Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Cases and Covers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad

Your perfect on-the-go companion for iPad
Average Customer Rating:
2.647 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 34 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
13
12 out of 34(35%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Review 1 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Karen

Worst purchase ever

Date:October 5, 2013
I recently bought this keyboard to take notes, however it doesn't turn on!! I tried everything left it in light for 7 hours and nothing. I am returning this ASAP and buying a keyboard that actually works. Avoid this product at all costs, it's not worth the hassle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kyle

Worked for about 36 hours...

Date:September 26, 2013
And then it was only working in media playback mode. And Then it was working with some aps but not others. And then it stopped working at all. No help from any troubleshooting tricks. Plus the overall feel is flimsy and the cover doesn't stay shut.
On the plus side, the keys have a very nice feel. It doesn't matter if they aren't working, but they do have a very nice feel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VTBill
from Vermont, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Falls apart after six months

Date:September 6, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This keyboard is perfect in every way...except for the fact that it will completely fall apart on you after about six months. The edges start to fray and the glue holding the leather-like material together starts to come apart. What you are left with is a terrible-looking case that has strings of fabris sticking out of it. I am constantle triming these frayed ends and now the cover is peeling off completely. I have been very gentle with this cover. I don't stuff it in a bag or anything else like that. It just sits on a desk or table or in my hands while walking between meetings. It's too bad because this is otherwise a really great keyboard. Everything else about it is literally perfect.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaddiesMom
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Takes a licking and keeps on ticking

Date:August 21, 2013
This keyboard is awesome. I really don't know what the negative reviewers are talking about. Either they got a dud - and need to return it - or they are super hard on their equipment. And they would have to be super hard on it. I am a heavy ipad user and have a 2 year old and 4 year old who are even harder on it. This keyboard has been amazing. Works consistently and flawlessly. Having the solar panel is great for me because I am notoriously lazy about changing out batteries on these kind of items. I have had it for a long time - at least a year and a half - maybe 2 years. Recommend it to friends all the time. Logitech's equipment is the best. I'm typing on a wireless keyboard and using a wireless mouse - they know what they are doing. Love!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Young
from Winter Haven, FL, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Avoid

Date:August 19, 2013
First month was amazing. Everything was working flawlessly. Then it all went down hill. First it stop recognizing when it was set on typing mode. Media mode worked fine but typing mode had connecting issue.
It still worked as long as I fiddle with the tabs but eventually it stopped working.
Second issue is the edges. The glue becomes undone and cover begins to fall apart.
Logitech makes amazing keyboard with battery life of 3 years. Don't fall for the solar no battery gimmick. Is just not worth it. But good quality keyboard for less and buy the battery. By the time it needs to be replaced, you'll be getting new keyboard.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
barb0807
from New York, NY
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Great idea misses the mark.

Date:August 18, 2013
When I first got this, I thought I'd died and gone to heaven. No charging! That was a big deal. And the keyboard layout and key size were perfect. After a year, I'm a bit disallusioned. The case needs a case. The outside skin cracked, tore and shredded. I wish it was just the glue just separating. I could fix that. But I can't fix the cracking and shredding. Thank goodness for electrical tape. The connection is also tempermental. If the table it's resting on isn't level enough, no connection. Sometimes it just doesn't connect for a reason known only to the keyboard. It's fully charged, but it just disconnects and stays disconnected until it feels like connecting again. And no amount of on/off or rebooting, or "forgetting this device" and reinstalling makes a difference...until it feels like it. Could be 5 minutes, could be an hour. I bought one for my mother shortly after I bought mine because it was so great! But she's experiencing the same crackin/shredding and connection problems I am. Would I buy this again? Nope. I wish that wasn't the case. It's a brilliant idea...poorly executed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mitsylove
from Sioux Falls, SD, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Best investment for my IPAD!!

Date:July 19, 2013
This is the best investment I have made for my IPAD. It works perfectly, never runs out of battery, is super easy to charge (flip it over in anything but a pitch black room and it will charge!) and the keys have nice feedback.
The first one did have a problem right from the start, but a 3 minute phone call to logitech and they replaced it immediately. I have had no problems with the replacement.
I have been using it for 9 months now and it has been my main computer for the majority of that time since my laptop died shortly after I bought this. I have not noticed any wear through like some other reviews, and no glue separation.
I highly recommend this product, especially since logitech took care of me so quickly and with no hassle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shane
from Saint Andrews, Fife, UK
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

8 Months and Dead

Date:July 11, 2013
Good while it worked. The outside faux leather began coming unglued from the rest of the case, but that's fixable with some glue. It was a great keyboard/cover until it suddenly stopped, like so many others have experienced here. Hopefully Logitech will honor the 2 year warranty. Fortunately, I'm not relying on this like I thought I would as a substitute for my macbook - I use both depending on the situation. For now it's back to my 2008 Macbook - 5 years and going much stronger than this rather pricey Logitech product with many more moving parts!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Blunnies
from Michigan, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Was great until it stopped working

Date:July 9, 2013
I thought this was the perfect answer to my traveling needs with not carrying a big laptop. Having the key board (when it was working) was awesome. Could easily type. Loved the keys in the locations (could have an "end" key). However just today after having it work all morning just stopped. Random connection to Bluetooth, keys were not registering, on/off button not working, etc.... Have only had it for 2 months. I love Logitech products but this one is definitely not one of their finer moments.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ninjagirl
from Florida, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Terrible product

Date:July 4, 2013
Fortunately, there are reviews already written for this product or I would have thought I was doing something wrong. Nope, I am not. It is this terrible product - not me. After six months of use, it just stopped working. I have not paid off the credit card for the iPad and now have no keyboard! Not sure what to do. I am very disappointed in Logitech and will be looking at a different company for a replacement.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cesar
from Eastvale, CA, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Falls apart

Date:June 28, 2013
Purchased this product from best buy. After 8 months the feet that holds it upright has worn holes trough the cover. The frame that holds the iPad has cracked and the keyboard connects sporadically. I will not recommend that anybody purchase this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Eljay
from Vermont, USA
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Great while it worked

Date:June 4, 2013
I loved this little keyboard for 6 months . . . while it worked. It has completely quit on me now--I suspect the battery (which is not replaceable) is dead.
What a shame. And what a travesty that Logitech would sell an expensive product with such a short lifespan.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lizcas7
from New York, NY, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Solar Keyboard also stopped working after 5 months

Date:May 14, 2013
My solar keyboard was also doing well, and then one day, just stopped working as well. Just got off the phone with Customer Service about returning it, and having them ship me a new one.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stephen
from Tulsa, OK, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Just Stopped Working!! - Like the other posts!

Date:May 5, 2013
Just like the rest of these posts my solar keyboard worked fine and then........it didnt! It wont turn on, it wont do anything. Pretty dissapointing.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KH Lee
from Singapore
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Quit working after 6 months

Date:May 4, 2013
I was quite excited when I first learnt about this Solar Keypad and I got my friend to buy it in the states and carry it all the way back to Singapore.
It was great for the first 6 months as I used it for meetings daily. Yesterday, the keyboard just stopped working. And then I realised that I wasn't alone after reading all the reviews!! My Ipad couldn't detect the bluetooh signal from the keypad. And the keypad won't even flash green after I pressed the start key. I really think Logictech owes me and the others an explanation. This is not acceptable. Sigh....
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Derek
from Tustin, CA, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Piece of Junk

Date:April 28, 2013
I have had this Piece of Junk for about 7 months and it only works when it wants to. It constantly looses connection and the 2 year battery life is not true!! Do not buy this POJ!!! I was looking at the Zag Folios too when I purchased this and now I wish I bought one. This is the first review I have ever written and I felt compaled to write this because this product is so horrible. Do not waste your money. And Logitech why is this product not as high quality as the rest of your products you have made?
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gethin
from China
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Stopped working

Date:April 1, 2013
I have had this for a month or so and it has stopped working! It won't connect.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KaTT
from Central Coast California
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Female
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

I'm Sooooo Glad I Got This!

Date:February 2, 2013
I have had this folio for eight months. I was hesitant to buy it at first, because there weren't very many reviews from real users yet, but I just liked the look, and especially the action of the keys. The solar power was a big plus, as was the thin profile. I have to say, I love it. Works like a dream. Stays charged for a long time. I know this because I always forget to set my iPad down solar panels up. It stays connected to my iPad flawlessly. I've never had a problem with it. It protects the iPad well, though I've never dropped it. I cannot laud the praises of this solar keyboard folio enough! There are a few issues, however, that I'm hoping Logitech will fix on the next model. 1) My biggest issue: It doesn't flip to vertical, which I think is a necessity. 2) The little "feet" that lock it into it's two positions are too small, and they often slip out of place. 3) It doesn't come in enough colors. Even with these shortcomings, I would buy it again!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Chococula
from California, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Major issue

Date:January 29, 2013
Its not only me. Found so many people posted the same issue online. It just stopped working after a couple month. Media mode is fine. It works with all media keys. But in typing mode. It no longer connects to ipad and lost pairing bluetooth
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Solar Keyboard Folio for iPad
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bill
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Worked great then it didn't

Date:January 18, 2013
Fool me once shame on you. Fool me twice shame on me. I'm on my second solar keyboard and case. The first lasted six months with very hard usage. Then it stopped working. I bought a second one thinking it was a fluke. Now my second one has stopped working after three months. I thought Logitech was a reputable company that produced quality products. Not this time. I will be anxious to see how the company stands behind this product!
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>