 2013
Well, this is good, I had gotten this model because it was the same kind that was at my school. The sound quality was good enough. And for their price. They're rather comfortable. But while I was unwrapping the usb cable to take them out for use the plastic band that was attached right by the cushion had snapped. I am yet to find a way to fix this. But it was very unexpected. It broke like pop corn. And they seem to be now unwearable. I do hope that I will find a way later on. But anyways, good luck to all consumers. And remember. The customer is ALWAYS right. ;)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Orkney
from USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Week to a Month

Army Steaming

Date:October 27, 2013
Nice entry level gaming headset. Voice is crisp and loud. Friends on steam have me use mic at 60% while gaming. Audio is OK for gaming. Not an Audiophiles dream. Music playback lacks fullness. Overall a comfortable product that has, "good bang for the buck".
[ Win7 64bit
[ gigabyte P55A-UD4P mobo
[ I7 870 at 3.8
[ 8gb pc12800
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jbmean
from atlanta, ga
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

It's terrible with skype

Date:October 7, 2013
Forget about doing anything with Steam on this headset. It constantly slides between system sound and headset anytime I try to play a game on steam. I have to kill skype completely, start the game, alt+tab, start skype, tab back to the game, then pray I don't accidentally hit the push-to-talk key (kills the game sound). I've only had this problem with this headset. If you game on Steam, don't bother.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crvetter
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Amazing

Date:September 8, 2013
Had them for years and never once failed me. Sound is good and nobody ever complained about my mic being bad
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dandan
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Not bad for the price

Date:August 28, 2013
So I have good and bad things to say. I have had two of these headsets and they have suffered identical failures a month or two after buying them. If the USB jack has any shift at all in the cable I lose audio. After unplugging, replugging, unplugging, and finally replugging with several second delays between each I can get them to work again.
Now the good, the sound quality is decent, they are fairly comfortable, and the mic is very good. I like this headset a lot, but I think the large USB connector is to blame for the problems. I like them for the price, they just need to change the cord and USB connector.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TheTimer

Buzz with Win 8

Date:August 28, 2013
The headset is useless with Win 8. I get a continual Buzz at all times during any playback. I've tried everything. It's in the headset is all I can figure. My old junk Radio Shack headset works fine.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Kaiser
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Great for awhile until it breaks...

Date:August 21, 2013
This is my 3rd pair and my last, First pair broke after 3 months of use as the left ear stopped working, second time the USB head came apart from the set and became stuck in my computer and the third pair the left ear stopped working and just now the right ear stopped working after a year of use as I have to jiggle the wire which only sometimes works, Only thing that gives this a 2nd star is thats its comfortable and the mic is great.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
scottvinva
from Northern virginia
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Not bad. Not great.

Date:August 19, 2013
So, I got these headphones from the company I work for. They sent them to me. I would have never ordered them myself because I prefer the cup ear covers that go around your ears. But because I have to wear this for 8 hours a day, it might just be better.
Sound: No bass. At all - voice sounds like it is coming over a tin can phone. Not saying there is echo however.
Comfort: Very light weight, but not sure I can wear them for 8 hours a day.
Mic: People tell me I sound good and clear. Bonus.
End Result: I would return them for something with more umph to the bass, but not too much. Also I would rather have a around ear phone so it does not push against my ears.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CausticWAves
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Bad Headset

Date:August 8, 2013
This headset is literally not worth buying. Yeah it's low price but it's so easy to break and it's super sensitive to all noises in the house. My friends can hear me even when im on the 2nd floor without the mic. Don't buy.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TheCondor

Works Great Until it Breaks!

Date:August 3, 2013
I used this headset for about 1 year, and it worked great! The sound quality was good, and the mic was pretty decent as well. However, my wire got tangled very easily because I sat close to the port, and it never had much space to stretch out. This caused the wire for the microphone portion to break and show in a few places. Say its my fault, but the wire is a bit bulky itself. Apart from that, I loved this headset and would buy it again if It wasn't for its fairly short lifespan.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for USB Headset H390
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Boringperson

Headset Cuts Out

Date:August 2, 2013
I use my headset to talk on skype mostly and after about a month after getting them the headset cuts out for a few seconds.It gets very annoying.Then the sound in the left ear stopped working.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next>>