Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Logitech
Shop Webcams or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Logitech TV Cam HD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Logitech TV Cam HD

Skype™&em;now on your TV
Average Customer Rating:
3.947 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 19 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
14 out of 19(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TV Cam HD
Review 1 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SamQ
from Sydney NSW, Australia
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

Great idea - poor quality

Date:June 30, 2013
I have an elderly aunt in the UK that my family and I in Australia and New Zealand would love to chat with on Skype regularly. She's completely technophobic so could never handle a laptop or tablet.
So, for some time I'd been holding out for a device like Logitech's TV Cam and bought one for her and had broadband installed to her house on my last visit to England in May 13.
It's pretty easy to set up if you are mildly tech-friendly and enables you to program in names and passwords so the day-to-day user has to do nothing other than press OK on a remote when a call comes in. Perfect.
Except that since I set it up, it's forgotten the Skype password twice, making it un-usable. My aunt has had to pay someone to come in and enter the password for her once already and currently is saving money from her pension to pay for another visit. If she had any friends or family locally, they could do it for her in 30 seconds but she doesn't.
So, although the idea of the product is terrific, it's too unstable at the moment to actually service the target non-technical market it's aimed at. I'm sure the technology will improve. Indeed, my new Samsung TV has a built-in cam and built-in Skype and it works brilliantly.
I currently wish I hadn't spent my money on the Logitech device and taken out a monthly ADSL subscription for broadband at my aunts house, so consider the user carefully before you purchase. If they're able to fix technical issues themselves, or have people nearby, and can put up with the camera's flakey quality, then it could still be worth having. If not, then move on.
+2points
16out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JVinOlathe
from Olathe, KS, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

TV Web Cam HD

Date:June 10, 2013
This camera males video conferencing (via Skype, of course) available to anyone with an internet connection and a HD TV, which is most anyone anymore. At long last, no PC or PC expertise needed. This is so nice when you have a group of people and can make an impromptu Skype calls on a big screen without having set up a laptop an all the required connections.
The video quality is excellent, and you appreciate it even more when you compare it to that coming from the other parties.
There are a few changes that would make it even better, such as an HDMI by-pass and the ability to turn the auto-answer off. It would also be nice if it would work with application other than Skype.
All in all, a very nice product.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
David
from Scottsdale AZ
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

TV CAM HD

Date:May 11, 2013
I bought this product after reading many glowing reviews. The information on Logitech’s web site would lead you to believe this device is compatible with any HD TV that has an HDMI port. NOT TRUE. I had three HD TV’s, all with multiple HDMI ports. Two Samsung and one Mitsubishi. The device only worked with one of the Samsung TV’s that also was Wi-Fi compliant. It did not work with the other two TV’s one a late model Samsung and the other an older Mitsubishi. Both TV’s had HDMI ports. There is no list on Logitech’s website that lists TV’s that are compatible with this device.
+29points
37out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Erramal

Limited to Skype

Date:March 16, 2013
This product works very well. It would be great though if it could work with other service providers, like Google for instance. If one day, Skype disappears, this piece of equipment becomes worthless.
+28points
36out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grand Parents
from Texas
Expertise: Newbie

New Grandbaby

Date:January 7, 2013
Our Granddaughter was born in November and we were excited to see an ad for this new TV Webcam-perfect Christmas gifts. We have been thrilled with the quality. We look forward to seeing the milestones as our grandbaby grows.
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Developer
from Ireland
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Firmware changes required.

Date:January 4, 2013
Three points required:
(1) Needs a manual answer call button, not auto answer
(2) My parents need to easily access & scroll through the contacts list to make a call
(3) HDMI bypass/over-ride required when accepting/making a call. No messing with TV input channels. Keep your target market in mind, please.
+41points
46out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cheebert
from Honolulu, HI, USA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Almost enterprise

Date:December 17, 2012
This totally needs an external microphone input so that it can be used in conference rooms. The four mikes on the top are nice, but being able to put a good table top mike out is better.
+18points
29out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
asrman
from Austin, TX and Amritsar, India
Expertise: Tech Savvy

You will be buying three of these if you buy one

Date:November 25, 2012
We have been using skype with our parents overseas for the past 4+ years using computer and after just using this for a few days, we are extremely satisfied. While the cost of this device is a bit on the high side, the value that it brings in its simplicity and quality are well worth it.
Pros:
* Simplicity of setup and use - ideal for older parents
* Quality of video - outstanding! Using the same slower internet connection in India, this device produces significantly better video, its not even comparable how much better this is.
* Wide Angle - the whole family is in view
* Use your TV - worth stating again. Makes it that much easier for elderly parents to use it on the larger TV screen
* Works over wifi and ethernet. Quality over WiFi is very good.
Cons:
* You need HDMI on the TV - not a con per say, but you need to be aware of it
It comes with a simple remote, but next time I visit my family, I will be pairing this with a logitech harmony remote to make it an even simpler setup for my parents. And I will be buying another one for my wife's parents and one for us at home.
+11points
27out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DRVM
from Grand Rapids, MI
Expertise: Tech Savvy

HDMI Pass-Through Needed

Date:November 15, 2012
This would be so much more useful if it had an HDMI pass-through. Have you ever tried teaching your parents how to change the input of a TV?
+32points
44out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MM
from BLR
Expertise: Proficient User

Pretty good- Better than I expected

Date:November 4, 2012
Need to add additional features for conferencing. Currently it works only for one to one call and conf cannot be done. Overall an excellent product.
Video quality is better than I expected and amazing audio pickup from various directions. I can remotely make out which direction someone is sitting even if person is outside the camera view.
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hundriver
from Glen Mills, PA
Expertise: Newbie

Works but bad security. Use with caution.

Date:November 3, 2012
The good: Easy set-up, picture is great, just works, no fuss as a dedicated Skype camera without needing a computer.
The bad: No security settings - if it is left on, people who Skype call can see you without the TV being on.
Would have had 5 stars if it could be left on. It auto answers anyone calling, even with TV off (a good idea, but not implemented with any privacy consideration or security concerns. Result, people can see you without you knowing they are watching. I did not know about this "feature" until my son called us, the TV was off and we weren't in the room. Fortunately, he only saw us having a group of friends over and not something that would have embarrassed us.
Logitech manual and web site offers no instruction for this "feature" or how to turn it off or any other security options, especially for those of who are not Skype literate.
Conclusion: Must turn it off between Skype calls if you value your privacy (or don't want to shock callers).
+43points
63out of 83found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
amaacnt27
from Chennai.IN
Expertise: Proficient User

Excellent product

Date:October 11, 2012
Love this cam!!. I bought this so that my parents can see my daughter and the clarity is great.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
trek52
from Laurel, MD
Expertise: Proficient User

Great gadget

Date:October 9, 2012
Easy to set up. Only took 5 min but took 30 min to totally sync with Skype.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mackie
from San Diego, CA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Not as expected

Date:September 22, 2012
This is a pricey webcam and I expect it to work to match its price tag. However, the major disappointment is that the image quality is not good. To be specific, the image is soft, not sharp (sometimes I doubt if it has autofocus function at all or just pam-focus). I have a Logitech C910 and it performs much better than its pricey cousin (same environment, same conditions etc). Second disappoint that I would like to talk about is the control of screen during Skype chat. You do not have control over the screen function (zoom-in, zoom-out, turn right/left/up/down), while it is possible with the C910.
I hope Logitech could be serious with its top-of-line product. $199.99 is not a small number.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slick1
from CA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great tech

Date:September 7, 2012
Skype'd the grandparents right after purchasing, the first thing they said was "WOW...the picture looks amazing"
1.easy to setup
2.worked flawlessly
3. pan/zoom was surprisingly really good
picture quality was great, keep in mind that my wireless router is right next to my TV...YMMV
And looks wize, it ain't ugly, so it doesn't have to be hidden after use.
Already bought another one and shipped it to the grandparents
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Burwood
from Los Angeles, CA
Expertise: Proficient User

Simple Setup, Great Product

Date:September 7, 2012
I didn't believe it would be so easy to setup. After entering the WiFi password and Skype info, I was in. Hardest part was finding the HDMI input behind my wall mounted TV. This product reinvents Skype - being able to sit on your sofa is so much more natural than holding a tablet or booting up a computer to talk to someone.
We have family all over the country and this product makes it so simple, natural, and convenient to stay in touch. We now get to watch our nieces and nephews grow up life sized on our 55" TV!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ogenie
from indiana
Expertise: Newbie

webcam to japan

Date:August 25, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
It was so great to see my son all the way in Japan. thanks
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
longhorn
from Dallas Texas
Expertise: Proficient User

Washed and Worked

Date:August 3, 2012
I accidentally washed the paring usb antenna for my keyboard and mouse. I thought it was not going to work but it did so i guess it is pretty durable. Thank you Logitech.
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TV Cam HD
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
norblue
from Noorwood, CT
Expertise: Proficient User

At last, no PC needed

Date:August 3, 2012
Logitech did it! A low-cost (well, assume it'll be street $149) self-contained skype solution that connect to any HDTV. Big hopes that quality will be lot better than other attempts (TelyLabs, Biscotti) as Logitech use a brand new higher-end video processor.
The bad: Boring name.
-7points
3out of 13found this review helpful.